New Lexus LS unveiled, F Sport new addition to range

You’ve already been teased and treated to lots of leaked photos, and now it’s official – the new generation 2013 Lexus LS range has been launched globally, making its debut at the glamorously-named ‘Lexus Laws of Attraction’ exhibit in San Francisco.

The LS 460, LS 460L and hybrid LS 600hL return refreshed, but new to the family is the LS 460 F Sport, boasting exclusive features such as tuned and lowered air suspension (by a centimetre), Brembo brakes with six-pot callipers, sport seats and 19-inch forged wheels.

Buyers have a choice of all-wheel-drive or rear-wheel-drive; if you opt for the latter you get a Torsen limited slip differential at the rear. On the outside, the F Sport has a 3D mesh front grille, bigger cooling openings and round fog lamps to distinguish it from its siblings.

The 386 hp, 4.6 litre V8 seems to be unchanged from the previous-gen model’s, continuing to power all LS variants except for the LS 600hL, which pairs a 5.0 litre V8 with two electric motors and remains the most powerful of the group with its combined output of 438 hp.

The LS 460 and its long-wheelbase L variant also come with either all-wheel-drive or rear-wheel-drive, while the LS 600hL is available with all-wheel-drive only.

So what’s really new across the range, apart from exterior changes and the much touted ‘spindle grille’? Gadgetry. We’re talking about Lexus here, so bear with me.

Ever concerned with ride quality, Lexus says its flagship car now pitches and bounces less thanks to new frequency-dependent dampers. It has also improved body rigidity, noise insulation, steering and brakes.

A Pre-Collision Safety (A-PCS) system with Collision Avoidance Assist, which Lexus says is the most advanced in the industry, is a new safety feature. At speeds below 38 km/h, when it senses an impending collision the system brings the car to a halt, not unlike Volvo’s City Safety system.

The Blind Spot Monitor is now offered on the LS, in tandem with Rear Cross Traffic Alert, which warns you of an approaching car when you reverse out of a parking space.

Other new features include, but are not limited to, Lexus Climate Concierge, which controls the individual cabin temperature for each occupant, as well as the temperatures of the seats and steering wheel; a 12.3-inch split-display LCD on the dashboard; Remote Touch, which brings all vehicle functions together on a controller located on the centre console (like BMW’s iDrive) and Lexus Enform with App Suite, which enables one to do a wide range of things through connection of their mobile phone, including search on Bing or check in on Facebook.

Look after the jump for a mega gallery of nearly 100 photos of the new LS.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Alpha on Aug 01, 2012 at 5:23 am

Not a fan of the new steering wheels used across all the Lexus range.It looks dated and weird.The previous ones are better looking.

• Badut Rempit on Aug 01, 2012 at 10:26 am

Luxury interior with weird exterior. I’ll stick to my kapcai.

• Toyota on Aug 01, 2012 at 4:42 pm

I remember going to see the LS460 opposite Tesco recently. It has badges all over the car saying Made by Toyota. So, how to pay close to RM1 million for a car that is in fact, merely a Toyota.

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20090505145723AApWwNN

• carfan on Aug 01, 2012 at 6:34 am

drama

• Desmond on Aug 01, 2012 at 6:46 am

They finally figured out how to make smart key nice..

• kenot on Aug 01, 2012 at 7:15 am

Wow! very sexy luxury car.

• nighttrain on Aug 01, 2012 at 8:12 am

What? No new technology for the engine? Typical Toyota..

• kiddo on Aug 02, 2012 at 9:29 am

that’s because the engine is already advanced enough, and it was so cutting edge when it was unveiled few years back.

For example, the engine features both port injection and direct injection for more thorough combustion. It alsohas VVT-iE at the intake cam and undergoes X-ray inspection and a CT (computed tomography) scan to ensure minimal deformation after the die-casting process. Camshafts are also hollow to minimize weight

• Jolly_idiot on Aug 01, 2012 at 8:28 am

This is an expensive toyota. Don’t play play.

• RedBeanBun on Aug 01, 2012 at 8:55 am

Lexus did it! by Camry-ized (front and back Lamp) and Harrier-ized (the stupid Mouth) to the LS? They spent so much money in the technology and craftmanship, and yet cannot coming out a better design outlook? Ah Bek wont buy this, Young people wont buy this, they are stuck in nowhere…Stop the stupid > < design, its UGLY! like a Predator mouth!! and the head and tail lights really bring it to another level OLD design..

• Whatever on Aug 01, 2012 at 6:49 pm

Its an LS. Which young driver can afford this? Ah pek with style and taste will only get this car. Ah pek with the knowledge that Lexus is a reliable car will get this. Ah pek will know that this car can last long and no problems at all. Beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder. Dont like then dont buy, comment so much negative in the end you still cant afford this. And lets say you can afford this car, if you dont like it. Then 7 series or S class suits you better. Simple as that :)

• Albert on Aug 01, 2012 at 9:21 am

If you work hard for your money, just pure sweat with no corruption, would you spend RM800,000 for a disguised “Toyota” or would you spend it on a Mercedes S350 knowing that your Merc has good resale value and you can dispose it fast as opposed to the Lexus taking months to sell as well as the price of the Lexus dropping to well below 400k in 3 years time.

• i will take lexus, sekian

• ramun on Aug 01, 2012 at 1:26 pm

I may not buy this car but surely I will test drive this. & I guess i will choose this over Merc

• cosmo on Aug 04, 2012 at 10:47 pm

erm, i think i also will choose Lexus… u knw why? simply bcoz i really know cars well… try to grab any of the German car owner and ask… they can tell u for nightssss non-stop about their “prestige car” problems…. jz believe me…

• thebosssedangbercakap on Aug 01, 2012 at 9:30 am

I’ve clicked meh because I’m JELLY…

• mohsin on Aug 01, 2012 at 9:54 am

sama je aku tgk dgn GS!

• mohsin on Aug 01, 2012 at 10:00 am

Ahah! Spotted!
    no more Myvi silver steering anymore!

• Han!h on Aug 01, 2012 at 10:27 am

That is a one big mouth.

• Oh come me, WRITTER OF THIS WRITE UP, I know you aren’t a Lexus fan at all, but at least try to get your facts right!! IT’S A FACELIFT OF THE CURRENT LS…. NOT A NEW GENERATION….

• leonon on Aug 01, 2012 at 10:54 am

Mr Ron, please do your homework before making such a comment. You’re just embarrassing yourself.

• BMWMERCAREOVERRATED on Aug 01, 2012 at 11:17 am

So Mr. Leonon have you done yours? This is a re-styled model of the 4th generation LS. Not a new generation. This 4th generation is a 2007 model and it’s only normal to launch a facelift for a luxury sedan like this not a new generation only within 5 to 6 years. You must be some proton buyer that doesn’t know the flow and you have just embarrassed yourself further by acting like you know alot.

• from www.autoguide.com:-

JUST LIKE THE PREVIOUS GENERATION, the hybrid LS600hL remains only available in long-wheelbase trim and with AWD. Conversely the new LS460 F-Sport, like the LS460 and LS460L, is available with RWD or AWD. Both wheelbases are available on the F-Sport, and while the interior trim in the hybrid is environmentally-conscious bamboo, the F-Sport features actual aluminum trim and larger bolsters on the seats……

From www.worldcarfans.com:-
          After a couple of leaked photos and the first official images, we now have the full scoop on the upcoming 2013 Lexus LS luxury sedan that adopts a bolder design compared to the outgoing model….

Mr. BMWcaroverated, please check the facts before you try to be smart and really cause a HUGE embrassment to youself…

by the way, how many years for a car manufacturer to launch a new model? 10 years? go check your beloved BMW or MERZ..etc…only proton and myvi take longer time to restyle their cars and launch new models. So, I think you are the “some” REAL proton buyer..

• obvious you haven;t done your’s as well. asian car makers roll out a facelift every 2.5 years, and a new gen every 5 years. as opposed to conti makes where they will only launch a new gen every 10 years.

its the maker, not whether its a luxury sedan or not. geddit ?

• leonon on Aug 01, 2012 at 12:43 pm

Mr BMWMercareoverrated.

For someone who seems to know the flow…
          Hope this info helps.

1 First generation (XF10)
          1.1 1989–1992
          1.2 1992–1994
          2 Second generation (XF20)
          2.1 1994–1997
          2.2 1997–2000
          3 Third generation (XF30)
          3.1 2000–2003
          3.2 2003–2006
          4 Fourth generation (XF40)
          4.1 2006–2009
          4.2 2009–2012

• BMWMERCAREOVERRATED on Aug 01, 2012 at 1:29 pm

Still, this is a facelift and not a new generation. Just like the RX recent facelift. Where lexus is trying to incorporate their signature facia on all their models. Doesnt mean it is a new generation. This lexus ls came out on 2007 and have gone through a few changes in between. After this facelift which is already in 5 to 6 years, how long will it take to launch the 5th generation of LS after this? You do the calculation.

BoXy, Dont shoot back for the sake of it. Go and read more.

Zen, just go do some research. U think Lexus is some typical asian car?

• Paul Tan on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:07 pm

zen, you are wrong.

non-premium brands launch cars every 5 years.

premium brands usually launch cars around 7 years. bmw and mercedes use 7… the others vary.

lexus has so far used a 6ish year lifecycle.

there’s no 10 years, or any difference between japanese and german.

• BMWMERCAREOVERRATED on Aug 01, 2012 at 5:46 pm

Still refusing to believe that this is just a facelift? During the live reveiling of the car last monday. They did mention it is a “restyling” not “redesign” thus still putting this car at the 4th generation of the ls line. Cosmetic changes exterior and interior. Lexus is the best and most reliable car in the world. No doubt to it.

• suka-suka jer on Aug 01, 2012 at 6:34 pm

kan dah uncle tan dah marah :)
          dengar tu kanak-kanak..
          sila dapat kan fakta betul dari uncle tan :)

• Ryan.C on Aug 01, 2012 at 10:52 am

Lexus mouth getting big n big….
    next time even bigger than lorry!

• Rear tail lights looks nice… Wonder if Lexus will follow trend like the German marques to produce turbo engines. Like our current e class and 5 series and A6. Love the Toyota turbo engines such as the 1jz gte that runs on VVTI.

• matlimmutu on Aug 01, 2012 at 11:39 am

design so teruk!!

• AlexLHthis on Aug 01, 2012 at 12:19 pm

I’ll stick to a GS

• kiddo on Aug 01, 2012 at 12:57 pm

Well, I would say this report is not really complete and informative. A lot of things have been left out.

Things like full LED exterior lightings (including the DRL), a 5.6” display on the instrument panel, paddle shifters available now for the F-Sport model, laser welding for improved rigidity and so on.

Paultan might be the only widely-known automotive source in Malaysia but at times, there could be more information.

www.lexusenthusiast.com and bmwblog.com are very good at this.

• zam ree on Aug 01, 2012 at 2:44 pm

The grille remind me of the Predator’s mounth..ugly.

• This is how the lexus front looks like:
    >o.<#

• Condemn condemn condemn. That’s all Malaysians do. I bet 90% of the people condemning the new LS can’t afford it. Not saying that I can afford it, but if it’s ugly so be it. Need to build a car to cater to your eyes even if you can’t afford it? Oh, okay. So you’d choose an S class over this ‘Toyota’. Right, when are you taking delivery of your S class?

A Toyota is a Toyota, a Lexus is a Lexus. Saying that a Lexus is an overpriced Toyota is wrong, because a Lexus is more refined than a Toyota in many ways, and the only thing they’d share is the engine and possibly the platform.

How come I don’t hear you say the LFA is a Toyota 86 in disguise, you dimwit?

• Whatever on Aug 01, 2012 at 6:34 pm

Thank you. Hands down.

• ScuderiaVincero on Aug 01, 2012 at 8:41 pm

Thank you. Just, thank you!

• nighttrain on Aug 03, 2012 at 3:05 pm

Have you ever heard of a Toyota Harrier also known as a Lexus? Or a Land Cruiser called a Lexus? Who’s the dimwit now, dumbass.. simply call people stupid.

• bimmerdude on Aug 01, 2012 at 5:16 pm

Wow, a Camry with a fancy nose job.

• A Camry? Dude, thats like comparing your 5 series to a 7 series. Get your facts right. They’re not even in the same category.

• retard on Aug 01, 2012 at 10:03 pm

ano…Lexus is just a lexus. a toyota on steroid. it is a good car but still doesn’t have a wow factor. after a few years, we can find a modified ah beng lexus with black paint, big exos pipe, fancy lighting in and out, overdose sound system etcs etcs. there goes the normal lexus….nothing extraordinary. enjoy you lexus biskit.

• 1jzx100 on Aug 01, 2012 at 10:23 pm

Lexus LS is the best car in the world..reliable and last long…I m sick to prone problematic electronic on BMW or Merc….bring the toyota century or toyota crown majesta to Malaysia and all continental car dealer here will sweat in pants!…Lexus LS=Toyota Celsior, Lexus GS=Toyota Aristo, Lexus ES=Toyota Windom, Lexus IS=Toyota Altezza…if you have a chance go and test drive these lexus/toyotas then you know how the car is supposed to perform and build…my hat-off to Japanese…

• As usual, ugly exterior

• v-power on Aug 02, 2012 at 4:17 pm

The spindle grille aka predator face, or whatever you want to name it…is an INSPIRED piece of design…despite all the brickbats, which is unfortunate really. Why…? For those who really UNDERSTAND car design, the front-end is THE signature piece and it’s not an easy task to claim originality in this day and age…

Peugeot, Audi as well as Lancer & GTR also sport gaping/elongated grille that stretch across the ‘face’…but I don’t see them get bashed as much as the Lexus. The designers tweaked the idea further with the LS & made it aesthetically more ‘garang’ and taut…and I honestly think it resembles a sculptured piece of art.

The reason is simple. The LS’s design has to last 6 – 10 years & still appear fresh, stylish and sharp…’safe’ & conventional designs usually wear you out really quickly. Only then will people realise why car designers are a rare bunch & get paid very good money…and why people need to look REALLY hard before bashing…but then again once a basher always a basher right…?

BTW I’m not biased on Lexus, I dig cars that pushes the design envelope…peace

• Stay tune to facelift w212 E-class. There are having massive restyling to it too.. I bet alots of ppl miht mistaken it as another new generation.

• Bell&Ross on Aug 03, 2012 at 1:35 pm

last gen kena bashed for looking too boring. current gen looks sharp also kena bash. go back drive ur proton and hyundai la dei. not a fan of the car, but i think it looks way interesting than its competitiors, bar the jag.

• ad muhammad on Aug 12, 2012 at 3:09 am

this car is super sexy!

• tricycle on Oct 24, 2012 at 8:55 am

I think design wise exterior and interior, the car looks good, better actually.

But I still don’t like it. Mainly because of the fuel consumption.

Of course those who buy the car can afford to fill their tank, but you can get expensive and luxurious continental with turbo charged with small displacement engine. And pretty much powerful as well.

When Toyota/Lexus/Honda switch to turbo charged small displacement, I may like them back.

Bottom line, low fuel consumption and 6-7ish of 0-100 is sufficient to me.