Nissan Pulsar five-door hatch launched in Thailand

Nissan Pulsar-01

The Nissan Pulsar five-door hatchback has been launched in Thailand. The Pulsar, which we first saw as the new Nissan Tiida from Auto Shanghai 2011, is essentially a hatchback version of the new Nissan Sylphy. We covered the Thai launch of the new Sylphy last August – click here for full details and pics.

The C-segment hatchback is 320 mm shorter than its sedan sibling, but retains the long 2,700 mm wheelbase for lots of rear legroom. The Pulsar’s wheelbase length is 100 mm longer than the roomy old Latio hatch’s, and this should translate to superior cabin space over European hatchbacks like the Volkswagen Golf and Ford Focus.

The Pulsar may look sportier than the Sylphy, but there’s no added firepower under the hood, no 1.6L turbo for the Thai market. Like the sedan, it can be had with either an improved HR16DE or the new MRA8DE.

The Twin C-VTC 1.6 litre unit makes 116 PS and 154 Nm of torque, while the 1.8 litre (with Twin C-VTC and a “diamond-like” carbon coating) pushes out 131 PS and 174 Nm of torque from a low 3,600 rpm. No basic manual option as per Sylphy – the Pulsar is CVT-only.

Billed as “the premium sports hatchback” in the Land of Smiles, the Pulsar is priced from 776,000 baht to 976,000 baht for the range topping 1.8V Sunroof Navi. Besides sunroof and sat-nav, the costliest Pulsar also comes with goodies like bi-xenon projector headlamps, 17-inch wheels, cruise control, Bluetooth, keyless entry and reverse camera.

Like what you see? How do you think the Nissan Pulsar will fare if it comes to Malaysia?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• PakJib on Mar 11, 2013 at 6:52 pm

boleh tahan.. rasa2 bila masuk malaysia market ?

• Sam Loo on Mar 12, 2013 at 9:14 am

By time Tan Chong launch this, it will be 2018. Tan Chong is a joke in the car industry. Their big boss is more interested in coming out with press releases encouraging high car prices and high car taxes to burden Malaysians even more. Tan Chong is so lembabp that any car they launch in Malaysia is 5 years later. The Cefiro was launched 6 years later after Singapore launched it and that also, Malaysia launched it as Teana, trying to hoodwink Malaysians.

• No more “iron man chest”!

• tikus on Mar 11, 2013 at 7:03 pm

Nice product….But Tan Ching will only bring it in around 3 to 5 years time.Please be patience.

• Darris on Mar 11, 2013 at 7:05 pm

70~80k price tag would be great impact to our market I guess.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Anonymous on Mar 11, 2013 at 7:19 pm

Definitely not with a C-segment… 115K more like it after tax…

• Anonymous on Mar 11, 2013 at 7:21 pm

And with that hefty price can forget about impacting our market…

• nah…just hav dual airbag onli…oso the lowest variant has no ABS, BA n EDB…nissan thai do not really care bout thai people safety…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Wait till this model almost phase out in Thailand then only we’ll get it. .. as per tc practice. . Always outdated

• mini murano like, sports hatchback with a 1.6l engine … aiyoyo ..

• ben yap on Mar 11, 2013 at 8:35 pm

1.8 develop only 131PS? that’s low for a new car. some korean 1.6 can develop that power and their 1.8 already doing 150PS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • amigo on Mar 11, 2013 at 8:39 pm

Why Tan Chong not really aggressive in M’sia market? New Slyphy haven’t release, Nissan juke not on the road…now this pulsar, I don’t know when it will arrive to M’sian market

• Nones on Mar 11, 2013 at 9:23 pm

Dont know when, but oldies model, like sentra still on the road.

• _xXx_ on Mar 12, 2013 at 11:57 am

not just on the road, it IS still being sold. It’s Sentra Supotsu!!

• mamaktir on Mar 11, 2013 at 9:26 pm

singapore just launched few day , and semuabolehland launch few years later

• the malaysian is still pretty much a sedan market even though its most popular car is a hatchback. just ask mazda, mitsu, ford how many hatchback 3, lancer and focus they r selling compared to the sedan counterparts

• JackeyDeck on Mar 11, 2013 at 9:59 pm

Not very tempted by the design, and spec wise there are other better options.

However, still looking forward and wondering when the heck TC going to bring the slim-eye fat-cheek Juke into our can-can-soil. (Boleh-Boleh-Land)

My friends did spot a Juke running on the road before. (Probably a recon )

• Jimmy on Mar 11, 2013 at 10:16 pm

Better buy Altis 1.8G with ESP and good RV for potential customers of this price range(they mostly put a lot of weight on RV), not Mazda3, not Civic and not Altis 2.0V. Definitely not for those tall skinny unstable unsighty vehicles like most Nissan vehicles (smallest width vs competitors) and Pajero Sport. Mat Salleh’s vehicles are mostly wider and hence look more elegant. Even a car like Beetle which is supposed to only look cute actually looks more elegant than an Altis.

• jolly_idiot on Mar 12, 2013 at 1:20 am

Too tame for its name. In many impression. Pulsar is something beatable to subaru impreza

• gOOsh on Mar 12, 2013 at 8:07 am

better presentation compare to previous LATIO…
    at least give more options for C-hatchback segment…

• i wonder whether the delayed launch is due to Tan Chong’s business model or perhaps the malaysian govt’s (MITI) approval process.

but it is sad to see us getting old models especially nissan’s cuz they roll out good cars every now and then with updated engines etc. but we rarely get them on time.

at the time i bought my navara, australia and thailan already had their update 190ps engine for a year already. and malaysia is still using the 2008 frontier/navara specs.

where’s our pathfinder?

• Nissan must sell this lookin great Pulsar to Malaysia ASAP!!! Counter attack again after Almeera n please do it QUICK!!!

• Deborah Snowden on Aug 08, 2023 at 7:05 am

I am looking for 2013 car parts for a 2013 Nissan Pulsar which requires a Transmission with the computer and a Torque Converter to repair my car. I live in New Zealand and there are no cars wrecked of spare parts for this vehicle here. I do hope you can help me as the car has been off the road for a year. It only has 140ks on the clock and I would like to repair it if I find the parts.