SPIED: Honda Grace/City Hybrid captured in Malaysia

Honda Grace

Honda Malaysia has already confirmed that there were no plans to introduce the City Hybrid in Malaysia – which makes this sighting of a Japanese-market Honda Grace Hybrid on our roads by reader PingShien Chuah all the more curious.

This particular car was spotted with its usual JDM emissions stickers and Grace Hybrid badging, and has already been registered. This differs from the one time we saw an evaluation mule for the City Hybrid’s then-incoming introduction into the local market – that one only had a City badge and a trade plate.

Question is, is this a long term feasibility study by Honda Malaysia? Although the window for the special duty exemptions for hybrids and EVs have been closed, the City Hybrid could still find a way into the market thanks to specialised incentives as part of the government’s Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) initiative.

On the other hand, this might simply be a grey market import, brought in by either an enterprising dealer or a single owner with an AP. Either way, power comes from a Sport Hybrid i-DCD (Intelligent Dual Clutch Drive) system, consisting of a 110 PS/134 Nm 1.5 litre i-VTEC Atkinson cycle engine, a 29.5 PS/160 Nm electric motor and a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission.

GALLERY: Honda Grace Hybrid

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Bring in to Malaysia pls.

• Jimmy on Mar 28, 2016 at 5:31 pm

When Honda sells Honda City at rm25k to Lee Kuan Yew, the Singaporean Police must be able to prove that there is a deal, in order to prove that Mr Lee makan suap. Or Honda is guilty.

There must be a proven deal, which involves the people in Singapore.

When a father give a bmw to a son, it is a family deal, in which the father hope for a good relationship so that the son will take care of him when the father is old.

There is no written law saying that Clinton cannot sell his one-year-old Camry at USD fifty only to his friend.

Finally, a good leader is a good leader, don’t be jealous if he bought Honda City at rm25k, as long as there is no abuse. Prove it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • But when my bestest fren sold me his Rolls-Royce for 25k only, then later I make sure kau-kau he become my company’s preferred sole supplier, that is no problem right? After all, it doesnt come with jacuzzi

• Gargantia on Mar 28, 2016 at 7:55 pm

Whenever people heard Hybrid all expect “low car price” compared to petrol fuel car… BUT in Malaysia aka Bolehland PM make (EV cars 100% tax) and it add more expensive on to the existing high taxes car price on market !!! Thanks to BN and the ministers.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Mar 28, 2016 at 5:19 pm

How Bizarre to see this rare city. Really got someone so silly and bought this on hand.

• alldisc on Mar 28, 2016 at 5:41 pm

When u go to Sabah and Sarawak, u can notice several models grey import which are not popular to peninsular. Cars like sv40 camry, isuzu vehicross, or latest Toyota Prado and FJ… Which previously not coming at all to peninsular

• This is the usual Honda City with rebadged Grace emblem. You can check this out in Honda City 6th Gen group. Knowing Malaysia, we are really comfortable with what we have….

• Attention seeker on Mar 28, 2016 at 5:59 pm

Malaysians just like to have the extra attention on them knowing they are driving a “unique” car. See how Brother’s and other car accessories business flourish. It’s just a “Grace” emblem on an ordinary Honda City.

• Could be, but it could also be just a real imported AP vehicle. Maybe a malaysian student in Japan who bought a Grace and has to bring it back? I have friends in the Diplomatic Corp who brought back Oddyseys and even Wish (and we have plenty here).

Just saying coz the tail lamp does have a blue-ish tint to it. And i have personally never seen someone selling japanese sticker for the window anywhere.

• zafroo on Mar 28, 2016 at 7:46 pm

Honda City 6th Gen group has it. They bought the tail lamps from japan, and fit it into their existing honda city. The rest, as someone already mentioned, they just replaced the emblem and wording.

• policeman on Mar 28, 2016 at 6:49 pm

Anybody else sick of Honda?

Same old rattly misaligned plastic interior + loud road/tyre/wind/rain noise + leaky gearbox + feminine design.

I barf each time I see a Honda.

• Old horse on Mar 28, 2016 at 7:06 pm

Prius-C killer

• dodgeviper88 on Mar 28, 2016 at 7:08 pm

To all those saying they just change the emblem, do take note that those tail lamps are LED ones which the local spec do not have.

• City Owner on Mar 28, 2016 at 8:54 pm

tail lamp can be imported directly from japan tho, all you need is money

• bodoh never read on Mar 28, 2016 at 7:42 pm

lol this car got so many recalls until honda malaysia puts off the plan.