Thai car production in November highest in 51 years

IMG_8522b

The Federation of Thai Industries (FTI) has revealed that a record 256,581 automobiles were produced in the country last month – the highest since car production began in 1961, reports the Thai News Agency.

This represents a year-on-year increase of 982.85% and a 1.75% increase from the month before. FTI spokesman Surapong Paisitpattanapong cited high demand after last year’s massive floods as a contributing factor.

161,768 of this record production number were sold in the country and the rest were exported, said Surapong. The spokesman also revealed that in the first 11 months of this year, Thailand’s auto production for domestic and export markets totalled 1.29 million and 941,351 units respectively.

Total Thai vehicle production is projected to hit some 2.45 million units by the end of the year, 2.5 million units next year and three million units by 2017, allowing the Kingdom to become one of the ten largest car producing nations in the world, added Surapong.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• _xXx_ on Dec 24, 2012 at 2:24 pm

father of thai auto industry will be thanked by many again….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
    • who is the father, i googled de no answer from wikipedia or CNN news…

• tokmoh on Dec 25, 2012 at 2:39 pm

The Tun la. On paper, theoretically our country can thrive way better than Thailand, the resources we have, the market we have, but NO.

Nak juga buat Proton. Nak juga buat AP king kayo atas angin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
      • _xXx_ on Dec 25, 2012 at 7:05 pm

what no answer? Google is able to provide about 69,200,000 results in 0.35 second….

• Good for the Thai economy I think and they didn’t need a national car to spur their vibrant industry

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 4
    • Vader on Dec 24, 2012 at 2:48 pm

Thankyou, Dr.M!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 6
      • unforgiven on Dec 24, 2012 at 5:34 pm

Thanks to bapa Proton/ganja. Proton is just like selling drugs/ganja to the people, doing illegal business. It’s not a clean business if you know the people behind it, unfair competition, corruption, protectionism, and many more…

Do you wish to be the seller?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 10
        • Jimmy on Dec 24, 2012 at 11:04 pm

What selling ganja, it is selling Malaysian 3-series to our friends kaum-kaum Sabah & Sarawak. Wait for the results there in a few months time and you will believe me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • here we go again….lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
  • With 2.5 million units produced this year alone, imagine how many Thai youths received job opportunities in this industry.

Malaysia, with it’s national car program can only produce 600,000 units a year.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 4
    • LatukBandar on Dec 24, 2012 at 3:33 pm

2.5 million and growing, seeing that they are exporting to emerging markets such as Myanmar, Laos, Vietnam and Indonesia, the volume with continue to increase.

Whereas Proton volume will be stagnant and other Asean countries will impose restriction on Malaysia for not respecting the Afta agreement as agreed.

I love you Dr.M, you are the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 6
      • Jimmy on Dec 24, 2012 at 11:07 pm

Can we please vote for the best PM in the history since 1957? It is him right? The Sarawakians and Sabahans say so, ya?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Kambeng on Dec 24, 2012 at 7:45 pm

Wrong, Malaysia only built 200k vehicle and assemble another 300k with parts from Thailand, Korea, Germany etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • Kelvin on Dec 24, 2012 at 10:00 pm

All the unit is for own consumption. What the…

• in bolehland who will fill those job? bangla? nepal? indon? malay/bumi? indian? chinese..i dont think so

• black on Dec 26, 2012 at 12:12 pm

dude, nothing to do with national car..because here also got other factory…klu u malas mmg x de kerja la..btw, nowadays robots are produce a car, not human..no need thanks now, go to indusrial training first.

• Obama on Dec 24, 2012 at 2:50 pm

Even they were hit badly by flood, but still able to attract more FDI in the car production sector than Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 2
  • Proton user on Dec 24, 2012 at 3:36 pm

just came back from bangkok.
    the traffic congestion is getting worst, told by the cab driver that the worsen congestion contributed by the mass amount of production as most of the cars go to bangkok.

Besides hitting the production and sales target, they need to workout for the traffic control too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
    • Kelvin on Dec 24, 2012 at 9:36 pm

We produce less car then the Thai, but our traffic in kelang valley is not good either. Malaysia should also look at the car industry and the traffic jam problem too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
      • Jimmy on Dec 24, 2012 at 11:10 pm

Too much damage have been done by greedy hearts. Nothing works. You can wait and see. No need to mark my words.
        Koceks kawans lebih penting daripada solutions.

• Najib on Dec 26, 2012 at 2:28 pm

Jimmy, I think you really hate Malaysia. Why not u just migrate to other country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • Bro..migrate to Thai @ Sing @ Phi @ Indo @ China….

• YeapyEvo on Dec 24, 2012 at 3:39 pm

Kopunkrub Dr M, that is how to create genuine job opportunities than feeding cronies only

• vee-oh on Dec 24, 2012 at 3:40 pm

my kancil replacement will come from Thai..Mitsubishi or Toyota

• stealth on Dec 24, 2012 at 4:09 pm

national pride vs doing something practical is our dileamma now. This is the ego of our politicians, We don’t need the tallest building, all we need a business framework that works… maybe our country should go back to the drawing board and start learning from the Thais, Singaporeans

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
    • Kelvin on Dec 24, 2012 at 9:49 pm

With Malaysia capacity, rich resources and hardworking Malaysian. We can have tallest building, better business blueprint then any of our neighboring country. Look where we are now? Are we oil crust? Or we have bad government for 5 decades?

• Jimmy on Dec 24, 2012 at 11:19 pm

Do you thingk national pride & ego are the things in my mind? Good la you, I like you naive man. So you think I like tallest buildings, don’t you? Going back to drawing board and start learning from Thais, why should I? You think I don’t know what to do, is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
  • We could be in Thai’s shoe should we not have indecisive n lopsided thingy…

• Sabahman on Dec 24, 2012 at 4:57 pm

Thailand invited Japanese and Western car makers to set up factories for the local market and export.

Malaysia went for the national auto policy and Proton and Perodua.

Who is better off now? Who is exporting cars by the millions and who is selling just a few thousand while losing money on exports?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
    • LatukBandar on Dec 24, 2012 at 6:46 pm

The right question is, who is making more money? Who as in which crony?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
      • Kelvin on Dec 24, 2012 at 9:42 pm

Bapa proton is driving Porsche, anak proton is driving Bugatti. Anak Malaysia is driving junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
      • Jimmy on Dec 24, 2012 at 11:24 pm

By whatever means, as long as my ultimate aim is achieved. You may see better options, but this one surely benefits me the most. I cannot merompak Mat Salleh, I just need to merompak you, especially S & S, and it is enough already

• Malaysia chinese people making more money….Sucks…DAP rasis…

• You baru rasis! money comes to ppl who think smart and hard working, not the ppl who everyday just think of racist issue like u!!

• Jimmy on Dec 24, 2012 at 11:35 pm

Almost missed out. Thank you. Thank you very much for you support.

• abdullah on Dec 24, 2012 at 5:18 pm

The devious old man install his son in MITI so
    his policy will be continue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • Kelvin on Dec 24, 2012 at 9:40 pm

After election next year, see if he is still in power or not.

• rickyll on Dec 24, 2012 at 5:28 pm

Learn from the Thais. They do not need a national car project to excel in auto industry. That’s because they knew their own limitations and throved in different direction. In the end, the country becomes one of the top ten car producers and its people get to enjoy cheaper cars and ample choices. Bravo Thailand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
    • Jimmy on Dec 24, 2012 at 11:28 pm

There are so many projects of ‘automatic pumping money into my koceks 1 x 60 x 60 x 24 x 365 x contracts without an expiry dates due to multiple extensions’.

• So, the CURRENT GOV not going to do anything?
    still so ARROGANT with the HIGH TAXATION eating own rakyat money and let go of BIG OPPORTUNITY?

• sarawakiana on Dec 24, 2012 at 7:20 pm

Thai has everything (in car industry) ahead of us, so make sure our only upper hand – Car Blog…and it’s comments bloom…

• Jimmy on Dec 24, 2012 at 11:30 pm

I would like to thank you very much. Thank you very much for you full heart full strength supports. Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • but we are better in most other area

• kelvin on Dec 25, 2012 at 8:32 pm

Most of creative corruption area, like creating more highway with toll, AES to simply give business to its own cronies, and Proton to make sure we are tax like no people business. I must say Malaysian is innovation country when it comes to corruption.

• To all Malaysian try to wake up. Remember because of some leader blind vision and political ego, we already suffer 28 years for using poorer quality national car. Remember most people buying .national car is just because these cars are cheap (in both quality, service and workmanship) and their income can’t support the heavy tax of foreign car.

• nasurudin on Dec 24, 2012 at 10:59 pm

their car auto industry is just waiting to burst when the regional economies to suffer next year. building more cars but road infrastructure remains. same here and Jakarta. Stop talking about automotive, be it local or imports. we need MRT/LRT or rail and use electricity. I am selling my properties and convert all my cash to Singapore and migrate there. TO hell with you all Malaysian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
    • _xXx_ on Dec 25, 2012 at 10:35 am

oh really??? i wanna migrate there tooooo…bring me along plz….

• LatukBandar on Dec 25, 2012 at 4:50 pm

The grass is always greener on the other side, remember this when u are on the greener side… the grass is always greener on the other side.

• kelvin on Dec 25, 2012 at 8:15 pm

No one is stopping you, go ahead by all means to your so called haven. I am staying at hell. Hell Yah!

• All the best bro…Stay there & die there & dont come back here..Tq

• Expatriate VN on Dec 25, 2012 at 1:06 am

Bravo Land of Smile, and thumb down NAP.

• they got iphone 5 earlier than us, they use better cars than us, they have tonnes of hot chicks than us.. hmmmm, well still love malaysia, *jealous* :(

• doomsday Robot on Dec 25, 2012 at 8:50 am

you should all know in Thailand all car makers make the cars for local market and export around the region, same as the electronics and computer hardware companies in Thailand. Dr. M idea was honest and good but it went out of control due to mismanagement, favoritism and politics, that is why it did not florish. another problem is religion which makes many European car makers go to Thailand and China. we need to be open minded and allow all to come and establish their factories here. I believe Malaysia can lure all these companies in only we stop these actions and open our eyes to the world. our engineers are far better trained and smarter and we can do wonders if politics and favoritism of some people with money does not stop them and force them to go overseas. we all bash PROTON, they have alot to offer but under their restrictions by management, government and politics they are held back. negative approach always brings negative results. does anyone here know that Mercedes cars assembled in Malaysia are so high quality that the only better ones are from Germany? that is why Malaysia is the only country that is allowed to assemble the top of the range 500S model which is also exported to Australia and HK from Malaysia. open positive and think positive. we are almost there people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • kelvin on Dec 25, 2012 at 8:20 pm

Dr M is a honest to Malaysian? My foot! He say he is enjoying Porsche hybrid because he is old to enjoy luxury car. If I am Bapa Proton, I will make sure I will drive Proton till I go to hell, and make sure I make good car for Proton buyer.

• Ipoh Mali on Dec 25, 2012 at 12:08 pm

Why our policies always benefit our neighbors up north or down south?From Education to Economic and now Automotive policies.Are our policies makers themselves traitors to our country?

• kelvin on Dec 25, 2012 at 8:22 pm

Most of our politician betray our Malaysian for money and honey.

• rchoo on Dec 26, 2012 at 9:45 pm

traitor (it that too strong a word to use?)….errh….high treason to ones own country, i am afraid to say that is only punishable by death. very sad.

• breezehaw on Dec 25, 2012 at 12:48 pm

Fxck the Dr.M’s idea,don’t know how to clean the mass. is not a good leader. In their eye just money, not the future of Malaysian. Fxck the corruption BxN politicians. Which country on this world The PM can be Finance miniter and PM two job as the same time? only in Malaysia. They spend the money of country as what they like, just let the PM approve it if they like.

• kelvin on Dec 25, 2012 at 8:25 pm

When come to corruption, we are the leading innovative country for all kinds of stupid policy like PM is Finance Minister too, like he is good at multitasking.

• breezehaw on Dec 25, 2012 at 12:58 pm

Najis 1 Malangsia, just built up biggest poision factory in this country. They just raped this country again and again.Fxck the corruption politicians of BxN. Wish them go to hell.

• darker marker on Dec 25, 2012 at 1:41 pm

Damn malu…….Proton

• kelvin on Dec 25, 2012 at 8:28 pm

Tak tau malu la this Proton, Cheat us Malaysian for decades.

• Dr Mamak on Dec 25, 2012 at 7:23 pm

For the past 20 years, auto market in Bolehland has been screwed single handedly by me :(

• Preve Savvy on Dec 26, 2012 at 8:28 am

Yes correct, correct, correct… Dr Mamak = Father of Thai automotive industry!

• Mahathir mamak on Dec 26, 2012 at 12:58 pm

vote for BN for my cronies survival.

• Najib Lazat on Dec 26, 2012 at 1:01 pm

vote for me! i have to keep mahathir’s cronies alive! and my cronies too.