DRIVEN: 2016 Proton Perdana – first impressions

Proton_Perdana_24_Grey_Ext_03

The long-awaited 2016 Proton Perdana was officially launched today, and as a follow-up to the launch story from this morning, which covered the technical aspects of the car in detail, here’s a first impressions report on the second phase development of the new D-segment sedan.

Last month, the automaker assembled a number of motoring journalists for a short evaluation session with the P4-90B on the semi-high speed test track at its Shah Alam facility, where it is assembled.

There, we were given the opportunity to get up close briefly with the new car, which in its current iteration wears a new Proton-styled exterior but is still fully underpinned by the eighth-generation Honda Accord, as was the case when the initial second-gen appeared in December 2013.

Proton_Perdana_24_Grey_Ext_22

Then, the government service version had come complete with its original Honda skin in a case of full badge-engineering. The current civilian outing gets a significantly remodelled body so as to differentiate itself from the first phase offering and the donor car.

The exterior work – along with some minor revisions in the cabin – provides the only artistic and engineering leeway where changes are concerned, such are the restrictions brought about by the platform-sharing agreement with the Japanese automaker.

Some thoughts about the styling. In the metal, the base lines of the exterior are quite pleasant to the sight, even if a number of design elements may look like you’ve seen them before, somewhere else. Without playing spot-the-car in detail, here’s one that’s fairly obvious: the quasi-fastback flow of the roofline. If you’re thinking Jaguar XJ, well, no surprise that the Brit outing provided suitable design inspiration, somewhere in that mix.

I said base lines, because as the 2.0 – sans bodykit – suggests, things are quite resolved, unfettered from up front and from the sides. The rear looks a bit ponderous visually, but this is more an issue with the colour coordination of the bumper and its associated diffuser than with the actual shaping of the tail end.

Originally, the rear diffuser was painted in black, which provided contrast and visual relief. Now, it – as well as the front lip expension on the 2.4 – has gone the body colour route, which makes the overall presentation too heavy-set. Blocky is a view most of the editorial team here shares.

Besides taking away the visual impact from the chrome accent surrounds for the reflectors, the paint scheme also exposes those faux tail pipe blanks (which aren’t cut out) in stark, rather unflattering fashion. The first thing a number of buyers are likely to do is to head on over to the paint shop and turn the diffuser black, we think. Or have the blanks physically cut out.

Interestingly, we were told at the drive session that the doors are carry-over items from the Accord. The dimensions of the metal surface are identical, though the window and its frame have had to be shortened by a couple of inches to accommodate the corresponding C-pillar fixed window and the architecture of the sloping roofline, leaving the door with an extension.

Call it a styling statement or a design flourish, nothing wrong with that, but the protrusion calls attention to the very sharp edges of the plastic end insert of the rubber trim quite noticeably. Because of the way the door has been designed, this will surely be a contact point for operation; not just unpleasant to touch, it looks like an accident waiting to happen. Having pointed this out to the Proton folk, we’re told that it should be rectified as part of running changes.

Inside, the cabin takes on a more familiar feel, with the dashboard layout reminding what it is exactly that underpins the car. The few changes there are consists of new colour schemes and trim (black and grey for the 2.0, beige for the 2.4, with burled walnut trim) and an updated infotainment system, but there’s no escaping that it’s all known ground, the interior.

Despite the new sloped roof, perception of cabin space from the rear is very good. Likewise, seating comfort fore and aft, though a thing to note about the rear seats is how soft the cushions on the test mules were, especially so on the 2.4. Under load, the leather upholstery creased easily, begging the question of long-term durability.

Hafriz, who was also present at the drive, had the same view about the seats. The fabric/leather units on the 2.0 litre looks like they’d be a hardier proposition. Regarding the rear bench, we were told that the cushioning – and technical – aspects for both are identical to that on the Accord, the seats being made by the same company, Johnson Controls.

The initial take on boot space is positive, and to sight should be in the mid to high 400s in terms of volume, though there are some noticeable areas of void and it remains to be seen if the deep set boot will be easy to work with in day-to-day use.

Not much chance to play around with the six-speaker 6.2-inch screen infotainment system (with GPS navigation and a subwoofer on the 2.4), what with the limited drive time in the session, which was cut even shorter by a downpour that closed track time.

With that, on to drive observations. The ignition on the Perdana is keyed, so you’ll have to bring the car to life the old fashioned way. Considering that the Iriz has keyless entry and start, it does take some gloss away from the car, which is supposed to be the automaker’s flagship model.

No mistaking the sound of the two engine options under the hood, which are the R20A3 2.0 litre (154 hp at 6,300 rpm and 189 Nm at 4,300 rpm) SOHC and K24Z2 2.4 litre (178 hp at 6,500 rpm and 222 Nm at 4,300 rpm) DOHC i-VTEC engines from the Accord, paired with a five-speed auto in both cases (with paddle shifters on the 2.4). Everything is carried over wholesale, the engines complete with familiar Honda badging and covers.

This sight sets the tune for everything down the line. So complete is the badge-engineering that the only thing Proton engineers have been able to change in the entire running gear are the tyres, with Goodyear EfficientGrip rubbers replacing the Accord’s Goodyear Excellence units.

Proton claims that the new rubber, which has a lower rolling resistance and better wet grip, makes the Perdana 2dB quieter than the Accord. Aside from that, everything has been brought over as it was in the eight-gen Accord, be it suspension, steering or chassis-related.

As such, the short two laps each around the Proton oval felt like they were being made in an eighth-gen Accord. It was like revisiting the old car, with virtually all the feel, behavioral patterns, strengths and shortcomings of the original present in the Perdana.

Like on the Accord, the 2.0 mill again exhibited better engine response than the 2.4, decidedly snappier and more willing to hustle from the get-go. The 2.4, never the most sprightly thing, continues on here with its relaxed, almost lazy view of the world, unless you stand on it.

Once up to speed, however, the 2.4 comes into its element, feeling more effortless pulling the car along compared to the smaller displacement unit. Ditto the five-speeder, which continues to be a thoroughly competent performer; transitional aspects are good, and shifts up and down the range are clean.

Despite the limited time, it was obvious that ride and handling aspects don’t veer far from before. It drives like an Accord, and it inescapably behaves like one too. It’s cushy enough and steers decently, even if there’s very little feel coming off the wheel. Generally, comfort levels for a D-segment offering are good enough, if not class-leading, not surprising considering the platform’s age.

On the whole, NVH refinement levels are a mixed bag. In terms of tyre noise, the new rubber seems to have toned things down a bit, but the prevalent issue of noise seeping into the cabin, typical of the Accord, continues on. Not a deal breaker, but considering how the world has moved on, this aspect will have to be addressed in the eventual revision.

A more comprehensive road test will come about, for sure, but we get the feeling it won’t run far from that suggested by the short drive, which effectively points to a car with solid, proven engineering fundamentals, clad in a new skin. Considering the very competitive pricing, that doesn’t sound like a bad proposition at all, especially if you’re in the market for a D-segment sedan.

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Perdana 2.0

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Perdana 2.4

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Good review, proton is still proton, what to expect

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 28
    • Being weird is the next designer story lately. We got Civic then this Accordana

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 29
      • ProtonGSC on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:38 am

Just wondering cheaper price Iriz all spec with ESP but this Perdana 2.0 don’t have ESP??? Where’s the logic?!?! Ungrateful Proton!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 12
        • Cukurlah ada Proton, rakyat tak payah pakai bas.
          Be grateful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 78
          • Kunta Kinte on Jun 14, 2016 at 12:12 pm

OMG OMG OMG. Buy at RM114k but the car got no ESP? Are you sure?

Are you serious this car got no ESP?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 8
          • Kunta Kinte on Jun 14, 2016 at 12:19 pm

Paul Tan has written a wonderful article on ESC/VSC. It is super important as it saves lives

In Europe, even the cheapest and lousiest car has VSC because EU regulations say VSC is legally compulsory. That is how important it is.

In Malaysia RM114k car got no VSC? OMG!

http://paultan.org/2012/06/27/esp-stability-control-is-a-must-malaysian-motorists-deserve-better-active-safety-in-their-cars/

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 9
          • Same L00 on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:39 pm

Even rebadging a car will take them soooo long… how to compete?

Better close shop continue beg for soft loan lar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
        • OMG…very big mistake not included the ESC to 2.0…They are digging their own grave now…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
        • u need to blame honda on this, proton just able to redesign the ‘skin’ n honda not allow to mod the drivetrain..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
          • Don’t blame anyone, its your own choice to re-badge under such condition, if you are smart enough you won’t be even choose to do so, where is your R and D team and marketing team. The market of D-seg is getting smaller and compact SUV is the current trend worldwide and with economy downturn, producing high price car just not valid. Really no clue why producing this thing, no advantage at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
        • old horse on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:00 pm

as the youtube said, they cant change anything…some cosmetic jobs for front and back took them years…omg..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
        • Homaigot on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:35 pm

With this price,Jibby tried to sabotage Maddy car toy till its full bancrupcy come in few years time! Thanks jibby,finally Bolehland can buy cheap continentals and jepunis 50% cheaper than current price.How long to wait jibby? 2 years ok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
          • Najib says wait until MRT2 finish, then he dun care about P1.

• Kambing on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:08 pm

Don’t say like that, later they cabut ESP from Iriz. XD

• Cukurlah ada 4 airbags, ESC tak payah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 35
        • Civic on Jun 14, 2016 at 1:07 pm

Airbag x nak banyak. Nanti bunuh orang macam Takata. Proton promotes driving safe and slow to be 100% safe ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
          • Accord on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:45 pm

Wahai org kampung, the airbags of Perdana are from Accord. Don’t promote driving safe without ESC tau?

• Pagani Zonda 760RS on Jul 10, 2016 at 8:31 pm

Proton cant fiddle with the technical aspects of the car due to an agreement. They can only change the cosmetics only.

• Same L00 on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:20 am

This car rear bumper bottom part what happened? Chicken pox?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 2
    • Pondan on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:15 pm

Who want to buy a new used car?

At this price die standing la.a heavily discounted byundai sonata is abt the same price and at least u get imported quality.

• Wrong move not to include ESC in 2.0 as well. And 2.4 price is very close to jepunis D segment, especially camry now that umw toyota is throwing prices thanks to 77% sales drop. But at least 4 airbags still better than 2 in camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 46
    • Xumwt jdt on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:16 am

Camry 2.5hybrid will be a good choice but think about the horrible aftersales service in johor….(if u live and work there like me)….u will be horrified.

May want to consider perdana to give it a run

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
      • Same L00 on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:25 am

Old Honda model with Proton QC, somemore so expensive… Good luck!
        People would rather buy the used Accord that this shit, remember how problematic Perdana was last time?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 32
        • Purposely problematic, so Spanco can charge RM100 million (actual figure, per The Star) to lease and maintain the cars

• Previous Perdana problem was semua salah Mitsu. The ori Mitsu 2.0 4cyl engine was lacking grunt, so they change to Mitsu V6. But this destroyed the Mitsu auto gear box.
          So izit still P1 problem?

• alldisc on Jun 16, 2016 at 8:41 pm

A v6 is actually has poor torque especially when engine displacement is small. That was the reason merc and bmw insisted on straight 6 instead – because the longer crankshaft has better momentum than the short crank of v6 similar to daihatsu charade. Again, another reason for high fuel consumption. Mercedes only switched to v6 by having a supercharger bolted on it to increase low end power. Bmw now utilising turbocharger on all its engines

• MyviKiller on Jun 19, 2016 at 9:23 pm

You know how problematic this old Accord was?

• john otak batu on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:35 am

What? Proton’s standard is so low, want to compare with Toyota? I thought Proton is very good in safety, can compare with Volvo? I think sales drop is better than asking RM1.5B to develop this crap. At least the ‘drop’ is not from our pocket

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 10
  • michaelooi on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:09 am

So much leverage from Accord, they might as well rebadge an Accord… (which they already did).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
  • Silthice on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:09 am

Very honest I like. But that brings us to the 100,000 km test drive, what’s the purpose of it?

• Ultra2Disk on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:38 am

Its mean Proton has tested the car as far as possible.

• medic on Jun 14, 2016 at 12:56 pm

If Proton didn’t touch the engine,transmission & handling aspect of this re-badged Honda,then why have to test 100k km?Duhhh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
        • Sandero on Jun 14, 2016 at 4:41 pm

New production site, new suppliers (possibly), new process, new sets of workers, new parts (some), new vehicle weight & dimension, market requirement. Duhh… go finish your homework.

• Joe Jeng on Jun 14, 2016 at 5:19 pm

Eh helloo, so the bumper won’t fall off laa..So nobody will complaints. haiyaa use logic la..

• POONA on Jan 12, 2017 at 11:15 am

haha most of the customer dunno how production works.. they know is.. the car is completed alrdy.. they can talk but with a bit of knwledge can lead them to think a bit

• Hikaru on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:11 am

Is it me or I find the writer’s sentence structure a bit hard to follow. Then each sentence is also peppered with words back to front?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • Same like the product that had been review i suppose.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • Tachibana on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:51 am

It’s to make Proton look good

• Apalah on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:26 pm

The guy is subtly bashing the car. Mau accuse orang, at least understand what the guy is saying.

• Civic on Jun 14, 2016 at 1:09 pm

He wants to give a very honest opinion but it will sound like bashing so he puts up some nice words in it to make the car looks neutral

• Allen on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:18 am

Is our life less worthy than the few hundred thousands saving by removing ECS by P1? How about the billions we’ve given to HICOM?

• karim on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:20 am

It seems that Honda retained control in a lot of things – equipment level, powertrain, engine and TCU calibration, and judging by the abscence of Proton’s trumpeting its traditional Ride & Handling (apart from change of tyre model), also the suspension. So we can safely assume that the 8th Gen Accord stock suspension set up is also carried over.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Same L00 on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:28 am

RM138k for “the 8th Gen Accord stock suspension set up is also carried over”? Give us a break… to laugh gao gao…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
      • malaysian on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:43 pm

Accord was RM172k brand new last time. But still, I’ll pass this and look forward for the new Persona

• Kenny on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:26 am

Rip

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Habis lah Proton… macam mana nak untung kalau camni
    Aduiii, eksos tipu tu memang buruk

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
  • anonymous on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:33 am

Perdana as the flagship model of Proton, I assumed, every element should be research and developed in-house, not re-use other old engines from other brands. Other than exterior design, everything reminds me of Accord like interior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • Think about it: why must Proton produce and sell more than two models at any on time? A bare Iris could replace Proton Saga and a premium one can replace Persona, perhaps by adding a tail. Scrap Perdana totally.

Profit comes first, pride later!

• crash on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:34 pm

Bare Iriz cannot replace Saga because Iriz has no boot space. Simply adding an ass will make the car look horrible. It is just like Ford Fiesta sedan which is ugly compare to the hatchback version.

• Aero (Member) on Jun 14, 2016 at 12:01 pm

Great review ! Unfortunately, I get the impression that the new Perdana is still a ‘work-in-progress’ and we’ll have to wait until 2018 for the ‘real deal’… but complete or not, it’s not entirely hopeless and considering what little resources Proton had to work with, and the fact that they have other, more important models to work on, never ending political drama, the weakening ringgit, economy, consumer sentiment and whatnot, I still think it’s a commendable achievement overall.

In the media conference earlier, Proton explained that the reason why they kept on delaying the Perdana’s launch was indeed because they wanted to ensure that all quality issues were resolved… I cannot tell you guys how relieved and ecstatic I was at that moment… but I’m not going to take Proton’s word for it, not like the last time. I will wait and see if they really did improve their build quality and QC standards with the new Perdana. I am not expecting the impossible, as I’ve said, no serious problems (eg. cracked plastics, broken buttons, damaged leather/fabric, dash rattling, power window failure) for 100,000km or 5 years.

Also, Proton needs to make ESC standard for all Perdanas. I cannot say I approve of the new management, at this rate, the new BH Persona might not get ESC as standard either (like the Iriz). That won’t do. If it’s possible, Proton should make all 2017 model year Perdanas come with ESC and 4 airbags as standard. They did it with the Prevé in the past, so it’s not an unreasonable request.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 6
    • Kunta Kinte on Jun 14, 2016 at 12:20 pm

RM114k but has no VSC!!!

• ayamxxx on Jun 14, 2016 at 1:31 pm

the 8th Gen accord do suffer from outside and tyre noise. the face-lift version, Honda do replace with thicker carpet for this issues.

what do proton do for this

• Honda Fan on Jun 14, 2016 at 6:54 pm

Honda has not resolved the NVH issue generation after generation and you expect Proton to resolve it?

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:02 pm

They could have done better.

Leaving out the curtain airbags and ESC on the 2.0L is shortsighted (perhaps due to the donor car not having it as well).

But they could have improved on the NVH. The Accord has never been known for a serene ride…and proton could have improved it quite easily with some added sound deadening or improving those that are standard in the donor car.

Good NVH goes a long way in building the perception of a well built car (even if it wasn’t) so it should have been given more priority.

• old horse on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:03 pm

keep setting future expectation as a strategy? we live in current moment..

• Sandero on Jun 14, 2016 at 4:39 pm

What are you smoking la brader? The production of the new Perdana has been going on for weeks based on the multiple sighthing of finished car that we see on the internet. The delay was because of Najib la… first he was busy dethroning the old man, next Swak election, and then the run-up to the by elections … only now he was free.

• Buddy on Jun 14, 2016 at 5:06 pm

Hey guys, watch this first before u start commenting anything
      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fF3LopllG9k

Hafriz in this video clearly stated that Proton cant change much in this Perdana, except for the tyres. Lets hope that by the time the new engine arrives in 2017, everything will be totally awesome.

• So by the time before the so called 2018 real model rolling out this current on sales prototype is a joke. Wonder how many unit they predict to produce monthly.

• Silthice on Jun 15, 2016 at 9:42 am

Iriz git VSC in all the variants and the premium come with proper push to start button. Perdana?

• monomania on Jun 14, 2016 at 12:13 pm

Look at the wood trim, it is so 90s, are they reusing the old stock from the perdana days? Instead of blatantly rebadge other car, proton should focus on car design from the perspective of malaysian for malaysians. I am still hoping that day would come…

• Johnlim on Jun 14, 2016 at 12:17 pm

Please die quick proton. And use our tax money for school and hospitals instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
    • Next u will say better use it for undersea tunnel study, oh wai…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
      • Why u so stupid? RM1.5B for ‘donor’ cars? Jibby taught u ah? Oh wai…

• azrai on Jun 14, 2016 at 12:19 pm

No ESC don’t worry since the car will be 99% use by super scale government servants only and all the menteris. Rakyat will be saved.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Apalah on Jun 14, 2016 at 12:28 pm

I wonder what are all the bashes is for? This is like if Lewis Hamilton change to Malaysian citizenship pakai baju Melayu suddenly he is not great and we will bash him like a looser. Be positivelah. They just launch it today. To me, I just want to see it for myself at Proton showroom, just to see it in flesh. Other than that, like the writer wrote, it is coming from a proven base which is the Accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 29
    • 4G63T DSM on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:11 pm

Give Lewis Hamilton another 10 years and he would probably not be winning too many races either.

It is an 8 year old platform. And drives like one.

Unfortunately the world has moved on.

For Proton to simply use an old platform simply means that they needed to do more to bring the platform up to speed, especially in NVH.

So what moved on in 8 years?

1) Fuel efficiency
      2) NVH
      3) Safety

Hopefully the later revisions will catch up.

• albag on Jun 14, 2016 at 12:29 pm

that kinda model spells DOOM for proton.. forget about the future launches and new models pls… stop wasting rakyat’s hard earned money!

• kokok on Jun 14, 2016 at 10:59 pm

They did this according to plan, why they must stop it?

• POONA on Jan 12, 2017 at 11:34 am

so did u said that perodua is doing their own design?? hw about exora? sole-ownership from proton.. buying the tech from other “OLD BRAND” is a marketing strategies for what-so-called NEW BRAND.. LEARN b4 talk.. it makes u get the info right

• Dinosour age interior…outdated. Proton nvr provide a complete package for the consumer.

• C.P.MOHAN on Jun 14, 2016 at 12:32 pm

It may have been copied from Honda Accord but I see a market here because of reliability and pricing. The question is will it be enough for PROTON. As for me, I prefer advancement in design and technology and you get it only if it is ORI.

• Macha kamu on Jun 14, 2016 at 12:33 pm

lack of identity and lack of character. looks like a mashed up honda accord. mind you! I’m a big fan of Iriz and Preve. I think they’ve done a good job with Iriz and Preve.

• Viewer 2016 on Jun 14, 2016 at 12:33 pm

Perdana = Personal + Honda accord, good job.

• OrangeAddict on Jun 14, 2016 at 12:35 pm

My only comment, the fake twin pipes, come on…it spoils the rear image…

And its hopeless on the 2.4 beige and wood trim…going that route you are letting a number of people sway away. Black leather should be an option @@

• Redline on Jun 14, 2016 at 12:35 pm

Exterior design is okay, but Proton cant seem to be able to improve its interior. That cheap plastic look is always there. Proton should replace its interior designer and materials/parts selector, seriously.

• 8sg7ls on Jun 14, 2016 at 12:38 pm

That rear turned out a lot uglier than I expected. All thanks to that faux tail pipe and reflector cluster. OMG, what were the designers thinking??!!

• a Reader on Jun 14, 2016 at 12:49 pm

Dear Paul Tan. Can pls stop putting so much meat on Proton here? it is not interesting at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Penang Honda on Jun 14, 2016 at 12:52 pm

This perdana launched at the wrong timing. People will buy NEW CIVIC !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Phuuii.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
  • iskhalifah (Member) on Jun 14, 2016 at 1:08 pm

Summary…
    Pros:
    1. Comfort-oriented drive suits the target market for this car.
    2. Spacious rear.
    3. Proven-Honda reliability and track record.

Cons:
    1. Price is way too high, yet interior quality, creature comfort, specs & safety features don’t really match with the price tag.
    3. The 2.0 model is lacking of refinement and NVH associated with the current Accord/Camry/Teana.

• Tonenon on Jun 14, 2016 at 1:12 pm

Fake exhaust tailpipe?? U gotta be kidding me…

• Bernard on Jun 14, 2016 at 1:20 pm

Nice old car with some updates!

However, its good effort on the part of Proton in trying to hide the real car i.e Accord.

The price is unreasonable.

• njazeera on Jun 14, 2016 at 1:33 pm

No keyless entry, no push start. I guess Honda does not allow Proton to make those modification.

• ayamxxx on Jun 14, 2016 at 1:34 pm

This is 2016. It is a D segment car. It is price >RM100k.
    Please do comes with PUSH START BUTTON at least.

Don’t say it under Honda agreement, Proton should now better before accepting/agreeing that clause.

• Im sorry Proton, you guys fail big time in pricing. If i want new car I can add bit to get the new Accord. If I don’t mind i can get 2nd BMW F30 Diesel and more powerful than your 2.4 Perdana. Fuel consumption on the F30 win you hand downs and don’t forget about the look and status. RIP proton.

• When Honda Accord 8th are handsome version. well, this one the Ugly version.re-batch by proton. Pity Proton

• Michael on Jun 14, 2016 at 1:45 pm

It is still using a Hand-Brake!! Nowadays almost every new car comes with Electric Parking Brake. I know this is re-badging, but they could have done better to compete

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • PSA please buy proton..than proton can rebadge 508 to perdana.

PROTON = KING OF REBADGE

• Nurul on Jun 14, 2016 at 1:48 pm

Stupid car at stupid price. For the stupid people to buy! Failure and hopeless company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • LittleMin on Jun 14, 2016 at 1:48 pm

Just sack the design and marketing team, for god sake, dear Proton..

• Adukwu on Jun 14, 2016 at 1:56 pm

My fav piece from this read: “the only thing Proton engineers have been able to change in the entire running gear are the tyres”.

• old horse on Jun 14, 2016 at 1:58 pm

after watching the youtube review, cant stop laughing that changing tyre become achievement to claim for…LOL…

the proton standard has become so low now..

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:36 pm

Next time I change my tyre, I’ll invite Paultan to write some comment & review of my car.

• i get that it’s a proton and it borrowed other platform but they can at least hide the fake exhaust tip or just punch a hole there. it screams rice that can be heard/seen from 2km away. i weep for ricer manufacturer.

• tokmoh. on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:16 pm

The bottom line is, the 2.0L doesn’t have VSC. I don’t care whatever else, it doesn’t have VSC.

And that is simply unforgivable. Perdana is a fail for the lack of this single most important item.

• Ugly la

• What the f on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:18 pm

Looks like they did a purely cosmetic job on the Accord. No technical improvements at all. For the superficial, it’s right up their street.

• i would go for it if around RM70K. RM113K? nope! Civic.

• flyingvios on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:01 pm

With Civic handling, you can flyyyyy

• intermilan on Jun 15, 2016 at 12:54 pm

Both new Perdana and Civic handling can guarantee 110% for sure can FLY (into the longkang) one… hahaha..

• keyless and push start button on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:29 pm

why no keyless and push start button for over 100k car??? omgggggg

• geoff on Jun 14, 2016 at 2:43 pm

future car of choice for Uber Black drivers….

• Ben Yap on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:00 pm

might as well just get a used 8th generation accord.

• Downunder on Jun 14, 2016 at 3:05 pm

unpopular opinion am sure but there is still something catchy about it, reminds a little of K9 of KIA. If it was priced properly, it would have sold