DRIVEN: Mercedes-Benz A 45 AMG – a double take

Mercedes-Benz A 45 AMG Sherms 1

It wasn’t a great way to start life with a new ride. Flat and uninspiring aren’t terms you’d normally use to describe a 250 hp and 340 Nm hatchback, but the Ford Focus ST I’d just taken delivery of felt very much that, like a can of warm soda missing the fizz. Downright pedestrian, actually.

The test mule I’d returned in the morning before heading off to collect the ST had everything to do with it. If anything was able to make a decent hot hatch feel absolutely tepid, then it would be an even hotter hatch. Which is precisely what the Mercedes-Benz A 45 AMG happened to be.

Alright, so it wasn’t cricket comparing both given the pricing difference, but that didn’t stop my mind from playing the inadvertent Top Trumps, simply because it could and chose to. It took days before some semblance of quick was finally felt on the ST, longer in the case of drive dynamics.

Even now, long after the music has stopped, the tune conjured by the range-topping model of the W176 A-Class range is still playing in the head. Affalterbach’s first proper hot hatch foray has been that memorable, and I’m not the only one in the team who thinks so.

Mercedes-Benz A 45 AMG Sherms 2

It isn’t quite for the looks, even though it looks flash enough. The test mule was a Cirrus White limited A 45 AMG Edition 1 unit, dressed with an AMG Night Package and Aerodynamics package as well as AMG multi-spoke 19-inch matte black alloys with 235/35 tyres.

The E1 A 45 also gets matte graphite grey AMG sports stripes on the bonnet, roof and sides, with additional red highlights on the radiator grille, exterior mirrors, brake calipers and rear aerofoil. A bit loud visually, but nothing too distasteful about it all. Speaking of the AMG rear aerofoil, it’s an optional piece of kit, but all Malaysian A 45s get it, Edition 1 or not.

Plenty of red accents too for the interior, which gets the seats dressed in Artico man-made leather/Dinamica microfibre with red contrasting top-stitching. The front sports seats are an absolute standout, the ergonomics and fit far surpassing many ‘sport seats’, like the Recaros on the ST.

It’s also not quite for the tech and numbers, though there’s plenty to like if you’re into such things. The M132 (now designated the M133) AMG 2.0 litre twin-scroll turbo four-pot, with 360 hp at 6,000 rpm and 450 Nm at 2,250 to 5,000 rpm for output numbers, was for a good while the most powerful series production four-cylinder engine in the world. Audi’s recently announced reworked EA888 TFSI, with a 420 PS and 450 Nm output state of tune, has taken over the mantle, but the M132 hasn’t become a snail despite the lack of a title.

Mercedes-Benz A 45 AMG Sherms 7

The hand-built, EU6 emissions-ready mill is paired to an AMG Speedshift DCT seven-speed dual-clutch sports transmission, which is directly flange-mounted on the transversely-installed engine. There’s AMG 4MATIC all-wheel drive as standard, and as far as performance figures go, the A 45 is good for a 0-100 km/h dash in 4.6 seconds and an electronically-limited 250 km/h top speed. No slouch, then.

As standard, the car is fitted with a twin-pipe AMG sports exhaust system, which features large pipe cross-sections and an automatically controlled exhaust flap that’s continuously adjusted by map control according to the power called up by the driver, load status and engine speed.

An optional AMG Performance exhaust system (fitted on the local car as standard) offers the same exhaust flap and a dedicated tailpipe trim design, but has a more audible note when the throttle is open and during gear shifting, downshifting and during upshifting under full load.

In addition to double-declutching and Race Start functions, there are three driving programme modes, C (Controlled Efficiency), S (Sport) and M (Momentary M mode), the last enabling the dynamism and performance of gear-shifting in manual mode in all of the automatic driving programmes, with automatic up- and down-shifting in the mix.

Mercedes-Benz A 45 AMG Sherms 6

There’s also a three-stage ESP (On, Sport Handling and Off) with ESP Curve Dynamic Assist, the latter offering perceptible braking intervention on the inside wheel to offer more precise cornering.

Both suspension and brakes get the AMG treatment, the former featuring specifically-tuned spring/damper units and larger stabilisers among the revisions, while an AMG high-performance braking system with ventilated and perforated discs can be found.

The real fun begins at start-up, which is always going to be a recurring adventure, and if the car is new to the neighbourhood, definitely attention-grabbing. The exhaust soundtrack is a winner – visceral, unarguably primal and thoroughly engaging to the ears even at idle, it’s a real joy at full pelt (or during upshifts and downshifts). The downside to it is that attempting to leave home at 1am in a stealthy manner is pretty much unmanageable.

The bold, sonorous aural concert from the 45 is however pretty much left to the workings of the exhaust. There’s not much in the way of contribution from the four-pot, even whilst charging along.

The M132 sings a rather humdrum tune, the way most fours do, and is for want of a better term unintrusive, especially at cruising speeds. At 90 km/h, the engine turns at 1,500 rpm, remaining muted in the 1,800 rpm zone at the national speed limit. There’s no real sonic assault from the block even when the needle gets to the 200 speed mark, the lump humming along at just over 3,000 rpm.

It’s the reason why the A 45 is such a little ripper, with an excellent turn of speed (especially in-gear), but it’s all accomplished with plenty of finesse and linearity across the range – the more noticeable magic will be felt through that seminal exhaust and the way the car handles.

In terms of handling, the 45 is prone to understeer if you carry a fair bit of speed into a turn and adopt the traditional gentle in and quick out approach, as Hafriz mentions in his part of the piece, but once you get the hang of utilising the throttle into a turn, the 45 is magic.

The all-wheel drive offering is a veritable corner carver, so much so I came back for second and third late night dibs on the usual Putrajaya/Cyberjaya route the test weekend, each time finding a higher threshold as the car became more familiar, the last session – after resident pixman Sherman Sim was done with night photography of the car – being especially vibrant.

The level of grip is outstanding, that of traction no less impressive, and as a point-to-point machine, the 45 is downright phenomenal, enough to make something like the front-drive ST a docile mom mobile in comparison, flailing about twenty corners behind.

The steering could do better in terms of associated feel in relation to things down the line, especially off centre, but it is precise and quick enough for the job. In the end, I covered close to 500 km in the evaluator, with plenty of short, tight course routes in the mix. It has certainly been a while since I’ve driven an evaluator that much and in such fashion, which speaks volumes about the 45.

It’s not all roses, of course. If you start dissecting it into the individual parts, there are some spots that have less gloss. It’s going to need RON 97, for one, and elsewhere, the 7G-DCT feels a bit flat down the engine range in an urban environment, certainly so in the car’s Controlled Efficiency mode.

You’d think that if you got serious about things, that the response would pick up, but that’s not truly the case – Sport opens things up, but the ‘box isn’t decidedly quick and the ratios don’t always feel seamless, particularly from second going into third. Manual shifting at pace returns the best results, but there’s still some slowness evident.

Mercedes-Benz A 45 AMG 48

Then there’s the ride – while stiff, I didn’t find it uncompromising, but many might. About the only caveat is that mid-corner ruts tend to upset the car’s attitude, but other than that the time spent in the car wasn’t punishing from a ride point of view.

The level of firmness is something that seems to be tied in with the W176’s nature though, by the looks of it. The guys who drove the A 250 Sport during the car’s stint on Driven Web Series #3 said it was hard, unbearingly so at times. Not quite my take of it from the drive in Slovenia, where I thought it quite compliant, but the A 250 Sport was on a quasi-track then.

Also, wind noise from the front windows can be deemed intrusive, noticeable even at 110 km/h. Granted, the soundtrack from the exhaust and sensory appeal of speed means you won’t be paying much attention to that element if you’re charging along, but you won’t always be doing so.

It’ll also make you into a bit of a thug on the road. While it can be driven slowly without fuss, something about this car just eggs you on to be that hooligan – Danny had a go in it in helping ferry the car back, and admitted he was borderline reckless later. “Breathtaking, but this is a car that can get you into a lot of trouble,” as he put it.

But such is the nature of this beast – the A 45 AMG makes no excuses for what it is, a blisteringly hot hatchback, and the minor foibles seem just that, minor. In its completeness, it’s more than a whole load of bang for the RM349k asked. For those who do (and can wait for it), it’ll be your party piece, every day. As for me, I’ve learnt to be quite content with my soft and sedate mom mobile in the time since. But damn that song, because it’s still playing in my head, and very loudly at that.

Mercedes-Benz A 45 AMG 32

AMG 4MATIC magic – Hafriz Shah makes light work of the A 45 AMG on a wet track:

It’s times like this you wish text could supply audio. Just like the God mode in old-school computer games, there’s a button by the stout gearknob of the Mercedes-Benz A 45 AMG that instantly increases the car’s lung capacity. Press the discreet button, the AMG Performance Exhaust (standard here, optional in other markets) absolutely sings.

The result: a cross between an American muscle car and a sophisticated European sports car. But is it just hot air, though?

Far from it. It’s an engineering marvel not just because of the sound, but because AMG has achieved it while meeting noise and emission requirements. The sound from the four rhombus pipes seems louder and meaner than most sports cars, let alone hot-hatches.

But perhaps that was because I was nestled in the quiet Sepang track, and there was no other noise in the air except the A 45 AMG venting its anger. The calm turbo V6s in the current F1 circus could learn a thing or two about sound engineering from this lil’ one.

Mercedes-Benz_A_45_AMG_Sepang_002

More good news abound. The exhaust note is just one of many ways that the uber-hot A-Class delights the senses. It’s full of hidden surprises, this one, as I head out on to the circuit.

It’s hard to know which is better – listening to the exhaust note at full pelt from the outside, or hearing its slightly muffled tone from the inside, but having fun. No, think again, being inside is always better. As it often is.

The front seats – of the more extreme AMG Performance kind that is standard here – are nothing short of superb. They wrap the driver and front passenger with such effect, they look like leather-lined versions of the racing buckets from a DTM car, complete with holes above the shoulders to accommodate harness straps.

It’s the best seating position this side of the Volkswagen Golf GTI and BMW M6 Gran Coupe. I suppose it needs to be, such is the car’s grip in corners.

Mercedes-Benz_A_45_AMG_Sepang_003

Speaking of which, adhesion would count on a track as fast and wide as Sepang. To add to the challenge, the sky had just opened up a few minutes before, wetting half of the track. Good thing the AMG 4MATIC was up for a mean bout.

Other than speed and sound – both of which are a given – the A 45 AMG’s biggest advantage compared with its tamer rivals is its grip, by virtue of its all-wheel drive system and well-sorted suspension. Yes, the Golf R has all-paw traction too, but nowhere near the handling finesse harnessed by Affalterbach.

The AMG has a 60:40 variable torque split front to rear, giving it slightly more front-drive tendencies. So that’s more understeer than oversteer, but only in the extremes. Take it easy and it’s unnaturally neutral and very, very positive, like no all-wheel drive machine has a right to be.

Go a little faster into the corners and the A-Class’ front-drive legacy starts to show, forcing the AMG to push wide a tiny bit more than you’d ideally want. This is in the wet of course, and in the dry parts the grip threshold is much higher than most drivers will ever dare to unravel.

Mercedes-Benz A 45 AMG Sherms 3

So is it disappointing in the wet, then? Not quite, as the AMG 4MATIC magic then kicked into action. Hard.

To make the most out of it, you have to override your natural understanding of the ‘slow in, fast out’ concept. With this one, you’ll have to introduce ‘power through’ into the equation, making it ‘slow in, power through, very fast out’. Yes, there’s some learning to be done to drive this machine properly.

Instead of the standard procedure of brake hard, lift off to aim for the corner apex, and then power out, the AMG 4MATIC system requires you to commit earlier into the corner and power into and out of the bend. Only then would there be enough torque sent to the rear wheels, balancing the weight shift over the front axle and killing the progress-threatening understeer build up.

Mercedes-Benz A 45 AMG Sherms 4

It’s an alien concept at first, sure, but once you get it, you’ll absolutely fly. Like in most things that are profoundly pleasurable, adapting to something (or someone) is half the fun, and the reward once you’ve found the sweet spot is, well, a thoroughly deserved climax of the whole experience.

The Mercedes-Benz A 45 AMG asks for a lot – both in terms of financial and driving commitments – but it certainly gives back on so many levels.

It’s a hatchback and a road racer in one well polished and deeply desirable package. More so, it’s genuinely sporty in feel, and almost brutal in execution. In short, it’s a proper AMG. And like the rest of Affalterbach’s finest, this one makes no apologies.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• rifle on Apr 09, 2014 at 8:54 pm

my dream hot hatch B)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
    • OhMyEnglish on Apr 09, 2014 at 11:55 pm

My english is not that good so I find it is quite a headache to read the review.

Perhaps if you can make the sentences shorter, not putting everything that you want to say, nor it is just something that comes across in your mind, maybe not even another line to emphasize the importance of a certain thing, all in only one sentence.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 156 Thumb down 22
      • Flying Kite on Apr 10, 2014 at 8:36 am

OhMyEnglish – Totally agree with you. I like this site, but maybe next time they should use a little simpler and direct English…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 14
        • Kikiki on Apr 10, 2014 at 9:20 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 147
      • Chris (Member) on Apr 10, 2014 at 9:00 am

They can’t make everyone happy. If they simplify their language, someone else would get disappointed and say the articles no longer shines.

Not many things in Malaysia is up to international standards, but the articles here are. Though I admit reading this in the morning before my cup of coffee is a bit of a struggle, haha.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 5
      • Pratt on Apr 10, 2014 at 10:56 am

I think the writing is just fine. It’s a really good read, which is more than you can say of most of the other local publications here. It loses nothing to bigger international sites. Kudos to the editors and writers here, I say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
      • start-a-fight on Apr 10, 2014 at 11:21 am

kids.. shut up and go back to school.. grown ups are talking here…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 37
      • DrCheng on Apr 10, 2014 at 1:47 pm

If you cannot understand this, go back to school … but not in Malaysia, cause the English standard here is very poor. Go to UK, Singapore or Australia and learn English, then come back and read this article, much wiser!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 40
        • cendol (Member) on Apr 10, 2014 at 3:27 pm

in few years time, Malaysian garment will totally abolish English education in schools, it will settle the problem of poor English once and for all.
          Out of sight, out of mind,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
        • JOKER on May 03, 2014 at 3:33 pm

i dont find urs any better though…u got any plan going to those places u mentioned ?

• Dr Mamak on Feb 17, 2015 at 12:59 pm

I balked at that rear goal post and those ah beng decals.

• justLOL on Apr 09, 2014 at 8:56 pm

such a beauty! this made me wanna work harder in life!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • Same Loor on Apr 29, 2014 at 3:20 pm

The car is nice, but you can get a GTR for the price.

Japanese cars after all are still more worthy to buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
  • spongewai on Apr 09, 2014 at 9:19 pm

fuh, impressive

• Nice package.. I can only drolll…

• Klangboy on Apr 09, 2014 at 9:23 pm

very well written! and what a gorgeous piece of engineering in that little hot hatch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • asrul on Apr 09, 2014 at 9:46 pm

“most powerful series production four-cylinder engine in the world”

thought that title belongs to Evo FQ-400 ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • ikansepat on Apr 09, 2014 at 9:51 pm

my next car!!

• Sanm loo on Apr 09, 2014 at 9:54 pm

My AE86 is much much better than this goat…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 89
    • Ah Beng on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:31 pm

How come my vios dugong is much much better than your AE86 meh??

• an awesome car indeed.. the RM also..

• Motorhead (Member) on Apr 09, 2014 at 10:04 pm

Nice stripes. …

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 09, 2014 at 10:25 pm

First off, congrats on the ST, Anthony, it makes a good sound too!

But this A45 AMG. Mind blowing what a 2.0 litter engine can do. Amazing.

And also, the photos, by any chance will there be a hi res pack we can have to dress our desktops and drool at this piece of engineering, while we count our pennies and save up for the real deal? The photos belong in the official brochure or something. Well done!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • Guan Yin Maa on Apr 09, 2014 at 10:50 pm

waiting list ? 2 years.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 116
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Apr 09, 2014 at 11:37 pm

Smoked what…? The A250…? The driver probably just humbling himself not to stoop so low as to race with a low-life retard such as you…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 127 Thumb down 1
    • royrogers on Apr 09, 2014 at 11:55 pm

I’m sure your ugly dugong vios can smoke a veyron and aventador anytime too

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 1
    • Jonny Tan on Apr 10, 2014 at 3:31 am

My Honda Ex5 will smoke you in the traffic jam!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 0
    • torque on Apr 10, 2014 at 9:26 am

Dooooctor!!! U got a loose patient here, get his @$$ back to the cell pls!

• gtr36 on Apr 10, 2014 at 2:03 pm

another immature Vios driver, even here! Lost count on how many mocked up Vios trying to snap at my heels and cant even keep up with my unker NGL.

Too bad they cant afford a real car and need to waste petrol chasing after real ones.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • holofanboi on Apr 10, 2014 at 1:42 am

Camry better.

…… =X

HOLY SHIT LOOK AT THE AMOUNT OF GRENADES!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 35
  • Head Hunter on Apr 10, 2014 at 7:02 am

Somebody’s trying to be a bit more Top Gearish in his writing. Hahahah.. I would prefer a Malaysian touch, perhaps putting in Nasi Lemak or comparing it to a very well made Nasi Briyani. Maybe to even compare it with Sarawak Laksa, spicy and exciting!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 12
    • I dunno what you’re talking about. Top gear now in Malaysia is mega kampung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • Pratt on Apr 10, 2014 at 10:59 am

Hahahaha spot on, brother, can’t agree more!

As for this review, I see nothing wrong with it. It already has a good blend of local character and international finesse to it. Best in the business, no doubt.

• chocobo on Apr 10, 2014 at 8:28 am

Very terrible review. Trying to be technical through the use of words but offer no insight at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 24
  • Noisy overprice car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 32
  • random reader on Apr 10, 2014 at 9:46 am

Anthony, is there a difference the M132 and M133 AMG turbo-4? All these while global releases mention the engine code for this turbo-4 as a M133. how is it different from a M132?
    http://www.mercedes-amg.com/engineering_creation2.php?section=20l4c
    thanks! great great photos by the way!

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Apr 10, 2014 at 3:27 pm

The M132 and M133 are one and the same – you are right in that the current info lists the unit as the M133, but technical presentation notes from the W176 A-Class launch in 2012 (as well as articles from then) had the engine designation code as M132; the type code has obviously changed since then. I have appended this info into the review, but have retained the original code as the primary descriptor for the unit in it. Thanks.

• Dvdkor on Apr 10, 2014 at 10:03 am

For my dvd seller gang, this car rocks. What’s more with zebra strip and ooh la la spoiler and and sticker here and there. My ah lian will wet her panty if she sees this car.

Now, to sophisticated high class affluence buyers but most of the time high debt, the stickers and and the bengish spoiler doesn’t reflect well on their high society showcase. Benz should gave an option if they plan to target this snob folks withtout the brader stickers and spoiler.

For me, i will be buying this cash. Ya…we dvd tailan don’t pay tax but cash rich.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • gtr36 on Apr 10, 2014 at 2:06 pm

in this day and age of free downloads, got people buy DVDs meh? Think you sell air kelapa or jambu by the side of the road make more money. Buying a lorry instead of an A45 will be more beneficial..lol!

• civicz on Apr 10, 2014 at 10:04 am

To me the best hot hatch in the world is Honda civic type R euro

in comparison to A45 AMG
    1. honda has more prestigious brand and more luxurious
    2. civic is more solid and well built
    3. civic more famous..more sales and more ppl like it- nobody knows AMG
    4. civic low end pick up much better than any mercedes model
    5. superb resale value
    6. rare visit to workshop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 91
    • Jonny Tan on Apr 10, 2014 at 11:45 am

then what are you waiting for? buy all Hondas and collect all in your garage. problem solve completed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • holofanboi on Apr 10, 2014 at 5:44 pm

@Jonny Tan

Im sure he’s just joking around, but he does have a point if he’s ONLY refering to the Type R Euro. He didn’t mention about ALL hondas. Stop skimming through whatever you read sheesh.

• What? Ahahaha.. ahahahaa… ahahahaha….

• Ismahadi on Oct 08, 2014 at 10:14 am

aaaaa??? nobody knows AMG?? aaaaaa?? aaa???? Drive that car can be famous like actor aa? Do I know you?? no wonder everytime i saw ppl drive HONDA is like “Hidung tinggi cucuk langit”.

• nighttrain on Apr 10, 2014 at 10:28 am

Why is it so hard to integrate the touchscreen into the dash? Looks like third party. Other than that, I’d say this is one fast hatch. But not hot looking.

• banifesto on Apr 10, 2014 at 10:34 am

Very winding, more so, tiring read.

That is.

Try to cut down them flamboyant style. Overly done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • niterunner99 on Apr 10, 2014 at 11:22 am

To those who read the article & understood it…your english standard is GOOD! All of you should be happy…although you used a bit more time lah.
    To those who complain this car is expensive or to maintain…it’s an AMG…what do you expect!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • droll on Apr 10, 2014 at 12:20 pm

aiyah the English is actually quite fine for motoring reviews. for those who find it difficult, take this as an opportunity to mix your love for cars with this site to learn english.

A45 is code named “The beast” by AMG when they were developing it. :) and it lives up to the name.
    look at this A45 vs E63! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cgX1kzTMI1k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Shang on Apr 10, 2014 at 1:23 pm

civicz – “nobody knows AMG”? Clearly, you have been living under a really big shell. Good write up as always; and to those with ‘comments’ on the written English, i reckon you should go back to school.

• I would lurrrve to have your ST.

• hot car on Apr 10, 2014 at 2:22 pm

you will hate yourself if you own this car. In highways, you will be blocked by roadhogs. In City, you pile up with the masses. GERAMMMM…..

• roti canai (Member) on Apr 10, 2014 at 6:25 pm

i like it…but mercedes please give a manual version

• Allen toyota subang on Apr 10, 2014 at 6:58 pm

My YARIS can tapau this amg frog… Soo ugly… No RV…come to toyota subang, Vios is good oso..sparepart can interchange between 1st and 2nd gen maa..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 31
  • theapeman on Apr 13, 2014 at 8:28 am

What a joke comparing the A45 AMG to a Focus ST. Does this writer even realise the price difference. A more decent comparison would be against the Focus RS.

• automobile anon on Apr 14, 2014 at 7:24 am

Agreed. Bashing a much cheaper car for a review of another car of different class is inappropriate.

I think the writer is trying too hard. It is too draggy. The same or better level of impact & entertainment can be achieved by more disciplined writing.

Also, “rememberable” …. Is not even a proper word!

• kayly on Apr 15, 2014 at 9:34 am

got a chance to test drive the exactly unit…two things that really stand out – seat and exhaust sound. Performance wise, it is AMG, so it is up to your expectation..the car was really fast..

• why malaysian car can’t be like that???

• another-car-reviewer on Apr 23, 2014 at 4:38 pm

I’ve had my eye on the 45 for sometime now and thought your review on it was just as good as any of the international car magazines I’ve read. Perhaps not the most apt of comparisons against the ST but still a good read, kudos.

• Kura2BersalutCokelat on May 22, 2014 at 12:27 am

Talking too much about the exhaust sound..not quite the thing most people will pay attention though. But the driveability, engine capability, comfort, cornering and slew other nice points were all well explained.

• Jinkun on Oct 08, 2014 at 12:03 pm

Apo bondo ey ekau cito..payah den nak paham..

• jinni on Oct 08, 2014 at 12:19 pm

This car is so noisy. My mother sure dont allow me to buy. I think Vios less noisy.

• Bunny boiler on Oct 08, 2014 at 7:16 pm

guys and gals…. I just love to read your comments… Made my day!!! Case and point!!!!

• Who took the pics with the white background? And also all the pics? I find it very fascinating. :D

• Dear uploader & any a45 amg owners,
    ive been eyeing this recond japanese a45 amg edition 1 (costs the same as new official unit from merc malaysia, due to its rareness/1 year++ waitinglist), recently got it tested and i have a few questions..
    1) The rev is maxed out at 2000 rpm when revving at P mode, is this normal and why is it so?
    2)Can this car unit accept our quality of fuel?
    3) Warranty is not covered by merc malaysia, but by Opal instead.. Where is the best place open a new book to service & maintain the car in Klang Valley area?
    4)How to i certify the car comes with original parts, internals specifically, aside from bringing a mechanic to check wther parts is original and speedometer wasnt tempered with, do recond cars comes with paperwork certifying car is ori?

p/s: Some say i can still service at merc malaysia with higher labour charge eventhough warranty is not covered..

p/s: The mileage for this car is around 10k Km. is this normal?? they say japanese dont drive that much?

Thanks in advance Paul, and bros.. waiting in anticipation..

• car that farts alot