LRT3 Bandar Utama-Klang rail project – more details about planned route, list of station names revealed

lrt-depot

More details about the Light Rail Transit 3 (LRT3) project have emerged, including the planned route, list of stations and their proposed layout plan as well as how the entire line will sit in place within the larger scope of the Klang Valley integrated transit map.

Earlier, it was reported that construction of the line is set to begin in the first quarter of next year with a first quarter 2020 completion date. The line, which is scheduled to begin operation on August 31, 2020, will connect Bandar Utama, Damansara and Johan Setia, Klang.

LRT3 proposed route map

Click to enlarge.

A total of 25 stations are planned, with proposed sub-two kilometre distances between them. There will be one underground station in the line, with the other 24 being elevated stations, and of the total, 10 stations are expected to have park-and-ride facilities.

The LRT3 line will feature a number of integrated stations with paid-to-paid integration with those of other lines. Planned interchanges are the Bandar Utama MRT station (250 metre distance), Station 3 of the LRT Kelana Jaya Line (100 metres), the Pelabuhan Klang KTM station (450 metres) and two stations (SIRIM and Stadium in Shah Alam) on the KL-Klang BRT line.

LRT3 Line integration map

Click to enlarge.

It was also revealed that the 36 km route alignment is expected to be finalised by the fourth quarter of this year. Ahead of its finalisation, there will be public inspections of the proposed route alignment available at Petaling Jaya, Shah Alam and Klang city councils; Kelana Jaya, Masjid Jamek and Pasar Seni LRT stations as well as the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) office from today, May 15 to August 14.

The public will be able to offer suggestions and comments on the route alignment at these locations during the three-month period.

Elsewhere, the provisional names of the stations along the route have also been revealed, though these are not yet determined to be final and subject to revision. They are:

1) Stesen One Utama
2) Stesen Damansara Utama
3) Stesen Tropicana
4) Stesen Lien Hoe
5) Stesen Dataran Prima
6) Stesen Persada Plus
7) Stesen Station 3
8) Stesen Temasya
9) Stesen Glenmarie
10) Stesen Grand Sentral Stadium
11) Stesen Persiaran Hisamuddin
12) Stesen Section 4
13) Stesen Sirim
14) Stesen UiTM
15) Stesen I-City
16) Stesen Bukit Raja
17) Stesen Kawasan 17
18) Stesen Jalan Meru
19) Stesen Klang
20) Stesen Taman Selatan
21) Stesen Sri Andalas
22) Stesen Tesco Bukit Tinggi
23) Stesen Aeon Bukit Tinggi
24) Stesen Bandar Botanik
25) Stesen Johan Setia

The LRT3 line is expected to serve around two million people in the Klang Valley, transporting around 70,000 passengers daily with an end-to-end journey time of 51 minutes. The first running trials will begin after the project is completed sometime in the first quarter of 2020.

Proposed plan for each LRT3 station

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• aizat63 on May 15, 2015 at 2:39 pm

hope no more jam after batu 3 toll during rush hour.

• Hope it finish in time.

• not a rail expert on May 16, 2015 at 1:55 pm

hope that they will get a good PDP for LRT 3. seeing the LRT 2 project delay for years are really depressing.

• thepolygonal on May 15, 2015 at 3:25 pm

Oh… can walk to lrt from my house. No need buy car already. Terima kasih kepada kerajaan kerana mencadangkan route ini. Well, have to thank where thank is due. Now lets hope everything goes smoothly without much leakages.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • tokmoh. on May 15, 2015 at 10:30 pm

Kroni songlap buat LRT, MRT, janji siap, harga tambang berpatutan, rakyat tak kesah.

If songlap, gi joli parti ngan Paris Hilton, beli condo, mansion berjuta-juta satu dunia, amik duit haji, pencen semua, F U.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
  • confused on May 15, 2015 at 3:30 pm

Stesen Station 3? what?

• pontiac on May 15, 2015 at 3:58 pm

BN gov should focus more in Johor instead of Selangor. pffft

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 43
    • tokmoh. on May 15, 2015 at 10:26 pm

You tak suka BN, u keluar dari Johor. Johor takyah bagi LRT, MRT, pun tetap undi BN gak.

Good job Selangor, continue jual mahal. Biar negeri BN mundur, let BN try to lick our balls. And will still not vote for BN, spoiling us with more development.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
      • semak udang on May 16, 2015 at 7:27 am

Kau ni kurang cerdik ke apa.
        Asik nak masuk politik tak abis2.
        Semak udang la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • hopeful on May 15, 2015 at 4:07 pm

Wish list:
    1) Sufficient parking at park & ride locations
    2) More reliable trains/coaches

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • BrianXYZ on May 15, 2015 at 4:18 pm

Good! Have to give credit to the gomen this time. LRT is the way to go. Not the unreliable ktm komuter.

• some people may say this is too late.I don’t have any comments on that however, I don’t really like to talk politics much but this is definitely a step in the right direction.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • shawal on May 15, 2015 at 5:18 pm

I hope other states would emulate the colombia – bogota mass transit system which would be cheaper to implement and cost effective in the long term…

right now klang valley is too crowded and too costly to relocate most tenants…., hence the best way is UP , or deep down….

anyway, we have to catch up with our neighbours up north and down south~!

• tokmoh. on May 15, 2015 at 10:35 pm

Bus Rapid Transit? There’s one in Sunway almost completed, may even start operation next month.

That’s first, and more to come in the future.

• xavier lert on May 15, 2015 at 9:29 pm

map salah..rawang come before serendah from KL

• normal_user on May 16, 2015 at 12:01 am

We know that the main the problem with rail stations is insufficient parking facilities. In order for rail system to be effective, feeder transit and pedestrian mobility facilities should be upgraded to facilitate people movement. Therefore, covered pedestrian pavement and walkways, and safe zebra crossings should be built appropriately. In our hot and humid temperature, bau ketiak hangit is a common thing when trains are packed like a sardine can. By having a proper sheltered walkway, this can minimize excessive sweating and encourage people to walk to stations. If residential areas are located more than 1 km away, feeder bus should be provided.

Lastly, railed networks cannot carry as much passengers to reduce congestion & ultra expensive. Hong Kong and Singaporeans have BRTs (bus rail transit) gaining high modal share of transport. The LRT and MRT lines should be integrated with BRT systems as well. Try google for Sunway BRT & Federal Highway BRT.

• Saiful5090 on May 16, 2015 at 11:25 am

Well sometime positive at least..transit system is way to go now with overcrowded K.L.

• Shafiq Abdul Hamid on May 16, 2015 at 4:51 pm

Aku tinggal di TTDI tetapi rumah aku lebih dekat berjalan ke stesen Bandar Utama. Bagus cadangan LRT 3. MRT 2 pun dalam cadangan untuk di bina. Aku peminat pasukan Selangor FC. Lepas ni senanglah nak pergi Stadium Shah Alam tengok perlawanan pasukan aku.

I live in TTDI but my house is nearer to walk to the Bandar Utama station. This is a good idea along with another MRT 2 that is being planned. I support the Selangor FC team and with this new LRT 3 route it will make going to Stadium Shah Alam to watch my favourtie team much easier

• David on May 16, 2015 at 9:45 pm

Excited to heard that LRT finally drive toward to Klang, yet my personal opinion the LRT line after Andalas station, each station distance seem like too close to each other, example, not necessary to have 2 station for AEON & Botanic, I suggest it will be better if the station build in between this 2 location, consequently, with budget can extend another station ended at Canary Garden KSL shopping mall with more extractive.

• admin, the klang lrt 3 station will intergrate with KLANG KTM station, not PELABUHAN KLANG KTM station.

• MojoJojo on May 17, 2015 at 9:14 am

2020? I thought two to three years. I think I need to find a new job in a place with better public transportation. 1 Utama sucks for people who don’t drive. I spend around RM25 on taxis for a 25 minute ride in the morning and take a mind-numbing 2-hour commute by bus and train(s) in the evening. Oh, and the bus frequency after 7.30pm is reduced to one hour. All three bus routes I could take arrive around the same time. By the time I reach home I feel like crying but I am just too tired to even shed a tear.

• michael wee chio soon on May 21, 2015 at 11:25 pm

excellent that lrt3 is coming to klang

• haziq hashim on May 28, 2015 at 11:02 pm

I’ve watched the proposed route on Youtube. I don’t think the route convenience enough for people from Klang/Shah Alam areas to travel to KL though as the connection at integrated stations are far apart ie Bandar Utama, Klang. Leceh nak jalan, buang masa. They should build the interchange station at Subang(KTM and KJ Line) instead of Glenmarie and end the station at KL Sentral.

• Damansara Utama residents not consulted. Major inaccuracies in LRT3 EIA report.
    http://www.thestar.com.my/Metro/Community/2015/05/18/Residents-worry-over-proximity-of-proposed-station/

• Martha yong on Jun 03, 2015 at 3:17 pm

They should have the Damansara Utama station closer to the Sprint Highway near Fella Design and widen the road there so that it’s more accessible to both the DU commercial area and DJ Atria mall. Locating it nearer the highway will also make it safer as it will be further from the lost-cost flats and squatter areas. There are a lot of Indonesians staying there.

• Lrt3, need more stations, how about 1 more station at bandar baru klang near aeon shopping mall. Otherwise, no much development there.

• Nadia on Sep 15, 2016 at 9:29 am

can please someone direct me how to go Damansra utama i can’t find anything.thank you.

• Ahmad Sabri Bin Baharuddin on Aug 05, 2018 at 5:40 pm

lrt3 project by 2020 by august 15

• Ahmad Sabri Bin Baharuddin on Aug 05, 2018 at 5:43 pm

lrt3 Bandar Utama – Klang ada buah Stesen: 26 Stesen Petukaran LRT, KTM, BRT, BAS