Eleventh Malaysia Plan – transport-related topics

11 malaysia plan image 1a

The Eleventh Malaysia Plan (11MP) was tabled by the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak earlier today, and one of the areas of focus will be the building of an integrated, need-based transport system.

The plan, which stretches from 2016 to 2020, will see transportation networks being improved to enhance connectivity and mobility. This includes the construction and upgrading of roads and highways such as the toll-free Pan Borneo Highway and the Central Spine Road (a 325 km-long toll-free federal route that will replace the Gua Musang and Karak-Tampin highways when it is completed).

Other routes include the Kota Bharu-Kuala Krai Highway, the Lebuh Raya Pantai Timur as well as the West Coast Expressway – the latter, which will connect Banting to Taiping, is expected to be completed in 2019.

Public transport is also set to be improved on in a big way – last year, the public transport modal share in the Greater Kuala Lumpur/Klang Valley area was 17.1%, and the government is looking at raising this to 40% by 2020 as well as 20% in other capital cities. A number of rail projects are due to help up utilisation levels.

The increase in ridership will begin when the first phase of the Klang Valley Mass Rapid Transit (KVMRT) becomes operational next year. The KVMRT Line 1 will traverse 51 km between Sungai Buloh and Kajang, through 31 stations serving about 1.2 million people, with a daily expected ridership of 400,000.

Phase 1, which runs from Sungai Buloh to Semantan, will kick off the service, followed by Phase 2 (Semantan to Kajang) sometime in 2017. The construction of KVMRT Line 2, meanwhile, is slated to begin in June 2016 – the 52.2 km line, which will connect Sungai Buloh to Serdang and Putrajaya, is estimated to become operational by 2022.

Additionally, construction of the Light Rail Transit (LRT) Line 3 connecting Bandar Utama to Klang will start in 2016, with expected completion in 2020 – the line will run over 36 km and have 25 stations.

stage bus

The Stage Bus Services Transformation (SBST) Programme, meanwhile, will improve the stage bus model that is in place now, with bus services set to provide greater coverage and extension to rural areas – the SBST will be rolled out in phases from this year across Seremban, Kuching, Kangar, Ipoh, and Kuala Terengganu, and will be extended to other cities and rural areas during the course of the 11MP.

The plan also states that alternative community-based public transport service such as minivans and the use of private vehicles will be considered for remote areas.

As for fuel-related topics, aside from the implementation of Euro 4 and Euro 5 emission standard fuels in Malaysia during the course of the 11MP (and even ahead of that), the government says it will be working towards increasing bio-diesel blending requirements of up to 15% during the 11MP (from the existing B7, or 7%), and the use of CNG will also be promoted.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• I Stay at Seri Kembangan more than 10 years, no bus service in my area 10 years, now talking rubbish for another 5 years, Fuel standard also delay and delay, keep making empty promises and make us spend more on maintenance for our vehicle. RUBBISH AND RUBBISH

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 5
    • Areyousure on May 21, 2015 at 5:17 pm

Sure there is a reboot. Let’s wait for “12th Malaysia Plan” la.

• As long as there is Proton, crony didahulukan for whatever Malaysia Plan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 10
        • BNaik on May 21, 2015 at 6:11 pm

BN promise this time different from last time, PM says will and he will.

PKTROOPERS just get our of HERE and don’t just talk craps !!!

BN car for Rakyat and we never says reduced car price taxes !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 46
          • Minister on May 22, 2015 at 12:45 am

Tell me what economic benefit does Proton bring to our country?

• “BN car for Rakyat and we never says reduced car price taxes !!!”

Don’t try to pusing please.

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on May 22, 2015 at 10:43 am

^ All safety fixtures including all model. 7 year warranty.

P2 expensive milo tin no safety reasons to buy. 2 years warranty.

• Same L0rrrr on May 22, 2015 at 1:20 pm

You don’t fasten seatbelt, 50 airbags also can’t save your ass.

You crash at the speed of 130km/h, ASEANCAP 12 stars also can’t save your ass.

The safety features can’t fully save your ass, your driving habit does!

Bear in mind best selling Protons- Saga and Persona have no VSC, 6 airbags, hot press chasis whatever shit you proud of.

And the safer Preve, Iriz and Suprima S are really safe!!! I admit! Because they are either at showroom or warehouse.

Haven’t heard anyone died in car accident in a showroom/warehouse before.

• Same L0rrrr on May 21, 2015 at 6:15 pm

Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok. Nothing achieved end of the day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
        • kzm buda bodo (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 7:28 pm

Don’t talk about Malaysia plan at all. The way 1MDB is being raped and molested, we will be lucky if we don’t end up like Philippines and bankrupt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Najib on May 21, 2015 at 5:45 pm

I will remove NAP protection and close down Proton for the sake of the people. Rakyat didahulukan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
      • Pak Lah on May 21, 2015 at 6:33 pm

Why no talk about closing down Proton for the “11th Malaysia Plan”? Proton don’t bring any benefit to our country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • Lpost on May 21, 2015 at 6:47 pm

Sure why not, abolish NAP & proton! then car excise tax will be 200%..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • One more route to balik kampung. Hoping for no delays in these highway construction

• Lets wait and see if all the highways and road completed by 2019…

• Syarazi Yunus on May 21, 2015 at 5:22 pm

who is the lucky consultant this time?

• fedup on May 21, 2015 at 5:24 pm

When is car taxes gonna be reduced?we have been paying market price for petrol the last 6months

• Car price still high, bungkus lah!

• HaIrI on May 21, 2015 at 5:50 pm

No matter how we hate the Government, at least this is the right things for us and Govt spending money in public infrastructure. It will benefit our future generations many years to come. Just, I hate those “songlapers” in every Govt projects.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Stop the price increase of house and car now then when income increase by 2020 … just then we will get the benefit.

• Malaysian Commuter on May 21, 2015 at 6:22 pm

I remembered when I was in secondary school back in the 1990’s, the bus hub at Jln Othman PJ Old Town served myriad of busses from different companies. We have 53(Tmn Medan), 35(Bangsar), 30(Sri Sentosa), 328(Bdr Utama), 27(Old Klang Road) of Intrakota. From the CItyliner, 208(Puchong), 51(Old Klang Road) and one more bus which I can’t remember the number also use it as a stop. And then we have MetroBus which served PJ Old Town as well.

Fast forward 17years, there is only 3 busses, namely the U66, U75 and T505 serve the same station.

The conclusion: Public transport has gone from bad to worse for the past 1 1/2 decade. From more than 10 busses and destinations, now residents from PJ Old Town have to make more transits (paying more fare to Rapid KL) just to reach the same destination compared to 15 years ago! Let me get this straight, public conveniences and ease of transport is never an agenda of the government.

It’s always cronies who came into the game, milk it dry, screw it up and use taxpayer’s money to restructure the whole damn thing. What happen to Putra LRT? What happen to Star? What happen to Intrakota? Why do we need 2 different locomotives suppliers and different management to serve 2 short distance LRT line? Does it make any logistics sense? Why do they go burst? and inadvertently Prime Minister Dept have to step in under the guise of Pasarana to bail them out and buy back the operation and infrastructure?

When Pasarana restructured the Klang Valley bus services in 2005 after buying Intrakota, they disposed virtually all still well-condition busses inherited from Intrakota and instead buy a new fleet of inferior (compare to European made) China made busses! Most of the original Intrakota fleet were barely 8 years old back then. Why dispose the whole entire fleet and lament that there’s not enough busses? (If you remember during the period 2005/2006, where Pasarana just took over Intrakota and Cityliner, taking busses in KL was a real nightmare). Well, guess some UMNO goons make big money out of this deal. The Intrakota fleet were left rotten and rusted in the “bus graveyard” in Shah Alam. This is a blatant abuse of money and resources.

Our Ministry of Transport is a damn laughing stock in the world. Ministry of “Transport” konon, which have no say in anything regarding the busses, LRT, MRT! No parliament debate, no scrutiny of fund spending, all decisions and executions is done by the Prime Minister Department’s that bypass all means of check and balance, and in Malaysian context, means inefficiencies, over budget, corruptions and bankrupt+government bail out in the end.

Why? Because these are multi billion lucrative contracts that UMNO need to fatten themselves. And at last, don’t forget our NAP policies to promote car ownership among citizens.

We could have had more, better, cheaper public transport sooner. I am waiting to see another drama of MRT unfolding, becoming another black hole sucking tax payer’s and being astronomically over-budget.

In Bolehland, things are pretty predictable. Same script, is just the players different now and then.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 2
    • Malaysiana on May 21, 2015 at 8:10 pm

Well said, sir. Well said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • tokmoh. on May 21, 2015 at 9:42 pm

The loss of Bus Mini Wilayah (BMW) were missed. It’s a damn shame such cheap, effective system were victims to cronies’ greed.

Now they’re back to using European buses.

Main fleet mostly from Scania, while Volvo buses are making a return, and older models refurbished. There’s some Mercedes and MAN buses too.

• spongewai on May 21, 2015 at 8:25 pm

stop it and resign, Mr PM

• kzm (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 9:06 pm

wow..so many happy comment here. im out

• tokmoh. on May 21, 2015 at 9:49 pm

Then I’ll be the voice of dissent.

It’s disappointing Penang is left out again.

Arguably the most developed state outside Selangor and KL, Penang desperately need some form of metro rail system. Beh tahan la traffic in island nowadays.

But u know i know why govt don’t want to. How childish, thinking public transport system as a blackmail to win election.

Enough is enough, if federal is too reluctant to give Penang public transport, then at the very least give state govt the power to implement it.

It’s ridiculous public transport is vetoed by federal. The state deserves the power to develop their own.

• Penangites love their cars and love their jams. No need to help. Give bus dunwan take. Wanna be high keras.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
        • They know what’s best and they stood for it, even at the expenses of a smaller “compensation”.

• Why KL, JB, Kuching and KK?

• Why KL ? – cause its the capital
      Why JB ? – Cause Singaporeans are poring money
      Why Kuching and KK ? cause they don’t want to lose East Malaysia.

• Visitor on May 22, 2015 at 9:58 am

I beg to differ regarding Kuching and KK. Federal government is really attempting to decentralise economic development into other urban areas. KK especially is located just over 1,600km from KL. The government probably say, why not make KK and Kuching the ‘KL’ of East Malaysia so Sabahans and Sarawakians don’t necessarily migrate to Peninsular Malaysia for jobs and better quality of life. Of course, being like ‘KL’ does not have to equate being more expressways and skyscrapers, but more in line towards job opportunities and better quality of life. For your info, Kuching and KK are represented by opposition political party (DAP). Federal government might as well choose other cities that align with BN, but then I think the government is more interested in being more strategic to improve socioeconomic climate of Malaysians outside Klang Valley.

• kosong on May 22, 2015 at 7:29 am

2020 = Dua Dua pun Kosong

• Its good the Gov is now focusing on public transportation. We can no longer rely on cars and bikes to take us places.

Kudos to the Gov even if it might threaten “someone”‘s cherished project (ie national car), public transport is the way to move masses of people. Keep sticking to it and to hell with naysayers, doom bringers, and perpetual negative bashers. To them, even Tokyo would fall short of their wants.

Just a small request, please be more transparent on the feeder bus connectivity to the stations. Then we can see if there’s any missing links.

• Nancy on May 22, 2015 at 9:26 am

PM Najib, before you volunteer to step down either willingly or by force, please fulfill your forever famous 30% car price reduction. Since you don’t care Tun M. advice, why should you care with Proton Advisor. At least ppl see the promise has been fulfilled with dignity for whatever circumstances that may come.

• That wish of yours would contradict the Gov goal of increasing ridership for public transport. Pakatan strategy at its worst when it tries to pull the rakyat’s heartstring instead of logic.
      Just look at large metropolises. They all have a common feature which is extensive & efficient rail network. While ours would not achieve such efficiency, we have to start somewhere and work our way up.
      The Gov should de-incentives the rakyat from owning cars and smoke spewing bikes. Move people to use rails and buses.

• macromedia on May 22, 2015 at 9:51 am

over promise rubbish…

• Keropok Lekor KL on May 23, 2015 at 1:40 pm

eleventh malaysia plan??

More like eating kuih lapis, drink teh tarik session with a lot of hot air…..