Lexus Malaysia hikes prices from January 2016 – the CT, ES, LS, NX and RC go up by as much as RM45k

Lexus 2016 Prices

Click to enlarge.

Just as we reported UMW Toyota’s price hikes for 2016, Lexus Malaysia has followed suit, releasing its new price list, effective as of January 1. Not all models are affected this time round, but those that do are hit by hikes of as much as RM45k.

The CT 200h range is hit the most, going up by between 7.9% to a staggering 14.0% for the CT 200h F Sport (from RM320,865 to RM365,900, up by RM45,035). Next is the ES line-up, hiked by 4.5-6.1% (RM15k), followed by the flagship LS range, up between 2.9-4.7% (RM25k-40k).

Most significant, perhaps, is the near-consistent range-wide seven percent increase for the NX SUV. The NX 200t F Sport is now priced at RM387,900, compared to RM362,432 previously (up RM25k). Lastly, the RC coupe range is hit by a nominal two percent hike (RM10k-15k).

Spared here are the recently-launched IS, RX and LX models, along with the GS, of which we presume the facelifted version is due soon. Refer to the table above for the full updated price list.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Aaron on Jan 03, 2016 at 1:18 pm

No one buys Lexus in Malaysia anyways. UMW flop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 29
    • Yaa…Each month got 200 sohais buy rubbish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 14
      • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Jan 03, 2016 at 4:14 pm

Why is food prices, car prices and cost of living going higher and higher? Very simple. It is because of Songlapping.

One man can songlap RM2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM85 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor and given Tunship.
        What about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?

It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

This is why we get low spec lousy cars with super high prices and prices are ever increasing. Our guardians are more interested in Songlap than fighting for the rakyat to get good and safe cars that are also reasonably priced.

Even more so when the Guardians (government) themselves own 90% of all car companies in Malaysia. When it is the government themselves own all car companies in Malaysia, so, it is the Government that is the culprit screwing the rakyat.

In this case, Government, through their investment vehicles, own majority of UMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 13
        • Mann Bell on Jan 03, 2016 at 9:26 pm

thats just 1 man bro. what about other goverment officials? i once reported my boss to sprm for songlaping, and what did he get? just a warning letter…. you just cant do anything as long as theyre in power. songlap is in the blood!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Same L0rrrr on Jan 03, 2016 at 5:59 pm

All kimchis driver sure cannot afford even before price hike, why bother?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 27
        • paulnut on Jan 03, 2016 at 8:35 pm

Since you claimed you have 4 Lexus at home, why bought your son saga?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • dugongx on Jan 03, 2016 at 3:40 pm

Still will have some mega sohai will buy to show he got lots of cash to pay for overpriced junk luxury toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
      • Where is Najib's Promise? on Jan 03, 2016 at 4:18 pm

The question we must be asking is, where is Najib’s promise?

Where is Najib’s promise? Najib promised 30 million people 2 years ago before the election that he would reduce car prices by 30 percent.

He said the 30 million people need not worry because BN always kept their word and never mungkir janji. He said if people voted for BN, he was 100% sure to reduce car prices by 30 percent.

Najib, in his speech told people that BN knew how much people suffered paying for their cars and he felt very sorry for the people, thus, he was sure to reduce car prices by 30%.

It is a well know fact, that we Malaysians are paying 3x the global prices of cars. And double whammy, not only we pay 3x the global prices of cars, our cars are stripped down so bad, it hardly lacks any safety features. Even our top D segment cars each have about 20 less safety features than the same car costing 3 times less overseas. For example, a 10 airbag Toyota Camry CBU in the US cost US$22,000. In Malaysia, this cost RM180k. And loads of safety spec taken out. For example Tyre Pressure Monitoring System and many others. Camry Hybrid in the US is US26,000. Come to Malaysia, should be tax free. CKD it using Malaysian parts should be even cheaper. But here sell RM175k

Now, what happened Najib? Where is your promise?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
        • rakyat need to learn the difference between promise and kencing…

• Masland on Jan 03, 2016 at 6:15 pm

1 thing for sure in 2016, Lexus and Toyota sales figures will be their worst ever. My friendly Toyota salesman friend, Sam Loo already looking for part time job #2kerja

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Kancil Hybrid on Jan 03, 2016 at 1:57 pm

Apa lagi lu mau kencing Najib?!

• Lexus ES Hybrid - USD$40k on Jan 03, 2016 at 4:23 pm

Lexus ES Hybrid in the US is USD$40k. Much better than our ES300h which is selling for RM370k.

Lexus Malaysia will get this car at country distributor price of about US$30k cause we can assume if it is sold for US$40k, that would include the profit margin of the US dealership.

US$30k is about RM150k. Let us assume today is 2015. This car is supposed to be tax free. If tax free, how come they sell at RM370k? Profit margin so big ah??

If the Government cared about Malaysians, they will continue the tax exemptions for the Hybrid in 2016.

Greedy greedy crony GLC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Car Price on Jan 04, 2016 at 5:10 am

I’m not T*****/L**** brand salesman and I don’t work for them, they don’t pay me a single sen either. I don’t work for the government and have no link to automotive industry too… but just my opinion.

High tax does pay a role on higher car price but I think we can’t compare the kind of cost US have as any marketing/sales is a volume game…

T-brand sales in US is easily a couple of millions a year while for us, the sales not even up to 100k… we lost bargain power here of our low volume/small market…

How much T-brand source cars for our boleh land, think only Same L0rrrr will know…

• Volume is decided by the price. If price is lower definitely will push up the volume.

• Medic on Jan 03, 2016 at 2:00 pm

Syukur la harga kereta dah turun…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Rubbish cost also increase?

• jinggo on Jan 03, 2016 at 2:34 pm

apa barang ni lekzus? better buy merc/bmw/audi …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • albag on Jan 03, 2016 at 2:36 pm

no big deal, those who buy Lexus won’t bother these little price increases… only few ringgits hike.. peanuts!

• sudonano (Member) on Jan 03, 2016 at 3:00 pm

Honestly speaking, with the exception for the ES, NX and RX, Lexus Malaysia barely moves any others. CT is a joke, and the pricing now makes it worse. It used to be very good when it was tax free, but now, why would anyone pay 300k for a glorified Toyota Prius. The IS lineup is too expensive in comparison to the C class, A4 and F30 3er. A car of that size and class should start around the 250k mark, be it made in Malaysia or otherwise – look at the A4. The GS is the same thing as well, the German built A6 isn’t as horrendously priced.

And for me, the whole “Lexus great customer service thing” has not really held true, probably cause I’m not in the uncle age group, but I’ve genuinely had a very good experience with Audi, BMW and recently even Maserati.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • Legano on Jan 03, 2016 at 3:52 pm

Wholeheartedly agree. When they first made their official presence in Malaysia some thought they would soon pull the rug from under the german boys. But at the end of the day, premium value for money paid still wins, something Lexus couldnt promise at their prices.

• Jimmy on Jan 03, 2016 at 9:33 pm

Please care about your black finger prints on the ceiling and walls of luxurious vehicles interior. Want to increase price kau-kau, you must make sure you pay you mechanics well.

I guess the Europeans are more particular about politeness, gentleman and courtesy?

• Tin Kosong on Jan 03, 2016 at 3:12 pm

There are so many better choices out there for 365k than the CT 200h. UMW think Lexus is the top selling luxury brand in Malaysia, is it?

• Year to date last month only 1792 units only…but they dun worry bcos already earn 430 million with 1792 units sold.

• Ibnu bakrin on Jan 03, 2016 at 3:48 pm

Jeez, what a greedy people increase the price this much..
    I think Honda (Acura) and Nissan (Infiniti) will follow his step. It’s all because of the incompetence people ruling our country.

• lexusmania@ on Jan 03, 2016 at 4:34 pm

Relax….is simple. Rich people is not stupid.
    Those insists to buy lexus are simply stupiak. They maybe dont know bolehland is with bmw n merz…..lexus will not get as much respect as german brand no matter how you argue.is Japanese brand ……far off from german brand.
    The price of lexus now is joke of 2016. Period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • neutral on Jan 03, 2016 at 4:43 pm

i wonder if there are still people out there who are stupid enough to buy the CT200h….

• JB_KIA on Jan 03, 2016 at 4:55 pm

Pack up all ur CT200 and send back to Jpn. 2012 used 90+k only…

• applegreen on Jan 03, 2016 at 5:03 pm

Better buy lexus biscuit at supermarket

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • Minister 3.85 on Jan 03, 2016 at 5:21 pm

Nobody will touch this Lexus…..much lesser buying them.

Lexus car will be static model in the showroom until UMW close shop….

• Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Jan 03, 2016 at 5:28 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have good RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
    • Beware! rotten sushi is worse than kimchi

• Sam Loo Sucks on Jan 04, 2016 at 12:27 pm

I rather have kimchi than rotten sushi from a scammer like UMW that comes from alam flora truck.

• I used to respect Toyota but because of Sam Loo/Sam LOrrr/Sam Loo (ori), all my respect has gone down the drain and I will never touch Toyota again.

• blaster88 on Jan 03, 2016 at 5:40 pm

Erm…Lexus coming from Japan? If this is the case, how much has the ringgit depreciated vs the yen? Surely UMW is not paying USD?

• Foreign trade is mostly done in US$, even between countries that don’t have anything to do with the US.

For example, most of the oil sold to Europe is billed in US$ and not in Euro.

• blaster88 on Jan 03, 2016 at 9:51 pm

I beg to differ….. not all foreign trade is done in USD…. that’s an
        absolute fallacy.

• Lexus is a of the luxury brand by toyota japan, i couldnt understand why japan product increasing price instead of Euro , US car of brand. since big gap of currency was USD & Euro , wasnt japan yen..

• Hentamajela on Jan 03, 2016 at 6:55 pm

Ni satu lagi sohai bawah umw toyota….memang sohai la sapa beli….

• Aero (Member) on Jan 03, 2016 at 7:14 pm

Why have some models increased in prices but others have not at all ? There is no logical explanation for this. Either UMWT/ Lexus is absorbing the costs for some models, or deliberately raising their profit margins for others.

Current CT200h owners should be happy… their RV just went up (again). lol

• sohhai on Jan 04, 2016 at 9:41 am

Their RV may have gone up based on market price but in the end it is still willing seller willing buyer concept. Who would want to pay RM180k for a 3 year Lexus CT200h?

• The Lexus CT200h’s price hike is just utterly ridiculous, already pricey for a C-Segment Hatchback, and now the top spec F Sport is now 365k, for that price I rather buy a E300 Blutec Hybrid, even a E250 would do.or maybe even the NX200 which is already overpriced.

• any1here on Jan 03, 2016 at 10:50 pm

About 35%-37% of UMW holdings trade payables is in foreign currency. If most of its payables to japan are in USD then a slight hike may be expected but 14% for the CT200h Fsport? UMW must think money grows on trees for malaysians.

• Lexus sales less than Proton, so means Lexus is worse than shit cuz someone says sales figure is everything.

• Johnny on Jan 04, 2016 at 11:05 am

Ya..
      And someone also say John is not as cool as Johnny…

USE BRAIN LAH… compare Proton sales with Lexus??
      Compare lah with Infiniti….since both are luxury CBU brand.

Is business, off course sales is everything lah…

• Why not? Someone brilliantly compared Toyota B-segment sales with Proton D-segment sales and says P1 sucks cuz sell less.

• ABMreal on Jan 04, 2016 at 12:57 pm

Lexus cannot beat ABM, coz lexus is fake luxury cars. Nuff said

• i hope someone from LEXUS could explain why they need to increase the price of their cars and show the calculation.
    To be honest their cars is good but the price make buyers ridicule them. me myself considering a lexus as my ride but with current pricing i would look elsewhere..very disappointing

• Sam Loo Ori on Jan 04, 2016 at 12:24 pm

If you need to ask the price , then Lexus is not for you. It is for the ultra rich and famous only where money is not an issue.

• toyotaik on Jan 04, 2016 at 12:58 pm

Lexus is glorified Toyotaik

• tinmilo on Jan 04, 2016 at 10:50 am

Lexus mainstream (and most popular) products in Malaysia, i.e. the ES and the NX, have the steepest hike in price. Bad news for the brand here…

• hallo on Jan 04, 2016 at 12:34 pm

Rest In Peace (R.I.P.) Lexus!!!