Lexus ES facelift teased, will debut at Auto Shanghai

2015_Shanghai_Auto_Show_Lexus_ES_Teaser

The first teaser of the facelifted Lexus ES has been revealed ahead of its world premiere at the 2015 Auto Shanghai on April 20, three years after the current sixth-generation XV60 made its debut.

The Toyota Avalon-based luxury sedan is set to shed its dowdy look to embrace Lexus’ new, more extroverted design language. The sole image provided shows reshaped headlights with sharper, more prominent arrow-shaped LED daytime running lights, as well as a broader full-length spindle grille.

No other details have been revealed so far, but Lexus said the new car “maintains its classical elegance while conveying a more dynamic experience and luxurious craftsmanship.”

GALLERY: 2013 Lexus ES

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Same L0rrr on Apr 10, 2015 at 1:00 pm

UMW treat us Malaysians like dogs. The ES was just recently launched in Malaysia last year. Now, got facelift.

What is those bodohs in UMW doing?

No wonder I and many other UMW salesman left UMW to join PArkson and Jusco as ladies undergarments promoter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Same L0rrr on Apr 10, 2015 at 1:10 pm

Buy Toyota or Lexus you will never go wrong. Both offer conti quality with Malaysian price and worry-free reliability. Not to mention good RV.

Latest Camry booking: 82

• Same "Hailat" L0rrr on Apr 10, 2015 at 2:55 pm

Why Camry and not ES or NX or RX for that matter…?

Wanna show off, show off to the max lar…!

TlU..!!!

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 10, 2015 at 4:29 pm

You are fake Sam, latest camry booking is 135,you idiot bra sales man. I can now move from my cheras flat to balakong flat.

• Same L0rrr on Apr 10, 2015 at 1:16 pm

Lexus RV is the champion. 2010 Lexus LS460L selling for RM120k. Brand new car was selling for RM900k. In 4 years, the car can drop over RM800k

Buy a Lexus only if you are seriously rich and you can afford to see RM800k wiped out in 4 years.

• kington on Apr 10, 2015 at 1:17 pm

When it was lanuched, i despised Lexus for ripping customers with Camry’s engine and drivetrain. And of course, one could help but curse UMW more with that sort of pricing.

Ultimately, it did sell well with a price near the 3 and C with a size of an E and 5 and legroom matching an S or 7. Still, what’s sorely missing is the MArk Levinson sound system which is very good from my experience in the GS.

The ES dies give you huge comfort and low NVH level, a car D segment upgrade would go for as Anthony Lim said in their D segment comparo video earlier.

• Same L0rrr on Apr 10, 2015 at 1:19 pm

In the US, a Camry and a Lexus got no real difference. Both cars also got 10 airbags for example.

Both cars also so highly spec

But in Malaysia, UMW tipu everyone and give Camry with no VSC and 2 airbags only. So, you think Lexus is a good deal. But you kena tipu by marketting gimmick

• Please update the article. The ES is no longer based on the Camry.

• City Driver on Apr 10, 2015 at 2:02 pm

Small correction to your article: actually, this gen of ES is based on the US Toyota Avalon, which is probably an evolution of the Camry platform. But this ES is more related to the Avalon than the Camry. Previous gen ES was directly related to the Camry.

One very obvious that the Camry hasn’t really changed that much since 2007 are the rear doors. If you look at the shape of the rear doors, especially towards the rear of the car, it is pretty clear that the same bones have been used in the Camry for almost 10 years now. Even the recent facelift Camry in both the US and Malaysia share the same rear door shape. I’m sure Toyota has been improving the structure over the years like more welds, more structural supports to improve body rigidity, etc but the same basic platform has been used since 2007.

• Shahrul on Apr 10, 2015 at 2:44 pm

Wonder if vibration issue has been rectified….. Hope PaulTan.org can report in your review.

Dear Lexus,

The model is of great appeal to me.

There seems to be an intrusion of vibration coming from the engine while the vehicle is stationary and while the driving gear is on (D). The vibration can be felt on the firewall, the pedal until the front half of the base of the driving seat. Please confirm that only the unit which I tested has this problem (which is yet to be rectified) and such problem does not occur in other units (ES250 Luxury) and if the same is apparent, during warranty period, Lexus will rectify the same at its own costs and expense.

Kindly note that the brake pedal was pressed fully. The vibration is not there when the the gear is put on neutral.

After my first test drive of the ES250, I noticed that such vibration was not an issue on my 2008 Toyota Alphard and such vibration is non-existent in my 2014 Honda City (6 month old).

Please clarify.

——————————–

This issue was highlighted to our Technical Service Department (TSD) from HQ.
    As my understanding, there is similar issue reported at other Lexus outlet in Singapore and the investigation was conducted by Toyota Motors Asia Pacific (TMAP).
    And the result is, data collected was within spec and consider to normal characteristic.

Advised by technical side, please use RON97 fuel, its can help to reduce that kind of vibration.

• shawal on Apr 10, 2015 at 3:30 pm

finally…..a worthy front to match the gorgeous rear…

• cendol (Member) on Apr 10, 2015 at 4:08 pm

IN Malyasia, people still connect Mercedes and BMW as luxury.
    Lexus is halfway, neither here or there.
    When you drive Lexus, nobody gives any hoot.
    Even security guards also ask for your license.
    It won’t happen if you drive Merc or BMW,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • The price from RM 259,800.00 to RM 353,000.00 just to get a damn boring Lexus? Forget it. I will just take the German marques that are more prestige than just glorified Toyota so called luxury.