GALLERY: Ford S-Max – 2nd-gen in SDAC showrooms

Ford S-Max 2nd gen MY-30

The second-generation Ford S-Max, which was spied last December alongside the third-generation Everest SUV on Malaysian roads, is set to be formally introduced very soon, but it’s already on show ahead of its debut – the CD539E is being displayed as a preview at both SDAC’s outlets in Petaling Jaya; I happened to chance upon the MPV when I went to check on a status of a parts order.

Like its predecessor, the first-gen S-Max, the new seven-seat MPV – which made its debut in Paris last year – is available in a solitary 2.0 litre EcoBoost guise, the 240 PS and 345 Nm SCTi unit essentially carried over unchanged from the CD340. The mill, which features auto start/stop, is paired with a SelectShift six-speed auto transmission.

The Malaysian car is a Titanium spec model, which is the mid-level variant in the UK market, and though the 17-inch wheel (and 235/55 aspect tyres) follow the trim’s configuration, the local car features a unique 10-spoke design unit.

Standard kit includes an eight-inch TFT touchscreen infotainment system with SYNC 2, a dual-zone electronic climate control system and rear AC vents, an electronic parking brake as well as a 10.1-inch colour TFT cluster display. An electro-mechanical remote seat fold release function is to be found for second- and third-row seating, and the second-row seats feature an aft adjustable seat track.

A number of otherwise optional items for the S-Max make their way on as standard equipment in the local car. A nine-speaker Sony audio system is one such bit, and replaces the standard eight-speaker Ford audio system found in the Titanium.

The presence of automatic front seat adjustment controls and leather seats on the display unit means that the Malaysian S-Max comes equipped with an optional Titanium X Pack. Aside from the full micro-perforated leather wrap and eight-way driver/eight-way front passenger seat adjustment, the pack brings along adaptive LED headlights with auto levelling.

The front seats also feature heater and cooling functions, and we’re told that an optional built-in massage function has been ticked, the function selectable via the eight-inch touchscreen. There’s no mention of a hands-free tailgate feature, so that is likely not on.

Safety kit includes front, driver’s knee, side and curtain airbags as well ESC, roll stability control, EBD, TCS, hill launch assist and lane departure warning and assist (here, called lane keeping alert/aid). While the UK market runs with nine exterior colour choices, only three are available for the S-Max here, these being Frozen White, Moondust Silver and Magnetic Grey.

Pricing, meanwhile, hasn’t been revealed, but an indicative figure is that the CD539E will retail around the RM230-240k mark, which is quite a bump up from the ask for the first-gen 240 PS variant. Guess we’ll know soon.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Frugal on Feb 25, 2016 at 6:09 pm

Where my Focus?

• james on Feb 25, 2016 at 6:25 pm

S-Max or Sharan? Difficult choice

• tadulako on Feb 25, 2016 at 6:42 pm

this car looks new, if the design is shown 2 years ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • shawal on Feb 25, 2016 at 6:54 pm

Wheres ford edge with 2.0 ecoboost

• Ah Kai on Feb 25, 2016 at 7:02 pm

SDAC..will you keep up the spare parts inventory before selling cars? Parts from SG reached here minimum for 1 month? How far SG to MY? WTF?

• Tadalaku 1M on Feb 25, 2016 at 10:29 pm

Maybe Ah pek send the parts on foot?

• Saitam on Feb 26, 2016 at 10:52 am

Peoguet also same… no parts under warranty. owner have to source the parts themselves from SG.
      Buy a Rm200k worth of headache back. Good luck to all potential owners.

On the bright side, this engine same as the Evoque. Some consolation for your bragging right…

• FreakOBoost on Feb 26, 2016 at 2:57 pm

on another bright side, the engine same as the newly launch Jaquar XE Prestige and XE R-Sport. But output same as XE R-Sport :-D

• i am pro samloo on Feb 25, 2016 at 8:00 pm

Many errors anthony….. actually brochure is available. You missed quite some important features!

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Feb 26, 2016 at 8:06 pm

Two, as it turns out, and overestimates – the optional Sony audio system fitted as standard on the MY car runs with nine speakers, instead of the 12 specified in the UK model, and the powered driver’s seat is identical to the front passenger’s, being an eight-way instead of the 10-way found in the UK version.

The powered seats and adaptive LED headlights (standard, halogen) correctly points to the presence of the optional Titanium X Pack being configured for the MY S-Max. I was told that the local model also ticked the box for the massage function for the front seats; it’s only available with the presence of the Sony system (the standard Titanium fitment is an eight-speaker Ford audio system).

One more thing, the 10.1-inch colour cluster display is not mentioned in the literature, but this is standard fit for the UK Titanium level model – it might well be the local car features a 4.2-inch found from the baseline Zetec. Also, the hands-free tailgate is not listed, but that is also an option for other markets.

Malaysian-spec models have long been rojak in their specifications vis-a-vis UK (and Australian) models – the Focus ST, Fiesta ST and current Mondeo have shown that, containing a unique mix of kit and optional packs as standard. In any case, I have transcribed other aspects of the features list available on the local version into the story. Thanks for the spot.

• Stop the UK AUS on Feb 27, 2016 at 2:05 pm

stop comparing uk aus la wei…. in aus we get titanium 5dr and titanium 4dr focus. u guys back in malaysia dont. everytime u guys compare tit to tit so bloody confusing mate

• insider on Feb 25, 2016 at 8:07 pm

omgggg what an idiot… odyssey 255k with much much worse spec you never complain? Some more honda malaysia import japan 0% import duty as japan malaysia fta. This smax from europe no fta need to pay 30% import duty.

Malaysian nowadays bodoh. Toyota honda price high good margin big bonus is ok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • alldisc on Feb 26, 2016 at 11:42 am

lets say vios is 15k cost (parts & assembly jig). include margin for UMW (profit & dealer’s cost etc) becomes 30K. add 75% excise is 22.5K. total 52.5K, GST adds another 3K. total 55K. that price will actually kill Proton and Perodua, so Toyota (as well as Nissan with Almera and Honda with Jazz/City) is asked to push the car prices to 70K mark. believe me – that is how the price structures work.

Kia Spectra in CBU form from Korea was 8K only, cheaper to import than assemble. but Naza agreed to sell at 84k, therefore giving nice buffer to Proton but essentially making good revenue for the group division.

when they got rich, they put the money in property instead (Naza TTDI) which can make a lot more money and a lot less focus on automotive.

• Ginvera on Feb 25, 2016 at 8:11 pm

Mondeo has the best safety features under 200k. Adaptive cruise control, forward collision, lane dep warning, etc etc. Can you find those on your camry hybird? Samloo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • err the 308 has all of those safety features too. and the Focus & 2008 also has forward collision mitigation. All 3 cars are under RM150k

• Aaron on Feb 25, 2016 at 10:38 pm

Ginvera are you really serious? Our Mondeo suffers from the lack of BLIS and lane departure warning, nor is there the Active City Stop, enhanced Active Park Assist or Pre-Collision Assist with Pedestrian Detection seen on higher-spec Australian models. And the otr price with insurance is RM204k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • Ginvera on Feb 26, 2016 at 9:27 am

Lane dep warning + assist is in the mondeo. Go showroom see yourself (but i dont blame you, ppl in paultan most probably afford myvi or vios only, especially those harping on mustang but in actual cannot afford also talk no1).

You have no business brain aalan. Those so called australian spec is overkill for its segment in malaysia.

• Sam Lorr on Feb 26, 2016 at 10:44 am

If you like to pay for gimmicky features that you don’t need, go ahead.

2 features in the camry hybrid not found in Mondeo, reliability, good RV, good service network and parts. Opps, thats 3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • SDAC is the worst car dealer ever. They ruined Alfa in Malaysia and now they’re killing Ford as well. Firstly, stupid pricing & trim level for the Fiesta ST. Secondly, ridiculous decals & unnecessary bodykits for the Fiesta EcoBoost. Thirdly, importing cars with shitty ‘dualshift’ gearboxes. And lastly, the one that really ticked me off is the expected pricing for the Mustang. RM450k for a 2.3 EcoBoost Mustang? Please la in the UK & US the EcoBoost is the same price as an entry level 4 series / Mondeo. Even if you say it’s due to ‘taxes’, it shouldn’t even come close to RM300k.

Even having Ford being under NAza seems more appealing now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • Samloo on Feb 26, 2016 at 9:29 am

You cant afford to buy anything more than myvi or vios so why you complain? Good RV should be your priority.

• alldisc on Feb 26, 2016 at 12:27 pm

its hard not to notice that Naza pricing is crazy as well. look at the Aveo Sedan. and Cruze with 120hp 1.8 engine and 2 airbags. not much difference when the brand was under DRB (with Super dealer Cergazam, now dealer for VW and Ford at Mutiara Damansara)

• alldrum on Feb 26, 2016 at 7:06 pm

Go get your facts right before you start talking. Since when did Cruze came with 120hp from it’s 1.8 engine. The actual output of 140hp is up to par with many engines especially the one in the Altis 2.0 that only produces 143hp on crank.And at least Cruze comes with ESP and TC where many C segment cars are not equipped with. And all that for 105k.

• alldrum on Feb 26, 2016 at 7:09 pm

Go get your facts right before you start talking. Since when did Cruze came with 120hp from it’s 1.8 engine. The actual output of 140hp is up to par with many engines especially the one in the Altis 2.0 that only produces 145hp on crank.And at least Cruze comes with ESP and TC where many C segment cars are not equipped with. And all that for 105k.

• yaudi on Feb 26, 2016 at 9:07 am

Audi Q3 taillights much?

• Joyrider on Feb 26, 2016 at 9:26 am

Is there a market for new MPV priced around RM230~240k? In Malaysia, any MPV that is price above RM200k are dominated by grey import of Alphard/Vellfire/Estima. No chance at all for other makes to have a slice of the pie with the taxation. Perhaps only for the niche.

• mr_em on Feb 26, 2016 at 12:00 pm

joyrider,

yes this car really is for the niche… probably was never ever meant for the mainstream…

and for those who comment a lot but never driven one, please go to the Ford showroom in PJ and see the car for yourself… do test drive it even if you cant afford it… i have to admit SDAC is not that good, they are quite bad in aftersales… their sales volume is supported by the Rangers and Fiestas you see on the road…

anyhow back to the SMax… you will get the point when you actually drive it (especially when your family have grown in numbers)… so best not to judge anything purely by its appearance…