Bangkok 2014: Nissan Pulsar DIG Turbo with 190 hp

Nissan Pulsar DIG Turbo-20

At the 2014 Bangkok Motor Show, Nissan showed off a hot version of the hatchback version of the Sylphy. Yes, that’s what the Nissan Pulsar DIG Turbo is, the range topping Pulsar in Thailand. The five-door “premium sports hatchback” was launched in the Land of Smiles this time last year, with naturally-aspirated 1.6 and 1.8 litre engines.

The Pulsar DIG Turbo is powered by a Direct Injection Gasoline (that’s the DIG) 1.6 litre MR16DDT turbo engine with Twin C-VTC. It makes 190 PS at 5,600 rpm and 240 Nm at 2,400 rpm, leading Nissan to say that this car has “2.5 litre class power”. To compare, the standard 1.6 makes 116 PS and 154 Nm, while the 1.8 pushes out 131 PS and 174 Nm.

Like the rest of the range, the Pulsar DIG Turbo is equipped with Nissan’s Xtronic CVT gearbox, but there’s a six-speed manual mode here. It also comes with uprated brakes with larger discs, a revised steering system and retuned suspension for a sportier feel. Safety wise, there’s VDC and six airbags.

The Pulsar DIG Turbo won’t appeal to all, and Nissan Thailand probably knows that, which is why only 350 units of each colour (black, red, pearl white) will be made available here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 25, 2014 at 7:59 pm

drop the horrid stickers and I’d take one!

Thats a lot of power from a 1.6 engine. You can be rest assured it our ETCM will never bring it in though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Edward on Mar 25, 2014 at 8:28 pm

Why would you drop the stickers? Those stickers seem like it’s adding extra 5 horsepowers…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • i hate how they always give our market these cheap crappy stickers. They will never do this in the UK or US. Example, the ford fiesta.

• Win Er on Mar 26, 2014 at 8:32 am

It’s an Asian thing.

• laughingor on Mar 26, 2014 at 8:52 am

becoz we are Asian. Most of our ppl here not focus in quality to enjoy the luxury out of it. This is our attitude. Many things you can refer here in our daily life, cincai, macam macam pun boleh.

• X-CVT… more and more models with this gearbox.

• Besi Buruk (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 7:55 am

Much more powerful than Suprima S??

Pulsar DIG Turbo > Suprima. Enough said lah.

• Without Lotus Handling, this Pullsuk can turn a 180degree hairpin unlike Suprima S.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
        • Same Lor Ori on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:48 pm

Yea, the so called Lotus handling without VSC, ABS, EBD, TRC and milo tin body, we saw so many Protons end up in longkang/bukit/divider.

Suprima S? give me a break please. How many of them you saw on the road? I see 10 new Vios not yet see one SS. Simply because Malaysian drivers are not deceived “Lotus Handling” anymore.

Show us something new like Rose Handling, Orchid Handling, Plastic Flower Handling pls!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
          • Don’t jealous your godalike Vios and turtle Myvi can’t take corner like my Satria Neo

• Same Lor Ori on Mar 26, 2014 at 4:40 pm

I am so jealous your Satria Neo will end up above divider during cornering.

I also jealous you spend half your salary to pump petrol to your awesome Satria Neo.

I even jealous is you repair your Satria Neo more often than I pump petrol.

I jealous the most when you want to sell your Satria Neo, you get close to nothing.

If you want to do cornering, buy a 86 and do it at Sepang. If you can’t afford it, don’t endanger everyone with you Mat Rempit style on the road!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
        • Supreme My @ss on Mar 26, 2014 at 4:09 pm

I pronounce it as “supreme my a s s”

• lonelyobserve on Mar 26, 2014 at 8:00 am

Nissan tries to replace all conventional 4-speeders to Xtronic CVT for A to D-segment cars. Only luxury cars (all branded as Infiniti) will have conventional 7-speed automatic transmission.

• Just an easy kill off for Ford Focus 1.5L ecoboost 182hp on overall features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • shawal on Mar 25, 2014 at 8:46 pm

Why ETCM is so slow bringing in d new sylphy???
    Corolla launched ady…
    Sylphy impul with dat engine is tempting

• Krasher on Mar 26, 2014 at 2:37 am

2019 ETCM will bring in Malaysia and sell as..”The NEW Nissan Sylphy”

• Modesto.hann on Mar 25, 2014 at 8:48 pm

Would you buy if they bring this in and priced at RM180? This is what the price gonna be when it is here…

• Hahaha on Mar 25, 2014 at 10:54 pm

Modesto.Hann…if it’s priced at Rm 180, i’ll buy 1 for u…hahaha

• Usin Kangkong (Member) on Mar 25, 2014 at 8:56 pm

Sir, does the X-CVT good or not?

• lonelyobserve on Mar 26, 2014 at 8:03 am

Nissan Xtronic CVT can withstand torque up to about 350Nm (Nissan Teana and Elgrand in 3.5L V6 engines).

• Krasher on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:03 pm

That’s what I call REAL update. Not just slap-on some bodykit, spoiler, leather seat, side mirror indicator etc etc and ask for more money from consumer (If you know who I mean)

• Mungkin on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:31 pm

Makcik’s design with 190hp. Sure easy to go pasar.

• Arvin Chow on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:52 pm

Manual box please!!!

• yeong (Member) on Mar 25, 2014 at 10:06 pm

How does this compare to our “pride” CFE + Punch CVT?

• lonelyobserve on Mar 26, 2014 at 8:05 am

At least Xtronic CVT can withstand more torque (~350Nm)than Proton’s CVT (merely 200Nm).

• nabill on Mar 26, 2014 at 11:22 am

Cfe torque is 205…so how can da cvt hav a limit of 200….?? U took da wrong medication bro..

• Denaihati on Mar 25, 2014 at 10:08 pm

i think might be also hot if come here too. so much power for 1.6L engine, should be fun to drive this car.

• nismo on Mar 25, 2014 at 10:26 pm

so basically is this a clio rs in a nissan c segment body? why that gearbox instead of dual clutch?

• calcutta on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:38 am

to avoid recall
      what’s wrong with 6 speed manual

• lonelyobserve on Mar 26, 2014 at 8:09 am

Japanese has the mindset of introducing mainstream cars globally by ditching manual transmission from new car models in favour of CVT and automatic transmission (still Europeans will not allow Japanese to do so).

• roti canai (Member) on Mar 25, 2014 at 11:04 pm

nissan malaysia, bring this please…we can only dream….

• Eddie on Mar 25, 2014 at 11:16 pm

The old pulsar used to be very nice. The pulsar SSS with sr20 engine.

• paucharsiew on Mar 25, 2014 at 11:52 pm

i really dig this now

• Exterior looks ok for me but definitely not the boring interior, especially the steering!

• nismo on Mar 26, 2014 at 8:23 am

i see the shadow of 308 in the exterior design

• Norman on Mar 26, 2014 at 8:51 am

This is a twin turbo high rpm engine..188hp@5600rpm/240nm@2500rpm same as the Juke turbo…Great for mid and high torque play..Cannot compared with puny CFE cause thats only a single low pressure turbo 138hp@5000rpm/205nm@2000rpm which power mainly focus on low and mid torque.

• heybadigol on Mar 26, 2014 at 9:55 am

Nice performance figures. Sleeper car too. Who would expect this thing to have 190ps. Thats like more power (as provided by BMW) than the 316i.

• carazy on Mar 26, 2014 at 9:59 am

6 speed manual, sound delicious!!

• Joker on Mar 26, 2014 at 10:48 am

Nice… 1.6cc = 190hp… ETCM make ur move…

• Pulsar 1.6 DIG turbo VS Golf 1.4TSI
    Which better vote
    Like represent Pulsar ; Dislike represent Golf.

• Marieta on Mar 26, 2014 at 2:44 pm

The exhaust is in inner side of the engine…with our current climate prepare to see lots of this got burn by overheating..

• fortezen on Mar 26, 2014 at 3:19 pm

In and Out, it doesn’t looked like a car with 190hp, pls la Nissan, why not pay your designers pension and left them off, brings some young blood in!