SPIED: 2016 Proton Perdana 2.0L, including interior

12986349_10209305572906321_1257327556_o

After plenty of spyshots of the 2016 Proton Perdana in range-topping 2.4 litre guise, here’s our first look at the base 2.0 litre model (the trim level is shown on the key fob in one of the photos), thanks to reader Will Yap. These photos show several differences in spec compared to the more luxurious variant.

Firstly, the car seen here doesn’t have the bodykit that is fitted on the 2.4 model, although the bootlid lip spoiler remains. The wheels, however, look to feature the same design as on the 2.4, despite Proton saying that the 2.0 litre model will get a different design – albeit in the same 17-inch size.

Inside, there’s a full-black interior as previously reported, rather than the 2.4’s two-tone black-and-beige scheme. Other changes include greyish trim panels compared to the wood trim found on the higher-end model, along with leather-fabric combination upholstery (the 2.4 litre model features full leather). Otherwise, the cabin looks to be identical to the top-spec variant, right down to the large twin centre displays.

13016413_10209305573146327_1987225608_o

Other than what can be discerned visually, there are other equipment differences which Proton has confirmed. These include manual adjustment for the driver’s seat – rather than electric on the 2.4 litre model – as well as the omission of stability control. Both models get four airbags, however.

To be built at Proton’s Medium Volume Factory in Shah Alam (current government-only Perdana is made by Honda Malaysia in Melaka), the 2016 Perdana is expected to launch later this month – with the order books already opened – retaining the Accord’s 154 hp/189 Nm R20A3 2.0 and 177 hp/222 Nm K24Z2 2.4 litre i-VTEC engines and five-speed automatic transmission.

A revision is slated to arrive by the end of 2017, with the Perdana set to receive a new NE01 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine, acquired from Petronas in 2012. Also being considered is Proton’s new 1.5 litre turbocharged, direct-injected TGDI engine, claimed to be able to produce 180 hp and 250 Nm. Whichever powertrain ends up being slotted in, a new torque converter CVT automatic is expected to become standard fare come end-2017.

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Perdana teased
GALLERY: 2016 Proton Perdana rendered

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Petronas Guys is baffle with the Potong interior on Apr 12, 2016 at 12:43 pm

Check out the Petronas guy reaction from the reflection off the window, he is like “Dalam nampak sama je dengan Honda accord lama, apa Potong buat…oh yea ada Taiwan punya screen lagi satu, potong ambil 2 tahun untuk modify satu screen kat dalam…it jee”….be laughing thinkin which moron gonna pay MR150K for this so call potong car !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 140 Thumb down 93
    • Bad dol on Apr 12, 2016 at 12:57 pm

Obviously u r blind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 90
      • Every1canTalk on Apr 12, 2016 at 1:36 pm

Potong says it will bring out a hybrid by end-2014, the fact is failed..
        Potong say will introduce an EV commercially by the end of 2015, the fact is failed..
        Potong say all new Banana will launch Q1 2016, the fact is failed..
        Potong say a new torque converter CVT automatic is expected to become standard fare come end-2017, ah ham duli lahh.. lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 22
        • Albert on Apr 12, 2016 at 2:16 pm

The other day, insider from proton said ,the RECALCITRANT vendors are considering a MOGOK (LIKE TAXI GANGSTERS) STRIKE if they are not paid.
          Anyway,the bladdy mus arranged the bailout and averted a strike.
          True or not….or an element of truth ,u judge for yourself.
          Prootong……the largest receipient of gomen bailout (RM 14 +1.5=15.5 Billion).
          Tak malu.ptui..pengemis betul betul.
          DRB,MMC…got mega MRT,double tracking projects…still ask for bailout…tak malu.Shambolic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
          • Syukurlah ada BN, my share in Proton is secure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
          • Same L00 on Apr 13, 2016 at 8:23 pm

Look is never Proton problem, is the QUALITY! A beautiful junk is still a junk.

• camtakpro on Apr 14, 2016 at 11:03 am

Looks are one of the problem. Anything after Satria Neo is horrible.

• Gargantia on Apr 12, 2016 at 2:21 pm

Tun DrM promise “totally different Exterior and Interior from 8th gens Accord until UNRECOGNIZED !!!” Exterior maybe different BUT WHY the interior as same as 8th gen beside the “steering wheel”??? Tun DrM say keep paying money for upgrade BUT upgrade still look the same??? Different 1mm in wide-angle ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
      • I have seen this interior 10 years ago!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
        • Attendant saying “ehh.. don’t play-play inside the car”.. :-S

• Albert on Apr 12, 2016 at 5:23 pm

Tokok johnnie,u are spineless.One day u angkat Prootong.Another day,u run down Protong.
          Be a man,not a spineless jelly.
          Shameful political supporter with everlasting perlindungan.Tak malu.

• f30suck on Apr 12, 2016 at 7:50 pm

Have seen same dashboard design on every BMW since 20 years ago, so?

• RavenAii (Member) on Apr 14, 2016 at 6:12 pm

Actually the current Perdana’s dashboard(the ones in the picture) reminicent of the 8th generation Honda Accord except the difference of the center console and the steering wheel. It looks alot alike if you compare both interior side by side.

• Bangsa on Apr 12, 2016 at 1:02 pm

Awak sudah salah faham bang, luar rekaan guna terlalu panjang masa utk siap jadi tak ada masa lagi reka dalam krn masa dah sampai utk lancar kt pasaran. Org atasan tak nk tunggu lg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
      • john doe on Apr 12, 2016 at 4:21 pm

Duh,

Haven’t you heard the word “concurrent”. Obviously in any product development, both exterior and interior will be developed in parallel with two different teams. What a comment, boy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • I going to to pay rm80k for this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
    • hes just doing his job….serve customer and help fill up the car…

• OMG…what so special about this old Honda interior? in year 2008, i had seen this interior design lah… To P1, this is not new interior lah,this is 8years old design lah…still wanna spyshot until when…LOL..beh tahan lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
      • junkard on Apr 12, 2016 at 7:53 pm

OMG…clearly you are newbie dun know anything about rebadging and platform sharing

• Albert on Apr 12, 2016 at 2:07 pm

Bradder petronas guys,
      The facelift is already launched in INdonesia.
      Honda Malaysia(big sister),will allow this rebadge Accordana end April launch,then….true Honda fanboys……your facelifted Accord will be here come June 2016.
      Maybe just top up a little or slightly lengthen your loan tenure,one will be driving the latest Accord,makes sense?
      If u have the budget,will u get a stale Hondana or latest Accord?
      If u can afford Starbucks,why go for a normal kopiko?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • If i was him i wont come closer to the car…anyway interior look terrible but not sure about the exterior.

• Andas on Apr 12, 2016 at 4:20 pm

Wont come near the car, yet still wanna comment here.. aiyo..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • CutProtonSomeSlack on Apr 13, 2016 at 6:27 am

I didn’t not know why you guys are even complaining about the interior . The interior of the latest accord doesn’t even look that much better than of this car

• Redidiot on Apr 12, 2016 at 8:19 pm

I feel you. But personally, they should’ve done like what Infinity/Nissan did. They’re using a M.Benz dna for a model, but it looks nothing like its donor.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Apr 12, 2016 at 12:55 pm

Same old Accord dash. Nothing to hide and shout about PROTON’s inability to design dashboards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
    • karam singh on Apr 12, 2016 at 1:44 pm

Yawn..

• Gargantia on Apr 12, 2016 at 2:25 pm

Maybe Tun DrM miss saying “Interior 1mm different from wide-angle” !!! So need to ask 1.5 billions from Tax Payer money !!!

• loler on Apr 12, 2016 at 7:55 pm

But..but…but Honda ori donor car dun have lotus ride and handling, so boring

LOL

• proton taking ages to launch an old accord and there are minimal difference. wonder how much they are planning to sell it, if its priced above 100k noone will buy as be better of with the latest gen accord..saga look un interesting too..looks like its gonna be a bad one yet again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • DOA-lah, Syukur-lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • Real Nab-eh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • policeman on Apr 12, 2016 at 1:05 pm

There are pics of the headlamp uncovered. It does not look good, especially the side where its now oval instead of accords sharp angle.

• Howly on Apr 12, 2016 at 1:07 pm

Very fat guy would like to sit in this car.Look at the front seat space.No need to check in budget hotel dy.All in 1 vehicle.Smart p1,look for maksiat people to buy sure sell fast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • faizulamin on Apr 12, 2016 at 1:07 pm

still.

signal turn lever is on the right. should be on our left hand.

sigh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • Obviously its a honda accord rebadge.
    Worse is they rebadge the previous generation accord!!!

Just wonder what they will do with the 1.5billion loan from the gov as i can’t see any RnD, creativity and innovation from this 25 yr old company.

SPEECHLESS!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
    • Albert on Apr 12, 2016 at 2:20 pm

Goh,R n D ?
      It stands for ‘research and donation(into my pocket)”.Now 1.5 billion,next will ask for 2…..(Tun said it is a crime to talk now).

• Untuk duit poket, duit bonus pekerja, director fee, duit royalty utk Honda Japan krn guna model lama yg dah scrap.

• Bijan on Apr 12, 2016 at 1:10 pm

P1 hebat Mele Top!

• I_Miss_You_by_Blink_182 on Apr 12, 2016 at 1:14 pm

Honestly, it does look inferior to several in this category, and still charging RM150k for a product produced from taxpayers’ money. If they keep protecting this brand, there will hardly be any worthwhile improvements. The US, UK etc opens up their market to international cars without over-taxing, that’s how they force their local car producers to compete with the best in the world. Potong simply is unable to compete internationally, much like the mindset of most in this country sadly..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
  • common sensor on Apr 12, 2016 at 1:17 pm

Interior is so outdated. Carry over of the old Accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • this ugly shape specially that huge backside is what you get when you get a Fiber shop to work for you… I mean that Kit car maker in Kepong who was paid Millions by Tun to do this ugly car. shame… interior is all same but they added the 7inci radio from Iriz. who will buy this old car compared to what comes from Korea or Japan? day dream DRB.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • gotoschool on Apr 12, 2016 at 7:57 pm

Please go google list of rebadging and cross sharing cars

• No need to disguise..its a failure already..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Shahril on Apr 12, 2016 at 1:54 pm

Smart people would avoid this.
    They can’t even get a rebadged model right and there are already plans for a new engine etc etc.
    No use producing half baked models. Might as well you wait till the new engine comes out then can boast this and that.
    And a 5 speed auto ?
    U gotta be pulling my leg !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • carina on Apr 12, 2016 at 2:07 pm

took so long to change your perdana and ends up with an old accord interior. so how much are you going to sell this? utterly disappointed! close shop lah

• Toyota Sienta on Apr 12, 2016 at 2:07 pm

Alamak ni je dia???!!! keta jepun lagi murah & canggih
    dgn pintu letrik…habis macam bayar hutang!!!

• carina on Apr 12, 2016 at 2:09 pm

and the best part, honda accord facelift launching with you

• FIST (Member) on Apr 12, 2016 at 2:19 pm

Looks very competitive….. If it was launched a decade ago

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Jobless on Apr 12, 2016 at 2:22 pm

A car for losers who cannot afoord the real thing (like the Inspira)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Lol.. Did Paultan purposely put the ‘2016 Honda Accord facelift gets showcased’ news after this one??

• waters on Apr 12, 2016 at 2:31 pm

The news of the day for Proton is a 2008 Honda Accord interior? Yawn. NEXT!!

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Apr 12, 2016 at 2:51 pm

Copy and paste talent wont leaving Proton while we know Tun M has left Proton. This new protonaccord is a proof and evidence

• kereta_lembu on Apr 12, 2016 at 3:01 pm

Fulamak…spyshots again. By the time they unveil the new Perdana, maybe Honda can unveil their all new Honda Accord as well. That would be epic!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Hello to all sifus here. Would the launch of this Perdana affect the resale value of existing Accord owners?

• kereta_lembu on Apr 13, 2016 at 2:08 pm

I’m not a sifu but rest assured that by the time the Perdana is launched, the honda accord that its based on will not be affected. I would think that potential buyers of the new proton perdana might as well get a 2nd hand real Honda Accord for a fraction of the price :)

As for the newer generation Accord owners, do not worry because based on the old Perdana, the next change would take another 20-30 years. By then your current Accord would be ancient history :)

• Cantiknya. Insyallah saya akan beli

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
    • Kenapa saya nk beli perdana nie ramai yg dislike? Saya nk beli perdana ni warna hitam + plate number 1M4U. Nanti bila bawak orang ingat dalam tu menteri or kakitangan kerajaan gred A huhuhu

• baida on Apr 12, 2016 at 8:02 pm

Go ahead buy whatever you want. It’s your money n it is proven Honda engine even though interior is outdated. It shud b a nice comfortable car to drive. People will always complain no matter what. As long as it is safe, comfortable and reliable, go ahead n book one. Hope the price is not too steep. Enjoy your ride.

• oldie on Apr 12, 2016 at 10:04 pm

Gred A? Clearly bashing blindly without knowledge

• Same L0rrr on Apr 12, 2016 at 4:01 pm

Hoi! Buy Toyota Camry better!

• Bawang on Apr 12, 2016 at 3:30 pm

Lawak baca komen2 kat bawah..nmpk sgt org malaysia jenis yg suke judge and complain before tgk the real one..buat sakit hti sndri je complain bnda negative..wake up people!byk lg benda yg kita bole buat dr complain byk2..end up stagnant dan tepu..xmaju2..kuar kete baru, complain lg..sama je..do something good with your life..stop complaining and judging..if its for constuctive then ok..tp nmpk sgt semua cuma nk judge and bash org..mcm tu sampai bila2 negara xkan maju

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
    • Every1canTalk on Apr 12, 2016 at 4:37 pm

Your rojak bahasa + english statement memang confusing jer…
      By the way, the attitude of “terima saje”, “jangan complaint”, “jangan judge” make the country cannot well develop!
      Please wake up, listen to the world and improve accordingly!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • Hentamajela on Apr 12, 2016 at 4:07 pm

Honda tak bagi proton ubah lebih2 dia takut proton boleh buat lebih baik lagi pada honda…sama mcm inspira….melain kan toyota sahaja yg bawak myvi passo dgn tukar bumper aje….kenapa perodua tak ubah body….handling…jgn buat kereta ringan memang jimat minyak tapi bawak laju banyak terbabas….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Honda Fan on Apr 12, 2016 at 4:12 pm

The look of the car is subjective and I do expect this new Accordana to look good even though the Accord interior remains. More importantly to me is the drive, the power, the comfort, the NVH all important. The Accord is the worst in NVH compared to like Teana, Camry and even Mazda 6, so as long as this Accordana is better, it is already good enough.

• Confirm price is 150k? Not worth if really true…

And then if you really wanna buy I suggest quickly do so and get the Honda engine… at least proven… I won’t dare to go try the new engine again after Campro. ..

• Batak on Apr 12, 2016 at 5:01 pm

More testing for the 2.0L, they should test with NPG, cause it might end up as a taxi.

Still waiting for that petronas engine variants thou.

• Jimmy on Apr 12, 2016 at 5:56 pm

Study market properly, be careful with your pricing.

Aftersale service.

Learn something from any failing airline company; good management is very important, even if he is an orang Rusia yang makan semua jenis daging.

• It does not sound logic when a generation older car is competing with newer generation car for such a small market.
    You have money,get the real accord.
    You dont have money,this car does not suit you.get a saga instead.
    Driving this car on road people looking you like a weirdo.
    A sane person wont buy this.

• inspira owner on Apr 12, 2016 at 7:15 pm

For God sake proton…. just launch it damn it…..

• kelvin on Apr 12, 2016 at 11:40 pm

This car only worth 90k max.

• any1here on Apr 13, 2016 at 7:14 am

is it just me or why is the dashboard like double layered?

• Nobody on Apr 13, 2016 at 8:16 am

This car price 92k-110k for below 2.4L spec.

• wow…it is…a honda accord

where’s the perdana?

• Eksidentellor Mu! on Apr 13, 2016 at 8:53 am

So many bad comments but accidentally so many here being the first to come during launch day & accidentally book this car after see & test drive.Then pretend don’t own one.Just bash bash.Hahahaha.So keypoh keypoh just drive your 10 years old myvi quietly lah

• Orang kampong on Apr 13, 2016 at 9:11 am

Orang dah lama pakai, sudah jual pun. Proton use its design, joker sial! Better close shop lar, reduce the tax let Honda be the national car.

• kakaka on Apr 13, 2016 at 3:09 pm

Eh? YOu dun know Mazda Biante chassis is coming from years old ford chassis kah?

Kahkahkah

• Proton on Apr 13, 2016 at 1:25 pm

Fanboys pun tak da duit beli, launch buat apa? Baik tutup je dan balik kampung jual Nasi Lemak

• Najib on Apr 13, 2016 at 4:14 pm

After so many years, this is the best that proton can come up with? Really wtf

• Bernard on Apr 13, 2016 at 8:42 pm

Show the bloody car already!!!

What’s with all the suspense??

Does Proton think they are Tesla?

• Wan Der Lowe on Apr 14, 2016 at 12:42 am

I don’t know about others but somehow I feel excited with every soon-to-launch Proton model. However, whenever actual model comes into the flesh, it makes me a bit dissappointed, particularly those design cues. Some things don’t feel right here and there…