Mercedes-Benz Malaysia says its diesel-powered vehicles are compatible with B10 biodiesel fuel

E 300 Bluetec Hybrid 8

Having previously stated that the introduction of B10 biodiesel requires further consideration, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) has now announced that its diesel-powered vehicles will be fully compatible with the new blend (10% palm-based biodiesel and 90% petroleum diesel).

No risks with the use of B10 are expected for its fleet of diesel cars (currently just the E 300 BlueTEC Hybrid) claims MBM, based on experiences of Daimler AG’s research and development division.

“We have evaluated carefully the influence of B10 Biodiesel blends on our current diesel vehicles for the Malaysian market and we are now able to confirm its compatibility. We have service intervals of 12,000 km to ensure that our customers are not affected by the diesel quality. Our diesel-powered vehicles currently sold in Malaysia were seen to have run both smoothly and safely with the use of the B10 biodiesel blend,” explained Mercedes-Benz Malaysia President and CEO, Roland Folger.

biodiesel

It was reported last month that B10 biodiesel is expected to be fully implemented in Malaysia by October this year, with plantation industries and commodities (MPIC) minister Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas saying the arrival of B10 will lift domestic consumption of crude palm oil by one million tonnes per year.

Following that, BMW Group Malaysia issued a stern response, saying that its tests worldwide have found “technical challenges” running the B10 biodiesel blend in engines. Since then, Toyota, Isuzu and Volkswagen have followed suit, echoing the same sentiments. Volkswagen Group Malaysia even claims that running B10 on its diesel engines will produce adverse effects as well as void the warranty.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• cendol (Member) on Jul 01, 2015 at 10:11 am

It means more people should buy Mercedes instead of BMW who says B10 diesel is not compatible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • Folger Kena Ugut on Jul 01, 2015 at 10:22 am

Ha ha ha. This is classic eample how Folger got called up to Putrajaya and told to shit his mouth or else MBM will be closed down in Malaysia.

I am sure even Alan Harris also got called by Bakke Salleh CEO of Sime Darby and told to shit up.

Both Germans now scared that they will be sent back to concentration camps in Germany. So both now say B10 very good for their cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 27
      • Areyousure on Jul 01, 2015 at 2:10 pm

Merz has better technology than BMW ???

• elson on Jul 01, 2015 at 8:54 pm

Check the engine award for all these years, Mercedes is peanut compare to BMW, only Ah Pek believe in Mercedes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • ABTguy (Member) on Jul 01, 2015 at 11:54 am

It simply means that Mercedes is better than BMW, full stop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 13
  • Kancil Hybrid on Jul 01, 2015 at 10:31 am

Mercedes anything also can, or rather they can do it. Good car, good company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • WaJib on Jul 01, 2015 at 10:39 am

But who one to take risk for 300++k car…You are not buying a Kancil put a B10 petrol to take risk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
    • 4G63T DSM on Jul 01, 2015 at 3:57 pm

MB says…sure why not.

As long as the engine can tahan the warranty period. After that..you are on your own.

MB CEO probably got called up by Putrajaya for some re-education.

Its is bad. Lets see how Pickups and Trucks deal with B10. Its not like there will be different grades of diesel at each station to select from.

• gaviny on Jul 01, 2015 at 10:42 am

This land is owned by who? we ALLOW you to come here and make money , don’t bite the hand that feeds you.

Shut your mouth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 31
    • lulla on Jul 01, 2015 at 1:48 pm

If 100 genius people/politicians died got less damages to the country instead of one idiot person/politician who running the country gave damages to the country bez it’s worse n bad effect lasts fr generations.
      So u shut ur mouth n no one owns this land.land in any part of the world fully owned by God who create us

• lil birdie on Jul 01, 2015 at 11:06 am

How about older mercedes cars, like the W211 E270CDI?

• shawal on Jul 01, 2015 at 11:10 am

show us d data…..
    Or ur expecting the customers to involuntarily participate in this experiment ala proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • sudonano (Member) on Jul 01, 2015 at 11:13 am

U turn U turn U turn folks. Can’t say B10 is bad now cause if not diesel car sales will collapse.

The fact that almost all the diesel players are saying how bad it is plus with technical papers included to prove that, we aren’t going to buy it until and unless MBM proves us with a technical paper saying yes they can run on B10. A warranty is insufficient cause what happens after the 4 years? GG?

Just because your lineup is strong and your sales are good, don’t think you are going to be on top forever. Look at BMW, what happened when they were so adamant with 2 year warranties?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • juicey on Jul 01, 2015 at 11:34 am

Thailand-made C300 Bluetec Hybrid beckoning…

• Leafable on Jul 01, 2015 at 12:35 pm

Don’t think you want to feed B10 on your expensive Merc though. They just want to sell you more parts.

• C. P. MOHAN on Jul 01, 2015 at 12:37 pm

Engine may accept but what about life-span of the current/previous diesel engines and warranty implications.

• such a jackass move by mb. capitalizing on the expense of the people, just because bmw put themselves out there by saying that their cars are not compatible with b10 mb wants to show of that their cars are. Now all mb fanboys think that mb is better than bmw. well guess what there is already a study done by several big companies that say b10 is bad for diesel engines. look up 2012 joint-statement by diesel injector makers Delphi, Denso, Bosch, Continental and Stanadyne. If you think that this doesnt affect your merc, guess what your merc also uses bosch injectors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • henry on Jul 01, 2015 at 3:25 pm

Totally agree. Now when they know there is no point against it as it is quite firm now that B10 will carry on no matter what, they start to agree and want to show they are better than others which against B10.

• How many diesel powered cars did Mercedes sell in Malaysia in the past 10 years? Now after the Malaysian government decides to put 10% of vegetable oil into our diesel, Mercedes cars which in the past were hardly imported because they can not use our poor grade diesel, can now be driven with vegetable oil addictive?

• Vincent Ang on Jul 02, 2015 at 8:53 am

Biodiesel does not even remotely have the characteristics of vegetable oil.

• rompin on Jul 02, 2015 at 4:36 pm

Well, looks like they are going to proceed with the b10 biodiesel after all. Time to sell my 320d