New “GT” number plates now available in Malaysia

screen-shot-2016-10-01-at-10-01-08-pm

Malaysians now have yet another vanity number plate to choose from – a new series with the prefix “GT”, offered by Kelab Eksplorasi 7 Benua Malaysia (KE7B), which happens to be the same organisation that sold the G1M (Gagasan 1 Malaysia) series of vanity number plates.

The special series will have the usual run of 9,999 numbers, with the minimum reserved price for a normal number starting from RM1,000 going up to RM200,000 for “GT1”.

If you’re successful in your tender, you have to register the plate onto a car before the end of 2017 at JPJ’s Wangsa Maju branch. KE7B says proceeds will go towards funding its activities. GT 86, anyone?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• GT 555

• Makcik Kunta on Oct 01, 2016 at 10:35 pm

Sam Loo shall buy the GT plate for his fifth Lexus and his son saga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
      • Looks stupid. Same gomen money-making tactic

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 3
        • Bapa borek Anak korek on Oct 02, 2016 at 2:40 pm

JPJ ikut Najib. .. Cash is King

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
          • Nizzan on Oct 02, 2016 at 4:53 pm

Najib is their boss. What to do? This number plate is going crazy for money! Too many version! I even saw a lorry that carry 1M4U plate and yesterday another PERFECT 777! What nonsense!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
          • tokok on Oct 02, 2016 at 8:26 pm

Let see which dump-AS buys and we can laugh at them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
          • Piupiupiu on Oct 03, 2016 at 1:53 am

If i want to collect money to fund my activities, make new plate no, how much need to pay to JPJ?

• Encik Kunta on Oct 04, 2016 at 9:40 am

This what happens when you have a Government that is filled with bodohs, lazy, just want to sleep the whole day and their whole lives are thinking about getting more wives.

How to have time to come out with good plans?

• Funny comment. Blame JPJ, while some people gonna buy it anyway.

• Ah chong on Jun 21, 2018 at 11:08 pm

RM2 mil to buy the series .. Then wutever profit is yours to keep … Making momey out of nothing .. Kabel besar dapat duit goyang telok

• hahaha on Oct 02, 2016 at 3:48 pm

this new number plate thing is getting way out of hand… every other month there is a new offering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • Bezza GT1.

• Encik Kunta on Oct 04, 2016 at 9:50 am

no more value already. Too much of abuse. Every week got special number plate.

• Irwin on Oct 03, 2016 at 7:13 pm

When the buying stops, the killing can too.

• Yes.. Bash here bash there, but still people want to buy. How?

• Encik Kunta on Oct 04, 2016 at 12:44 pm

bodoh comment. If you legalize cocaine also still got buyers right?

If the Government cared for the rakyat, they won’t be doing stunts like what JPJ is doing.

All the more when people are suffering with high cost of living.

• syerin on Oct 02, 2016 at 9:42 am

Good idea. Nvidia gt555

• OMG…good news to all Mitsu lancer GT owners.

• Joshua on Oct 01, 2016 at 10:31 pm

This is getting out of hand..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 3
    • JB_KIA on Oct 02, 2016 at 10:51 am

when too many such plates are in the market…value will drop, back to square one eventually huhu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Shamgti on Oct 02, 2016 at 12:46 am

Pity la..jpj now collecting a fund to cover govnt debt.So they had to create bisnes la..Haiyaa.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 3
  • donno on Oct 02, 2016 at 12:49 am

Enough is enough! Kelab explorasi 7benua? Has they ever set out on any scientific expeditions? To antartica maybe? When the buying stops, the annoying idiotic number plates does too.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 1
    • Nizzan on Oct 02, 2016 at 4:56 pm

This is richman game. I don’t care where they money go to. But JPJ should know, enough is enough!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • 911 GT3
    Cayman GT4

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • inb4 tax the rich no problemo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • Easy money. Malaysians will pay for this and then complain about the government sucking people dry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 35
  • matthew on Oct 02, 2016 at 2:49 am

this is the new way how gomen finding xtra money..to paying debt interest..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • farghmee on Oct 02, 2016 at 8:56 am

Ferrari GT8
    Ford GT40

• Aaron on Oct 02, 2016 at 10:12 am

Another pathetic and disturbing attempt by JPJ to get money from rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • theboss on Oct 02, 2016 at 11:23 am

GT8481 how much?

• George on Oct 02, 2016 at 11:24 am

Wow! This is great! My name is George Tan. Will definitely bid for a nice number :)

• Mikey on Oct 02, 2016 at 5:34 pm

U have to bit RM1,019.00 Shringgit bcos there are 18 others George Tan who is bidding.

• Vincent Tan on Oct 02, 2016 at 8:05 pm

Getting for my doter too, Gina.

• myfordsuxbigtime on Oct 02, 2016 at 12:19 pm

can I have just the characters? without numbers? coz I’m my Ford GT is on its way…

• C. P. MOHAN on Oct 02, 2016 at 12:50 pm

Is vanity vehicle number plates becoming another avenue for political contribution/funding?

• Kupang Boy on Oct 02, 2016 at 2:21 pm

They can take the license plates and stuff it up their a** for all I care. Doubt that the numbers make me any better or any worse as a person. Only a few quid less in the pocket. I’ll take any random number thank you very much.

• tkhengong on Oct 02, 2016 at 3:24 pm

Pathetic but I suggest for Paul Tan to write to JPJ to request for one too and we the readers can tender for it. Haha. But very soon our traffic police will be more confused as I was told they were with the WA99999XX series that was discontinued. What happened was they got the front alphabets right but conveniently forgot about the end alphabet and a couple of car owners with the W plates got erroneously summoned. Haha

• Henry on Oct 02, 2016 at 5:06 pm

Yes, how about a PT series?

• kamal on Oct 03, 2016 at 1:47 pm

PT already issued in Penang during the 70’s my dear friend.
        What about a write-up on the single mother riding Yamaha 150 around the world without any sponsor? She deserved the respect more than any paid for holiday drive these idiots are planning.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 02, 2016 at 4:44 pm

i want an SV plate for mysekf

• Pondan on Oct 02, 2016 at 5:26 pm

Gov is selling everything including your children future to cover their debt and protect their own.

Long live Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • As long as we dun gip to chaos its okays cuz we knows if gip free pipu dun appreciate, but if make them pay then they take gud care

• Mikey on Oct 02, 2016 at 5:47 pm

Ha ha ha. It is soooo easy for the gov to get under our skin when they announce some “special” no plates that cost xxx $$$.

As the consumer, we can always ignore it right ! No need to get angry. Let the Gila no folks pay for it. No one said U must buy it.

Cheers folks. Life is too short to be angry over nothing unless U decide to make it your problem.

• Andrekua on Oct 02, 2016 at 7:51 pm

Seriously why are Malaysians so obsessed with numbers? Why feed the corrupt government?

• john is otak batu on Oct 02, 2016 at 9:38 pm

JPJ is making M’sian a laughing stock 4 others to C

• Susukotak on Oct 02, 2016 at 11:58 pm

Kegilaan apa ni? Kelab ni dah sampai semua benua? Sapa ahli kelab? Patut lepas ni pesara tentera pula jual plate series ZP (z=tentera , P=pencen)

• fanofthisite on Oct 03, 2016 at 12:44 am

does this business of special plates just confirm there is no real use of the conventional nameplates , at all?

• Kenny on Oct 03, 2016 at 12:57 am

Some anggota pentadbiran want special plate, open bidding get number plate while earning side income

• TheDean on Oct 03, 2016 at 4:22 am

I’ll tender for a plate bearing 1MDB26, put it on a Perdana and park it in Putrajaya.

• Jimmy on Oct 03, 2016 at 12:59 pm

Stop using a horse logo if you are not a Ferrari.

• GT123456789 on Oct 03, 2016 at 2:01 pm

amboi.. senangnya buat duit…

• old horse on Oct 03, 2016 at 7:34 pm

when visit pahang year can become VIP, its stupidity warning already..in fact, there are not much BMW plate on the street ! lol

• no one on Oct 03, 2016 at 7:59 pm

some people in our country don’t even have money to get their own car let alone plate number.

Is the money collected is being donate to the charity? Is the money is spent well for our education development? (even nowdays paper provided to school is being cut drastically) Building shelter to the loss ones? etc etc etc

What is the purpose for collecting large amount of money from this “special” numbered plate number?

sorry.. just my 2 cents.

• Hugo Andore on Oct 03, 2016 at 9:15 pm

A number plate made for poseurs which will lead them to believe that their car will go faster if paired with it..

• Alex (Member) on Oct 03, 2016 at 9:33 pm

The golden question is which plate would be free, reserved for special unnamed personnel? Bookie should start open odds for bets!

• DPCraft on Oct 03, 2016 at 10:46 pm

GT86 for Toyota 86

• passion on Oct 04, 2016 at 9:27 am

same old.

• Gonggok on Oct 04, 2016 at 10:46 am

Patriot plate tak laku…. can straight away buy some at price RM200.

It’s a good indication on the mood of Malaysians regarding the gomen.

• GT = Government Tolong

• tender on Oct 04, 2016 at 12:15 pm

The tender opens today…
    But please don’t be mistaken that it is an open tender, I don’t recall results being published nor did they get audited in anyway.

and proceed go towards funding their activities? I think it is at least important for the bidders to know what activities are these? Can you enlighten us Paultan?

The “VIP” was suppose to fund visit pahang campaign. This?

• Dinesh on Nov 13, 2016 at 8:55 am

I want GT 636 /GT 666/GT 360

• Citramelatiindah on Mar 01, 2017 at 4:56 pm

Patut la ari tu selisih ngan plate GT5555 tp x ingat kete ape… blur sat sbb x pernah tgk plate G… hehehe

• Sakthigunan Pannier Selvam on Mar 15, 2017 at 12:05 pm

GT 5665

• kinte on Jul 04, 2017 at 11:49 am

no need to bodoh orang tu, bodoh orang ni, as u a very smart one. no one force u to buy the number. as for me, i will buy any running number. any problem?

• parthiban on Mar 09, 2018 at 5:49 pm

i m looking for 8803 with any special alpabert

• MGANESH on Jun 07, 2022 at 10:13 am

GT 9998 ..Want buy tis no

• Edward YII on Oct 01, 2022 at 9:52 am

GT 6816 taken ?

• Dear Sir,

May know the price for GT2399 , GT7277 AND GT1626 . TQ