OFFICIAL: Mitsubishi ASX to be CKD in Malaysia

mitsubishi asx 2013

We first heard of this through indirect sources back in August this year, but now it’s official – the Mitsubishi ASX compact SUV will be locally assembled in Malaysia.

Tan Chong Motor Assemblies Sdn Bhd will be the contract assembler for the ASX. Production is slated to start in January 2014, with sales to begin soon after in February 2014. No further details as of now – we’ll probably know more about the specs and pricing of the CKD ASX next year.

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia currently sells two variants of the Mitsubishi ASX in Malaysia – the ASX which was facelifted in May, and the higher spec ASX Euro. The pre-facelift ASX participated in our five-way SUV shootout, which you can read here.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• neemfa on Oct 01, 2013 at 1:01 pm

More tulan from Mitsu (ASX) owners.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 1
  • iluvproton on Oct 01, 2013 at 1:23 pm

Y dun let proton rebadge this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
    • source say tat even proton wil stop produce inspira coz d agreement bet mitsubishi n proton called off after DRB Hicom takeover proton.

• jolly_idiot on Oct 01, 2013 at 1:31 pm

Malaysia so good market for ASX until they wanna CKD here? Or something fishy behind? Proton ASX coming?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 36
    • Memang_idiot on Oct 01, 2013 at 1:42 pm

If proton rebadge why wanna ask tan Chong to assemble la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
    • taboogen on Oct 01, 2013 at 1:45 pm

tan chong assemble why proton in the picture

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
    • Lol..proton now with honda..this contract assembly by tcm not p1..lame

• Anonymous on Oct 01, 2013 at 2:44 pm

jolly read properly before you commment idiot. can you differentiate between tan chong and proton dumbass..

• reezfa on Oct 01, 2013 at 1:40 pm

It is not selling well here. Unless rebadged like Lancer then it will be selling like hotcakes

• Henry Leong on Oct 01, 2013 at 1:45 pm

Is normal for CKD in Malaysia. Even BMW 328i is CKD. Benz E250 is CKD. ASX CKD then the price might be cheaper. Is good for existing ASX owners as their units are CBU.

BTW CKD is not rebadging. Mitsubishi do not have any agreements with Proton already. Only Honda does now. Wonder why Accord is cheaper than other makes?

• From previous2 gen accord cheaper than others if not mistaken…for sure they sell cheaper to reduce toyota share of market

• Gavin on Oct 01, 2013 at 1:55 pm

too bad no 1.8 diesel mivec which they have in Europe

• MoFaz on Oct 01, 2013 at 1:55 pm

i thought it’s almost the end of life-cycle for ASX already… hurm.. maybe they want to replicate Mazda CX-5 success story, export it to all other Asean countries.

• Inspira laris meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
  • Denaihati on Oct 01, 2013 at 2:05 pm

personally, not bad choice. perhaps CKD price is about RM20 reduction.

• hondaman on Oct 02, 2013 at 11:40 am

hahaha..if RM20 reduction might as well buy CBU..

• nissanman on Oct 02, 2013 at 6:35 pm

That time Mitsubishi would stop bringing CBU unit. You only have CKD to choose from.

• Ryosuke on Oct 01, 2013 at 2:15 pm

ASX CKD will be sold with price range 115-119k.
    Hello ppl, Mitsubishi is no longer having partnership with Proton. It’s not possible to rebadge ASX to Proton. Proton is now sharing technologies with Honda. And the new Perdana is going to use Honda Accord platform. Stop saying rebadge.
    FYI, I’m a little automobile journalist, and I’m sub-dealer for Proton, Perodua, Kia, Ford, Mitsubishi & Honda. So, no offence to anyone or any brand. Cheers…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
    • apa sudah jadi on Oct 01, 2013 at 5:15 pm

OK, rebadged Honda Accord by Proton?

or we should say rehandled Honda Accord by Proton with Lotus Handling.

LULZ

• Black Dog on Oct 01, 2013 at 2:33 pm

Funny, Tan Chong assemble for Mitsu, which is own by DRB? No matter what ppl say, even though not possible now, but still this is the best SUV for Proton to rebadge, bringing down the price under 100k, will sell like hot cakes.

• Mitsubishi Motor Malaysia not totally owned by EON/DRB-Hicom

It’s a JV firm with EON 49% while MMC the remain. So MMC have power to choose.

• skyaktiv on Oct 01, 2013 at 2:50 pm

wah, better buy the CBU ASX now before it finish, better resale value later on compare to the CKD one..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Maserati(Official) on Oct 01, 2013 at 2:57 pm

Seems like Mitsubishi owner is getting screwed left right and centre. After the Lancer fiasco, what will the original CBU ASX buyers feel with this news?

But still its better than a Korean car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
  • vee-oh on Oct 01, 2013 at 3:13 pm

if can reduce to below Rm120K consider not bad at all

• nzain on Oct 01, 2013 at 3:16 pm

if the price decrease 30k then i’ll get this nice car..

• aku untung laaaa…dah beli fully imported 2 tahun lepas…kekekke…kalau pasang di Malaysia belum tentu kualitinya sama..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • agree…if CKD no here no there in the end price decrease rm10k only

• Thanks for the info. Well, I’ll just get my new car for my wife next year. Maybe a rebadge like the proton inspira? Awesome man…. Can save this few month for FEB 14 down payment…. Wonder what the price will be… Sub rm100k???

• danedz on Oct 01, 2013 at 4:26 pm

this model going to be discon soon..one cheapest way to scrapt those jig and machine in japan is by dumping it to malaysia instead..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Currently TCM also assembling Subaru XV in Segambut plant..so, please expect direct competition between those two models even they are still in the assembly line. haha.

…after all TCM wins over the competition. What a good businessmen.

• benzs on Oct 01, 2013 at 9:34 pm

Even is CKD or CBU, does anybody care. We need lower price, G is lame. Over 50 yrs of rulling, they still burden us in so many ways. Even the most basic item like sugar increase due to no sub. I wont mind, but transport is very important for us in Malaysia. Even if public transport is good, but car selling like bloody high price. I accept.

• Yohan on Oct 01, 2013 at 9:37 pm

I bought ASX (Outlander Sport we call) last year in Jakarta. I’m satisfied. No complain except machine noise after start-up. It’s very responsive. I can speed till 180 km/hr and it’s so stable. You can see many Outlander Sport in Jakarta. I got good car for the price.

• SpongeBob on Oct 01, 2013 at 9:40 pm

C-Segment compact SUV/Crossover

4th gen Honda CRV
    Nissan X-Trail (not the boxy, it’s the new one arrived here about end of next year?!)
    Mazda CX-5 (i predicted this compact SUV gonna win receive COTY 2014 award)
    Toyota RAV4 (why UMW Toyota don’t want to bring this??! Cause of….?)
    Subaru XV 20i
    Ford Kuga
    Mitsubishi ASX facelift
    Chevrolet Captiva facelift
    Hyundai Tucson
    Kia Sportage (facelift arrived here middle of next year)
    Peugeot 3008 (facelift should be arrived before end of next year)
    Suzuki Grand Vitara

Premium C-Segment SUV/Crossover (RM200k above)

VW Tiguan
    BMW X1
    Audi Q3
    Audi Q5
    Merc GLA-Class
    Porsche Macan (real name not sure yet)
    Lexus LF-NX (heading production in 2015)
    Mini Cooper S Countryman
    Renault Koleos

• THANKS for the informative listing.. Anyway whats your point here?

• Shaekey on Oct 01, 2013 at 11:18 pm

I just noticed Grandis no longer available on Mitsubishi malaysia website. The model discontinued here?

• foxtrot on Oct 02, 2013 at 12:00 am

omg no proton fanboi yet?
    gogo exora bold! LOL

• Omg y u need them?..p1 n mitsu us no more

• bystander on Oct 02, 2013 at 9:23 am

This car is seriously underrated because of CX-5 and the poor marketing of the ASX facelift, you need to see the real car to see how much it has improved over the pre-facelift. Just saw one yesterday due to its rarity, it totally changed my view with its darn good-look! See the real car in on the road and judge for yourself.

• bystander on Oct 02, 2013 at 9:37 am

The stupid brochure did not even show the rear of the car and the special “package” including DRL, chrome side mirror, sporty decor front & rear bumpers and such in the actual car they deliver. I hope all these and the panoramic roof will stay in the CKD version, fingers crossed.

• totti on Oct 02, 2013 at 10:03 am

aku untung laaaa…dah beli fully imported 2 tahun lepas…kekekke…kalau pasang di Malaysia belum tentu kualitinya sama..

—————————-

Honda Jazz pun CBU dan jual lebih RM 100K dan sekarang CKD juat RM 74K.

Selepas dua tahun pakai, kereta awak akan jatuh mampus sekiranya harge baru turun RM 20K.

Lancer/Kia carnibal/Jazz adalah contoh yang baik dan elakkan dari membeli kereta yang boleh rebagde oleh Proton atau NAZA.

Kalau Mitsubishi hendak jualan laris, mereka terpaksa joint venture dgn Proton. Tiada jalan lain. Proton perlukan SUV ini untuk mengaut keuntungan untuk hidup. Campro engine sudah outdated dan bising dan tidak tahan.

• b sensible on Oct 02, 2013 at 2:03 pm

is p1 missing the boat? or simply let the boat gone away? is p1 want to be oem…that’s a whole lot of opportunities! just don’t understand why pass the batton to others?

• iluvproton on Oct 02, 2013 at 2:13 pm

If proton rebadge it then the “prophecy” will be fulfilled lor.

• Henry on Oct 02, 2013 at 2:30 pm

Sell it at 100k and I’ll buy one.

• Jackson on Oct 02, 2013 at 2:52 pm

Yes!! ASX CKD.

Price it sub100K. I WILL BUY.

BUT specs MUST have:
    1. ASC Active Stability Control
    2. five airbags. driver, passenger, curtain, knee.
    3. panoramic glass roof

• cskiat234 on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:16 pm

I am an owner of a 2012 ASX and I brought it this year March. Just to put in record, the car driving performance is reliable and so far, after clocking more than 15,000km of milleage, it still serve me well. I drove the car to my construction sites too and it drove around the gravel road good enough. As for fuel comsumption, a fuel of 45liter enable me travel for 520km. My travels are mostly in KL area, therefore jams are included. The only shortcomings, I personally found are the Kenwood player, the steering audio control and auto lock. Other than that the well known problems such as the straight seats (to decrease fatigue) and lack of boot space are allright by me. I installed Thule bike rack on top of it and it looks brilliant. Engine rev sound is a bit noisy but I got used to it and by exposing too much to the reving sound, at times u just know when not to push ur car to the limit. Hope it helps.
    As for CKD, well I am just glad I got the CBU. Having CKD in the near future means there will be more options to upgrade ur car and not to mention more accessories available. I hope so …..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1