Hike road tax for luxury cars instead of making high-income groups pay more for fuel, says academic

2013_Toyota_Vios_fuel_test 003

Amidst the commotion surrounding the proposed petrol subsidy rationalisation mechanism, an academic has opined that the government should consider increasing the road tax for luxury cars instead of making high-income groups pay market prices for RON 95 petrol, Bernama reports.

All consumers should be allowed to purchase subsidised petrol, and be free to choose between RON 95 and RON 97, irrespective of the car they drive, said Universiti Malaysia Sarawak business and economics faculty lecturer Prof Dr Shazali Abu Mansor.

“There may be low-income earners who want to use RON 97 petrol and there may also be those in the high-income group who want to use RON 95 – it all depends on the requirements of the car they drive,” Shazali told the national news agency, adding that there isn’t yet a proper mechanism to determine motorists’ actual incomes.

“The cost of living has gone up and people – in all income groups – are already tightening their belts. It’s not fair to burden them further. What I’m saying is increase the road tax (for luxury cars), but let them (the owners) continue using subsidised RON 95 petrol,” he said.

roadtaxshj 093

This is a variation of that suggested by Raub MP Datuk Ariff Sabri Abdul Aziz earlier in the month. In his personal blog, he proposed that a petrol and diesel fuel tax be imposed on higher capacity vehicles.

Meanwhile, the Federation of Malaysian Consumers Association (Fomca) said that the government should note that people in all income categories have been affected by the rising cost of living, and as such have been exhibiting similar expenditure patterns.

“We can find out how much people earn, but how do we estimate their expenditure? For example, a person who earns RM5,000 a month and has one child and another person who earns RM10,000, but has five children, have different levels of expenditure,” said its vice president Siti Rahayu Zakaria.

She added that if the government wants to come up with a card for people to purchase subsidised petrol, it should not only take household income into consideration but also total expenditure.

Petrol_Subsidy_Sept_ 001

Earlier, it was reported that the structure and mechanism of the new petrol subsidy rationalisation programme for RON 95 has not been finalised – the subject is still being studied and final details of the new system are not expected to be revealed until next year.

A triple-pricing system for RON 95 is set come into place when the programme begins in June next year – yesterday, Second Finance Minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Husni Hanadzlah revealed that those earning below RM5,000 per month will receive full subsidy, while those earning between RM5,000 and RM10,000 will get partial subsidy. Those earning five figures a month will have to pay the full market price.

On October 2, the price of RON 95 petrol and diesel went up by 20 sen to RM2.30 and RM2.20 per litre respectively. The actual market price at that point was RM2.58 per litre for RON 95 and RM2.52 for diesel, translating to a current subsidy rate of 28 sen per litre for petrol and 32 sen for diesel.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• kzm (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 4:49 pm

that’s y I think better use limit usage monthly eg 300L/mth all get those subsidies fuel..n for those use more than limit pay market price…fair to people regardless income bracket n govt..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 9
    • Fuel Smuggler on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:12 pm

I like the idea of maintaining the subsidized price at the pumps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 11
      • AliAhkauRamasamy on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Love your sarcasm. All the fuel smugglers will support the idea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
        • Ivy League on Oct 28, 2014 at 6:10 pm

We must remind ourselves never get a degree from University Malaysia Sarawak

BTW where is it anyway ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 60
          • Unimas Graduate on Oct 28, 2014 at 7:51 pm

Mr Ivy League,
            Either you are an ivy-league pretender or just another sub-human. Pick your flavors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
          • IvyLeg on Oct 28, 2014 at 8:28 pm

Yes you are right…

but probably he/she a weebit better than you from UNIMAS – not recoqnised, jobless or sub animal. You can also pick your flavor

Where is UNIMAS? University of Malaysia Airlines ? The bankrupt defunct one ?

Prrrrt ! That me farting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 54
          • Peter on Oct 28, 2014 at 9:56 pm

Dah nama u Sarawak takkan kat Penang pulak. Bodoh punya Ivy….!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
        • tricycle on Oct 28, 2014 at 8:20 pm

Dude, your Government weakness on enforcement at the border at those north and south smugglers. Now you want to put the punishment on the ordinary people?

1. Better to have high road tax for expensive car. RM300k and above. (super rich dude/dudess can afford to pay this)

2. Reduce the import duty on RM300k car and below.

3. Higher road tax also on BRAND NEW car with higher fuel consumption eg: 8L/100km and above. (super rich dude/dudess can afford to pay this)

4. Zero tax on hybrid vehicle or diesel vehicle with 4L/100km fuel consumption.

*normally low fuel consumption vehicle also emits less air pollutant

5. Keep Ron 95 at 1.80/L and Diesel 1.70/L.

Control borders better but don’t blame your goverment weaknesses on your own citizens.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
          • where's motorhead? on Oct 28, 2014 at 9:16 pm

actually it takes a lot than control our border..coz of smugglers will always good at smuggling.. we’ll be surprised with their tactics..

but I also do not agree with G by increasing fuel price or u can say reducing subsidy can prevent smuggling,this is due to our current fuel price is still cheap compare to eg. Thai even after subsidy reduction..so in the end will the smuggling activities is going to stop or slow down?? unless G stop subsidizing fuel..

• kzm (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 6:03 pm

Current subsidy method is not good..we need new balance system that fair to people n govt..now its like govt subsidies the rich than low income people..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
        • Look, you all got triple conned by your government. Here is why:
          1. First, the G impose high excise duty on your cars for their revenue, saying we get high car price to maintain low fuel price so that it is affordable to all. The first con is on excise duty.
          2. Now, the G wants to raise the fuel price without lowering the car price, which means the G gets more revenue from both. Helping the poor is just an excuse. If they really want to help, they can remove the excise duty. But what happens then? Proton cronies will lose their job, BN will lose their support.
          The second con is on fuel price.
          3. In the last election, the G promised to turunkan harga kereta. Where is the promise now? Nothing?The third con is on rakyat. This is clearly a con job done by BN and the Proton cronies. If you still want to support BN and Proton, you deserved to be con by them!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 46
      • maintaining the subsidized price at the pumps only benefits the rich la bro..

is it fair that rich people and dato’2 with their alphard, merc, bmw get ron95 price, the same as us making barely around 3k a month? not for me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
        • Do You Even on Oct 28, 2014 at 7:17 pm

Do you pay income tax to the government? The rich have no problem with the subsidies. It’s the middle class that’s affected. The middle class gets to get the full brunt of the tax while barely getting anything in return. People like you are never grateful of what others have paid for you. Fuel subsidy is the only thing the middle class is getting, and losing it is just like paying 30% of your income to see lazy people, too lazy to earn more than 3k spend all that money recklessly while complaining they’re not getting enough free money.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 13
          • Jimmy on Oct 28, 2014 at 10:33 pm

Academic or not, must talk with sense and use brain.
            Most of us still argue because ‘takut orang kaya pam RON95 dan mendapat subdidy’.
            Do we think orang kaya like RON95?

Please, impose more roadtax on double-cab Hilux etc pickups and put more excise duty on these road-user-bullying vehicles, so that each Hilux will cost RM150k and above.
            X6 users behave gentlemanly.
            It is like if you stay in a 300k apartment, then you can expect what your neighbours will be.

• where's motorhead? on Oct 28, 2014 at 7:28 pm

just for info..

http://www.globalpetrolprices.com/Venezuela/gasoline_prices/

wonder how much we lost per day..bcoz of fuel smuggling??

• All fuel smuggler must absolutely vote for Anwar. Anwar promised to make fuel cheaper so they can make more profit.

• the Real Story about CC on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:19 pm

Quite silly suggestion. Even now, all the Bentleys in town are suing sabah Sarawak road tax in KL and it cost RM4000.

The real road tax for a Bentley is RM16,000 for a 6750CC car.

Government knows this because all the Bentleys all owned by Ministers, their sons and all the gLC cronies.

For years government know about this loophole. Even when you go buy Bentley in KL, the salesman in the Pavillion showroom also will tell you tehy got runner boy to get the road tax for RM4000.

So each Bentley, the owner is evading Rm12,000. They are few hundred Bentleys in KL because the car now cost RM300,000 for a recon unit.

The Government is losing out millions in revenue. But Government close one eye because all the Menteri son’s all use Bentley.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 2
      • cobra on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:55 pm

Truly agree. All the Ferraris owners pay their road tax in Sarawak. Only cost them RM2800 compared to RM8000 if pay in KL for a F430. Ironically, no action so far. I wonder why????

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 0
        • Jimmy on Oct 28, 2014 at 10:41 pm

If both of you are in upper class society, then you will know many more grey things. There are no true ultimate keadilan or truths in this world, kids. Don’t be so naive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
          • very true, and by your logic we should not then be wasting ours and our children’s time by telling fairy tale stories of a fair world. we should be educating them from the beginning about the ‘grey’ stuff and understand about the ‘real’ world lest they become, as you said, naive

• Another reason for low road tax in Sabah is because the roads there are lousy. Lousy road can’t charge high road tax.

• Prof Mr Bean on Oct 28, 2014 at 6:02 pm

This Prof got his degree in Universiti Buluh Kasap. Probably did it ONLINE

The point here is not about luxury or non luxury cars. Its the amount of subsidised fuel being consumed by the rakyat.

And our Prof Buluh Kasap trying to imply that luxury cars consume more subsidised petrol than non luxury cars in Malaysia ?

Take a count of how many non luxury cars ( eg Peroduas and Protons) are on the road every day, and then count the number of so called luxury cars (eg MB, BMW and Audi) .

The ratio definitely exceeds 1000:1

Its the non luxury cars that burn the most subsidised fuel Mr Prof Buloh Kasap

The point here is the govt can no longer maintain this quantum of subsidy , regardless whether its luxury or non luxury car.

You better get a proper degree in economics, and for those wanting to get a degree.. AVOID University Sarawak as its where Mr Prof “lectures”

Just remove the subsidy once and for all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 17
    • salgoodguy on Oct 29, 2014 at 11:43 am

great bro..my vote for u

• therealmaserati on Oct 28, 2014 at 4:50 pm

I think that they should tax cars based on car pricing.

Because, nowadays alot of luxury cars do have smaller turbocharged engines.

So , what they should do is to increase the tax on all the cars above 200k and anything below 200k should be tax free.

And then make subsidised fuel available to everyone regardless of income level .

What this professor says isint going to make a difference to the high income people. You increase road tax , the rich will still pay because HOW much can u increase?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 12
    • Diss-illusions on Oct 28, 2014 at 4:58 pm

If they pay. Most likely they won’t even bother paying because the fine for not renewing the road tax is much much much cheaper than the 5-figure road tax… and that is if they are even caught!

• Fuel Smuggler on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:11 pm

I like the idea of maintaining the subsidised price at the pumps

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • maserati is real? on Oct 29, 2014 at 9:57 am

do you know the true landed cost (before taxes) of a rm200k+ car?
      the ones i know are ranging rm40k to 50k++
      selling prices atkes into account of landed costs + taxes.
      if taxes are reduces, selling price will reduce (technically). so you selling price range proposal is flawed.

• maserati is real? on Oct 29, 2014 at 9:57 am

do you know the true landed cost (before taxes) of a rm200k+ car?
      the ones i know are ranging rm40k to 50k++
      selling prices atkes into account of landed costs + taxes.
      if taxes are reduces, selling price will reduce (technically). so you selling price range proposal is flawed.

• JackPARROT on Oct 28, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Ridiculous, just remove the subsidy for fuel and lower the car tax for god sake. Who need saving for 100 bucks per month than 1000 bucks per month

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
    • I have a better idea, REMOVE fuel subsidy and MAINTAIN car tax so the G can get all the money money they want. GREAT SUCCESS!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
      • agree 100%..we malaysian are very rich..gov should just do following
        remove petrol subsidy
        increase GST to 20%
        increase income tax
        maintain SST
        increase excise duty to 200%
        increase electric tariff
        introduce tax to bicycle
        remove br1m
        implement 5 years end of life car policy

we can always adjust to this changes since we trust current gov for 56 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • wow..this idea really makes sense..
      yes gov will lose tax on cars..but gov will make more money by no longer need to subsidize fuel..
      still too bad we still have NAP :(
      making it impossible to reduce car prices..

• kadajawi (Member) on Oct 29, 2014 at 3:15 am

Low car taxes only benefit those who want to buy a new car. Poor people had the choice of buying some old junk like a Kancil or Iswara for little money, and thanks to the subsidy could go to work with it. If you lower car prices, but raise fuel prices, poor people won’t benefit at all. Maybe they can get a slightly better car for their money, but they don’t have any money left to drive to work.

I do think car tax has to go down, of course, but it should be coupled to requirements such as 6 airbags, stability control, and low fuel consumption. The fewer safety systems the car has, the higher the tax. The more power it has, the higher the tax (and link it to HP instead of cc).

• medic on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:03 pm

I have better idea. Just remove the fuel subsidy and also the car tax so that cars will be cheaper and safer. No need to be professor of economic to come up this idea…duh. Win – win situation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • kzm (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 6:05 pm

U oni think bout car, car n car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 26
      • duh… what you think Paultan is for?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • medic on Oct 28, 2014 at 7:27 pm

Duh….its an automotive website. What do you want me to think of, porn? Not surprisingly, KZM also stands for Kurang Zat Makanan. Probably you should get more nutrients for your brain development…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
      • KZM don't talk anymore on Oct 29, 2014 at 4:49 am

KZM’s comments are irrelevant at all times.

• Low Budget on Oct 29, 2014 at 8:17 am

Like that Proton go bankrupt lah.

• dodgeviper88 on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:06 pm

I think the more obvious question is what is the government doing with all the money that they’re getting from us? For starters the government gets about RM30-50b from Petronas, more than enough to cover their so-called ‘subsidy’ to the rakyat. Then there is the fact that we’re paying exorbitant taxes on cars, and also the expensive tolls that we’re paying. Also I can see the revenue coming from the tender of number plates. Not forgetting that we pay RM30 a year just to renew our driving license. Where are all the money going? Why are they only telling how much ‘subsidies’ they’re giving when they’re given RM30-50b by Petronas. Obviously the figures don’t add up. Furthermore, trust me RM10k for a family living in KL is BARELY making it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
    • kzm (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:50 pm

Read the bajet la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 24
    • so u think 80bilion of petronas contributed money should only go into fuel subsidy ke? then we have to reduce development & operating expenditure is it? use logic la..we are dunning on deficit budget for a quite number of years now..not good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • Go to their pocket and cronies pocket lo.

Some more, most of them are not qualify for their position, when they make wrong decision/policy and causing country lose money, they are not the one paying the debt, but Rakyat gonna pay for that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 25
    • where's motorhead? on Oct 28, 2014 at 6:50 pm

the federal G only get 5% from petronas so does state G..
      the rest of profit is using to re locate n investment.. etc

ur 30ringgit probably were used to pay the JPJ workers salary (do u think they work for u for free??) and to maintain m’sian road.. etc..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • other countries has been using emission based tax, why not follow them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • This will affect Proton, so, it won’t be implemented.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • leonardo on Oct 29, 2014 at 11:34 am

No, it will affect all the car manufacturers and importers.
        Are you a Perodua salesman?

• road tax is a once a year sunk cost compared to fuel subsidy which costs RM 2 billion a month to subsidise. So i think only cutting the latter will have a big impact. That said, it’s tough to implement without any abuse.

• so u must pay more because u r smart at study, then able to land a good job / salary / income ??? is it fair enough ? 1st, no BR1M for you..then no fuel subsidy for you..then…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • carrezeo on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:15 pm

I totally agree with Prof Dr Shazali Abu Mansor 110%. The government should not burden the poor income earner further when everything goes sky rocketing whereas the rich is enjoying what is supposed to benefit the lower income earner. They can drive expensive cars, dine in posh restaurant etc. The lower and middle income earner is struggling to meets ends meet tightening their belt tighter and tighter. In the end die standing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • i totally disagree, according to a 2014 HIS survey 85% of malaysians a makes less then RM3000 a month. Even EPU website stated that in 2012 (figures only cover from 1971-2012)
      only 33% made RM5000 and above. Since so many are still dependent on fuel subsidy and he have small upper class, does the subsidy cut from that small particular group will be able to cover the subsidy cost for the majority of Malaysians?
      We should focus on better public transports, more car sharing programme like uber and introducing more fuel efficient ICE and EV vehicles

• carrezeo. The answer to your request is “GST”. The bigger spender you are of expensive cars and posh restaurants, you more tax payable. Unfortunately, Pakatan is hell bend to protect the rich so they oppose GST.

• torque on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:16 pm

I have to disagree on this. Many premium cars these days are downsizing their engine capacity so this is a short sighted idea. I do agreed with KZM, set a limit for subsidised…if you exceed, you pay more!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Rick Wee on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:21 pm

I agree that is a better way and let people choose if they want 95 or 97. I’m in the middle income category. My daily travel to work is 8km including bringing my kid to school. Because of the short distance i pump ron97. A full tank 40 liters can last me for 2 weeks before I need refueling.

• Elchino on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:26 pm

You can pass all sorts of laws, but with poor enforcement, we are back to square one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • High road tax for BN members and supporters. Full stop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 23
  • sudonano (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:33 pm

Problem is, they may then say, anything that costs more than 100k right now, is considered luxury.

Also, a 10 year old Mercedes S class is a luxury car still, without the luxury price. And to be fair, a BMW 5 series is at most 200k or so before all the taxes, while a Camry would probably be about 80-90k MYR before tax.

• dugongx on Oct 28, 2014 at 9:48 pm

Easy bro, Road Tax be based on current market value and engine capacity just like insurance premium. So if I pay RM2.3k (No NCD) for insuring my 2004 E60 520i at 90k. Then road tax can be about the same figure. While if Sam Loo says his 2004 camry is worth 150k ( High RV mar), he can pay road tax of RM4.2k . Korean cars will pay next to nothing according to him. Fair enough.

• das auto on Oct 29, 2014 at 3:22 pm

And discount can be based on how clean is emission. 55% discount for hybrids and super clean conti cars.

• ahmadjohnson97 on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:45 pm

While I’m still waiting for government to cut tax on cars and now he suggest to increase road tax on luxury cars. I wonder what kind of luxury cars he talking about. Is toyota prius luxury spec consider luxury car?

• Blaze (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:45 pm

Define luxury you moron.. 10 years old Merc/BMW/Jag is consider a luxury car than a brand new Accord?

• BeemerFreak on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:53 pm

Which imbecile who came out with this idea is plain daft. Buying a car is the consumers choice, everyone would just buy a proton or p2 then and it is back to square one. Stupid and brainless.

Just lift the bloody subsidy and make everyone pay market rate. Cars should be a luxury for people who can’t afford it regardless on whether they need it or not. Public transport is not a luxury though. Just improve the bus services tremendously and they issue of subsidy is solved.

Furthermore with all subsidy gone for everyone, the real market factors can set it and people learn to save and appreciate the value of goods.

• abcde on Oct 28, 2014 at 6:00 pm

as a rakyat, any idea to use our power to scare them?
    to wait another PRU is just too long.

i’m imagining hundred thousands of us go and shout at the ministers..see do they get a goosebumps or not.

honestly, by doing this, it shows that the government desperately need money.

worst case, give BR1M. it is very insulting.

We need a hard way to show our power

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • AmnoK (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Nahhhhh rakyat kena lagiiiiii. Pemimpin kera jaan dapat subsidi/claim milage, rakyat kena bayar lebih. Mana janji ‘akujanji’ setan BN nak turun harga kereta. Rakyat dah lupa…..sebab kera jaan main isu petrol. TAHNIAH jembalang tanah hisap darah rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
    • Jimmy on Oct 28, 2014 at 11:01 pm

That’s why I said in my previous post: either they are too clever or too stupid, the cleverer you are, the better you pretend to be stupid.
      A lot of things surrounding you and me are actually invisibly controlled by big hands, without our knowledge most of the time. We see the small/tiny picture.

• Not jaguh kampung on Oct 28, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Dear Jaguh Kampunges,

The smartest people are in this forum. No need to crack your wee brain matter for something that has already been solved here.

Higher road tax for higher capacity car, isn’t that already implemented? That why I’m not buying a six banger.

So please stop with this nonsense. The easiest way has been suggested here.

FLOAT the bloody gas price and abolish AP and exise duty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • erwinkarim on Oct 28, 2014 at 6:19 pm

let’s the chips fall where they may.

let’s set the fuel and car price at market price and let the market decide….

• Wee fuk yew on Oct 28, 2014 at 6:22 pm

Just do away with subsidies like Thailand and phillppines. Food and clothing are still cheap in those countries despite the higher cost of fuel.with subsidies govt will encourage the entitlement mentality and distort market. The will and creativity to save a finite resource like petrol will be dead. Use the petro dollars on something more meaningful like scholarship and research.

• where's motorhead? on Oct 28, 2014 at 9:42 pm

I agree with u..fuel price is expensive in Thailand, Vietnam and Cambodia.. but harga barang2 is cheap there..

our G must do something about this.. its too late to cut the fuel price due to harga barang2 will still remain..

• panjang on Oct 28, 2014 at 6:26 pm

Yeah right,
    Dear Mr Prof,define luxury car please.

• Now they really need money all caused by their poor performance, they will try to cut all the subsidy and retain the high duty on car.

Want them to remove subsidy and remove also the duty? wait until die also wont happen.

• Porsche guy on Oct 28, 2014 at 7:18 pm

I take double the petrol price anytime….but please dont hike my cars taxes man…

• shawal on Oct 28, 2014 at 7:30 pm

Why do need to come with new systems which would incur more costs to run and maintain….
    You’re talking about implementing a system to monitor individual income and tax and so forth…

get rid of subsidized fuel, this will solve the smuggling issue, no need to monitor anything, can they guarantee the low income group individuals will not help out the smugglers using their mykad..?

higher road tax for luxury vehicle is not feasible..
    define ‘luxury’?
    It is best to continue our current archaic system as europe’s best automakers are following the downsizing trend..

we have established a system to distribute BR1M , lets give more based on their expenditure and needs.
    The public will automatically educate themselves to be registered BR1M recepient.

And we should subsidize public transport
    the parking rates at some of the LRT stations are expensive as daily commute ,eg. RM3 per day , RM60 per month , to low income group that is quite high

If gov is so hesitant in abolishing excise tax (which is a no-brainer, cuz the average household in malaysia owns up to 3 cars) AT LEAST impose stricter safety regulations…6 airbags and VSC be made compulsory

cars with higher safety level and equipments is taxed lesser…

at least we could see some progress in our automotive industry…

• shawal. Pakatan is against your idea. Their idea is to increase subsidies and make fuel cheaper for the smugglers.

• Pilux2017 on Oct 28, 2014 at 7:56 pm

when educated man talk about this nonsense crap meaningless or what so ever the best solution you might thing is, there’re stupid solutions come out. this is rakyat like you and me has to pay when we have YB , Datuk who was not pass their economy test…pity to rakyat . disgrace to the voter who was cast their vote to Barang Naik.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • No BN on Oct 28, 2014 at 8:32 pm

Remove BN lar. Much better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 24
  • transformer on Oct 28, 2014 at 8:58 pm

I fully agreed Gov to remove petrol & diesel subsidy is to curb illegal smuggling. Illegal smuggling has makes MY lost billions. But what Gov will do to help its citizen to face the onslaught inflation? (especially lower income group)

For current car owner, we all already PREPAID our fuel subsidy to the Gov in term of Excise Duty & Sales Tax which has inflated our car price & also made us to take longer installments. Then what will Gov do for all Cars owner? Will Gov remove all tax for our next new car purchase? (this will definitely boost car sales, more car need to service creates more job and newer car tend to be safer, less accident, less insurance claim too)

• Albert on Oct 28, 2014 at 9:36 pm

How to identify Mr.Tipu and mr.Jujur?The Bangla pump attendant can also be bribed.
    Or do you have to get your thumbprint/retina scan done like captain america’s superior?
    I think some crony is going to walk away with a billion dollar contract by devising those soft and hardware packages for the petroleum companies,to divide the rich and the poor.

• Rulered on Oct 28, 2014 at 10:43 pm

Full subsidy, partial and no subsidy, the pump attendant is going to have a hard time changing the pricing on the pump meter if 3 categories comes in a queue, that much I can tell.

• ipoh lad on Oct 29, 2014 at 5:50 am

Bloody hell why can’t we just follow neighbouring country like Thailand or Singapore? Not one get subsidy end off. Work hard or die trying.

• Faridz on Oct 29, 2014 at 8:38 am

HIke again? Well BN, all i can say is to pay as minimum tax as possible. Dont blame the chinese for evading taxes, smart ppl does this. Besides, i dont owe u a living and u dont owe me. I prefer to put it this way. No point supporting u and dont worry, we wont come out to demo. Better spend my time wisely on how to make as much profit as possible. When the rich work harder and spend more time into their businesses and ended up paying most of the taxes to y’all. Now some low life come up with an idea that is to penalize the rich? C’mon… No wonder most rich ppl are transferring money out of this shithole. Trust me, many of them going to Sg.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • concerned on Oct 29, 2014 at 8:40 am

I believe the suggestion based on the headline is complete bull. All these items should be based on usage. Engines might have a huge CC vehicles, but that does not necessarily mean they are used more. Just tax the fuel with GST so everyone pays for their usage, also tax the vehicles on emissions, a 20 year old 2L engine wont necessarily be more efficient than a modern one, and therefore consume more fuel, and pollute more.
    Roadtax, as its name suggests is not meant to be a means of income for the government, it’s meant to keep our roads maintained.

Either way, this income based, ID card verified fuel subsidy scheme is so full of flaws and loopholes i foresee more problems down the road.

• solution: Bring us the EV @ petrol car price.
    No need Subsidy, give us Tax Free Car.

• screwu (Member) on Oct 29, 2014 at 9:22 am

FTG…FTG

• bbtree on Oct 29, 2014 at 9:41 am

Personally not favour the suggestion. Already the tax/duty of the car are high. Plus, there are many loopholes which many of us can identified.

The simple and more effective solution is available but the those in-charge are sourcing/looking for more ‘complicated’ and ‘ costly’ solution.

Agreed with other commenter that we like to spend 100m to solve 10m issue. Good business i guess..

• messi on Oct 29, 2014 at 10:39 am

Well, with the Petronas’s revenue going down and not able to get the revenue as proposed in the 2015 budget. (Proposed budget at RM 105 per barrel and now RM 80 per barrel).

The BN will suck everything from you especially for those people earning RM 5K and above. Your should know which group of people(minority) are having these range of salary scale.

This is one of the racist policy to be implemented to suck the minority and subsidies the majority.(TNB bill has been double since 2014 and toll at singapore and now fuel subsidies)

Your suggestion will be good to get more revenue for the BN’s G.

If not mistaken, they will start the implementation of fuel subsidies and follow up with the high road tax for car above 2000cc.

Vote BN and you get screw from the back and front.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • ganni on Oct 29, 2014 at 10:41 am

too many idiotic ppl in G..semakin meluat & menyampah dgn G…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • No matter how many good idea in here from some people, the idea will not take to an account. The G will do their best to suck the rakyat money. They always said they got subsidy but the question is how much?

• Its because of Singaporean and Thailand sucking up our subsidize petrol. Since our Customs Dept are handful to control this, they put the burden to Rakyat to leverage the petrol price with neighbouring countries. Theoretically it could work with some loophole but acceptable. But the idea to increase road tax will not solve our petrol being ‘export’ to neighbouring countries. In return there should be more incentive in term of public transport, medical, basic necessity and few more to ensure low income could live in harmony. We have enough of highways already, increasing public transport quality will decrease the needs for highway.

• Subsidized juice on Oct 29, 2014 at 1:15 pm

Singapore law make sure Singapore cars can only cross to Johor with already 3/4 tank full. Cars checked at customs. The fine is $500 and the car is made to turn back and fill up before going through customs again (go through jam again).

If caught tampering your fuel gauge to show 3/4 when your tank is actually empty, The fine is $5000 and or jail even for first time offender.

Furthermore, Johor pumps only allow Singapore cars to pump unsubsidized 97 petrol.

• Wastage on Oct 29, 2014 at 2:18 pm

Every year Public Accounts Committee (PAC) report of wastage of spending. Why don’t MOF clean up as per PAC report and this could recover millions before you go after rakyat.

• Albert on Oct 29, 2014 at 2:44 pm

Enough of PAC and Auditor General’s report every year.
      Year in year out,no action taken on culprits.
      Even if they plug the leakages,the savings in Billions will be spent on other mega or mini mega projects.
      To me,the reports are worth shit.
      In singapore, many people will be serving jail sentences already for corruption.
      Dont read all those audited reports anymore,since no one wants to punish the offenders.

• Diesel Power!!! on Oct 29, 2014 at 2:45 pm

Agreed with “Wastage”

If the gment can reduce the wastage and more efficient, these all unuseful recommendation by the academics can be ignored…Just stop subsidise and reduce tax for new car..
    if cant pay petrol dun drive!!

• IrizX on Oct 29, 2014 at 3:34 pm

Dumb goverment with dumb idea.

What income lar, engince cc lar, all rubbish. All these complicated method only means money have to be spend on expensive complicated system (which doesn’t guaranteed it will work as it should). Simplest way as somebody mentioned, based on price of car.

If buy RM100K car and above (and bought within last 3 years), all no subsidy. End of story. Apa mau susah???

Cars above RM100K, 3 to 7 years old, half subsidy. Cars above RM100K, 7 years or older, full subsidy.

Reason: If old car and you no money to change car, means you poorfag. If you still richfag and no change car, i can’t do anything. :D

• Malaysian1 on Oct 29, 2014 at 5:12 pm

I vote for remove all fuel subsidy and give us tax free cars and parts.

RM0.23 fuel subsidy per liter doesn’t constitute to why the government charge such high taxes on cars and replacement parts in the first place.

Charge extreme roadtax on luxury car is also a brilliant idea but main thing is remove those taxes on car and parts.

• Everybody know make fuel cheaper with increased subsidies is a bad idea. Only Pakatan don’t know that.

Everybody also know it’s better to reduce car price but how to compensate existing car owners is a tricky thing.

• Richard on Oct 30, 2014 at 1:01 am

the idea is very good but when come to implementation then you can see the problem. How to control – income less than RM5 k full subsidize petrol – using my car or new card. Then new business will mushrooming – poor rakyat will pump petrol and sell the petrol to rich rakyat.

In fact this method/ idea is totally unacceptable and must be came out from the rich.
    My poor friend told me – “I am using motorbike, full tank less than RM10 and one month about RM50 – RM80. Why not take out the subsidy but unconditionally pay to the poor income group every month certain amount to ease the daily spendings.

• Poor or rich on Oct 30, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Nonsense la…no need to argue! Simple conclusion, You earn more, pay more tax but can’t enjoy Petrol subsidies from Government. End of the day, u want to earn less and enjoy subsidies? So ask yourself, u want to earn more with no subsidies or earn less and enjoy subsidies…

• FUCKTHISGOVERNMENT on Nov 04, 2014 at 3:33 pm

Here’s the thing. We who own and use luxury cars daily have already been imposed and forced upon a higher than average price for our vehicles. The price we pay for an entry level bmw here would afford us 2 outside of the country. What more when there are those who bought their ///Ms from the dealership? Beyond that there’s the road tax. Yeah all’s great and fine sure. Hell I won’t even fucking mind paying those if we were given what we paid for but what do we get in return? Shit roads, poor road planning, crap fuel prices and crap fuel quality to top it all off.

Don’t you people see the chain reaction here? High Priced Cars = High Maintenance Costs (because initial purchasing power and abuse of service providers) which is then followed by Bad Roads = More Damage Over Time = More Maintenance Required = More Cost (GST soon. Read between the lines). Cars are made to last. True. BUT what happens when let’s say entry level “super” cars endure horrible raod conditions every day? (Let’s include C63/M3/M5/E63/F430/599/Cayman/Boxster/R8/Rapide/CGT). These cars are built upon the foundation of precision and our roads just doesn’t support that. Let’s not talk about parts that endures this abuse every day then shall we? The impact goes further than that. Our seats and our roof lining gets damaged faster than not. Alcantara isn’t cheap and when it falls off from where it was it’ll cost us a shit load. Electronic seats getting damaged, sure it’s leather but the brackets holding the seats are cf/metal/plastic and when those give way the noise it makes is unbearable. Rattles from every nook and cranny even. This all doesn’t sound all too bad but when that’s where it starts you can imagine how much more damage it can do. I’ve had a 3 series with cracked chassis somewhere down the line and that’s not my aggressive car. My kelisa’s front tower literally tore a gap from the shit road conditions. You might say I am irresponsible on the road but I dare you to lift your car up, remove the components and have a look see at how much damage your car sustains.

YOU ARE MAKING A SHIT LOAD FROM YOUR PEOPLE AND THEIR VEHICLES. WHY DON’T YOU GIVE SOME BACK TO THE PEOPLE IN TERMS OF COMFORT? Frankly speaking, we who buy “Luxury” cars are more concerned over our well being and safety more than the need to flash it unlike your sons and daughters whom which drives their CGTs to flash your status. You are the ones not paying your dues and are making us pay for yours. I’m glad I wrote this. Looks like I’ve made up my mind.

People of Malaysia, you are one of a kind, the best there is of all the places I’ve been to. The government however, the worse there is. Don’t bother telling me to move out of the country. I’ll simply convert my PR overtime and get out. I don’t see a reason why I should work my ass off to give comfort to those who don’t earn it.

• Corruption enforcement on Dec 15, 2014 at 2:35 pm

Just to let everybody know, the fuel smuggling etc are done by “inside job” no matter how the Gov do, they still have loopholes for them to smuggled and some of of the smugglers their “behind” are the enforcement itself, just take example in Batu Pahat, the smuggled tanker/lorry escort by “enforcement” to make sure the tanker/lorry deliver their fuel safely to “another place”