GALLERY: 2016 Audi TT 2.0 TFSI up close in Malaysia

Audi_TT_Malaysia_ 001

While you’ve already seen it in the showroom, we recently got our hands on one and now we’re bringing you a different angle of the new 2016 Audi TT – on the road. In person, the coupe looks absolutely stunning when it’s cruising along the highway. The car measures a little longer in length and a tad narrower than its predecessor – perhaps that’s why it looks that much sharper.

Sharper? Yes, the 2016 Audi TT is in fact sharper, as the company slowly moves away from the rounded design that we’re more used to seeing in previous generations. The iconic coupe, now in its third generation, is still a sight to behold not just on the inside but on the outside as well. And that’s good news indeed.

The design of this coupe is one of the key selling points of this two-door. The single-frame grille is much broader now, wheel arches a little wider while the aluminium fuel cap with bolts is retained. Overall, it looks more aggressive, so this new design 2016 Audi TT should keep the hairdresser jokes to a minimum.

The new TT gets a whole lot of tech added into it. Inside, there’s the wide 12.3-inch TFT LCD screen called the Audi virtual cockpit that replaces both the standard centre display and instrument cluster.

Powering the TT is a 2.0 litre turbocharged TFSI four-cylinder engine that churns out 230 hp and 370 Nm of torque, coupled to Audi’s S tronic dual-clutch transmission. That said, the sad part is that the Malaysian variant doesn’t come with Audi’s signature quattro all-wheel drive system. This one’s front-wheel drive only.

Prices for the 2016 Audi TT start from RM284,900, on-the-road with GST, exclusive of insurance. It also comes with a four-year/120,000 km (whichever comes first) manufacturer’s warranty.

Do stay tuned to paultan.org as our walk-around video of the 2016 Audi TT will be out very soon! Aside from the car itself, Hafriz Shah has a thing or two to say about those rear seats and the pricey options – see the full list and prices of the extras on CarBase.my.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 10, 2015 at 3:42 pm

Really think they should at least throw in Quattro. I mean, come on, it is pretty expensive for what it is…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
    • Where is Najib's Promise?? on Jul 10, 2015 at 4:06 pm

Audi TT in the US is US$42,000. At this price Audi USA already making huge margin and profit. Audi Malaysia will get this car direct from Audi Germany at cost price of around US$30k because it is an official country distributor.

So, from at US$30k (about RM100k), we are paying now RM290k for the car. Nearly 3x the price.

The question we must be asking is, where is Najib’s promise?

Where is Najib’s promise? Najib promised 30 million people 2 years ago before the election that he would reduce car prices by 30 percent.

He said the 30 million people need not worry because BN always kept their word and never mungkir janji. He said if people voted for BN, he was 100% sure to reduce car prices by 30 percent.

Najib, in his speech told people that BN knew how much people suffered paying for their cars and he felt very sorry for the people, thus, he was sure to reduce car prices by 30%.

It is a well know fact, that we Malaysians are paying 3x the global prices of cars. And double whammy, not only we pay 3x the global prices of cars, our cars are stripped down so bad, it hardly lacks any safety features. Even our top D segment cars each have about 20 less safety features than the same car costing 3 times less overseas. For example, a 10 airbag Toyota Camry CBU in the US cost US$22,000. In Malaysia, this cost RM180k. And loads of safety spec taken out. For example Tyre Pressure Monitoring System and many others. Camry Hybrid in the US is US26,000. Come to Malaysia, should be tax free. CKD it using Malaysian parts should be even cheaper. But here sell RM175k

Now, what happened Najib? Where is your promise?

Najib also said that by 2020, we would become high income nation. He said our GDP per Capita would be US$48,000. That would mean, per month, the average Malaysian would be earning US$4000 (RM15,000) per month.

Raja Nazrin, Sultan of Perak said this was pure lies. He said it is an utter lie because 78% all EPF contributors are earning RM1200 and below.

Do you see the average Malaysian earning RM15k per month by 2020?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 15
      • shut up man

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 50
        • Pls Study PMR on Jul 10, 2015 at 8:08 pm

Only an idiot will ask the Government for high car prices. At least, this dude is doing something, unlike you. Go study your pmr small boy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
          • farr farr awayy on Jul 11, 2015 at 10:54 am

PMR doesn’t exist anymore laa bang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • Same L0rrrr on Jul 11, 2015 at 9:30 am

This car for poor guy who wants to show off. I bought my 2006 camry with only 80% loan. Work hard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
    • Gary Chong on Jul 10, 2015 at 10:06 pm

I dun understand why people gave d thumbs down to sudonano. Sudonano is just stating d truth… Maybe they r too fan-boyish…

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 10, 2015 at 3:58 pm

Sure the base price is cheap but when you start adding the options it reverts back to its original price. The S-Line price they are asking for is absurd. Here’s hoping the other Audis that come later will be priced better.

• Allroadquattro on Jul 10, 2015 at 4:39 pm

grey importers should bring in the TT Roadster 2.0 TFSI quattro (no S line pls). perfect for driving in Genting with open top.

• My advice to who ever is buying this; select the option Matrix LED headlights. Don’t bother with the S-line wheels etc. The stock 18″ wheels & tyre combo have the perfect balance of comfort and sporty. The 19″ wheels just ruins the ride quality.

• tokmoh. on Jul 10, 2015 at 5:14 pm

Still hairdresser’s car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • Kelso on Jul 10, 2015 at 8:23 pm

Doubt you’ve driven one. Judging from the overly simplistic line, you probably have watched too many old episodes of top gear.

Now, that said I was quite keen to dismiss it as well. Had one in the German alps for a week and came out surprisingly pleased with the general performance and feel of the 2l quattro. Only two complaints where the obviously faked exhaust burps everytime you switched up and am not a fan of the new dashboard interface system.

• venven81 on Jul 10, 2015 at 5:26 pm

“so this new design 2016 Audi TT should keep the hairdresser jokes to a minimum.”

hahaha I like this statement but well there will always be someone out there who like to stick to the hairdresser term for whatever reason. pathetic.

That aside. I’m looking forward to the video. Please release it soon!

• Hairdressers are human too. At least some of them make more than auto journalists *cough*

• fireman on Jul 10, 2015 at 9:38 pm

Audi TT – Make for Hairdresser or guy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • tiffany on Jul 10, 2015 at 10:42 pm

having a Toyota 86 make alot more sense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Yours Faithfully (Member) on Jul 10, 2015 at 11:53 pm

Seen this in its topless form in black. It looks so menacingly good! AGREE with Sudonano, a quaTTro will be preferred!