Citroen DS3 previewed at KLIMS – RM125k, Jan launch

Citroen DS3 KLIMS-7

You’ve heard about the Citroen DS4 and DS5 going the CKD route, with lower prices to match, now say hello to the baby Different Spirit model – the Citroen DS3. Previewed at KLIMS13, the Citroen DS3 will be launched here in January 2014, with an estimated price of RM125,000.

The DS3 that we’ll be getting is a 1.6 VTi, which means a 1.6 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder with 120 hp and 160 Nm of torque, paired to a four-speed automatic. 0-100 km/h is done in 10.9 seconds while top speed is 190 km/h, so it isn’t exactly a hot hatch. A THP 155 six-speed manual will be more interesting, performance wise – one day, perhaps?

The DS3 1.6 VTi will come very well equipped. 17-inch ‘Bellone Black Diamond’ wheels, cruise control, active headlamps, auto wipers/lights, electric folding heated wing mirrors, leather, LED daytime running lights, auto air con, front/side/curtain airbags and ESP are all standard.

What do you think of this MINI rival?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Recently Citroen keep killing vw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 49
  • borris on Nov 16, 2013 at 11:55 pm

In the UK a similarly spec 208 3-door cost about the same. Why is it more expensive here? Is it because the DS3 is CBU and the 208 is CKD?

• Sell this at the same price the 208 and Fiesta (90k or below) and I’d get this in a heartbeat. OR bring the THP 155 six speed with full spec for around 120k MAX.

• suppose they price it within kia rio since rio is cbu oso with best spec

• jinjangman on Nov 17, 2013 at 12:23 am

Mini too mainstream..

• steve on Nov 17, 2013 at 12:27 am

Expensive parts, resell value worst than sushi and kimchis……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
    • agree with u, man… to buy citroen in malaysia, u have to be $$$, have more than 1 car, and possess a great deal of patience when comes to maintenance…

nevertheless it is a very good car.

• Kk- having owned the new Citroens I can say that the maintenance is better than the Japanese models. I assume you have never owned or afford one before

• If you think anybody who buys a 2 door hot hatch even a japanese one, worries about RV then im sorry to tell your parents they brought up a dysfunctional child.
      And also its “resale value” not “resell” good lord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
      • if I buy Citroen RM150k?,
        immediate drop RM40k of resale value.
        yet dropping RM10k annually..

why not i just use it to buy a even more expensive Toyota at RM200k?
        My cost of owning will be on par or even better then a Citroen RM150k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
        • GD- can you afford a more expensive Toyota or Vw?- you don’t make sense. Go back to Jinjang!

• Steve- kamu Ini. BODOH . Please only put educated comments in this post instead of uninformed ones especially from those who have never owned the DS Citroens

• “The DS3 that we’ll be getting is a 1.6 VTi, which means a 1.6 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder with 120 hp and 160 Nm of torque, paired to a four-speed automatic”

Yawn, all looks and no go. Take the car and go fly kite please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • nice car but overprice again….

• Sam Loo Ori on Nov 17, 2013 at 1:43 am

This car RV is even more hailat than kimchi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • Sam loo- your comments smack of ignorance and plain stupidity, they should be placed in the loo,

• Encik Nerd on Nov 17, 2013 at 3:09 am

Pricey is mahal. Handsome is kacak.

• Bob_B78 on Nov 17, 2013 at 3:12 am

Top Gear gave thumbs up for this car. It should be good enough for the rest of the ppl who wants something fun but not too pricey compared to Fiat, Audi & Mini

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • “Little French Chic!” – YAY!!
    “1.6 litre NA four-cylinder” -YES PLEASE!!
    “120 hp and 160 Nm of torque”- OH YES!!
    “paired to a four-speed automatic” -Ermm….what was it that we hate the Vios again?

At RM120k on a hot hatch that isn’t exactly…hot. Put it this way, most people here hated the Honda CRZ, but that is iitsy cheaper, faster(9.2src), has proper manual(that no one buys)and same amount of safety kit….and personally I still like the looks, thou I have this french Madomoselle even more.

• RedCRZ on Nov 17, 2013 at 1:15 pm

True dat… the CR-Z is:
      – slightly cheaper
      – more desireable coupe body (but beauty is in the eye of the beholder)
      – more powerful (135hp), quicker (9 sec 0-100) & Torquier (190nm)
      – have that sweet 6 speed manual gearbox
      – marginally more economical
      – trusted Honda badge.

The Manual CR-Z wins hands down… if u are ok with :
      – puny back seats
      – ridiculous 5k service interval
      – limited boot space
      – battery cost rm5k+ when the time comes

• I am absolutely OK with 3 of the 4 negatives you state. But if you absolutely dislike hybrids(I know some do), beside the Frenchy, there is always the Suzuki Swift Sport, that has all the positive of the CRZ with better performance and four actual doors…..FC is worse thou.

I just don’t get why 4-speed, its a 2 door car thats meant to go sporty, and 4-speed just….isn’t. I don’t mind it in a Vios, I’am not expecting anything synonymas with sporty in that, but (using what people describe the Vios)..this is 2013, not 2003.

• glaze on Nov 17, 2013 at 11:55 pm

seems like P is learning from T to use 4 speeder huh? But they will never get the amount of sales that the T has in Malaysia.

• Redcrz- please compare the design and interior quality of these 2 cars. The Honda interior has Proton quality but inflated to sell to gullible people like you

• ahmadjohnson on Nov 17, 2013 at 7:28 am

Not interesting at all. THP 155 six-speed manual will be more interesting.

• Ahmadfaris93 on Nov 17, 2013 at 7:49 am

It’s a great car. To me, it’s sits in the Mini, Beetle, Fiat 500 category and that is why you pay a hefty price for the image/icon category.
    It would be better if the entry level would be 1.6 Turbo Prince engine with automatic (wouldn’t mind if there’s RM5-10k premium) just like the 308 turbo.

• TheTruthHurts on Nov 17, 2013 at 9:26 am

This car is essentially the same car as the 308. The parts and service is also pricey, just like the 308. Also, just like the 308, this car has very bad resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • nieko on Nov 17, 2013 at 8:57 pm

When someone buys a citroen , RV is not their consern .they are more interested in the passion & fun of owning a citroen…period

• Peter Lim on Nov 17, 2013 at 1:21 pm

I choose Swift Sport

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Van Damn on Nov 17, 2013 at 5:15 pm

Wait for end year RM15k discount.

• PauKaya on Nov 17, 2013 at 7:19 pm

weak engine. weak transmission.

• Went to see this car today at KLIMS…the interior trim feels more well built than the DS4. Should have stuffed the turbo, then it’ll probably be a good contender against the 308 turbo and similar classes.

• Stingray on Nov 18, 2013 at 8:03 am

The rims somehow looks like XV’s, right? sighh

• Bring on the thp 155 Naza! That’s the proper car to show to these ignorant readers in this forum what French hot hatch is all about.