KL-Padang Besar ETS yet to be approved by SPAD

KL12_120810_TREN_ETS

We will soon be able to take a train ride from KL to the Malaysian-Thai border in just four hours and 15 minutes, but it’s unclear when exactly will the KL-Padang Besar Electric Train Service (ETS) begin operations.

It was reported last Thursday that KTM announced the ETS service will officially start from July 1 in time for the Hari Raya balik kampung rush, but the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) has yet to give the green light, The Sun reports.

SPAD officials told the free paper that there are several matters that need to be sorted out, including commissioning and ensuring the safety aspects on the 329 km electrified double track and the China-made trains. When contacted, SPAD chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar said the July 1 launch date is doubtful.

“They (KTM) cannot start until we commission their trains. It is true that we have not given the green light,” said Syed Hamid.

SPAD CEO Mohd Nur Ismal Kamal explained that KTM’s July 1 target date was based on the extension of the current KL-Ipoh service to Padang Besar using today’s Korean-made trains with a top speed of 140 km/h.

“Nothing has been finalised. We still need to complete the commissioning of the double-track. Even the new batch of China-made electric trains which can touch 160 km/h are yet to undergo full testing. So it will take some time,” he said. Asked if SPAD could do all of that before Raya, he said: “It all depends but we don’t want to rush anything since safety is our top priority.”

The KL-Padang Besar trains have been undergoing trials since early this year was originally scheduled to be operational in September. Last week, Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai said that KL-Butterworth ETS services will be ready next month.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• pasomalam.com on Jun 29, 2015 at 9:26 am

Keen to know how much the cost of fare will be.

• HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Jun 30, 2015 at 7:09 am

CEO of SPAD is bigger than the Minister of Transport????

When he says 1st July, meaning that u have to work your s and manpower to complete everything before 1st July…..not start testing only on 1st of July…..

• kolejeon on Jun 29, 2015 at 9:40 am

safety first

• azhar on Jun 29, 2015 at 10:10 am

safety should be prioritized…biar lambat asal selamat

• BeemerFreak on Jun 29, 2015 at 10:13 am

Classic case of miscommunication in our government, minister trying to impress the rakyat by promising everything only to find out that he cannot deliver. Never learn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
    • No mis-com, LTL quoted based on KTM’s projected timeline. Apparently he din have all the info on the project. Could have been overrun on the timeline (due to last year epic floods) causing the delay.

• C. P. MOHAN on Jun 29, 2015 at 10:21 am

I agree, what is important is safety, after all that is reason for SPAD.

• Kancil Hybrid on Jun 29, 2015 at 10:23 am

It’s all right. Slow2.

• Bryan on Jun 29, 2015 at 10:23 am

Credit where credit is due…..Good Job SPAD!….. Safety First Always.

• Painter on Jun 29, 2015 at 11:51 am

So this ETS KL-Buttworth will be non-stop, right?

I remember in my younger days, took a train from Butterworth to JB. Left at 7am, reached JB at 7pm. Stopped at every single station. Back then, there was no North-South Highway yet.

Looking forward to see how train service improves over time… or not?

• I believe u’re talking about “Express Rakyat” train. I remembered taking “Keretapi Mel” from JB in the morning and arriving in KL in the evening, in 3rd class coach.

• Better take your time and make it properly, than rush and end up in desaster.

If they rush and run into lots of problems at the start, the majority of people won’t even consider taking the train when the problems are solved, as the reputation of the service would be already damaged.

• Bangga Anak Malaysia on Jun 29, 2015 at 3:07 pm

Safety is Paramount…hmmm..the article concern over the China made train. I hope no reliability and safety issues. Hyundai Rotem train prove quite reliable…ok la..

• izwan on Jul 01, 2015 at 7:37 am

wow its been forever .. SPAD not doing its job? not like the rail just finished yesterday? it should’ve been working since last year.

Biar lambat asalkan selamat..? why can’t “cepat dan juga selamat”? when want advance? takuk lama. spad patrol car going around Puduraya / Larkin still ulat strive!