2016 Audi R8 revealed – V10 and S tronic only, 610 hp

Audi R8 V10

This is it, boys and girls, the new 2016 Audi R8. Teased and leaked multiple times, we’ve finally got the lowdown on Ingolstadt’s latest poster boy supercar ahead of its world premiere at the 2015 Geneva Motor Show next week. It will go on sale starting this summer, with prices ranging from €165,000 (RM673,700) for the standard model to €187,400 (RM765,200) for the top-of-the-range plus.

Looks very…familiar, doesn’t it? Measuring 4.42 metres long, 1.24 metres high and and 1.94 metres wide, with a 2.65 metre wheelbase, the dimensions of the new R8 has changed only slightly from the old car.

The styling cues are evolutionary rather than revolutionary, too. The six-point single-frame front grille from the previous facelifted R8 stays on but is larger and flatter, flanked by trapezoidal headlights (LED units as standard, laser-powered ones optional) and large air intakes. The characteristic “side blades” have also been split into two to make the car seem longer and more dynamic.

Audi R8 V10

The rear is more angular than before, with trapezoidal exhaust outlets replacing the round pipes on the facelifted original. The standard car gets an extendable rear spoiler, with the plus model getting a fixed carbon fibre unit. As standard, the new R8 is fitted with 19-inch wheels; 20-inch rollers are available as an option for the first time.

The cockpit-like driver-oriented interior will be familiar to those who own the current R8, but there’s a new configurable 12.3-inch Audi virtual cockpit display in the instrument binnacle (taken from the new TT) that replaces the old centrally-mounted MMI display. The standard sports seats have also been redesigned, and there are new optional bucket seats that come as standard on the plus.

Both the start button and the rotary dial to select the four modes (comfort, auto, dynamic and individual) on the Audi drive select system are mounted on the steering wheel. In addition, there’s also an optional Performance steering (again standard on the plus) with a performance mode that has specific driving programs for dry, wet and snowy conditions.

Audi R8 V10

Gone is the base 4.2 litre V8 on the previous car – from now on the R8 will be V10-only, the same 5.2 litre direct-injected unit as before but with added indirect injection for improved performance and fuel economy. Two variants will be available – the standard car produces 540 hp and 540 Nm, gets from 0-100 km/h in 3.5 seconds, has a top speed of 323 km/h, uses 11.8 litres of fuel per 100 km and emits 275 grams of carbon dioxide per kilometre.

Moving up, the uprated plus model punches out 610 hp and 560 Nm, propelling it from zero to 100 km/h in 3.2 seconds and 200 km/h in 9.9 seconds before reaching a top speed of 330 km/h. Fuel consumption and CO2 emissions figures are 12.4 litres per 100 km and 285 grams per kilometre respectively.

As such, the new R8 uses up to 10% less fuel than before, thanks to cylinder on demand (COD) that shuts off one of the two cylinder banks at low loads, a start-stop system and a coasting function for the standard-fit S tronic transmission. Yes, that’s right – sorry guys, there’s no more six-speed open-gate manual gearbox for you to enjoy; the only way the car rows its gears is through a paddle-shift seven-speed dual-clutch transmission, with shift-by-wire, three shift modes and launch control.

Audi R8 V10

As before, quattro permanent all-wheel drive is fitted on all models, with a hydraulic multi-plate clutch replacing the viscous clutch on the previous R8. The system can now send up to 100% of torque to either the front or rear axle, and a rear mechanical limited-slip differential ensures maximum traction.

Under the skin is a new multi-material Audi Space Frame (ASF) that uses copious amounts of aluminium and carbon fibre. Despite torsional rigidity being 40% higher than before, the bodyshell is 15% lighter, resulting in a dry weight of just 1,454 kg, 50 kg less than the old car.

Aluminium double wishbone suspension is fitted all-round, while electromechanical power steering replaces the previous hydraulic unit; Audi magnetic ride dampers and variable-ratio dynamic steering are available as an option. As on the RS6, the R8 features lightweight wavy steel brake discs as standard, with carbon ceramic discs being optional (and fitted as standard on the plus).

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• spongewai on Feb 26, 2015 at 7:20 pm

hmm, 2nd gen finally unveiled and more tech

• meh... on Feb 26, 2015 at 7:28 pm

same trent as the TT, from round become square…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Don Juan De Marco on Feb 26, 2015 at 7:49 pm

Was expecting a better looking front end for the new R8..could have incorporate
    the design languange found in the latest Audi concept cars..

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 26, 2015 at 7:52 pm

I think the interior is a pretty nice place to be in. As for the exterior, well lets say I prefer the old R8. But thats just me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • cendol (Member) on Feb 26, 2015 at 8:10 pm

This is a cheap car to buy if not because of ridiculous tax duty from government.
    Pass!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
    • r8 wannabe on Feb 27, 2015 at 6:46 pm

yet in first world countries with “cheap” cars still average people cant afford to buy. Why?

oh btw even without the high tax u still wont be able to afford one. Because if cars are cheap, banks most likely will only give maximum duration of loan up to 3 or 5 years only

• Roboto Jones on Feb 26, 2015 at 8:28 pm

It looks like the designer thought he’d use a ruler and stuck with it. That rear shot looks like a cheap imitation of an LFA’s rear grills.

But 610bhp, I’d imagine it’s still beastly.

• albag on Feb 26, 2015 at 9:07 pm

somehow i feel the previous gen is better looking.. time to hunt for used R8 for a great price!

• ronbon on Feb 26, 2015 at 9:32 pm

Exterior: uglaaay
    Interior: prettaay

Audi hired Korean designers and this is the result

• Pleaze on Feb 26, 2015 at 10:42 pm

I am wondering how much of Malaysia road tax for 5.2 lire? Anyone knows?

• The predecessor are a looker, but honestly this is just too dull and ugly ( Compare with supercars category).

• spongewai on Feb 26, 2015 at 11:06 pm

v10 remain but v8 bye bye

coming soon v6 fit into R8

• 2ltrbottle on Feb 27, 2015 at 7:35 am

why back side looks like lambo gallardo?

• hondaman on Feb 27, 2015 at 8:49 am

because it is the lambo’s poor cousin laa… both use the same engine because same parent maa….

• Macam facelift jer

• I feel sad when I look at the car, because the car itself looks sad, with those sad-looking air vents on the bumper.

Why Audi, why?! A piece of mind btw; the new hexagonal grille is a massive failure.Change it back to the original one please.

• Sammy on Feb 27, 2015 at 9:25 am

I doubt Tony Stark would want to drive this…

• applegreen on Feb 27, 2015 at 9:27 am

It is more fuel-efficient not because of start-stop system but actually it is from the 15% reduced weight

• Josh Ling on Feb 27, 2015 at 11:12 am

Audi cars are no longer ground-breaking in look department. it’s just boring sheet of metal one after another, and now even the R8 doesn’t exicite me anymore.

• It’s funny how you design a car that give such performance figures and then put a stop start system on it. As for the design, frankly it’s disappointing….

I can accept the ‘revolution’ ‘evolution’ design cycle for mass market cars such as the A4 but unless i’m wrong..this is a ‘halo’ car and their sole purpose is to shock and awe you and it’s sad to say this feels as sterile and boring as it can get..

Accept lots have been changed underneath but that’s all you could do Audi?? My my your design guys have gotten lazy…

• john doe on Feb 27, 2015 at 11:51 am

Previous R8 was like a tiger, now it looks more like a kitten

• venven81 on Feb 27, 2015 at 1:19 pm

when the first gen R8 was introduced to the market, my first thought was it’s not even close to beautiful. but later it dawned on me that the car actually looks great. im not gonna comment anything now until i see it in flesh.

• As expected, most would prefer the ongoing model compared to the new one. If only that interior can be plonked into the old R8.

• No more Value on Feb 27, 2015 at 2:23 pm

Not so bad as what you all said. But just not garang enough. It is like typical audi sedan look. Prefer new TT design than this.

• What’s up with the recent ugly exterior designs from Audi?

• B737-800 on Feb 27, 2015 at 10:58 pm

Looks like shit. Marc Lichte should arrive in Audi earlier..

• Im happy to see its not a huge change. If you’ve got the old style its all good. Still and epic car, love it.