Mercedes-AMG GT S now in Malaysia from RM1.125mil

Mercedes-AMG GT S  (9)

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia‘s (MBM) range of models has now grown to include a sports car to rival the likes of Porsche 911 Turbo and Audi R8 – the new Mercedes-AMG GT S has officially been launched in Malaysia, at the Sepang International Circuit today.

The “S” in the name denotes that it’s the more powerful of the two variants currently available globally, so the 4.0 litre twin-turbo V8 – with the twin turbines placed inside the V configuration as in the F10 BMW M5 – churns out the full 510 PS at 6,250 rpm and 650 Nm from 1,750-4,750 rpm.

Drive is sent to the rear via a seven-speed AMG Speedshift dual-clutch transmission (DCT), enabling it to rocket from 0-100 km/h in just 3.8 seconds before reaching an electronically-limited top speed of 310 km/h.

The GT S is priced from a cool RM1,125,888, rising to about RM1,145,888 for the limited-run Edition 1. Both prices are on-the-road, inclusive of GST, without insurance. Standard equipment includes an AMG performance exhaust with fully-variable flaps, AMG Ride Control variable damping and an electronic locking differential. Spec the Edition 1 and you get the Dynamic Package thrown in as well.

This incorporates dynamic engine and transmission mounts, a “Race” mode for the AMG Dynamic Select system, stiffer suspension, higher negative camber on the front wheels as well as sports speed-sensitive steering. Also included with the Edition 1 is a black aerodynamic package (larger front splitter, front wheel arch flics, black side sill trim and an enormous fixed rear wing), a carbon-fibre roof, an exterior Night package (high-gloss black diamond grille, wing mirrors, rear wing, tailpipes) and the wheels finished in black.

For a closer look at the car’s specifications in closer detail, refer to CarBase.my.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• therealmaserati on Jun 24, 2015 at 5:27 pm

Omg, what an awesome car!!! Should i get this or the BMW i8?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • Same L0rrrr on Jun 24, 2015 at 6:10 pm

Once a “smart” fellow get the “PATRIOT 1” number plate, you will see a minister or high rank government servant drive this AMG GT S on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
      • Folger Penipu - US$129k on Jun 25, 2015 at 9:08 am

This car in the USA is US$129k. MBM in Malaysia will get this car at cost price. If USA can sell at US129k and still can untung, I predict that MBM will get this car at about US$80k. About RM300,000.
        Our tax and excise duties for luxury cars max out at about 110%

But MBM sell for RM1.2 million. Untung buta buta RM600,000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
        • Learned from government. Let crony build apartment, sell for profit A$17.5M, then tack on ANOTHER A$4.5M (RM13.8M) for extra extra profit. Easily buy 11 of these cars.

• Joshua on Jun 24, 2015 at 6:28 pm

Stick back to your Myvi.

• wiwiwiwiw on Jun 24, 2015 at 7:36 pm

Get the BMW i8 got 4 seater and 1.5-litre roadtax, can EV mode also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Gunigugu on Jun 25, 2015 at 10:26 am

Car really looks awesome. But is it just me or is the meter cluster a bit too ‘meh’ for such a car? Looks like it belongs on a normal sedan (looks and design wise) The one in the SLS looked really nice and wouldn’t look out of place in a car like this.

• Aaron on Jun 24, 2015 at 5:27 pm

Dreams……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • If I was a millionaire the question thats on my mind right now would be: “Should I get this or the BMW i8”?

POWERRRR or ECO friendly ?

• millionaire is not enough as this car already cost more than a million

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • So if I have 999 million bucks it still means I can afford it?

• If you were rich, you would get both

• sammy on Jun 25, 2015 at 9:27 am

If you live in expensive condo, then this will be a better choice since you have no place to charge your i8.
      And this is much faster both 0-100 and top speed.
      And my opinion is this looks like a proper sports car, the i8 looks like it is built for a starwars movie set.

• Dr Dogter Heart-beat on Jun 24, 2015 at 5:37 pm

finally something to shout about…wicked shit

• sepul on Jun 24, 2015 at 5:42 pm

Somehow I started to think that modern sports car and super cars are becoming more feminine in their driving feel. Because a lot of electronics are governing almost the car’s entire system, it makes the car almost to the point where anyone with barely any driving experience capable of driving fast.

Cars are getting faster throughout every generation, but at the same time becoming too refined to the point of being like you’re riding a bullet train. Fast but you hardly feel the speed. No frills and thrills.

Personally, I find things that defines a sports car in the past has been lost as technologies develop. That is the sensation of speed and the connection between the driver and the car itself.

To a certain extent, this can be viewed from a safety standpoint where one drives so fast that he/she cannot feel or tell how fast he/she is driving because the car isolates the driver from the road in a way that if anything were to cross their path, they have very little time to react for safety even with all the safety gadgets on board the car doing the same for them.

This also make a long journey less of an experience when cars also work as a social media hub and everyone on board is online.

Think about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • Obviously (Member) on Jun 24, 2015 at 6:44 pm

Feminine driving feel? Sexist little guy, aren’t you? There are some very competent female racers, drifters and car enthusiasts out in the world now. The auto world isn’t a purely male domain. Calling a car’s handling “feminine” is quite an insult. Note that there are bad guy drivers out there as much as there are bad female drivers.

While it can be said that many of the sports cars nowadays are becoming more clinical and sterile in handling due to increasing technological aid, it is precisely because of their increasingly mind-blowing performance that makes these steps necessary. While sometimes it can be overkill where they engineer any and all chassis feedback out of the car as is the case with some cars from some of the German marques, I wouldn’t say that it applies to each and every sports car. The sports cars and supercars of this era are more accessible than they were and require less outright skill and commitment to learn and drive but arguably, this is what makes them safer (for everyone) to enjoy overall. Make no mistake – these electronic aids still won’t save a failure of a driver, but they make it safer to attain the full performance envelope the car is capable of without endangering everyone in its path. And that is a good thing, unless you’re selfish and want to have the utmost driving pleasure at the peril of everyone on the road (and sometimes off the road) with you.

Things that defines a sports car in the past are bound to be lost. That is the mark of progress. Not all the properties of old sports cars are appealing, you know.

Your fears about safety being compromised by increased levels of refinement sound rather forced. It’s the driver’s responsibility, after all, to always be aware of what his car is doing and of his immediate surroundings. At what speed it’s going, its placement on the road, where it is in relation to other cars, what are the intentions of other drivers.

Otherwise, one would be what we would call a bad driver, to put it mildly.

If anything, this increased refinement allows the driver to better focus on driving better. Additionally, speed limits on the road exist, perhaps, for the very reason you are saying increasing refinement in sports cars is bad.

Your last point has more to do with how you manage technology in your life than about how cars have progressed in the past decade. Be the master of the technology around you, rather than let technology master you.

Rather than lamenting the effects of progress, work with it. Adapt to it. Live with it. That’s what living life is about.

Think about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 20
    • but the beast nowadays have too much of torque. Without electronics control, u only can bring it for a drag race. yet, u might get urself a slow start due to failue to grip the ground properly and letting the wheels spinnings in the air.

• wiwiwiwiw on Jun 24, 2015 at 8:28 pm

Are u saying the no VSC TC both UMW Perodua and UMW Toyota cars are more purist car? No wonder those Familia Club love their ride on Duke Autobahn xD

• poor guy on Jun 24, 2015 at 6:01 pm

I can only feast my eyes with photos. Peasant here.

• sudonano (Member) on Jun 24, 2015 at 6:04 pm

I would say the AMG GTS goes after the 911 more than the R8. Somehow I feel the R8 has become a bit overrated, sure V10 and all, but it is a bit… Somehow incomplete…

• The AMG GT is built to be a tourer that can be used for track days if the needs arises..

yes it is less clumsy than the sls etc but it aint got the agility of the other 2 to be a true beast on the track

it’s more for having fun up and down mountain passes and cruising around..you are way off here… The clue is even in the name GTS…

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 24, 2015 at 6:49 pm

Which variant of the 911 are you referring to? I doubt that the GT S lacks the agility to take on the less track-focused variants of the 911.

• Buck Rogers on Jun 24, 2015 at 6:10 pm

wah so cheap, cheap than buying a house in KL!!!

• tinmilo on Jun 24, 2015 at 6:24 pm

Price aside, does this then supercede the SLS at the top of the food chain?

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 24, 2015 at 6:50 pm

It’s not supposed to.

• kelso on Jun 24, 2015 at 9:24 pm

the sls has been discontinued for a while now. While it’s not a direct replacement, its the new halo car. It still does use some of the chassis bits from the SLS… Still, peasants like me can only drag my jaw on the ground

• sammy on Jun 25, 2015 at 10:47 am

The SLS is meant to be a sequel of an iconic car.. it has alot more stories and passion behind the making of it. And it is the last of natural aspirated Merc in the lineup. We will probably need to wait another 50 years for the SLS replacement, since it took the SLS similar amount of years to replace the original gullwing.
      This, to put in the context of SLS, is just another GT in the market.

• Tanker on Jun 24, 2015 at 8:06 pm

For such an expensive and stunning performance car, the instrument cluster is a huge letdown

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 24, 2015 at 9:12 pm

will be getting mine soon =D

• Kancil Hybrid on Jun 24, 2015 at 9:13 pm

I’ll buy Suprima S over this. This car leave it at parking 5 minutes already susah hati.

• sick&tired on Jun 24, 2015 at 9:28 pm

for those of you who are dreaming of buying this car, you can do it! just marry some rich datuks daughter, preferably a datuk with umno connections, (MARA, tabung haji, 1MDB, etc) and you dreams will come true!

• timtam on Jun 25, 2015 at 9:09 am

Or you could pack your bags and migrate to US or Australia where the car prices are cheaper.

• Just another one to add to TMJ’s fleet

• Gaviny on Jun 24, 2015 at 10:59 pm

Confirm there will be knew with Patriot number plate

• chewbakkah on Jun 25, 2015 at 4:41 pm

rosemama cant even fit in that.