Driven Web Series 2015 #7: million ringgit sports cars – BMW i8 vs Mercedes-AMG GT S vs Jaguar F-Type R

And here we are, at the end of Driven Web Series 2015, powered by the new Euro 4M Petronas Primax 97 with improved Advanced Energy Formula. But as you can see, we’ve certainly saved the best for last.

The question is, which RM1.2 million sports car should you go for – the BMW i8, the Mercedes-AMG GT S or the Jaguar F-Type R? Find out as we compare the three similarly priced sports coupes right here in Malaysia.

They could not be more different from each other. The i8 is the future of sports cars, with a tiny 1.5 litre three-cylinder engine with powerful electric motors giving extra go. All combined, it pushes 362 hp through all four wheels, and is claimed to get to 100 km/h in 4.4 seconds, all the way to 250 km/h.

Meanwhile, Mercedes went for the engine downsizing route, equipping the AMG GT S with a 4.0 litre twin-turbo V8. It sends all of 510 hp to the rear wheels through a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission, enough for the best 0-100 km/h time and top speed here: 3.8 seconds and 310 km/h.

Jaguar, on the other hand, stayed with more traditional means. The F-Type R gets a good ol’ 5.0 litre supercharged V8 making 550 hp, spinning the rear tyres with an eight-speed automatic torque convertor. It does the century sprint in 4.2 seconds, and tops out at an even 300 km/h.

So which is best? Watch the video above for Harve, Hafriz and Jon’s final verdict of 2015. How’s that for a season finale, folks? We hope you’ve enjoyed the series, and as usual, we’ll be back next year. Stay tuned!

BMW i8
Mercedes-AMG GT S
Jaguar F-Type R

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• the merc for me…

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 09, 2015 at 4:38 pm

For the Iriz/Preve/Suprima S owners, they are already driving this i8, amg and jaguar f type on the road.
      Proton… the power of day dreaming. You do need that to survive Proton’s quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
      • Bad Karma on Dec 09, 2015 at 11:03 pm

Good for the eyes but most PT readers cannot even afford RON97

• Oh no! on Dec 09, 2015 at 10:39 am

I thought the new formula also being used in Primax 95 as mentioned by the fuel expert. But why in previous video, did not mention ‘improved’?

• Wiwiwiwiwiw on Dec 09, 2015 at 11:04 am

Jaguars are pointless, should have brought the latest Audi R8 or the Porsche 911 GT3 instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Dec 09, 2015 at 11:06 am

Fuuny that you are showing million dollar sports cars when Malaysia is going through a bad time. Thousands of people have been laid off and tens of thousands more will lose their jobs next year.

Cost of living is rising too high for most Malaysians. Toll, car prices. Even our TNB which is super high is expected to go even higher.

Why is all this happening? Very simple. It is because, our leaders love to Songlap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 41
    • Nenek Kau on Dec 09, 2015 at 2:11 pm

I dont think this this video is insulting malaysian amid bad economic situation. Do you prefer they review viva, myvi, kancil repeatingly just to calm malaysian depression? Life goes on bruh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
      • Nazee on Dec 09, 2015 at 9:07 pm

he has a point. at this time we should be encouraging people to tighten belts, not steal more to buy these cars. who buys these cars anyway. not your average joe on the street. but who are most of paultan readers? the average joe. i second the comment below that I’m very disappointed on the Driven focus this season. At least one episode on an MPV battle…thats the malaysia family car for Gods sake…and Paultan keeps harping on safety…and doesnt keep joes family safe.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Dec 09, 2015 at 9:51 pm

Hi, thank you for the comment.

The paultan.org readership base is both large and wide, so naturally we try to cover all corners of the market. This year, we’ve covered Malaysia’s most affordable cars, the RM120k-130k SUV class, as well as the latest pick-up trucks – all very popular vehicles in the country. The other episodes cover a very large portion of Malaysian car buyers too.

As for an MPV episode, due to our three-car shootout format, it’s rather difficult to round up three similarly priced MPVs here in Malaysia, as the models available are relatively scattered. As soon as we have the right three, we’ll have an MPV Driven episode.

In any case, thanks for watching :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • What does your comments have to do with the review? Are you implying PT is going to lay off those presenters?
      If you wanna make a political statement, do it in other thread. Heck, just get outa PT and go back to Mkini, Tocket Harakah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • Auto Enthusiast on Dec 09, 2015 at 4:42 pm

Chill bro. It is for our entertainment. No need to be so sensitive about it. I am also among the unlucky ones but hey, this episode made me smile, which is nice. We Malaysians are not like those butthurt people who are easily offended by any topic. We are better than them. Life goes on.

• I think it is not insulting. Knowing that not much of the reader can afford this car, surely it is a good effort by PT to make us can drool what we can’t afford.

I bet ppl who can afford to buy this car, does not care to watch this review.

• gaviny on Dec 09, 2015 at 11:14 am

time to have a test track and power laps

• Jonn Dol on Dec 09, 2015 at 11:30 am

Ranking :
    1. Jag
    2. Merc AMG
    3. BMW

The first 2 got character & soul. The No. 3 is a poser. Nuff said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • Legoland on Dec 09, 2015 at 11:43 am

No.3 is a totally different animal. No. 2 is mighty sexy. No. 1 will be forever trying to catch up.

• venven81 on Dec 09, 2015 at 11:50 am

instead of using an Audi R8, you are using a Jag?

• nabill (Member) on Dec 09, 2015 at 12:49 pm

that Jag!
    looks awesome , sounds like Fury….but the bmw is so attention grabbing…

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 09, 2015 at 12:53 pm

Jeremy Clarkson did a review between the M3 and the i8 and he had a hard time picking between the both knowing he’s a pure petrolhead. But what he mentioned was great, that the M3 is the best of where we’ve come from and the i8 is where we’re going. So better to enjoy the internal combustion engines now! Your grandkids will never have the chance to sample these awesome machines. As for me I’ll pick the AMG…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Jimmy on Dec 09, 2015 at 12:54 pm

If you just want to taste and possess one sportscar/hypercar, then you head straight to Ferrari, once in a lifetime.

No point to go for halfhearted half-baked products.

• spongewai on Dec 09, 2015 at 1:00 pm

1.5 inline-3 cylinder turbocharged vs 4.0 V8 twin-turbocharged vs 5.0 V8 supercharged

• Nowadays driven this season only review those luxury cars except only 1 episode for iriz, picanto, etc. It would be better to review those more more economic (ie <200k) cars which most of Malaysians can afford.

• Jackaleyess on Dec 09, 2015 at 2:25 pm

Oni in Malaysia where ppl asking car journalist to do comparo of a low level cars? Are u insulting car journalist occupation? There are many tiers in the car market. Some can afford some just stay with the bread n butter. Work hard to achieve what u desired to have. I used to blame the G. But it seems its even wasting your breath to condemn abut them. When we all know they are useless, we gotta be self dependent.

• low level cars also called car. OK, maybe you are freaking rich so no problem for you. Stop shouting insulting car journalist professionalism. This season driven seems to have more focus on luxury cars than some other “low level” car as mentioned by you. Driven should have a balance between luxury cars and “low level” as we got no money and do not know what are the cars cost more than what I earn in 100 years. BTW, this season driven quite disappointing, at least for me.

• camtakpro on Dec 10, 2015 at 5:09 pm

Who cares? Do you pay them to review cars?

I’m more interested in having those cars driven over flooded area and see which one survives.

• geartop on Dec 09, 2015 at 1:09 pm

No more top gear with 3 musketeers. Others just wouldn’t draw my attention. Sorry to say that.

• shawal on Dec 09, 2015 at 2:13 pm

AMG is more practical , best interior , gearbox at the back for better balance , new downsized engine with twin turbos, timeless looks….overall a better engineered car…

the jag has an old thirsty (but tastefully loud) engine, interior looks gimmicky, it may have a gorgeous rear and rear 3/4 but the front is too dumpty and dated ( it already look dated to me when it was unveiled as a concept) …hoping to see slimmer headlight and agressive front on the facelift….

The i8 is an early adopter plaything , impractical , malaysian spec’s interior is bland and too much switchgear reminding of lesser beemers ( of course we know where the money went) and it looks like has yet to fulfill its true potential….

the replacement ( or centenary celebration model) will probably receive a 2.0/3.0 turbo ( maybe even the twin turbo from the M3/M4) and better battery tech in a much better packaging

• Jackaleyess on Dec 09, 2015 at 2:22 pm

For me I would go for 911 carrera s with 3litre twin turbo. Gotten my Macan recently and its really enganhing to drive. After u go Porsche, BMW is kinda a level below.

• Bmw has always been a step below porsche. Even bmw knows. U just realized this?

• Sammy Loo on Dec 15, 2015 at 2:14 am

These 3 cars got no RV

• When the Driven 2016 series comes out?