1,800 JPJ officers to monitor high-risk routes this Raya

jpj roadblock-2

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) will be very active this upcoming Raya season. It will deploy some 1,800 officers to monitor accident prone areas nationwide during the festive season, Bernama reports.

JPJ director-general Datuk Seri Ismail Ahmad said the department will increase patrols, especially in areas where accidents frequently occurred, from the beginning of Ramadan, following the increase in traffic nationwide. Main roads, federal roads, state roads and highways will all be covered. Operations will be carried out 24 hours a day.

“Previously, we began operations a week before, until a week after Raya, but this year, from the beginning of Ramadan we will start patrolling and monitoring,” he told reporters.

The JPJ officers will be assisted by 1,000 volunteers from the Skuad Muda 1JPJ this festive season. The youth volunteers will help create awareness on traffic offences and running campaigns to advocate road safety. The national news agency, in a report yesterday, quoted the number of Skuad Muda 1JPJ members roped in to help as 50,570 – whatever the figure, drive safe and follow the rules as eyes are watching.

“With this initiative we hope that users who frequently commit offences can be educated, and at the same time reduce the number of accidents,” the D-G said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Troll on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:36 am

Well , since GST is screwing everyone ass. I guess they have to find another alternative to get extra ‘incentive’ , people , prepare small changes of RM10. :D

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 16, 2015 at 11:25 am

This means that another 1800 extra hands will be asking duit kopi to settle saman. Nice timing. Duit Raya.

Those who believe me, pls give me a thumbs up!

• bomoh on Jun 16, 2015 at 1:25 pm

Expect more kopi station to be setup…

• Corrupted JPJ on Jun 16, 2015 at 3:18 pm

JPJ should clean up their officers. Every road user know for sure through experience how corrupted they are.

Always ask and demand for money

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:41 am

Duit Raya Duit Raya~~~

• dodgeviper88 on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:55 am

High-risk routes = high rewards for JPJ officers

• Buat komplen, tak buat pun komplen. Haih haih haih….

• Bobby (Member) on Jun 16, 2015 at 12:17 pm

In countries like the majority in the West, where there are more responsible and caring car drivers than half-past six Malaysian drivers, I do not see they ever come to do this sort of thing with thousands of half-past six volunteers!

What we need is to educate all drivers and passengers the decency of driving safely and and speedily without due care. It is very clear that we do not see education as a valuable tool to enhance and enrich our Malaysian live. This country is full of sadists, who really like to see people penalised and suffer physically and mentally. Proof? Even been to and accident site? Bloody morons!

• azrai on Jun 16, 2015 at 12:36 pm

Be sure to wear sarongs..

• eddy lee on Jun 16, 2015 at 12:49 pm

create more traffic jam….

• nabill (Member) on Jun 16, 2015 at 1:04 pm

Moral of the story, get your small change ready just in case!