2016 Proton Saga gets 4-star ASEAN NCAP rating

Proton-Saga-Theo-render

Tipped to be launched by the end of the month, the upcoming 2016 Proton Saga has received a four-star crash protection rating from ASEAN NCAP. The budget sedan scored 13.33 points in adult occupant protection (AOP) and a 71% compliance in child occupant protection (COP) – the latter means the car is also rated four stars in child protection.

These figures compare favourably with those achieved by the current Saga FLX+ tested in 2013 – that car mustered a score of 10.23 points in AOP, earning it three stars. Its COP compliance score of 48%, meanwhile, only managed to put it in the two-star bracket for child protection.

Details of the new Saga remain scarce, but it has been confirmed that the car will be powered by the Iriz‘ 1.3 litre VVT four-cylinder engine – in the Iriz, it produces 94 hp at 5,750 rpm and 120 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm.

The use of the smaller engine (as opposed to the Saga FLX, which was also available in a 1.6 SE variant) better demarcates the Saga’s positioning in Proton’s lineup vis-à-vis the Persona, which is only available with the 1.6 litre VVT mill. The current five-speed manual and CVT transmission options are likely to be retained.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• SoChunn on Sep 16, 2016 at 1:03 pm

The Saga top spec model must be spec better in terms of equipment & pricing against the Bezza Advance to stand a chance to compete for sales.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 2
    • Haron din on Sep 16, 2016 at 6:27 pm

Saga, second to noe.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Sep 16, 2016 at 7:16 pm

This new saga does look good…hopefully will bring the iconic name to the next level…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 9
      • OMG…P1 sales will keep on dropping…Honda & Toyota sales might beat them this year. Preve 1.6 turbo year 2014 selling 35k, why not buy this than this “new saga”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
      • Same L0rrrr on Sep 17, 2016 at 9:09 am

I am not going to get another junk for my son anymore. I will get him a IS 250 at least . Work hard you kimchi driver

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 22
      • Sack designer on Sep 17, 2016 at 9:49 pm

Sack the designer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 31
        • China Bing Bing on Sep 18, 2016 at 3:22 pm

Bro, it’s not even that funny anymore when you repeat that joke of yours like 63 times.. that’s just being Same L0rr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • Boring Samy on Sep 16, 2016 at 7:56 pm

Keep it up Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 12
    • Big is Big on Sep 19, 2016 at 7:59 am

We rich people don’t demand and complain.We rich people buy anything by choosing which one we like.If we don’t like we don’t buy and not complaining.We rich people being grateful to our livinghood by accepting pro and con on anything of what we buy which one suit better of our life.We buy cheap saga for short distance travel.We buy expensive cars for long distance and social life.But if we are not rich people we would not demand mountain but pay a peanut price.What kind business is that? Stupid people of Malaysia.We rich people of high standard Singapore pay mountain for mountain.We pay peanut we get a monkey.

• Same L0rr on Sep 19, 2016 at 9:36 am

I think, Proton Saga must have better engine & transmission than Perodua BEzZA. If still Campro VVT & CVT clucth Punch Powertrain, than i think can not compete with BEzZA lah.. Dual VVT-i & E-AT 4 speed is reliable & better than Campro VVT & CVT Clutch bising Punch Powertrain!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Bangga on Sep 16, 2016 at 1:05 pm

Saga. Safe car, save money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 23
    • Save for VSC, not safe for life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 18
    • the question to ask:
      Is Proton Saga worth 7 to 9 years loan?

Looking at 2008 Proton Saga BLM 8 years old.
      So many problems compared to even 8 years old Viva..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • Same L0rr on Sep 19, 2016 at 2:31 pm

Agree with that. If you think want to buy Saga, better put more money to buy Bezza. 8 years later, you can compare between 2016 Bezza & 2016 Saga!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • savesavesave on Sep 18, 2016 at 12:06 pm

Are we focusing on safety feature way too much? Like every malaysian driver need to drive a war tank on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 214
    • Poor people can only dislike me while still buy Proton. Pity them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 120
      • so pity you john.. trying to sell Tonggek car with big price tag. Hoping the profit Japonese can bring home big. You, still P2 macai barking endlessly with 50 cupon makan for every bashing.

• the doctor on Sep 17, 2016 at 7:44 pm

I don’t drive a Proton but i still dislike you

Sorry John, nothing personal.
        With that kind of attitude, you should pity yourself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
      • pak atan on Sep 18, 2016 at 7:08 am

john, you are just basher with 50couln makan.

• RBA john. I have a special package u cant refuse…

• Only top range bezza got 5 star not basic or medium get 5 stars. Knowledge will save your face

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • Y u do dis ,you just roasted the fanboy

• Does this mean new Saga get no ESC?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • wiwiwiwiwiw on Sep 16, 2016 at 1:49 pm

4 stars meaning no VSC?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • Similar rating with Perodua Bezza Premium X and G version.

Hopefully there is a top-of-the-line 5-star NCAP version to rival the Bezza Advance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 7
    • DonkeyKong on Sep 17, 2016 at 11:31 am

Bezza Advance is already at Persona price level, so what’s the point of making a Saga to compete with a Bezza Advance? The Saga only needs to compete with the lower spec’d models because it will be cheaper than the entry-level and mid-spec Bezza

• Bezza 1.3
      AOP = 15.38/16.00 Points
      COP = 85%

Saga 1.3
      AOP = 13.33/16.00 Points
      COP = 71%.

If Saga got VSC also dont have 5 Stars like Bezza.

Bezza Real Life Fuel Consumption = 17km/L
      RM1 for 10km!

Saga = 11km/L
      This is very old tech, low horse power, low torque.
      Makan Minyak.

Saga need to be cheaper say RM30k [AT] – RM40k high specs [AT] 4stars with VSC to worth the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Alson P on Sep 18, 2016 at 6:01 pm

Saga all variant standard, executive, premium will get 4-star ncap.. The price range from 33k – 44k.. Cheaper than Bezza 1.0 and 1.3 premium..

• While I do like to bash Proton most of the time, NCAP ‘star’ ratings isn’t the be all and end all when you’re comparing a car’s safety. They won’t give 5 stars unless the car checks everything on their list. This includes things like VSC and even a seatbelt reminder.

Take the Bezza for example. They are all the same structually & all have the same number of airbags but only the top spec gets 5 star because it has VSC and the rest gets 4. But let’s say it gets hit by another car, the occupants will endure the same amount weather its in the top spec or base spec

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 7
    • Subframe on Sep 16, 2016 at 10:00 pm

I could not agree with one thing, about the safety of bezza being hit by another car.

If bezza hitting tree, guardrail, lamp post, rigid wall or another car with similar weight it will probably be safe due to the kinetic energy of crash comes from the velocity of the car and the mass of car itself (for reference bezza top line has 930kg kerb weight). The equation for kinetic energy is 0.5mv*v where m=mass v=velocity
      But not when another car hitting the bezza at more than 64kph. Other car typically have higher mass, typically 100 to 200kg more than bezza, resulted higher kinetic energy that need to be absorbed by both car. With the increase of 100kg of kerb weight, the intrusion at the firewall will roughly increase around 10-12% based on observations on bezza body in white design and material usage.

Due to this, NCAP also prohibit comparing score between cars that have difference of weight more than 150kg, because they understand the difference in term of safety especially when it comes to crash incompatibility (big and heavy car vs small and light car even though both car is 5 star rated). A 5 star NCAP 1300kg car is always (most of the time) safer than 5 star NCAP 950kg car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 11
      • What I meant was if a Bezza were to hit another car, the damage would be the same for the different variants of the Bezza. Not it being less safe than another car.

• Malaysian only know save fuel, dunno safe life

• High Tensile Steel on Sep 18, 2016 at 9:10 pm

How about high tensile steel? How about a 900kg car made of high tensile steel? Versus 1300kg car made of normal steel?

• Mikey on Sep 19, 2016 at 3:34 pm

HTS, It’s not so much on High Tensile steel alone. Its about what hit U & at what angle. If U are driving a 1300kg car & got hit by a 900kg car by your side, U will also be in serious injury if not death.

A F1 car minimum weight permissible is 605 kg including the driver, fluids and on-board cameras. It is made up from composites of carbon fibre and similar ultra-lightweight materials.

The only problem I can see why manufacturer do not use high tensile steel or carbon fibre is bcos of costs. There are pros & cons in why manufacturer uses its materials available.

I guess, that is why we have A/B/C/D segment cars for the masses & for different category of taste.

• think smart on Sep 16, 2016 at 2:20 pm

All variant 4 star? How about the Premium spec with ESC?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • think smart on Sep 16, 2016 at 2:24 pm

The All New Proton Saga, safety is your strong selling point now! U can’t even lose one star to Perodua bezza because you already lose far if compare Engine performance with Perodua bezza. So hope you will get 5 star rating on your Premium spec with ESC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
  • Mr. Loba Loba on Sep 16, 2016 at 2:29 pm

Is the first photo the real saga design? Looks really good. And it will be even better if the interior are similar to Iriz and Persona. Gotta say, good job, Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
    • Jimmy on Sep 16, 2016 at 5:58 pm

Inspired by VW, quite good looking, better than the overdone Perdana, looking at the picture, of course.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • RyanLocct on Sep 16, 2016 at 2:42 pm

Haiz… I’m gonna put all my bets for the reason it gets 4 star is due to NO VSC…. Why proton? After Years! trying to show the public how you change in trying to make the car safer and affordable…. You yet again took the short cut and remove the extra safety features….

Btw…wish everyone here Selamat Hari Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
  • chowhai on Sep 16, 2016 at 2:47 pm

Kesian, the Saga’s direct competition,the Bezza, could score 5 star. Where’s the oft-publicized Hot Form Press manufacturing that Proton employs?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
  • Wan Der Lowe on Sep 16, 2016 at 2:58 pm

Kudos to Proton. They are moving forward despite negative perception rated on them. Not that I’m going to buy one in recent year(s) but credit is due where it is due. Looking forward for rebadge ertiga as it suits my requirement. Price wise will be the determining factor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • Ahmadjr on Sep 16, 2016 at 5:14 pm

Moving forward? They begged the gov to tongkat them.. Again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 36
      • With the rakyat’s money… So what? My boss receives big amount of donation and the FBI can’t touch him

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 20
        • Najib on Sep 16, 2016 at 11:55 pm

Appreciate my sacrifice to the nation. The little bit of donation is a sign of gratitude for me running the country. Similarly, Proton CEO can keep the change in his pocket

• Albert on Sep 17, 2016 at 12:29 am

Insaf John
          Aiyah yah…don’t talk politics here.Very sensitive.Special branch monitoring your comments here.
          This is a car forum.You may be locked up,u wanna risk your livelihood as P2 sales advisor?
          At Rolls Royce,we dont talk politics.
          WE begin with” Datuk/Datin/Brig.Gen/Tan Sri….

• Ur boss get donation FROM THE FBI, then go spend it on underpriced bungalows w/o pool… oh wai

• nosushi on Sep 16, 2016 at 6:06 pm

Meanwhile, Vios is still moving backward without VSC…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 35
        • Thai Vios already has VSC in all variants? Oh wai…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
          • then you go,to thai la.

• Pallmann on Sep 17, 2016 at 9:26 am

Enough dreaming of living in thai

• Betoika on Sep 17, 2016 at 10:55 am

You buy car from thai ka?

• Viosfan on Sep 18, 2016 at 8:44 am

Vios is B segmenter, should have VSC 5 speed new engine 10 years ago. Jepunis sells very old cars here !

• Low Budget on Sep 17, 2016 at 12:43 pm

“Credit” for Proton is having RM 1.5B soft loan from the Gomen. “Debit” for Proton is cannot sell enough cars to repay the Gomen.

• Vsc no? on Sep 16, 2016 at 3:15 pm

4 star only? Is this mean no VSC for all variants?

• kzm (Member) on Sep 16, 2016 at 9:04 pm

4 star does not mean no ESC eg KIA Picanto has 6 airbag + ESC but still got 4 star. It do mean the car cannot get enough point to get 5 star. For car to get 5 star ASEAN NCAP car need to have ESC. So if car get full point (16/16) but do not have ESC the car relegated to max 4 star. If the car not getting minimum point to get 5 star (eg 13/16) n has ESC the car still get 4 star. If the car get minimum point (eg. 14/16) n has ESC the car will get 5 star.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • this is not acceptable for most people..we are expecting 5 stars with the all added safety devices like ESC and ABS…i thought proton went all out to make the safest car..this is disgraceful given the time and money spent on proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 14
  • Sunny on Sep 16, 2016 at 3:42 pm

Goodjob…

• jazz gk on Sep 16, 2016 at 3:53 pm

Proton Saga vs Perodua Bezza, saga is more cheaper and affordable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • Low Budget on Sep 17, 2016 at 12:50 pm

Forever stuck in the low price and shoddy workmanship category, just like Hyundai in the nineties, now that Hyundai has transform to World class, when is Proton’s turn?

• Best Safety konon on Sep 16, 2016 at 3:55 pm

Proton screwed Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
  • Now its up to pricing. Example P2 Bezza X (Mid range) Rm44,800. If Saga mid range can be price below Bezza X pricing, then P1 could just deliver the “punch” to slow P2 sedan entry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • Proton does have a Punch. It’s called Punch CVT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
      • P1 basher a.k.a payed keyboard.warrior.. no job to do ka , since ur boss cut your.cupon makan.

• Bench for waitmarks!!!!!!

• Huwaaa on Sep 16, 2016 at 5:40 pm

Proton has coming to its senses now.. Malaysian market now is looking for a good car and cheap price.. Look at TIV sales this year compared to last year, dropped 15%. People now are reserving money for future purchases. With all the cost of living hiking up, people like me would looking for an affordable new car with low maintenance to pay. Some OEM are reducing their car prices, but when its due to visit service centre, its really a pain in the ass..

I’m looking for a sedan that pays less than 500 per month, an affordable maintenance cost, good fuel comsumption. RM is my concern now. 4 star NCAP is good enough for me.. If i want 5 star, i’ll go for Persona.

If New Saga is lesser than Bezza, lets say 5K to 10K’s, i’ll the first one to sign the purchase form.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 9
    • I am sure Proton VVT engine with CVT Gearbox, is not a choice worth for 9 years Loan.

5 years loan at best should be it.

• C. P. MOHAN on Sep 16, 2016 at 5:46 pm

All cars worthy to be on the road should be rated 5-star and above, anything less, taught in the old-school, means FAIL, to put it in another way a 4-star means forty marks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
    • Albert on Sep 17, 2016 at 9:13 am

Datuk Mohan
      4 stars to P1 means 20 marks.
      Look at our Form 5.The passing mark for ADD Maths is 20 % now ,just to allow those dudes to pass.Some of these go on to be civil engineers,omg.
      Your hse built by such personnel,may fail one day.
      We dont know the ACTUAL CREDIBILITY of crash rating agencies.Look no further than dieselgate.A world renown German auto giant can LIE unashamedly.
      WE,Bolehland buyers keep thinking everything from GERMANY is world class.Not so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • China Bing Bing on Sep 18, 2016 at 3:32 pm

Then, 5-star only 50 marks?

• maker on Sep 16, 2016 at 7:50 pm

Jangan bising la, 4 bintang ok apa. Ingat vios tu dapat berapa bintang ? Bumbung bising masa hujan.

Persona semua varian 5 bintang. Ada pilihan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 14
  • mohamad on Sep 16, 2016 at 8:42 pm

This new saga look comparably cute as premium brand and with the price way below 40K it will make other competitors worried.
    I am betting that this time around Proton hit the jackpot …and the tidal wave will reversed.

Regards

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
  • I’m just curious if the 4 star rating is for all variant or some of the variant?4 stars for variant without ESC?or proton takes away ESC on all variant which obviously against their pledge to make a 5 star ASEAN ANCAP rated new car for Malaysian market.
    in terms of crash test score, seems it didn’t have advantage against it direct rival, the perodua bezza…

• The 4 stars rating could due to old design where as the engine will crush into passengers cabin during front impact. New car design during crash the engine will drop down to reduce injuries to occupants. That is why Bezza score well while Saga not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 18
    • You buy Persona or Iriz, Preve, Suprima if you want 5 stars rating.

• Jimmy on Sep 17, 2016 at 3:29 pm

You are speculating.

• walauweh on Sep 17, 2016 at 3:45 pm

nope,that isnt the reason. the reason is based on impact of the dummy and depend whether there is a modifier to reduce the mark.

unless the modifier said the engine intrude the cabin,then its the engine was the reason.

previous saga problem in crash was extensive separation between a pillar n door sill which causing the mark deduction,but it is being rectify later.

and another is concentrated knee load due to driver seat positioning n next is variable knee contact due to passeger glove box lid hit the knee(accidently open during the crash n hit the knee).

there were reasons why its being deduct previously,n not related to engine detachment cuz 64kmh doesnt have enough force to detach the engine n gbox by safety design. thats why u wont see any frontal ncap worldwide engine dropdown during crash test.

• Alson P on Sep 17, 2016 at 6:34 am

The price will be 33k to 44k.. Standard to premium.. All variant 4-star ncap

• arowana on Sep 17, 2016 at 10:54 am

work hard or drive a Proton

• Same L0rr on Sep 19, 2016 at 9:41 am

Work hard and drive Proton Perdana (2.0 & 2.4 VVTi Honda engine with 5 speed gearbox) Sure have good RV!

• Almighty Snack Bar on Sep 17, 2016 at 12:04 pm

Haha..

Only 4 star and not 5 star?

Confirm this car does not have VSC.

What a load of bullcrap from our beloved Proton management team.

Same BS BQ and QC of our beloved Honda BS Malaysia.

Hidup Ketuanan UNO!!

• Ben yap on Sep 17, 2016 at 2:02 pm

0-100kmph got under 10 secs? More than that means it’s a slowpoke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • Mivec on Sep 17, 2016 at 2:21 pm

Please la proton don’t use CVT, its really bad. The CVT is so poor in iriz

• Mikey on Sep 17, 2016 at 2:30 pm

Judging from reading the many comments here, M’sian loved there cars fitted with VSC/ESC/BA/HDA/LSD/ABS/Airbags/LDD.

Does not matter if it’s Vehicle Stability Control, Electronic Stability Control, Brake Assist, Hill Descend Assist, Limited Slip Differentials, 6 Airbags, Lane Departure Detection, Daytime Running Light(DRL). High-intensity Discharge Lights(HID) & lately LED Head Lamps.

Yes, all these Acronyms will help us one way or another in times of crisis/emergencies. If we are careless, drive like a mad dog or have a rush of Ego just bcos we do not like someone overtaking, all the above is of no use.

We all will die one day. Just make sure its not bcos of reckless driving. Happy reading & safe driving folks.

• Kelvin Kong on Sep 17, 2016 at 3:11 pm

New Saga looks better than Bezza, I hope the quality n safety must be better than Bezza : )

• Kuai koci masak on Sep 17, 2016 at 3:59 pm

milo tin proton……

TAK NAK….

• Apa? 4 star je?

• wawasan2020 on Sep 18, 2016 at 12:51 am

when other car makers brag about new technology or new design. yet we are bragging for our national cheapest range of cars. kesian betul.

• old horse on Sep 18, 2016 at 9:58 am

proton forgotten human choose to improve, that is why Honda and Toyota getting more sales..

• The persona lacks in terms of rear space/legroom. I’d be curious to see how this Saga fare in terms of interior space. We could be looking at something that offers similar space minus the 1.6 litre engine and some other fancy features including ESC. This is a battle of price over value and quality. Proton will need to give good and consistent value and quality(not forgetting after sales service) for at least 5 years before the people’s perception can start to change.

• Isofix ada taruk? on Sep 18, 2016 at 12:15 pm

This time dont forget to give customers isofix anchor k

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 18, 2016 at 8:42 pm

they should take a real production car and crash it….maybe different results

• why you guys so worried if this saga just only got 4 stars ASEAN NCAP. it does not matter at all, the important is you know how to drive carefully and always aware. if you got money and love, just take it. if not just leave it, stop your ridiculous comment. or build your own automotive brand and do what you want. stupid moron

• fuzika on Sep 19, 2016 at 8:54 am

Saga is an icon to me. So I agree if some say it should be done carefully, design wise and engineering wise. I put it this way because I can easily see a saga in almost every garage here.
    And just an observation; when you launch a new model never say “Proton has improved this and that, which was a problem in model xyz before..” It gives an impression that Proton really produces cars with problems. My 2 cents. Sorry.

• TOYOL on Sep 19, 2016 at 10:04 am

FLX lg cantik drp new saga ni..ntah apa2 design..xde wooow factor.

• Same L0rr on Sep 19, 2016 at 2:41 pm

Budget car bro. No wonder bad Design! Want good design? Buy Persona bro? What? Not afford to buy Persona? You have no choice, buy this Saga 1.3 or Bezza 1.0.

• nakeevlah on Sep 19, 2016 at 10:10 am

this saga ada eev tak?

• Same L0rr on Sep 20, 2016 at 3:46 pm

Campro VVT engine & CVT bising punch powertrain gearbox is far from EEV standard! No hope for this Campro & CVT Punch!

• Saga? Well known for it’s FL, FLX, FLXX, FLXXX, FLXXX+, FLXXX++.