KL-Singapore High Speed Rail project – building the whole line by 2020 not a problem, says China

Hitachi Super Express

More on the KL-Singapore High Speed Rail (HSR) project. Last week, it was reported that the project remains green-lighted, though it was expected to not meet its planned 2020 completion date.

Now, according to The Star, China has stepped up to the plate, saying it can build the HSR line – which is expected to cost around RM40 billion – by 2020 if certain parameters are met.

“Technically, it’s possible if Chinese companies are awarded the contract. We will be able to achieve that by 2020. We’ve still got five years,” the economic and commercial counsellor of the Chinese embassy in Malaysia, Wu Zhengping, told the publication.

hitachi bullet train

He pointed out that the 1,318 km Beijing-Shanghai HSR line, which was completed in 2010, took just three years to build. He said that China was firmly resolved in wanting to build the line, which would fall in line with the country’s plans to link Kunming to Singapore via some 2,700 km of rail, the publication reported.

Wu added that there were plans to build high-speed train cars in Malaysia should China be given the contract, and areas near the line would likely also be developed. “If China is awarded the contract (in Malaysia), we’ll encourage Chinese companies to locate their factories and firms along the railway,” he said.

Meanwhile, Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai said that while the offer from China was welcome, nothing could be decided on until details of the project had been ironed out between Malaysia and Singapore. “It is too early to say that the project can be completed by 2020 when we do not have the details yet,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Bomoh on May 11, 2015 at 1:21 pm

Yeah…build cheap cheap and fast and bring people to hollan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 24
    • George Abdul on May 11, 2015 at 1:27 pm

40 billions are not cheap !!! But don’t know how much the ministers and listed company take full profit from project.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Same L0rrrr on May 11, 2015 at 3:43 pm

I rather this RM40 bils spent for rakyat rather than the crooks in 1MDB.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • George Abdul on May 11, 2015 at 1:24 pm

Another 40 billions will be lost soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • kapchai on May 11, 2015 at 1:35 pm

The train in the picture above says “HITACHI”. lol

• Made in China! on May 11, 2015 at 2:00 pm

Well.. everything these days is made in China. Even Japan couldn’t escape their low-cost manufacturing.

• I don’t doubt what the Chinese G’s claim at all…..the only problem is that in boleh land we have a standard SOP on how major projects are awarded and we are proud of this process since we all never question about it.

1st a study needs to be done for years, ppl need to fly here and there with their families biz class to study and then another year or so for another 3rd party consultant study who is hired to produce the report.

then we need to do tender and award to unknown 2 ringgit companies who may have experience doing roti canai and is linked to some big shots from u know who’s group. who will then sub contract to a few more layers of sub contractors and eventually lands to a Chinese company who eventually builds it for a 1/10th of the overall cost tendered and may be taking some short cuts.

multiple delays and more of our tax payers money poured in and in 2030 it will be complete.

during that time every year we will have the AG audit report that is released annually reporting wastage of public $, mis-management and etc for our entertainment purposes and life goes on.

by end of 2030 we will have completed the rail system based on 2010’s study/spec and requirements while in other countries or in China they will be building trains that can fly based on their 2050’s requirements.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 6
    • hohoboy on May 11, 2015 at 2:26 pm

Well said! This truly the boleh Land SOP for every single projects

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • ha ha ha…finished in 2030 with cost overruns worth double the original budget paid by u and me…..

• flipper2uman (Member) on May 11, 2015 at 1:50 pm

One must read between the lines when the Goman says that “the high speed rail project cannot be completed by 2020”. Translation “we don’t have the money”!!!!!

• China can make it. But if Malaysia? 2030 might also be a problem too.

• The notable difference between China and Malaysia is acquisition of land. China government will bulldoze to get whatever land they want but Malaysian government has to follow acts and guidelines. This is one of the main factors that determine the speed of construction.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 9
    • frossonice on May 11, 2015 at 4:52 pm

Exactly this. Our land law is quite complicated in the first place.

• Painter on May 11, 2015 at 2:16 pm

Here’s hoping to ASEAN building bridges connecting all the archipelagos in ASEAN.

Sumatra to Peninsular Malaysia. Sumatra to Java. Java to PNG, Borneo, etc etc.

That should be the next big project in ASEAN. With so many poor population in Indonesia, it should be able to compete with China’s cheap labor cost.

ASEAN can no longer depend on straits of Malacca’s shipping route exploited by Far East and Western countries.

• letstorque on May 11, 2015 at 3:38 pm

Singapore will protest fiercely. For sure.

When Thailand came out with idea of a canal through Songkla and Pattani, Singapore protested.

• asean link on May 11, 2015 at 8:59 pm

this is brilliant idea! please connect sabah to mindanao as well. This way.. all asean labor market can be commoditized and open up the border the way EU countries open up their border to their less rich EU member to come and work at more developed EU countries and keep the economies circling among themselves.

Start with Melaka – Dumai, Sumatera – Jawa and sabah – mindanao.. you’ll see immediate boom in ASEAN trade and labor market.

• If Melaka-Dumai bridge is materialise, there will be steady streams of immigrants from Indonesia to Malaya and soon Indonesian will be no. 1 race in Malaysia.

• No China train please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 20
    • LatukBandar on May 11, 2015 at 3:36 pm

I wonder where is your computer manufactured. Does the label says made in China?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • frossonice on May 11, 2015 at 4:56 pm

It was reported that the proposed average speed for KL-SG HSR is between 350kmh – 450kmh. Apart from Shanghai Maglev and China CSR HSR in China which used to run at the speed about 350kmh before being reduced to 300kmh for safety reason, there are no other HSR in the world running at that speed at this moment. So, the proposed average speed is a hint of China’s CSR HSR will be use in KL-SG HSR.

On personal note, I prefer French Alstom TGV.

• roxas on May 11, 2015 at 5:12 pm

iphone made in china too

• Can we trust the chinese on anything? Their bullet trains, milk powder, construction, etc seems to have teething problems.

The Gov better tread carefully on this matter. Otherwise if anything happens, PR will sure jump onto this and make erupting volcanos out of anthills even if its not Gov fault.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
    • autodriver (Member) on May 11, 2015 at 10:38 pm

if u don’t trust then please dun use iphxne, sxmsung, all china brand cellphone, most of the electrical products etc. I also doubt the china product quality but over the decades the china own brands are becoming much better. I have no doubt on china big manufacturer or corporate (except small or unpopular company) but the question is how our Msia G awarded the project.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • mosar on May 11, 2015 at 3:27 pm

the contructions can easily be completed within that timeframe…the issue here is all the redtape involved on the land use and undertaking of the ownership (may go through private owned land, etc etc)

• How to get the RM40bil project completed on time and with less cost to the government?

Land ownership and some palm oil and petroleum products can be transferred to China, just like the palm oil-for-Sukhoi deal with Russia.

• HALLO Bro on May 11, 2015 at 4:22 pm

China construction speed is very very extremely fast.
    They do have their own high speed/bullet train rail.

China made not equal to poor quality or low tech.
    China open their market from 90s, development in technology, engineering, much more improved.

Beijing Olympic, is the show to the world.
    They can make it.

I saw BYD start loan their EV car in singapore.

For those who still thinks that China produce poor quality product, have to change your mindset.

See our condition, our nation’s economy, security, safety, can not match with them.

Those poor quality product are brought in by our importer to gain higher profit.
    If you stay in China, lot of high quality china goods.

Clown, joker, are controling us, manage our wealthy.
    We need change! lower down car tax! higher car spec!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • Sabahan on May 12, 2015 at 9:29 am

I travel to Shanghai via Hangzhou because Malaysia’s only world class operation ie Airasia flies direct to Hangzhou from Kota Kinabalu. The Chinese high speed train Concorde covers 200+ km in 56 minutes including two stops along the way between Hangzhou and Shanghai and is very comfortable and only charges rmb73 one way.

Sometimes it’s just better to try in person before commenting…

• Scrap this idea into the bin.

• Anything on May 11, 2015 at 5:39 pm

Now RM40 billion, at the end of the project RM100 billion. Old tactics, but sound like ah lai dont like the number 40 maybe will change to number 60, nicer

• roxas on May 11, 2015 at 5:48 pm

the chinese aredi have tech miles ahead, such as maglev n cars tat can remotely controlled, what do we have in malaysia.. rusty, old, noisy ktm express..

• BeemerFreak on May 11, 2015 at 5:50 pm

It will only happen if tender and budget control is done by Singapore. Our government already has amount to pocket in mind, they have NEVER thought about the rakyat. 1 Malaysia, pendapatan diutamakan, rakyat dikecualikan

• olio benzina on May 11, 2015 at 6:50 pm

Not everything Singapore smell of roses.
      Look up Alpine Bau, the SG govt appointed contractor for their latest undrground rail line.

• Sheikh Mohd Fauzi Sheikh Ahmad on May 11, 2015 at 7:29 pm

If using china company,the quality depends on how much you’re willing to pay….case in
    point is KHD and Avic…german technology with china speed

• Jonn Dol on May 11, 2015 at 9:24 pm

Better go for Japanese or European high speed trains brands..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Jonn Dol on May 11, 2015 at 7:47 pm

Better go for Japanese or European high speed trains brands..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • Guys,you know what.Singapore tak keluarkan duit sikit pun for this project.And plus,the main station is at Jurung.Isn’t that crazy?I think Najib is crazy

• ~shiro~ on May 11, 2015 at 8:13 pm

kl-spore? malaysia should have long time ago…but should replace ktm to use route between jb-kl-kb & perlis…

• Carlos on May 12, 2015 at 4:15 am

We don’t need this since:

KL routes is the longest instead of Singapore’s and yet we give up some right to the Republic.

Feasibility is in question since cheaper to take flight than HSR. Research suggests that so far the fare was around RM300 even in China for such distance.

We built too many train-related projecrs and you know which guys can benefit from this so called development. RM40B now and few months after that the amount will inflate not less than RM60B.

HSR will only make our already expensive property, a way dearer for most of us and l still highly believe the market is not big and we’re still banking on the monetary reward from the project instead of business point of view. Our salary simply unfeasible for this project.

Use our head not our (ill) heart and we’re yet to optimize our other train project.

Without much improved salary this project is no go. Better use cheap no frills airlines.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 12, 2015 at 7:09 am

The Chinese… you’ve got to love them. Always very amusing, and cunning with their threats (no deal, no Chinese companies investing…). What they don’t understand (or maybe they do, but thought this opportunity was too great) is that by the time the company that gets the job gets the green light, it is long past 2020.

• CyberPatrol on May 12, 2015 at 12:08 pm

I’m like this idea of HSR system maybe I had travel on Japan Shinkansen and German ICE. Just cannot compare with budget airline travel, you get to see country sides in HRS system, comfort and safety (compare train accident with aircraft crash history).

If the project based BOT (Build Operate and Transfer) method China has financial to build it and has that experience. Furthermore China Zhiyuan Investment Co signed a MOA with Perwaja Steel to revived Perwaja Steel sales (still in red) and maybe it a precursor to this project. No need to import expensive steel for this project.

No sure what the statistic of people commute from Malaysia to Singapore visa-versa over the years by vehicle and aircraft. That statistics would help a feasibility study of having a HSR system (90min travel) could benefits from both nations in terms of tourists and trades. Also HRS should extend to the north region Thailand in the future when China’ Kunmin-Beijing rail join Bangkok. That complete Tran-Asian Rail Express route Beijing to Singapore.

• kopi O Kao Kao on May 13, 2015 at 11:54 am

Correct me if I am wrong…a few years back YTL proposal cost only 5B….now it baloon to 40B…these people really hoot our money kao kao…

http://www.mysinchew.com/node/83224