Tokyo 2013: Volkswagen twin up! is a plug-in hybrid

_DAF0174

Volkswagen used its Tokyo 2013 stand to premiere a new concept car based on the up! city car. The Volkwagen twin up! concept car pairs a diesel engine with a seven-speed dual-clutch gearbox to an electric motor.

All the drive components of the twin up! are positioned at the front of the car. The front overhang has been lengthened by 30 mm to accommodate the components. The drive unit consists of a 0.8 litre two-cylinder TDI diesel engine (drived from a 1.6 litre TDI four-cylinder) producing 35 kW as well as a 35 kW electric motor. Combined output is 55 kW and 215 Nm. The electric motor is integrated between the engine and the DSG, replacing the flywheel.

The ‘fuel’ that powers the drive components are all located at the rear. This consists of a 33 litre diesel fuel tank, a 8.6 kWh lithium ion battery, as well as a regular 12V battery for the auxiliary systems. The twin up! can run in zero emissions electric mode over a distance of 50 km, and up to a top speed of 125 km/h. If the diesel engine is engaged, you can drive up to 140 km/h.

The result is an NEDC combined fuel consumption of just 1.1 litres per 100 km, and CO2 emissions of just 27 g/km. Now that’s some serious fuel efficiency!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• RoKie on Nov 25, 2013 at 1:12 pm

1.1 L / 100 km ?!?

Freaking awesome ! A hypermiller’s wet dream comes true ! :-D

• sutrak on Nov 25, 2013 at 4:28 pm

boy, my little brother sure agrees to the name “up!” when you have a chick like that beside it.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 25, 2013 at 4:39 pm

Just a matter of time the DSG will kaput. Then can join other cabbage K5 owners in my yard. VW has lousy RV. Now DSG problem is known even to the asoh in the market. She tell me, Ah Loo, tu DSG manyak losak”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • droll on Nov 25, 2013 at 5:44 pm

33L fuel tank = 3000km range!! holy crap!

if you do 30,000km a year, you refuel 10 times – that’s less than once a month!

• Kepunden Parang Skeper on Nov 25, 2013 at 1:36 pm

awesome! vw should push this one to production!

• nice one, and i hope VW will bring this into m’sia to join the rest of the hybrids.

one thing i hate a lot is the rims. why does hybrid cars tend to have this crappy wheels?? the stupid insight was like this at one time and the old civic hybird as well. the prius is almost like this.

• venven81 on Nov 25, 2013 at 1:47 pm

“…producing 35 kW as well as a 35 kW electric motor. Combined output is 55 kW…”

Is there a mistake in the calculation?

• sohai jibby on Nov 25, 2013 at 1:58 pm

If the whole VW Up series cars come to Bolehland with reasonable pricing, surely it’ll be a Mvyi killer.

• kadajawi on Nov 25, 2013 at 5:09 pm

The up! is in the same segment as the Viva. It does have 6 airbags and ESP as standard on all specs, as well as automatic braking using sensors. So if the car in front brakes hard the up will brake immediately too to avoid an accident. Again even the base spec should have this as standard equipment.

• sam69 on Nov 25, 2013 at 2:45 pm

meh……top speed 125km/h…..who wanna ride this junk?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
    • me!! in traffic jam u wanna drive a car with 300km/h??????

• Chris on Nov 25, 2013 at 3:05 pm

Driving in the city.. my car haven’t seen 90km/h for over 2 months. 125km/h all electric, 140km/h top, I don’t see what’s wrong…

• idiot on Nov 26, 2013 at 9:17 am

Some idiots do try to speed up to 300km/h in traffic jam too.

• sam69 on Nov 26, 2013 at 9:48 am

if you think driving at 90km/h is good enough, i think you should start taking public transport and stop pollution the road with traffics..let the fast car move…

• Savvy88 on Nov 25, 2013 at 3:59 pm

It’s a city car at the first place.. what’s the problem, sir? Do you always go beyond 120kmh in downtown?

• kadajawi on Nov 25, 2013 at 5:06 pm

Plenty of Japanese cars who will start floating above 100 and are dangerous to drive faster than 120. Even if the engine can go 180 that is not advisable…

• droll on Nov 25, 2013 at 5:46 pm

if you want to travel between towns, 125km/h is also ok what. north south speed limit is 110km/h.

• sam69 on Nov 26, 2013 at 9:44 am

when you say top speed 140km/h it means your average driving is around 60~80km/h… you will struggle when u drive this junk in highway.. even a kancil can easily smoke this..pls dont bring more turtle car into malaysia because the road is not safe for slow car..have not mention those road hogger..

• good job vw. this is the best car to go to pasar malam, stuff durian at the back seat and angkat lembu lepas potong kaki.