VIDEO: Audi TT 2.0 TFSI Malaysian walk-around

As promised, here’s our in-depth walk-around video of the Malaysian-spec Audi TT 2.0 TFSI. The stylish coupe is back in its third-generation form, this time claimed to be as sporty as it is fashionable. Has function caught up to form? Watch the video to find out.

Launched in May this year, the TT is here in Malaysia in one single form – front-wheel drive 2.0 TFSI. Yep, no matter how many times we’ve said it, it still comes as a shock that quattro all-wheel drive has been omitted in this so-called sporty coupe.

In any case, the engine makes 230 hp and 370 Nm of torque, and is matched to a six-speed S tronic dual-clutch automatic transmission. It gets to 100 km/h in under six seconds, and can go all the way to 250 km/h. Slow it definitely is not, then.

Prices start at RM284,900, excluding insurance. If you’re not content by the standard list of equipment (as per the base model shown here), you can always indulge in the long list of optional extras, which you can see in full detail on CarBase.my.

Enjoy the video, and sound off your comments below. Thanks for watching.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Gargantia on Jul 22, 2015 at 9:36 pm

Good job Paultan.org crew !!!

Hafriz make a good example that Malaysian don’t need racist people like PEKIDA and Perkasa !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
  • Aris Tee on Jul 22, 2015 at 10:06 pm

Hahahah I laughed so much during the back-seat part… I can totally relate man. Well done on the honest review~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • seancorr (Member) on Jul 22, 2015 at 10:45 pm

For hobbits and small pets and watch out for the glass coming down onto u!

Just taken a look @ the options list listed in carbase.my…holy crap its an extra RM25k to make it feel like an Audi plus you don’t even have the option to make it Quattro!

• Teori on Jul 23, 2015 at 7:59 am

And and 25k more I’d rather go for the spunky 4matic A45 (topping up a little bit more).

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 22, 2015 at 11:22 pm

The quilted leather is classy as…. Magnetic ride should be pretty cool… Audi did their A4’s magnetic ride really well, so I have confidence they would have done this one right.

For me, I think the TT can compete with the 2 series Grand Tourer in the worst rear seat on planet Earth competition. Seriously, I tried to go through to the 3rd row on the 2 GT, and I managed to go in but had absolutely no space for my legs, not to say I am very tall, about 5 and a half feet but holy smokes it is tiny there.

I am more curious as to how the TT drives though, as in has Audi got the steering done right? One of the things is the 2 series is actually not a bad car on the outside, though the inside feels not so special compared to the Audi. It is very classic BMW coupe and reminds me a lot of the 2002 which I like. Now on the flip side, the BMW does have a much better drive system (how can you say no to a rear wheel drive coupe?), but I personally feel BMW Malaysia should have brought in the 228i Sport at the price of the 220i Sport.

The Z4 is an interesting option, it is the oldest car among the 3 Germans, but the Z4 sDrive20i itself is 359k. I would instead consider the 428i Coupe for the same price, or save a bit and go for the 420i instead. Both are RWD coupes, with rear seats for humans, not Hobbits.

PS: Hope you found your shoe Hafriz. Or else we would need to invent Find My Shoe soon…

• jwrx (Member) on Jul 23, 2015 at 9:27 am

I test drove the TT as it was on my list of possible upgrades, but it didnt float my boat. Its fast, and nippy, lovely exhaust, but its also abit skittish under power and floaty compared to my e92.
      I dont think hafriz used the correct comparisons, i think the direct competitor would be a Scirocco R (roughly same price and power output) or a BRZ, both which are high 200k 2 door coupes.

• Josh Ling on Jul 23, 2015 at 12:46 am

Hafriz, you should appear more in the walk around video and write more articles in this website, man! love love your reviews as always, and this walk around video is my favorite yet! very very well done, enjoyed it very much! i really like your way of presentation lah….. :)

• tokmoh. on Jul 23, 2015 at 10:38 am

This video sure is a huge improvement, a result of them taking our feedbacks into consideration.

Well done. #kipidap and #dungibap

• nabill (Member) on Jul 23, 2015 at 12:53 am

Hafiz shoes have been found by the sarawak report in one of singapore banks!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • chrissy on Jul 23, 2015 at 9:59 am

Hi Hafriz nice shirt .

• Usavich on Jul 23, 2015 at 10:25 am

IMHO, fat dude shouldn’t do any video review…spoiled everything..sigh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
    • tokmoh. on Jul 23, 2015 at 10:36 am

Jeremy Clarkson has huge beer belly, yet still the most successful motor journalist… in the world.

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 24, 2015 at 9:16 am

The Frizzer isn’t that fat; he actually looks ok for his frame (some ppl have broader skeletal frame than others, y’know).

• Rosnnah on Jul 23, 2015 at 12:15 pm

We need to kick the FAT WOMAN ROSnnAH out, not Hafriz..
    Heal the world. Save malaysian.
    Lower the car tax,
    no more cincin, hermes!

• sportcar on Jul 23, 2015 at 4:22 pm

Gold R or this TT? Hard choice…

• haiya on Jul 24, 2015 at 3:55 pm

86, BRZ, RCZ, Mini JCW Coupe, Scirocco R, MX5, Mustang, Z4, SLK, Cayman & Boxster

• sportcar on Jul 23, 2015 at 4:25 pm

Golf R or this TT? that the question. Any thought ppl? :)

• tinmilo on Jul 23, 2015 at 10:08 pm

I always feel that TT and slk are more for lady drivers. They feel abit too petite for a guy to drive.
    And why buy an audi without their headline matrix head lights? So you got to spec it up. And that make the price closer to proper coupe like the 420i