2016 Proton Perdana to be previewed at Alami Proton – 4,999 mm long, to be built in Shah Alam plant

2016_Proton_Perdana

Exciting news! The hotly anticipated 2016 Proton Perdana will be previewed at this weekend’s Alami Proton event. It’s a preview for now, not a full unveiling, so don’t expect to see the fully finished car just yet.

But wait, don’t we already know how it looks like, as pictured in Filem Kapsul? Apparently not, as Proton has now said that the vehicle that made an appearance in the recent local film is an earlier “work in progress,” and not the new Perdana’s final form.

The finished product will be on display in the Proton Design Studio, albeit covered entirely. What can be seen are the car’s basic silhouette, prominent bootlid spoiler and sharp protrusions of the head- and taillamps.

2016-PROTON-PERDANA-KAPSUL-2

Also on display will be a preview backdrop of the new car, with certain elements of the car visible. What we at paultan.org have seen is the headlight design, and true enough, it looks different to those that were in the Filem Kapsul car (which is pictured here).

We’ve also been informed that the finished article will measure 4,999 mm long, which is quite a bit longer than the eighth-gen Honda Accord (4,849 mm) on which it’s based. It’s a really big car, this one.

Another important piece of information is that the 2016 Perdana will be built in Proton’s Medium Volume Factory in Shah Alam, alongside the Exora MPV. The current government-use Perdana, meanwhile, is assembled in Honda Malaysia’s Melaka plant.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 02, 2015 at 12:37 pm

Yep that’s one big car indeed. Waiting to see their engine lineup for this big fella.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Old Perdana Was a Failure on Oct 02, 2015 at 3:15 pm

The old Perdana was a failure. Only government departments bought it. The ones you see owned by non government people are the cars th Government departments got rid after using many years.

Why nobody bought it? Very easy. Malaysians cannot phantom paying RM100k for a Malaysian built car. To Malaysians, Proton was created to give people of Malaysia cheap cars. That was the real intention of Proton in 1985.

From 1985, other car prices shot up tremendously to protect Proton. Slowly, the Proton too went up in price to RM100k. But to most Malaysians, RM100k is a lot of money. So, why create Proton in the first place?

As we know, a 10 airbag CBU built Toyota Camry with so many safety features cost US$22k. UMW Malaysia will get this car at country distributor price of US$15k. After you CKD the Camry using Malayia parts, the car further falls to US$12k. This is especially so when you take out 90% of all safety features like VSC and 8 other airbags.

So, a real good D segment car, hardly cost US$12k (which is RM50k).

Malaysians know this. Malaysians know a real good Japanese D segment car hardly cost RM50k. So why create Proton in 1985 in the first place?

Proton has just made life more difficut for the average Malaysians because Proton increased all other car prices. The whole conception and inception of Proton is fraud because the whole reason we created Proton was to give affordable cars to Malaysians.

Anyway, who really will pay RM100k for a Proton? A good nissan Teana, after discounts, one can get a good Japanese car for RM120k OTR. Yes, that is OTR with 6 airbags and VSC.

Looks like the Perdana will be another Government car. All departments will be told to buy it. It will be a fialure like the last Perdana because it is a false demand created.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 38
      • Long Live Proton! on Oct 02, 2015 at 5:56 pm

I will pay 100k for Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 23
      • krishna on Oct 02, 2015 at 10:19 pm

why not pay RM100k for a Malaysian made big car? value is not based on where it is made but rather the quality. You are wrong to say that the previous Perdana was a failure…it gave a good option to those who need bigger cars but couldnt afford an Accord and Camry. I still see many on the roads now going strong.

If you look at all the Asian countries….maybe except Japan, the prices are sky high compared to Europe and US. For your info, Camry is also cheaper in US than in Japan.

• Perdana - King of RV Depreciation on Oct 02, 2015 at 3:53 pm

My advice to all those thinking about buy a Perdana, be prepared for the worst shock ever. Just use your car for 5 years, you want to sell for RM20k also you will be lucky. I just sold my old Perdana for RM3k. It was 10 years old.

That is how Perdana RV drops.

My advice, add a bit more and buy a Teana, Accord or a Camry. At least, after 5 yrs time, you still can sell for about RM70k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 31
      • Long Live Proton! on Oct 02, 2015 at 5:58 pm

Such a liar…. I will buy 3 10 yrs old Perdana if it is worth 3K

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
      • dugongx on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:23 am

Current 2005 perdanas are going for between 13-16k in the market now. I would buy a dozen of them if you are selling for 3k.

• dugongx on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:30 am

While a similar 2005 year camry 2.4 can only fetch around 32k today. Don’t forget in 2005 a new camry 2.4 costs a whopping 80k more than the perdana when new. Is it worth paying 80k extra so that you get 16k more RV 10 years later? Definitely not!!

• raito on Oct 02, 2015 at 12:38 pm

hotly anticipated? hmm..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • Kekasih awal & akhir on Oct 02, 2015 at 1:56 pm

A nice perfect Honda Accord being retarded.

Like giving monkey a rose flower. So what he gonna do? Destroy it become bunga taik ayam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 22
  • Kanan on Oct 02, 2015 at 12:39 pm

The design is good looking. I may support proton again but whenever I think of servicing my car at proton i drop the idea. Proton needs to improve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Close Down Proton Please on Oct 02, 2015 at 4:05 pm

It is solely because of Proton and Tun M that 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars. 30 years, Proton rogol all of us.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot globally and have NOT gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale achieved by car companies. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec 10 airbag Toyota Camry 2.5 in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

Our cars compared to global cars are completely stripped down. Even basic car in the US got about 20 safety features that the same car in Malaysia does not have. Purposely taken out to cut cost even further and untung more profit.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefiting his friends and relatives and forcing the dying Proton to live with billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.

Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.

Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand. This is another rape like when Mitsubishi raped us for 20 years with low quality engines and parts. If Proton was not in Malaysia in the first place, you will have a few hundred thousand ringgit extra in your pocket!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 39
  • gomen no support on Oct 02, 2015 at 12:44 pm

Saya, YB, malangnya tak support perdana ni.
    lagi bagus beli jenama asing. sekian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 27
  • dodgeviper88 on Oct 02, 2015 at 12:47 pm

meh….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • looks good, hope they dont kill it with overpriced , it should be below 110k i think

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • new generation Honda accord only 4890mm, 11cm shorter than New Perdana.

Honda has gearbox issue.
    Proton solve gearbox issue.
    Proven = Solve Mitsubishi lancer issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
    • I acknowledge Proton ability to improve others by rebadging.

but, i dont like Proton Campro VVT Engine.
      i prefer it come with Outdated Honda or Petronas 2.0 engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • Let the sales figure talk. Has Proton improved?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
        • RoadRage (Member) on Oct 02, 2015 at 9:33 pm

Proton hasn’t improved, and so does the Malay aunty selling nasi lemak outside my house. It’s because of you, because dumbasses like you will condemn every hard working Malaysians no matter what they do. You’re the idiot that’s pulling us down. I think a word of encouragement would’ve been nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
          • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 130
  • Proton in dilemma.

Stick to Honda Accord as much as possible
    Good: The car may sell a little more because of Honda.
    Bad: Will go backward. After all Proton is looking down others for not designing own car.

Modify as much as possible.
    Good: Can brag about own capability.
    Bad: May not sell much. People still don’t trust Proton’s capability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 28
  • 5m long fit with tiny Malaysian, hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
  • Vicky on Oct 02, 2015 at 1:07 pm

The MAZDA MX-5 RS for 3,196,800 yen (RM117,900) in Japan, compared to our local market’s RM220k 2.0 litre MX-5. But for us its upside down for local car price. Let we boycott proton until the price worth for us.. Quality also suck. Pls don’t promote this kind of advertisement. Thanks…PaulTan.
    Victim of proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 40
  • Short wheelbase + big overhang = disaster. Good luck parking that thing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
    • Saw it’s been tested in Shah Alam area, it has balance wheelbase vs overhang.

• taboogen on Oct 02, 2015 at 3:32 pm

ayoo reverse camera kan ada.. why so difficult meh

• Wowowow on Oct 02, 2015 at 7:38 pm

The problem isn’t the lack of visibility but maneuverability.

• 1.6 campro turbo anyone?
    140ps/205nm for 1600KG gonna be like 0-100 13sec, top speed 205kph

• figure is acceptable, but not engine.

• freedos on Oct 02, 2015 at 3:48 pm

D segment should be 1400kg, if CFE inside then around 11 sec

• drCooper on Oct 02, 2015 at 7:44 pm

No way…it needs at least over 160ps/240 nm like 508, and i think this one gonna be much heavier than the Peugeot

• Low Budget on Oct 02, 2015 at 1:34 pm

Hotly anticipated? Nothing orgasmic about this car unless if the pricing is right for the average Malaysians to buy, otherwise the average Malaysians will just continuing buying MyVi and Proton Persona/Saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • xxXxxxXxx on Oct 02, 2015 at 1:38 pm

$129k?

• Biggest in its class?

• Aero (Member) on Oct 02, 2015 at 2:38 pm

Wait… they changed it since the movie ?

I take what I said back, for now. I really hope Proton did something with the rear design, or plan to.

I didn’t think Proton would actually make design changes this late into the development cycle. Then again, maybe they could since the main focus this time is cosmetic engineering, they really don’t need to expend resources testing engines, transmissions, safety tech and whatnot, like in their in-house models before. Proton only has 800 R&D engineers… a VERY small, but capable team.

I did say earlier, “being good enough, is not enough”; and that still stands. I predict that the Perdana will still be the best Proton to date, even at this stage, better than the Inspira, Iriz and Suprima S. Why ? Because the donor Honda Accord is already a superb car. But it remains to be seen how much better the Perdana can really get.

Also, it’s good that Proton plans to assemble the Perdana in the Shah Alam plant and not Tanjung Malim/ Proton City. Proton is actually planning to produce as many of their new models in Tanjung Malim, because operating costs there are lower. It’s more efficient to assemble the Iriz and upcoming Iriz Sedan (P2-31A) in the same plant, as they will share many common parts, and likely be exported. The Perdana meanwhile is a one-off car, and unlikely to be exported (or maybe it will be, in small numbers). Currently, the Shah Alam plant makes only the Saga and Exora (Proton stopped making Satria Neos for a few months now, and Inspira production has also ceased). The Tanjung Malim plant makes the Persona, Prevé, Suprima S and Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Would you buy a Proton car in Langkawi?

• Aero (Member) on Oct 02, 2015 at 11:07 pm

It depends, if I already have a new Proton, then maybe not.

I’d much rather buy a house instead. Toyota’s RV may be excellent, but can it beat the RV of a house ? Unless if it’s a Toyota 2000GT, I don’t think so.

• Ollie on Oct 02, 2015 at 6:42 pm

Who cares what they do? ‘Donor’ Accord? Whose donation? You think Honda gave Accord to Proton for free? Proton will lose money as they have done for decades as they are paying royalties on this car. And you and Proton think they can do better than Honda, one of the world’s most advanced car makers?

You have an IQ problem. But, give up la. no point talking when an issue as serious as a RM1bil down the drain for a car company set to face bankruptcy as soon as 2016 is still ‘debated’ on merits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
      • Aero (Member) on Oct 02, 2015 at 11:01 pm

Obviously, you care enough, else you wouldn’t waste time leaving a comment.

The royalties Proton will pay to Honda will likely be far, far less than the cost of an in-house design. The Iriz alone was a RM600 million investment. Why should Proton spend upwards of half-a-billion on a car which few Malaysians will buy ? And btw, I’m sure Proton doesn’t want a new Perdana either… they would much rather focus on smaller cars first. The whole Perdana thing is squarely the fault of BN who forced Proton and Honda Malaysia (both owned by Syed Mokhtar al-Bukhary) to work together on a new government car. Proton probably knows that any model above RM80k will sell peanuts, because of all the B-segment Japanese sedans, hatchbacks and now small SUVs.

The goal here is not to prove that ‘Proton can beat Honda’ or ‘Proton can make a Jaguar’. There’s no point in that, Proton is just trying to save face for something they never asked for in the first place. The least Proton could do now is to make the new Perdana as best as it could get.

If you want a constructive debate, you can start by being courteous for a change.

• ionlaw on Oct 02, 2015 at 2:45 pm

I suggest paultan to do a survey for proton on acceptable price range for perdana acora. RM90,000 for me….

• 4999mm, seriously that is really long ! Already match 7 seater SUV class

• common sensor on Oct 02, 2015 at 2:51 pm

A clone is a clone. Full stop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • start a fight on Oct 02, 2015 at 4:52 pm

just like auris sedan is an scion and a mazda 2..

or triton is a navara..

or tesla roadster is a lotus…

or.. (add more here)

• antiP1 on Oct 02, 2015 at 2:58 pm

if it’s equipped with honda powertrain, definitely will get one..if campro then balik slap that tajudin abdul rahman liao

• sell it at rm80k max, i will buy one. need replace my 2003 waja.

• I dont expect this car to compete with premium-luxury D segments like the E-class, 5 series, A6 or even jaguar xf.

Good enough if the new perdana can compete side by side with the latest camry, accord, teana, mazda 6 & the upcoming passat. Make the new perdana a choice people would consider when buying D-segement cars.

Just look at preve. The safety features and size are at at par with foreign C-segments. But the lousy engine and gearbox ruined everything. Even cheap price cant save this car. Same like Iriz. Engine & gearbox (AT) ruined the good looks and decent safety package.

For this perdana, I guess Honda’s 2.0 & 2.4 with 5 AT is not so bad.. but bear in mind, they increased the size. The weight could have increased as well..

• Rusmah on Oct 02, 2015 at 5:33 pm

This potong is a crap without honda engine n drivetrain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Another pungut model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Good news for jusa grade gomen servant, they r getting new ride soon

• MentalKar on Oct 03, 2015 at 12:03 am

Banyak org bagi pendapat bagus2 tapi jauhkan komen yg menghina dan menanam rasa dengki antara satu sama lain. Siapa ada duit lebih boleh beli kreta luar negara, siapa yg hanya mampu beli kreta jenama dlm negara bole beli.

• Henry on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:40 am

anyone wants to buy a Perdana V6 2002 at RM 15,000.

Mr dugongx let me know if you want to buy a Perdana V6 2002. Good condition