Proton P2-30A Global Small Car sighted again

p2-30a-1

Readers have been sighting the new P2-30A Proton Global Small Car more frequently now, a signal that a launch might happen in the next six months time. We first saw the P2-30A hatchback in Europe, where our spy photographers captured it on test at a supplier’s test track.

Then a Cari forumer spotted the car on test in the Klang Valley along with a Proton-owned Honda Brio, likely for benchmark purposes. Today, we have photos from readers Hong Chun and Harith Hamdan. Hong Chun’s photo shows a new front angle view of the new Proton hatchback’s front end. The shape of the Proton badge under the disguise is quite obvious, and the grille has two horizontal slats. The bumper also seems to have a large multi-slat intake opening.

lotus-citycar-2

The overall design language for the front end (especially the front bumper) seems to be inspired by the Lotus CityCar Concept, which was later given the production name Lotus Ethos. It was supposed to be a Lotus take on the Aston Martin Cygnet, which was essentially a premium sports car brand selling a rebadged Toyota iQ.

The Lotus CityCar Concept was to be built based on a new Proton hatchback – probably the P2-30A. We’re not sure if there are still plans to put a Lotus Ethos into production.

Reader Harith managed to capture brief footage of the Proton P2-30A near Cameron Highlands on his dashcam. As usual, the Proton hatchback was traveling in pairs, but there was no Honda Brio sighted this time. Seeing the car on the move next to other objects such as a motorcyclist can give us a perspective on how big the car is.

What do you think, is the P2-30A a car that’s Myvi sized or Viva sized?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Raja Lawak on Dec 12, 2013 at 4:06 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 205
    • Petrolhead on Dec 12, 2013 at 4:19 pm

Hopefully it will look like the Lotus Ethos, looks damn aggressive!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 4
      • imran on Dec 12, 2013 at 10:54 pm

1st, looks like more positive comments than bashing here, thumbs up :)

for me also more positive on proton design for this GSC.
        X style & big front Grill looks more aggressive.
        big headlamp following current trend. i guess DRL is sure have for this model .
        i think GSC wont have problem with the exterior design when it is release to the market.

proton is chasing for high EU NCAP rating so safety features should be well equipped too..

Just please proton dont spoil thing with other issue such as underpower or dull response.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 4
      • hope its a bit bigger than viva size. not looking like its myvi size. but who knows

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
      • ABTguy on Dec 13, 2013 at 9:29 am

Hopefully Proton learnt from the mistaken made in Preve / Sub-prima.

1. Ditch the ugly headlight design and grill
        2. Do away with complicated design for the tail (I meant less pieces of body parts)
        3. Look at how VW design its interior !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 39
        • dino years on Dec 13, 2013 at 11:37 am

excuse me but whats so nice about that drab VW interior? LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
          • xiper on Dec 13, 2013 at 12:12 pm

1 word – plain
            But doesn’t mean plain is not nice..

• ABTguy on Dec 13, 2013 at 1:47 pm

Well, it has the lasting evergreen look, with good materials used, ergonomic for users.

Proton recent dash design ?! I dont wanna talk about it, waste my finger energy la…. yawn..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
    • Proton owned Lotus – what malu to used Lotus design and tech? perhaps they should do this much earlier to elevate their brand

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 5
      • Low Budget on Dec 12, 2013 at 9:39 pm

Lotus sport cars are actually not the preferred sports cars by the sport cars enthusiasts the World over.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 64
    • dino years on Dec 12, 2013 at 4:52 pm

as long as the price, engine, and gb makes sense, don’t care what you all say. we need affordable cars and heck care where they come from, tata or toyota. just hope proton has learnt from savvy.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 1
      • Low Budget on Dec 12, 2013 at 9:45 pm

That is right, we are price sensitive bunch of Malaysians, if the price is RM25K and is firing on 4 cylinders, I might want to swap out my daughter’s 10 year old Inokom Atos with this ugly A segment Proton. For now though I am waiting for the next generation Viva and see if it will be price at RM25K like what our P.M. mentioned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 44
      • policeman on Dec 12, 2013 at 10:12 pm

How can it make sense?

Remember Gen2 and all the fires? The broken crankshafts.
        Why don’t people learn from history? There is no hope.

Every time Proton is about to release a new car there is all this hype, this is the best Proton, now Proton has changed, this is the car that will save Proton. Same thing like PRU, nothing changes.

You should have no expectations with Proton, and therefore you won’t be disappointed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 91
        • phuwekkk on Dec 13, 2013 at 5:02 pm

then maybe you should first change yourself and your pathetic mindset first before proton? nowadays they are making progress, slow progress maybe but hey, it’s still a progress right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • Heng Lee on Dec 13, 2013 at 10:00 pm

‘Burning Toyota Camry/RAV4 Window Switches Prompt NHTSA Investigation’

http://wot.motortrend.com/burning-toyota-camryrav4-window-switches-prompt-nhtsa-investigation-168895.html

• driver on Dec 14, 2013 at 7:30 am

seriously.. what’s wrong with your childhood?

It’s not yet the end of the world. If you like it, work hard to preserver it. Otherwise, make change!

• Peter on Dec 13, 2013 at 9:53 am

Price not going to be cheap. Just look at how many price hikes in 2014 which I hardly able to keep track (& be prepared to be surprised everyday). Thanks to our ixxt gov & their supporters. New B-seg car price will be prev yers’s C-seg price … almost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 19
    • why did u get so many downvotes from just a joke…

people here very sensitive ka..?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
      • Pontiac on Dec 13, 2013 at 10:12 am

The proton supporters gave him the thumbs up la. The downers are basher who are jelous and denial that lotus owned by proton. Thats all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • proton hater on Dec 12, 2013 at 8:12 pm

dun make me laugh lar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • Hameed Koyakutty on Dec 13, 2013 at 10:04 am

Sighted again and again but to no excitement.
      So what??? Its another fail project just Savvy…..
      It not rivalling Viva….Myvi…..its rivalling own model Savvy….
      Tiara >> Savvy >>P2-30A……Bongok, P1 never learn!!!!!
      This car will never sell. If can sell also volume just like SUPRIMAU…..hidup segan mati tak mahu…..same goes to P1…

Hidup menyusahkan Rakyat, bungkus pun kasi susah kerajaan BN n Che Det……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 70
      • phuwekkk on Dec 13, 2013 at 5:05 pm

looks like we have a ahlil nujum here..maybe you also can predict when are you going to die huh?hahaha.

• Hedges on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:46 pm

you are wrong. Lotus will rebadge this GSC.

• apa2 jelah on Dec 14, 2013 at 9:20 am

Wait for the car launch first la…no need to critic or bash. Kalau suka u beli, kalau x suka x payah beli.

• semy villu on Dec 12, 2013 at 4:10 pm

yini kereta ha, sanget kicil…

sesuai dilitak nama Proton Ciwawa (yitu nama yanjing kicil paris hilton punya)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 89
  • komarad on Dec 12, 2013 at 4:14 pm

…it’ll be between viva and myvi…. so will it be hybrid??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • Joe Radzif on Dec 12, 2013 at 4:16 pm

Hm…
    Mixed Feeling…

Cannot gel…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
  • Heng Lee on Dec 12, 2013 at 4:35 pm

Put a proper engine and gearbox in and I will order the car as soon as it’s launched.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 3
    • Then you are obviously looking at the wrong brand..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 56
      • Heng Lee on Dec 12, 2013 at 6:52 pm

At least they don’t have problems with blown head gaskets like Toyota:

http://www.toyotaownersclub.com/forums/topic/126153-22-d4d-t3x-head-gasket-dilemma/

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
        • Sam Loo punya bini on Dec 12, 2013 at 10:25 pm

blown head gasket is caused by owner fault dont know how to check and maintain cooling system… Toyota engine shouldn’t be able to breakdown!! *sarcasm*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 16
      • Low Budget on Dec 12, 2013 at 9:50 pm

Proton was the wrong brand from the nineties to about a year ago, but now, may be the right brand because the Power Windows now have lifetime warranty and have better gearbox made by Belgium company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
    • fast5 on Dec 12, 2013 at 10:40 pm

And most important make it fully safety equip and last the BEST VALUE pricing. Proton is time to back the trust from us…….. don’t disappoint Malaysian resident!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • kaki proton on Dec 12, 2013 at 4:36 pm

proton target 2014…this is the proton hero..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
    • Lee show loong on Dec 12, 2013 at 5:52 pm

Yes..please support the national product.like jimmy choo,pen sonic,peroduo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 6
      • Low Budget on Dec 12, 2013 at 9:56 pm

Perodua is not national product, it is re-badged Daihatsu with some modification on grill, bumpers and also some parts source from Malaysia (e.g. Battery, Tyres, Wheel caps, electrical wires, air-cons etc.)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
      • policeman on Dec 12, 2013 at 10:16 pm

OK. I Will. Somemore what others are there?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • spyshotX on Dec 12, 2013 at 4:44 pm

the light pattern from the headlamp suggested that it uses projector type headlamp just like in the picture of the lotus ethos..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Proton Staff on Dec 12, 2013 at 6:30 pm

Projector and DRL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • policeman on Dec 12, 2013 at 10:17 pm

Gila? Small and cheap car want to use projector?
      Orang mau cut cost dia mau projector!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 37
      • Just saying on Dec 13, 2013 at 12:41 am

If proton can equip this car with good features and still price it at an accesible price, you still want to complain? You are one seriously messed up guy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
  • i think there’s no need to apply paintbrush effect to the spyshot pic..

offtopic: i wonder how the brits reacted when hearing that aston martin gonna re-badge toyota iQ as cygnet back then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • alldisc on Dec 12, 2013 at 5:35 pm

actually, there is a reason why aston martin did that.

it is a gentlemen agreement for every car manufacturers to lower its average fuel emission of its entire range.

example lamborghini which is owned by VW has a relatively high emission level but on the other hand VW has low emission cars like Up and Polo and skoda fabia.

Fiat has its own small cars like Punto and 500 along with Lancia superminis to balance up Ferrari and Maserati.

Jaguar has Tata micro cars which bring total average down even though the Tata is not that environmental friendly.

BMW has Mini.

Merc has A class and Smart cars.

Leaving Aston Martin alone after relieved by Ford group. The easiest way to overcome this problem is to make a small car that could bring down total average emission level.

Aston does not need to be pretentious in this. their intention is only that and not to sell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
      • dino years on Dec 12, 2013 at 6:24 pm

Proving that rebadging is not “malu”, unless the rebadged car is crap. Then ok, very malu. Even toyota rebadged a BMW for their european market.

• Hope proton will blend the good recipes with the good ingredient…hope they ll get it rite this time, then i might change my saga blm for this one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • with good engine, transmission and build quality this will be a direct competitor to myvi..syabas proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
  • vee-oh on Dec 12, 2013 at 4:52 pm

should be better than Perodua car..but what engine can be used? 1.3 campro is impossible. Proton developed new small engine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • JAckLIm on Dec 12, 2013 at 4:55 pm

Cool… Saga engine? Or EV coming?

• Proton is godalike car on Dec 12, 2013 at 4:55 pm

Come, Proton Basher…

Unleash your stupidity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 12
  • kropoh udang on Dec 12, 2013 at 4:58 pm

potong call it global car, mak ooi… should call it gopoh or kropok car more suitable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 76
  • kelvin on Dec 12, 2013 at 5:06 pm

it cant NEVER grow by its own~~~~~ NEVER

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 40
  • Another failure la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 67
  • protoner on Dec 12, 2013 at 5:19 pm

Apa barang lawan Myvi lawan Picanto la. Myvi dah jauh tertinggal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 8
    • imran on Dec 12, 2013 at 11:04 pm

GSC will be using new engine,
      GSC should be better in terms of engine and handling.

and far ahead in pricing…. if u live in malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • You see? The size of the gsc is about the same with the kancil infront of it in the video…

Unless the safety is also good, i will consider buying this car, as the size already smaller than popular myvi…

But, i thi k the size is ok for global market… fighting rio, i10, and so on

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • LatukBandar on Dec 12, 2013 at 5:22 pm

I hate to admit, if it spot the smiliar design like lotus. Myvi has no chance, most malaysian buy cars based on looks… VSA? ABS? Airbag? they don really care, they wanna die in a b-e-a-u-tiful car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
    • MyviKiller on Dec 12, 2013 at 7:22 pm

Beauty with no substance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • policeman on Dec 12, 2013 at 10:23 pm

Wrong. First mistake you made was thinking that Proton could design a good looking car.

Malaysian buy cars based “monkey see, monkey do”
      That explains why MyVi is the best selling car in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • lol in my mind i read it using ace ventura’s voice

• prolever on Dec 12, 2013 at 5:30 pm

i spot a drl at the bumper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • I think this car is another rebadged of Honda Brio. Don’t forget that Proton has sign a so called collaboration with Honda. I will not be suprise, since Brio is not avaliable in Malaysia. And this model can fit to Proton Savvy replacement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 44
    • Heng Lee on Dec 12, 2013 at 6:59 pm

‘Proton P2-30A Global Small Car sighted again’

You know what ‘Global’ means?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • Low Budget on Dec 12, 2013 at 10:05 pm

Ai Yah, Proton is entitled to have dream ‘Global’. Sometimes we do have dreams that we can invent a beautiful product that become desirable item globally. LIke the Apple iphone or Samsung Galaxy S4 phone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 28
  • azrai on Dec 12, 2013 at 5:43 pm

Dear Paul,
    I think the size is bigger than the new Picanto. To scale the size, just take those 14″ tyre size as a guide for scaling. Then we get the real size of the car.
    So it’s bigger than Viva, but a little bit smaller than Myvi. Yes, it’s wider than the now defunct Savvy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Trust me, it will turn out a lot uglier. The prototype from Lotus is just to compare how bad will Proton screw up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 55
  • Denaihati on Dec 12, 2013 at 6:05 pm

I guess it is a little bit bigger than viva size. more interested test near Cameron Highlands, look like maneuverable car and sufficient power.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Theo,as i mentioned before,could you do a rendering now? =D

• Biskut on Dec 12, 2013 at 6:17 pm

Looks like a Mini-Exora to me. From the shape of the front and rear end. Hope they put the Petronas engine instead of Campro. That way we’ll see lots and lots of this new Proton on the roads. If priced around Viva price but with Myvi equipments, this would be a hot car in Malaysia.

• Keith Duckworth on Dec 12, 2013 at 6:27 pm

I would like to see Proton succeed but somehow I don’t think this model will succeed. Could end up like the Savvy, which is a pity. Hopefully I am wrong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • normal driver on Dec 12, 2013 at 6:42 pm

if still use the campro engine, susah lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • ploton on Dec 12, 2013 at 6:48 pm

Oh mai god, Proton Savi kambing bag.
    Savvy Savi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 39
  • nabill on Dec 12, 2013 at 7:01 pm

size looks like bigger than viva , probably around peugeot 208

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • The car is still in it’s camo and people keeps bashing this thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Darren Yeo on Dec 12, 2013 at 8:02 pm

Saw 4 of them on the way down from Cameron highlands yesterday. These cars seems to be able to grip winding roads pretty well. Hopefully it will be a stunner with a much better built for its interior

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • gopro on Dec 12, 2013 at 8:19 pm

from my eye, I agree tht the car just ltl bit wider and taller than viva.

• Archangel on Dec 12, 2013 at 8:25 pm

Just got some information from a friend, the specifications on this car is the same as suprima s with an estimated price range between 40k and 55k (5 speed manual and 6 speed CVT). Hopefully the information is true. Hehe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • Kamehameha on Dec 13, 2013 at 2:51 am

If the source coming from inside of Proton, it might be true. Hopefully to see the better design bcoz when it comes to the manufacturing process, someone high person in Proton will memandai change the plan.

• Archangel on Dec 13, 2013 at 8:57 pm

The source came from a friend who has a friend working in Proton. Hehe.

• iskhalifah on Dec 13, 2013 at 11:14 am

Typical Malaysian buyers always compare this with Myvi and think that Bigger is Better, no matter how many airbags, isofix, ESC & other safety features this Proton GSC have. I have this impression that this GSC has a length of an A segment car with the width of a B segment. Therefore its somekind of A+ segment car.

Pricing it too high near the Persona SV can be risky, it may hurt each other sales. I’m expecting the price of this car to be in the range of RM35-45K.

Listen Proton, look no further than the Picanto as the benchmark. Why Picanto instead of Brio? The Brio’s interior look plain dull & cheap, dedicated for developing markets. Since I believe this car will have ample interior room (i.e. Mirage), Lotus-tuned ride handling & nice design language, here are some important things that Proton should consider for this car to prove that it is ‘Global’:

1. Interior design (auto-climate aircon, ergonomics & better quality plastics pleaseee).
      2. Full passive & active safety features (no need for DRL, push-start, etc)

If Proton is going towards this direction, this car is going to eat the 2016 Viva-replacement car alive, and ready to set its sail into the lucrative European and Asian markets. It’s super tough. The latest Nissan March/Micra & Mitsubishi Mirage received bad reviews from European journalists, and failed to shine.

• UltraViolet on Dec 13, 2013 at 11:58 am

Between 40K and 55K. You must be joking. Malaysians are price sensitive. If 55K is the maximum asking price it will be akin to people’s reaction on Suprima’s pricing. Btw, I like Archuleta…hehe.

• Of coz better than Vivozzz…
    At least this is own design…
    more safer than that

• Hohoho on Dec 12, 2013 at 9:09 pm

Lol. Wonder which rebadge is this gonna be? First mitsu, then Honda, maybe yaris? Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 28
    • NIEKO on Dec 13, 2013 at 1:04 am

Ooi DRB-Hicom has informed us that this is done by Proton & Lotus only ok, This has been said for the last 5 months so please stop making your self look silly ,It appears that everyone is not happy that this Proton going against The new Kia Picanto, Hyundai I10 , Nissan Micra ,VW Up and Seat Mii ,so which car did I not list down ? that’s wright The overrated Myvi….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • Hohoho on Dec 13, 2013 at 9:09 am

The release of the perdana is silly enough. Please read the comments clearly if you can. People are against proton NOT because its going against the lights of KIA, Hyundai Nissan etc etc. People are against Proton because they are making pay for they lack of talent to make new cars and resort to rebadging even after 20 years in existence. And for the dude who keeps bringing up Holden as an example of rebadging, read the news buddy, GM just pulled the plug on their manufacturing plant in Australia. Whats that say about their rebadging?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
        • Halleluyah on Dec 13, 2013 at 11:38 am

I disagree on what you are saying. To spend hundreds of millions to produce a product which have low turnover such as D-segment cars are not feasible for proton at the moment.If you really read a little bit of auto news, DRB HICOM (the new proton owner in case you didn’t know) was requested by gov to get accord rebadged in order to cut cost for the Government use.(clearly stated 3000 units only) Rebadging the honda accord is definitely the best solution. It work almost like CKD, They could import parts from Japan while keeping the price low comparing to the current model. Without a doubt that proton changed alot. I mean ALOT. from the problematic power windows to fit & finish. They’ve improved which is a good sign. let me feed you some of the facts to you, did you know how much works proton put into inspira while rebadging? fixed lancer over heating issues, better handling and performed better in term of NVH.
          link http://paultan.org/2010/10/13/proton-p3-90a-based-on-mitsubishi-lancer-preview-drive/
          None of these were given credit. Proton Preve which was launched Q2 of 2012 scored 5star ANcap. from Exora(2009)4stars Ancap. there some improvement. Suprima S is a improved version of preve. at least they’ve tried. Proton under DRB management works differently comparing to previous management which is why i love to see more new models from proton and see how far they will go.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
          • Hohoho on Dec 13, 2013 at 12:02 pm

I pray you are right. They have already succumb to the politician’s wishes for the accord as it was “not politically” correct to get a honda for govt officials. And the rebadging is a CKD as the accord was CKD to begin with. And with the short timeframe and the limited units, I am doubtful if the cars are even assembled at proton plants given that production planning takes a year or two to setup and be proficient it it and to really reap the economies of scale, Proton needs to sell more than just 3000 units.

BTW, preve was from the previous management’s plan and so was the suprima s. DRB just went along with the plan. Am doubtful that DRP managemnet “changed” Proton in such a short time. Only time will tell how the management works.

• Halleluyah on Dec 15, 2013 at 11:53 am

yes, it was from preve was design during syed zainal era but bold move to include 6 airbags and full traction control into all preve range without adding any cost with discounts is a plus. Referring strictly to the article in paultan. they are delivering batch by batch until the number of 3000 so it will be assemble in proton. proton factory underutilised btw. Why i mentioning that proton might add and tweaks some performance on honda because they even have the time to stretch the accord for PM. stretch the chassis is not easy job as adding 2 or 3 steal bar and stick it together. the car must be safe enough for our PM to ride on everyday uses. if they have time to fix that then they have time to tweak the problem. as far as i researched accord have disc brake, bad handling and transmission problem which is about the same when rebadging lancer to inspira. if they can do it on inspira, i doubt they can’t on the accord.

• Alifz on Dec 12, 2013 at 10:08 pm

After 2 years production then put the butt it become 3rd generation Saga hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • passerby00 on Dec 12, 2013 at 10:12 pm

looks like a honda brio rebadged – hope the engine is not a campro mill.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
    • Rebadge? The fuel cap wrong place..exhaust oso at wrong place..rear door windows look bigger than brio..rear door n rear windshield look farther than brio….this far from rebadge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Protong Barang Naik
    (Since it will be lunch 2014 and to celebrate all the barang naik this is kind a tribute)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 28
  • policeman on Dec 12, 2013 at 10:26 pm

Proton will forever be a failure. No hope, just trash. Just like those who are thumbs downing this post of mine.

Look at these failures…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 61
    • Just saying on Dec 13, 2013 at 1:00 am

Wow, you are really trying hard. Here, have a down vote for your efforts. BTW, failure or not i don’t think its up to one measly you to decide.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Sucess on Dec 13, 2013 at 9:14 am

I disagree, Proton is very successful.

Very successful in asking for protection from the government for 20 years and more, very successful in making rebadging, supremely successful in creating crappy cars and very successful in making their cars cheaper in overseas where the country of origin pays higher prices.

Very successful wat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 23
    • tiadaid on Dec 13, 2013 at 11:43 am

Spoken like a typical Malaysian – always worshipping all things foreign.

Might as well give up the country’s independence & return to being a British colony, then you’ll be using Pound Sterling as currency making everything very cheap.

Just plain stupid

• Sucess on Dec 13, 2013 at 12:06 pm

Look around you my friend…… do we the rakyat really enjoy independence? Are our tax money really used to better the lives of our people with better health care and education?

Credit is given where credit is due and in Proton’s instance.. there isnt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Dey! Pijak lu on Dec 12, 2013 at 10:28 pm

I believed this car size will be between Viva and Myvi… maybe slightly bigger than Mirage

• Global car….ptuiii!!! Do they know what a global car means?? Nearly 30yrs in the business…look at the Koreans! Pls do us all a favour by closing shop Proton….then we can all be driving better cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 44
    • Korean? R u sure bout that?…where in ASEAN (-brunei) u can drive better car without p1?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • I miss the klims girl.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • LOLOLOL on Dec 12, 2013 at 11:44 pm

What? Rebadge Savy? Think Proton is taking this bit too far…. rebadging its own car and re-releasing it again! ahaha….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 32
  • farizY on Dec 13, 2013 at 8:36 am

Seriously hope that the quality will improve even further. For Proton to truly be a global car, make full use of Lotus Tech, if can, get a well established technical partner to speed up R&D. Unfortunately, even though it is considered by Proton as a global car, most of sales that Proton made, were domestic ones.
    And of course, gomen, reduce the ridiculous car prices (like you promised pre-GE13), to open up the market and encourage healthy competition.

• brian on Dec 13, 2013 at 8:45 am

I wonder what type of engine it will use. Is it still using campro engine? I hope not. campro engine is already 10 years old and already outdated. Nowadays the trend is aluminum engine which can deliver more fuel efficient yet can deliver more performance. But since it is confirm this proton gsc is 1.2, I wonder whether it have turbocharger or not. As I know if it want to be eco car like new perodua gma, it must be 1.0 and below if fitted with turbocharger.

• Myvi78 on Dec 13, 2013 at 8:55 am

Mcm cantik je..mcm comell jerr..! comell tak saya..!! i’ll call proton comell..

• iluvproton on Dec 13, 2013 at 9:16 am

Eh? Why they make another savvy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • car maniac on Dec 13, 2013 at 9:45 am

Totally not interested with very poor experience with Wira and Waja. it is just forcing people to buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • Lotus tuned ? Savvy body with superficial external remodeling (Engine sourcing using Honda Brio instead of Renault ???).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • rickyll on Dec 13, 2013 at 10:45 am

If it turns out like the City car shown above, design wise is okay. Just adds in enough safety features, proper fittings, a new power train and a competitive price tag, it would definitely be well received locally. Proton should learn from past mistakes, remember that ‘Tuah’ as concept car was very trendy and promising but the end product “Preve” is quite disappointing. Proton should make full use of the expertise of Lotus and comes out with real global winner.

• ruffstuff on Dec 13, 2013 at 11:07 am

Proton can nailed the safety aspect of this car, since they want to bring this model to UK.

However, what is more important is fuel consumption. I saw they benchmark the car with Honda Brio, that should be a good sign.

Data shows that our malaysian buyers are not spec sensitive, especially safety equipment. Cars with good safety spec are not selling well. What’s more important to them is reliability and fuel consumption. Proton nailed the wrong nail? Safety is not important to malaysian? But i wonder why malaysian keep complaining about Proton cars are not very safe, but when they improved on that aspect, we just dismissed them. Proton sudah kena main.. but Proton is the first one who mempermainkan malaysian.

• totti on Dec 13, 2013 at 11:44 am

Another failure car in the making if they use the Campro noisy and non reliable engine and high maintenance cost (replacement of timing belt at 80,000k interval and failure of engine valveshaft before 100,000KM.

• hamid on Dec 13, 2013 at 12:06 pm

Proton can only improve on the safety aspects of
    the car. Be it 6 airbags / ABS / Lotus tuned whatever but at the end of the day this car will not sell cos its powerplant sucks big time.
    Proton has failed to come up with a new, efficient & reliable engine and the CPS has past its shelf life !!
    Even Driven review mentioned about the final drive.
    I wont be surprised if Proton use the Honda Brio
    engine similar to what they did for the Perdana.

• Proton staff on Dec 13, 2013 at 12:44 pm

I keep hearing campro not reliable in this forum, but rarely see any Proton user complaining on campro not reliable, other than it sucks at fuel consumption.

• drkarma on Dec 13, 2013 at 12:08 pm

To all u beloved CamPro bashers.. Wats ur problem with it? R u crying in ur room alone coz ur 90k City,Vios, Forte and Myvi cant keep up with the 1.6 and 1.3 Campro engined Protons around? Cmonla.. U wana criticise, be constructive. I have driven almost all models of Proton. Yes, they have issues with parts, built quality, as in interior. But which car doesnt? some k5 has rattling sunroof, wat do u say abt that? Yes, there are politics around Proton, but that is not the rational to blindly criticize the engineering ryte? Gen 2 had major issues, but tat car reali goes, and almost unshaken at high speed cornering and tat is without any smart chip controlling any sort of balancing.. So we r gona jus hide these facts and keep on bashing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • By the look of the face of the car, I assume the design is roughly the same with the current saga flx? I hope not though..

• zufar on Dec 13, 2013 at 12:19 pm

Suitable for u students if the price is below than the expensive myvi!

• Harzhar Karim on Dec 13, 2013 at 12:38 pm

cukup ke R & D nak keluakan keta ni denga cite nya cuma 1tahun setengah jer projek nak keluakan keta ni,toyota, nissan VW nak keluakan keta baru amik masa 2 – 3 tahun, nnt yang jd mangsa keadaan adalah pengguna pakai 2 – 3 tahun da mula rosak san rosak sini.

• cant see much but i hope they come out with a good QC with competitive pricing.

• toyoda on Dec 13, 2013 at 2:59 pm

It is not easy to design for small platform cars and expect nothing will be compromised. Looking at previous proton cars, they are not that good in term of ergonomic, space and practicality. Hopefully they can pull off with good design on this little car.

• norman on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:17 pm

This module takes 3 years to test in Siberia,Poland,Africa and Asiann terrain.I believe they had learn their lesson though…

• faroyadal on Dec 13, 2013 at 4:02 pm

after saga sv and persona sv, i m looking forward for the sv-specced of this model.kete kontot sesuai bawak pusing2 bandar.proton boleh diharap untuk letak harga mampu milik. harga permulaan 30k ye proton…?!

• Savoc-havoc on Dec 13, 2013 at 4:31 pm

GSC yeah right…will drive my savvy till die..

• shamshaw on Dec 13, 2013 at 5:15 pm

if it looks like EMAS or lotus ethos. i will buy it for sure.

• Painter on Dec 13, 2013 at 11:18 pm

Proton must be brave enough to take undertake radical design as opposed to typical conventional design language. Learn a thing or two from Lexus. The Preve’s is sort of a disappointment.

This new model, coupled with range-extender could potentially be a game-changer for Proton.

• Flat Black on Dec 16, 2013 at 2:29 am

Shane on you Proton. You now what you did.