Thai sports car teased ahead of 2016 Bangkok debut

11754576_751728258269827_2763655902127123489_o

Over the past decade, the Thai automotive industry has seen a stratospheric rise to become the biggest in South East Asia and knocking on the door of the top 10 in the world. Yet, despite the “Detroit of Asia” being a hive of activity for the many carmakers it attracts through a competitive, liberal environment, the Land of Smiles doesn’t really have a homegrown brand to call its own.

An automotive designer by the name of Jennarong Muengtaweepongsa aims to change that – his company, VanaticalDesign, has revealed a teaser image of a new mid-engined sports car that it says will make its world debut next year in Bangkok, under a different company.

“We are here to show to the world that Thailand can make not just an amazing car, but an amazing feat of artwork and engineering, and from right where you least expect it,” it said on its Facebook page.

More details about the car and the new company will apparently be revealed soon, although since the VanaticalDesign page was only started late last year and otherwise only features a number of fantastical 3D supercar renderings, we’re taking this one with a healthy handful of salt. But hey, we’re an open-minded bunch, so we’ll see how it develops.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• apamau on Jul 23, 2015 at 11:07 am

Nice try, now after becoming the Detroit of Asia, right time to give it a try.

Anyway, thanks to the founding father of thailand car industry, Dr Mahathir, for making this happen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 12
    • kzm (Member) on Jul 23, 2015 at 12:13 pm

stop complaining….at least thai private company trying to make car n their pipu want to built car from scratch without govt.. bolehland private company n pipu can? i dont see one…complaining does not get u anywhere..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
      • kzm father on Jul 23, 2015 at 2:15 pm

You think private company can’t? It’s the Gov that don’t allow. They only want the majority ethnic to be in control

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 21
  • kington on Jul 23, 2015 at 11:13 am

I hope they get it right. SO far ASEAN can only boast of Malaysia’s Proton and Perodua while Indonesia didn’t quite manage to get their national car program rolling – the first i think was with Kia back in the 90s.

• tinmilo on Jul 23, 2015 at 11:25 am

More bad news for Malaysia…. as our competitors getting better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • Will the design concept be more feminine or more masculine, or ….

• albag on Jul 23, 2015 at 3:03 pm

who cares… we already have a well established Lotus.. this Thai car special feature is that it has Tomyam flavour perfume in it

• old dog on Jul 23, 2015 at 3:09 pm

oh Protong …kasihan….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13