New Lexus LS launched – four variants, from RM788k

We’re back from the Lexus Centre in Mutiara Damansara, where Lexus Malaysia has just launched the new Lexus LS limo. This latest LS made its world debut just over two months ago at the ‘Lexus Laws of Attraction’ exhibit in San Francisco, USA. It’s not all-new, but this is a thoroughly reworked LS with 3,000 new parts and a new outlook.

The LS is available here in four variants – the LS 460 (RM788,000), LS 460 F Sport (RM818,000), the long wheelbase LS 460L (RM878,000) and the top of the line LS 600h L (RM1,068,000). All prices are on-the-road without insurance.

The latest LS is easily recognised by its “spindle grille”, Lexus’ new trademark snout that we’ve already seen on the GS sedan and RX SUV. Besides giving the limo greater road presence, Lexus says the new face heralds a significant improvement in driving dynamics, responsiveness and handling.

The dashboard is a new design. All eyes will be drawn to a large 12.3-inch high-res split-screen LCD, said to be the largest in the industry. This screen is big enough to support simultaneous viewing of a large map display and other vehicle functions, which are now controlled via Lexus’ Remote Touch Interface. Operation is somewhat similar to a computer’s mouse.

Another new feature is the Climate Concierge, which utilises 13 infrared sensors strategically placed around the cabin to detect your body heat and adjust the air-con accordingly. Should it sense rising body temperature, Mr Concierge will cool you down via 20 individual air outlets throughout the cabin. Customers in colder regions will appreciate the heating.

Refinement is a Lexus specialty, and this has been further improved in the new LS. Advanced sound deadening materials are used in the wheel arch liners, around the floor and in the boot. Wind noise has been further cut by a change of insulation material for the roof trim, and the addition of aero fins to the door mirrors to reduce turbulence.

The new LS uses Shimamoku wood, or “striped wood”. Processing Shimamoku involves 67 manufacturing steps over the course of 38 days, so there’s plenty of craftmanship involved. The seats are of a new design that minimises pressure points, improves body support and reduces fatigue.

The car you see here is the LWB LS 460L model with a rear seat entertainment system (Blu Ray DVD, nine-inch screen), Mark Levinson 7.1 19-speaker ICE system and rear seat ottoman plus massager. These three items, and 19-inch rims, are the features that the ‘L’ has over the standard wheelbase LS 460.

The 460 variants carry over the marque’s 1UR-FSE 4.6 litre V8 with 380 hp and 493 Nm of torque. This 32-valve, Dual VVT-iE engine is mated to an eight-speed automatic transmission. Linked to the drivetrain is the new Drive Mode Select that allows the driver to choose from Eco, Comfort, Normal, Sport and Sport+ modes, which also alters the Adaptive Variable Suspension (AVS) air suspension settings.

This is the first LS with an F Sport variant, and the sporty one adds on unique exterior parts (mesh grille, front/rear bumper, 19-inch wheels), six-piston Brembo brakes and an intake sound creator for a sportier engine note.

The interior gets F Sport leather, aluminium pedals, scuff plate and a F logo on the perforated leather steering. It looks great in the brochure, but unfortunately there wasn’t a live specimen at the launch.

The flagship LS 600h L is a hybrid model, as denoted by the ‘h’ in the name. Here, a 5.0 litre V8 combines with two motor generators for 438 hp. The 20-module, 240-cell battery pack is a nickel-metal hydride (Ni-MH) unit. In place of the eight-speed auto is a CVT gearbox, and unlike the petrol-only LS, the 600h L lays power to the ground via permanent AWD with a Torsen centre LSD.

Features unique to it are LED headlamps (not just DRLs and signal lamps, making it all LED exterior lighting), hybrid design 19-inch wheels and an Eco Drive meter. Everything else is per LS 460L.

A live gallery from the launch is after the jump. The interior pics aren’t great, no thanks to a dark room and a black cabin, so do click here for a huge gallery of nearly 100 official pics of the Lexus LS.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sir Wan on Oct 23, 2012 at 10:55 pm

I believe to the power of The East much more better than Merc,Audi,BMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 45
    • Audi A8 and BMW 7 Series r better !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 22
      • MrCounterstrike on Oct 25, 2012 at 4:07 am

S class and 7 series anyday over Lexus. When it comes to driving dynamics, comfort, technology and safety, continental are still better than the Japs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
  • Wow.. Nice, didnt know it will launch here so fast. Its abut pricey buy still cheap compared to rivals. Awesome design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 13
    • Jimmy on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:06 pm

People who can afford this price range will not care about RM100K difference. Brand 1st (S-class) and design 2nd (X6).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 22
      • kiddo on Oct 24, 2012 at 8:47 am

I don’t think I’ll feel ashamed being seen sitting in a 1-million car even if it’s not a Merc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
        • NamNam on Oct 24, 2012 at 11:33 am

if the car is a 1-million proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
          • Black Dog on Oct 24, 2012 at 1:20 pm

MACC will go after you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
          • kiddo on Oct 24, 2012 at 9:06 pm

If Proton can make us spend 1 million on a car, I think we will all be proud. Don’t you think so?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
      • droll on Oct 24, 2012 at 7:50 pm

incorrect. i know folks like these and even RM1 is a big deal to them. what’s more important isn’t RM100k difference but value they get for their money.

• X6?? that thing look fugly ok… and it kinda useless… rather choose a Infiniti FX over it… at least i dont need to send it for repair as frequent as any BMW do

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
        • MrCounterstrike on Oct 25, 2012 at 4:09 am

X6 may look ugly and not as reliable as the FX, but its performance, handling and comfort will beat the Infiniti FX anyday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • u are talking about comfort in an X6?? u jz made 1 of the biggest joke in this decade… everybody know that car is well known for its handling , yes…but a cayenne can do better, and also its ‘truck like’ ride quality… better off with a lexus LX , for look, just get a Infiniti FX… an X6 barely can move once it leave the tarmac… thats make it no different with other BMW sedan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Gavin on Oct 23, 2012 at 10:59 pm

I’m a huge sucker for buttons so this checks all boxes ,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • jimmyphon on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:52 pm

i think you made a typo, you meant tits instead of buttons, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
      • NamNam on Oct 24, 2012 at 11:35 am

we all know tits comes with only 2 buttons unless u have many tits at ur disposal in a space the size of the lexus cabin.

• so, that’s what your brain is thinking all the time..

• Mozilla Chrome on Oct 24, 2012 at 2:31 am

It will take me a week to study the buttons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Redrules on Oct 24, 2012 at 8:23 pm

I thought we have done away with buttons and more towards touch screens. Wonder which two countries are trendsetters for touchscreen devices?

• It’s a facelift!!!!
    anyway, prefer a Jaguar XJ V8 because it’s a Jaaaagggg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 43
    • Sam Loo on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:14 pm

Jaguar will sui kwan and kwai tai wor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 37
      • MrCounterstrike on Oct 24, 2012 at 7:50 am

But the Jaguar has more prestige and class than this Lexus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 24
        • 1 Malaysia on Oct 24, 2012 at 9:56 am

this is lexus!
          very good luxury brand compare to conti.
          and best part it has the feel, prestige, recognition, reliability, ride/handling + SUPER HIGH 2nd VALUE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
        • Only to you on Oct 24, 2012 at 10:15 am

Well it’s only to you and most Malaysians… To the rest of the world, Lexus is more prestige than Mercedes, Audi and BMW.

Fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 20
          • Pro-San on Oct 24, 2012 at 11:31 am

in the entire world, only in USA they ‘sometimes’ selling better than the competitors in monthly sales figure. and that is because in america, they are famous to be fat, stupid and arrogant. they buy most of the prius as well.

basically malaysian and americans same. more stupid brain than smart brain. hence the toyota dominance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 14
          • Chairman on Oct 24, 2012 at 9:06 pm

well said pro-san

• Chairman on Oct 24, 2012 at 9:10 pm

Only to you suits your name. cos it does not apply to the rest of the world.

Real Fact

• MrCounterstrike on Oct 26, 2012 at 1:09 am

I agree with your comment Pro-San.

• MrBmw on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:38 pm

I m sorry but your statement saying Lexus is a prestige car in the world is wrong. I have been to Europe n I rarely see a Lexus car on the road. Only brands like Merc/BMW/Audi and Volvo can be seen on the road and highways.

• mistaloba on Oct 24, 2012 at 8:16 am

‘Useless piece of junk with no RV.

Better get a audi or mercedes.’

hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 32
      • The Japs on Oct 24, 2012 at 8:52 am

At least this car and XJ better than the junky Kia K9–the BMW 7-er rip off

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
  • i think Lexus has lost its modjo….

I looks more like a predator for frontal view…but it’s ok but overall…it is a forgetful Design…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 42
    • jimmyphon on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:53 pm

glad that it lost its previous ‘toyota’ look alike design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
  • Jimmy on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:02 pm

Looks like a facelift.
    Who designed the front grill?
    Do you like the interior design?
    What about the DRL, does it look upmarket?
    Taste No 9.
    Looks like an upgraded Toyota.
    This car has better had 8-star Euro crash test, with 20 airbags and kerb weight of 2500kg in order to beat S-class.
    But we know we will be disappointed as Lexus has never been renowned for its safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 47
    • BMW BEST on Oct 24, 2012 at 1:03 am

please la,dont simply judge by looking the god damn photo,see it in person,the grill actually looks nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
      • KillBox1Alpha on Oct 24, 2012 at 11:17 am

Ive seen it and it sux…got more buttons than a cockpit….tail lights looked like it was lifted from a 7’er

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
        • You do know that the Lexus LS came up with the line led tail lights design before the 7 series right? Is just back then, the LS tail lamps led lights weren’t as obvious and thick like the new one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • kiddo on Oct 24, 2012 at 9:00 am

it is only YOU who never knew that Lexus is one of the pioneers in safety features! Lexus’ Pre-Crash system, heard of it?!

Lexus’ VDIM system is also one of the best if not the best. And yes, Lexus admits that it’s a ‘facelift’ of the older one, but who cares? It’s because the previous one has been over-engineered to last for another few years.

Think of the world’s first 8-speed gearbox, world’s first LED headlights, automatic parking system, eye-tracking driver monitoring system, lane departure warning system, airbags for knees, full-leather dashboard, quietest cabin among all production cars, Ottoman rear seats, 19-speakers audio, direct injection+port injection engine and many more. And all this happened way back in year 2006!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
      • MrCounterstrike on Oct 26, 2012 at 1:18 am

Lexus is never consider the pioneer in safety

Pre-Safe system was first introduced by Mercedes Benz in the W220 S class in 1998- Fact.

Lane Depature Warning, Airbags for knees are already included as standard on Volvos since 2000-Fact.

• +1 dumb ass on the internet.. never ending.

• bystander on Oct 24, 2012 at 11:02 am

it looks like a facelift because it IS a facelift – Lexus has made that very clear

• wow, really??..

• “Another new feature is the Climate Concierge, which utilises 13 infrared sensors strategically placed around the cabin to detect your body heat and adjust the air-con accordingly. Should it sense rising body temperature, Mr Concierge will lower the temperature to cool you down via 20 individual air outlets throughout the cabin.”

Love this feature!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • Black Dog on Oct 24, 2012 at 1:26 pm

So the air-con should have no problem cooling very fast during some hot passion in the car!

• Chow1 on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:06 pm

Only 100k in USA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • This is one true beauty..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • shuk rocco on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:16 pm

the prices wow!!!!

• 1 Malaysia on Oct 24, 2012 at 10:01 am

ok what buy now close to rm800K and if sell back still around rm700k.
      unlike unreliable bmw/merc/audi/conti crap… buy now rm800k and sell back in the same year will be rm500-600k.. hahaha..
      and couple of years half price..
      dont trust? check mudah/oto etc see the real think.

lexus rock :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
      • ah beng on Oct 24, 2012 at 1:31 pm

dont lie sohai. lexus no RV. no need to check mudah. here at oto also got. 3-4 yr lexus can get at 300k, much less than half the original 750k price.
        stupid lexus fanboy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
        • ah beng on Oct 25, 2012 at 12:22 am

those ppl that dislike my comment above just shows how they are ignoring real facts right in front of their eyes. open your eyes and see the right side of your monitor for the listing you blind supporters. goes to show how many blind supporters for cheapo overpriced lexus are around.probably lots of sales ppl fr lexus showroom only.

lexus is truly overrated and overpriced!!! better just settle for camry! why pay 500% more for 5% more prestige? only a loser does that like some ppl paying 50k to repair a cheap RM700 printer.

• MrCounterstrike on Oct 25, 2012 at 4:21 am

I agree with your comment.

• Beemer on Oct 27, 2012 at 10:05 pm

BMW and Benz are actually overrated like the Camry. When you ask peiple about luxiry car brand, B and M came first in their mind.
            A lot of B and M buy it for their brands, when ask them tech under the hood, they don’t even know about what is the difference between l4 and V6.
            If there is 510 or E100, it would sell like hot cakes not because of the driving pleasure, but because of the tri-pin or 4 square in a circle.
            So, L is overrated? Think about it again.
            Besides, I didn’t really read more about B and M, can you all please let me know how good is B-7 or M-S? What I know is the hardwork of L/T engineer to create the LS.

• Ah Long on Oct 27, 2012 at 10:10 pm

Ah beng, looks like your sales of Mercs or BMW sells like shit these days.
            Why don’t you take a rest in your precious S-Class and think new sales strategy.
            Don’t forget to charge yoyr phone so you can contact your mechanic to repair your broken air-con during your journey

• MrBmwman on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:44 am

To the comments saying BMW and Benz is overrated, I disagree. In America, the lexus is an overrated car. While in Malaysia people buy 7 series/S class/A8/XJ is not only because of the badge, but also due to the fact that these cars are worth paying >700k in this range as well as comes with better tech, safety features, and better performance & handling than this Lexus.

• skiborne on Oct 23, 2012 at 11:52 pm

not justified to pay that much for a Lexus. Jag or a Range Rover is more like it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 22
    • frenzy on Oct 24, 2012 at 11:15 pm

Indeed but why? Telling your friends “Dude my car is made in British”?

• WOWWW on Oct 24, 2012 at 12:01 am

To the people who “Meh” the new (facelift) LS, its obvious you are biased towards your Mercs and BMWs.. they are all great cars. We have to admit it. But the new LS has got to be one of the most luxuriously packed in its class at the moment. Lexus has again, developed the Worlds first “Climate Concierge”. Lets see which car company will adapt this feature from Lexus next. Remember, Lexus LS was the first in the world to develop an 8-speed gear box. Soon after, the Germans too, followed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 10
    • Pro-San on Oct 24, 2012 at 12:15 am

a stupid 8 speed which doesn’t know when is the right time to be at the right gear.

worldwide BMW 1st, Audi 2nd, Merc 3rd, Lexus last. FACT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 32
      • kiddo on Oct 24, 2012 at 9:07 am

wonder why the other car makers follow Lexus’ footstep then. HMMMMM~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
        • Pro-San on Oct 24, 2012 at 11:26 am

in engineering there is no following footstep. what’s so NOBLE about the idea of a 8 speed? Now even hyundai is experimenting with 9 speed, so what? It is just a matter of adding gear with the improvement of manufacturing and materials and enginnering know-how.

Here a lot toyota and lexus fanboys who know shet but brag like they know a lot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
          • kiddo on Oct 24, 2012 at 8:58 pm

I dare not say I know best about cars but I dare say I know more than you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
          • TopGear on Oct 27, 2012 at 9:57 pm

If adding gear are so easy, people would develop a 20 gear system and 1:5000 spinning ratio, a 1 litre kancil can goo 300km/h
            Not everything as easy as it talk.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 24, 2012 at 9:48 am

Ya, 16 year old model Perdana also first, but count from behind!!!!!!

• ramun on Oct 24, 2012 at 11:00 am

That gearbox created to SAVE PETROL. Not spirited driving. If u suddenly step hard on accelerator during cruising the ECU will take some time to ‘think’ & anticipate what you are going to do next. Exception if u set the sport mode on the 1st place. Even 645i will jump to 4th gear immediately after 1st gear from standstill acceleration.

BTW when did you test drove the car Pro-San? I guess 1 am semalam kah? mesti Lexus staff buat OT kan for u? Cheers ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • tungguuu on Oct 24, 2012 at 12:40 am

hmmm 8 speed box, wasnt it from ZF? the gearbox maker?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • kiddo on Oct 24, 2012 at 9:13 am

nope, it’s from Aisin AW, a Toyota-owned gearbox manufacturer.

• Merc=Real Euro on Oct 24, 2012 at 12:42 am

In Malaysia….Lexus are fully CBU from Japan which is assembled by skilled craftman in Japan…hence the price tag. Where as Merc and BMW are CKD…assembled in a shed with cheap labour…price also very expensive…. How to compare???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
  • ah beng on Oct 24, 2012 at 12:52 am

meh….camry 2.5v is much better than this fugly overpriced crap. buy camry….got much better resale value! lexus spare parts super exp and RV hailat!

you gotta pay more than 50k to fix that air suspension when it is broken on crappy malaysian pot hole roads.

camry rulez!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 39
    • _xXx_ on Oct 24, 2012 at 8:45 am

talk with mouth, not ass

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Why do people like you still exist. you are living up to your name, realy an ah beng.

• Critique on Oct 24, 2012 at 10:58 am

Err… is this an attempt at sacarsm??

Well, if it wasn’t, then you’ve got to expand your horizons my friend!

Not everything is about cost! At least in this segment’lar..

Cheers :)

• ah beng on Oct 24, 2012 at 1:24 pm

come test drive new camry 2.5v then you can talk . guarantee worth every sen you pay. not like this 800k lexus which looks like 300k car at most .

• Fact or Fiction on Oct 24, 2012 at 2:20 pm

Ini orang sudah beli la tu… then disappointed with the car and ask other people to jump ship with him…

• Critique on Oct 24, 2012 at 9:01 pm

Beng ohhh Benggggg, still missin the point ey…

takpe lar.. u seem supremely happy with your Camry 2.5, gd for u!

Cheers :)

• ah lian on Oct 26, 2012 at 12:11 pm

you are comparing camry with this? you must be dreaming…hahaha….your camry is like your name-la, ah beng, if compare to this.

• Dude, ur comment make u sound like a sohai. Ppl who buy this car dont even look at RV or any shit u mentioned. Some ppl wan exclusivity rather than uniformity. U understand my english. Only middle income pol who talks about RV. And ppl who car about RV aint goina buy this car. So u can kiss LExus ass hood bye and ho hug ur camry poor hag.

• 788k for a jap car? You must be kidding…I would rather go for continental cars like BMW / Merz lulz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 34
    • Agree. Some might argue that it’s unique but it doesn’t look like a 788k car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
      • MrCounterstrike on Oct 25, 2012 at 4:25 am

I agree, if someone once to buy a luxury car that is not an S class or 7 Series, they can choose either the A8 or Jaguar XJ. At least both are unique and have more class than the LS.

• ramun on Oct 24, 2012 at 11:11 am

I may be sound like a Lexus salesman. I neither own a lexus nor planning to buy it in 1 year time. But I do admire Lexus refinement. My point is feel the car before comment. Put ‘status’ mindset apart. This car is more refine than 7 series.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • skiborne on Oct 24, 2012 at 1:24 am

for some reason, the switches for operating the seats look rather like those seen on wall sockets, look very boring, unlike european cars which had buttons and switches look that were made for that particular car trimmings eg. on wood or aluminium

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
    • designsick on Oct 24, 2012 at 1:56 am

couldnt agree more.. it should blend well with the whole interior design. looks like the buttons can be easily swapped with other toyotas model. y u so cheapo lexus?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
  • JembePower on Oct 24, 2012 at 1:30 am

This car looks nice…finishing looks impressive…you could say its a facelift but for me I would not mess too much with the design…it is already very well balanced. Otherwise it’ll start looking like a Camry! Its like a 911…why mess with it..looks good.

I am interested in the refinement…more gadgets, better ride quality…even more silent…that stuff is more important.

Good job Lexus…can’t say the same for the Toyota division.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • droll on Oct 24, 2012 at 8:13 am

maximum opulence!

i would love to own a LS460 one day (dream on :)).

on the optimistic side, this means the previous generation LS460 should be much cheaper now….

• skyjuice on Oct 24, 2012 at 3:35 am

too many buttons and switches..its like u going to fly on a Boeing 777 ahaks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • HONpenDA on Oct 24, 2012 at 6:09 am

ridiculous pricing,only those moron will buy it,i rather go to european car,this jap car such as ‘cock sucker’

• Jilbaber on Oct 24, 2012 at 6:39 am

too busy with buttons, not elegant at all…just another Toyota…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
    • kiddo on Oct 24, 2012 at 9:19 am

just another typical basher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • bystander on Oct 24, 2012 at 11:04 am

i wonder if u will also say that Audi is just another VW…or worse

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • MrBmw on Oct 26, 2012 at 1:24 am

At least the Audi A8 interior has more premium feel and looks better than this useless LS.

• Sam Loo on Oct 24, 2012 at 7:27 am

Useless junk with no RV.

Sure kwan tai when you sell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 21
  • sean zx-10 on Oct 24, 2012 at 8:16 am

what a boring design. The dashboard is soooo boring its like in Honda accord. the leather trim looks plain n no sense of luxury. The only thing that makes the owner looks rich eventho the chicks knows shit about the Lexus and its price …it is the size of the car. That is all..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • Preve is going to eat this for bfast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
    • i think u were trying to say: “preve is going to eat its smoke for breakfast, brunch,lunch, dinner and supper.”

• Don’t look down on Asia’s BMW. They already have turn around plan. mun lei sei mei.

• Oh..are you truly serious to compare preve with the LS460? And yes, your “asia’s bmw” will turn around and around and around and around and around and around …………..

• mister potato on Oct 24, 2012 at 8:45 am

RM788k compared to USD$72k (RM220k). Difference is RM568k. I’d like to buy my Lexus LS460 at RM220k please, or I’ll just tick the box of people that will work on giving that to me.

• 1 Malaysia on Oct 24, 2012 at 10:01 am

go n dream on

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Extra money to pay BN mah, then BN simply spend lah.

• Bro, its because our currency is weak la. U throw ringgit out im sure no one will want it as much compared to dollar. By the way, government and also dealer play the role of jacking up our car price. But dont worry, u will see one soon as malaysian still can afford it. 2 of my frens just booked. .

• what? on Oct 24, 2012 at 8:59 am

i like this! i hate that! expensive this! expensive that! BMW la! Merc la!…end of the day..still drive proton..sorry hehehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Johnny on Oct 24, 2012 at 10:32 am

So you’re saying ppl who drive Proton cant have an opinion? That’s repression bro..lol

• Beemer on Oct 24, 2012 at 10:11 am

What is the deal with the buttons??! Way too many. Feels like a car from 80s or 90s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • what about your beemer? on Oct 24, 2012 at 10:34 am

what about your BMWs? the buttons are all over the place too.. dont bash the Lexus just cause it doesnt suit your personal taste and you find every reason to hate it. BMW no buttons at the back? why? no functions is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
      • What about your Lexus? on Oct 25, 2012 at 4:31 am

The Lexus can never beat BMW/Merc/Audi/Jag in driving dynamics, performance, handling, tech and safety. So what is so great about your Lexus

• Johnny on Oct 24, 2012 at 10:24 am

In my opinion, this is a few light years away from being worth the money. RM1mil? Seriously??

• Johnny on Oct 24, 2012 at 10:26 am

And all those buttons make the center console look like some old cassette player.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • Toyota brand worth Million? not worth it.

• frenzy on Oct 24, 2012 at 11:19 pm

What’s wrong with Toyota actually, their car sucks because they want it affordable, when they want it premium, conti guys started to freak out.

• Japanese Car on Oct 27, 2012 at 9:53 pm

Indeed, if not Japanese car, iI don’t know what are we driving nowadays, and those European car are expensive and rare, or maybe they woiuld gave up making new models.
        Affordable=Low Quality= Haters
        Expensive=Good=Tons of Fans= One in a million can actually buy

• Superb on Oct 24, 2012 at 11:06 am

Great car!

• Jeremy Clarkson on Oct 24, 2012 at 11:17 am

I would only drive this car if my company decided to buy one for me. I would never fork out 200K pounds of my money for a car like this. I would rather spend a couple hundred thousands pounds more and buy myself a Rolls Royce Phantom. If you can afford a 200K pounds car, you sure as HELL can afford a 400K pounds PHANTOM !!!

• James May on Oct 25, 2012 at 3:26 pm

Mate,

BBC aren’t going to buy you a LEXUS. They would rather spend the money on getting Kylie Minogue to perform at our office than to buy you a LEXUS. If they decide to buy you one, it would be a GOLF mate. Not a LEXUS!

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Oct 24, 2012 at 11:45 am

No financial controller can justify the purchase of a 4.6L limo based on the punitive road tax and depreciation. And we haven’t even started on that obscene “predator” face. What happened to the grace and dignified presence of the original LS?

• Biscuit on Oct 24, 2012 at 12:36 pm

Woooow…expensive BUT No class. Should hire italians, britishs or germans to design the interior and exterior. Mostly…a copycat and look almost similar to latest camry from the front.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • 7 series anytime :)

• christ on Oct 24, 2012 at 11:27 pm

no way bmw…suspension keras macam lori…electronic mesti ada problem punya..mcm toys kedai super save je..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • MrCounterstrike on Oct 26, 2012 at 1:29 am

Mercedes S class has better comfort, handling as well as tech and safety features than the LS.

Handling may not match the 7 series. But if you want a comfortable limousine, better get S class rather than Lexus LS.

• Those buttons on the armrest, is it the lighting or it IS really gosh! From Toyota’s 80s bin? It looks out of place even in a Vios today IMO.

• Pontiac on Oct 24, 2012 at 1:55 pm

Only stupid people buy lexus. Crap from toyota still thingking lexus is a premium brand. Get a life. Smart people buy inspira.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
    • Expatriate VN on Oct 24, 2012 at 5:33 pm

Jaguh kampung mentality always jaguh kampung forever!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • donna on Oct 24, 2012 at 6:59 pm

i couldnt agree more.. overated product, with ambitious toyota.. ppl rather buy a porshe, ferrari or bently rather than japanese so call ‘lexus’

• hey folks..Lexus LS is the best car in the world..I own both LS400 and LS430 and the driving, handling and suspension are out of this world..Merc, bm, audi also good but overall Lexus is much better performance..also if you have a chance try test drive high end toyota like crown athlete/royal saloon(codename grs204/200), crown majesta or toyota century..these cars are damn fantastic, ultimate comfort no other cars can match…..if you re in Japan or japanese, you know what I m talking about…))

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
    • cresta on Oct 24, 2012 at 8:21 pm

ya…thosa toyotas are amazing…ultimate comfort..if you ve been in japan to see dg1 race/drift those crown athlete would smoke any conti cars there, so amazing…and then comes toyota century of which its high end model exclusively used by japanese emperor…love jdm cars…

• Expatriate VN on Oct 24, 2012 at 2:15 pm

I go for this car anytime – minus crappy NAP taxes, I can afford!!!!!!!

• 3xxk already can get a luxurios car.
    Paying 7xxk for Lexus?? I would prefer German brand with lesser money.
    There is a lot of money paying to the government due to the tax.
    Rather buy a land property.

• Wow! a very refined car! tumbs up!

• Those buttons really look cheapo, why lexus using those cheap plastic looking buttons ? And so many of them ! Audi interior is still the best. Lexus is still a Toyota mind you.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 24, 2012 at 5:36 pm

What you mean look chepo? So Airbus 320 by AA cockpit buttons look much more cheapo! Look like there is no better thing to talk cock!

Lexus is the premium car come with the best comfort and handling! Some more this is top range!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • Expatriate VN on Oct 24, 2012 at 5:38 pm

I like Lexus car from Japan, but at this moment I can afford Lexus biscuits made at Batu Pahat only!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • Nice, shouldn’t have listened to my father and gone to college. Should have join politics or some Penguatkuasa somewhere and than can afford!!!

• Lets EXterminate USa on Oct 24, 2012 at 7:51 pm

Lexus LS rawks!
    LS=Larn See
    go ask cantonese speaker what’s it means…

• for those who looked down on lexus whether you’re bashing just for fun or having the “lexus is just another toyota” mindset

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=14iiOYLqbes

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nSRA8kVh9SI

• frenzy on Oct 24, 2012 at 11:24 pm

Bloddy hell, Audi and Porsche are just rebadged Volkswagen, paying so much for a volkswagen is an idiotic behaviour
      Sacarsm: On

• Biscuit on Oct 24, 2012 at 8:37 pm

For the money ….the SOUND is not right L E X U S!!! he he he..the right sound to the ears is B M W, M E R C E D E S, P O R C H E, F E R A R I…rings better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • MrBmwman on Oct 26, 2012 at 1:32 am

Agreed. Its worth spending the money on the continental cars rather than Japanese cars in the range of RM700k.

• Chairman on Oct 24, 2012 at 8:56 pm

Lexus is and always has been overpriced and overrated…which is typical of toyota. Only stupid americans and malaysians like them. Else where especially in europe nobody would even look at a lexus. You can even buy 2 ferrari 458 or 2 lambo gallardo for the price they are asking for a single LFA. That is really sick pricing!!

Look at all those cluttered buttons at the back and the dash. Lexus moving back to the 80s? Only a sick die hard toyota fanboy will buy this overpriced crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • president on Oct 24, 2012 at 11:49 pm

look like you never drive one…if you hv enough money buy any lexus LS,GS,ES or IS new or recond then you will know why lexus is the best premium brand in the world…LFA is a pinnacle of supercar in the world…ya ..not everybody can afford it but damn! this car is f*****g amazing…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
      • Chairman on Oct 25, 2012 at 12:45 am

Of course I don’t drive. I am not a driver. I prefer to be chauffeured in my S-class for normal days and Jaguar XJL when I feel bored in the S-class.
        No way I want to be seen in this low prestige lexus aka premium toyota. Would you? Then again you are not a chairman since you need to drive to work everyday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • MrBmwman on Oct 25, 2012 at 4:39 am

Mercedes and Jaguar are great cars. They both have already beaten the Lexus from the 80s till today.

• Micheal Schumacer on Oct 27, 2012 at 9:49 pm

Mercedes and Jaguar has longer car heritage compare to Toyota, first Lexus is LS400 drom 1989.
            It was widely praised for the quiteness, quality, technology and comfort of the car. Yoy can check few experiment on the vibration of the engine in youtube. I hope Lexus is not an underrated brand, it is a very good brand that people would like to call it as a rebadged Toyota. Besides, if Toyota is bad, how would they become no.1 car producer in the world?

• Chairman too on Oct 25, 2012 at 11:58 am

The S-class or Jaguar XJL are for my drivers to drive themselves only..I drive myself, Monday Aventador, Tuesday MP12c,Wednesday Ferrari 458 italia, Thursday LFA, Friday off, and saturday when i feel abit lazy i drive Bently continential GT…Sunday i ride my BMW Bicycle..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • president on Oct 25, 2012 at 9:03 pm

..ah..pembohong lah you president…the other day I saw you driving kancil buruk je…

• the front looks like the new Sylphy hahah..

• Mr. Toyoda on Oct 24, 2012 at 11:31 pm

Lexus LS looks much aggresive compare to boring looking S-class and weird looking 7-series. Both ifo them are for uncle or ahpek.
    Lexus: Japanese reliability, Conti performance.
    Proud of Asia!
    Those Asian who keep look down asian cars is like children looking down on their parents, no matter how good they are

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Biscuit on Oct 25, 2012 at 12:17 am

CLASS and SERIES go along with the badges. Of course uncles and ah peks normally got the money. If they can afford rm800k, why do they go for…. so call lexus! Aggresive is for ah beng!

• MrBmwman on Oct 26, 2012 at 1:41 am

Lexus LS may look aggresive, but still can’t match the germans in terms of driving dynamics, performance, handling and safety.

Besides, Lexus LS still looks like an Ah Pek car, just like previous generations from my view.

• Mercedes Benz on Oct 27, 2012 at 9:42 pm

Mercedes S-Class and BMW 7 Series looks even ahpek compare to Lexus LS…
        Actually this full size luxury sedan segment are meant for ahpek not young man car like 911 GT3 RS, GT-R, 370Z, Lexus GS

• MrCounterstrike on Oct 29, 2012 at 2:07 am

I agree that this limousine segment is meant for businessman, CEOs, etc. When spending at this range, automatically they opt for S class/7 series as it is worth paying at the price range > 700k for a continental cars compared to Jap cars.

If they want something unique besides S class/7 Series, they can always opt for Audi A8/Jaguar XJL.

However,I still feel the Lexus is even a more ah pek car than 7 series/S class as metion by Mrbmwman above.

• My take after special test drive session:

1.The suspension is lower and a bit firmer too.
    Suspension is more comfort>handling.Did not try to adjust the air suspension.
    2.The button-it fit the demographic buyer e.g over 50 people like manual button more than touch screen(being told that).
    3.Impressively quiet ( as expected ). Imagine carrying your in laws in back seat.Silence….

• Korean Fan on Oct 25, 2012 at 1:49 am

Too bad that the one who would enjoy this car is actually the driver of the rich fella who buy this car.

• Lestat on Oct 25, 2012 at 8:50 am

5.0 V8 with hybrid… what an eco friendly car.

• CKDenthusiast on Oct 25, 2012 at 1:24 pm

Camry! Camry! Camry!
    Overly facelifted and technologcally advanced Camry!

• REAR LAMP COPY FROM F10….