VIDEO: Proton X50 – Level 2 semi-autonomous driving

The range-topping Proton X50 Flagship will feature an Advanced Driving Assistance System (ADAS) suite of driving assistance and safety components, which includes autonomous emergency braking with pedestrian detection, auto high beam and blind spot monitoring with a door opening warning.

There is also Intelligent Cruise Control (ICC), which bundles adaptive cruise control with stop and go, lane centring assist and lane keeping assist, enabling the car to maintain a set distance from a preceding vehicle and stay in the centre of its lane, at speeds of up to 150 km/h.

At the media preview of the X50 in Sepang yesterday, the automaker showcased the SUV’s Level 2 semi-autonomous driving capability, and the video shows the ICC in action, highlighting how the system aids driving. Also showcased are the workings of BLIS.

A point to note about the stop and go function. As shown in the clip, the vehicle-to-vehicle distance when stationary looks to be relatively short, but the gap still leaves room for traffic from another lane to cut in under real-world conditions, as is the case with the low-speed follow function in Honda’s Sensing suite. We’ll know more when we eventually get our hands on the X50 for on-road trials.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Roti john on Oct 01, 2020 at 6:52 pm

Hello PT, people here are wondering why there are tons of Proton X50 articles. Due to the excessive amounts of Proton X50 articles, some people have assumed that these are actually paid articles. Here is my Game-Changing suggestion to avoid this misunderstanding, I think you should stop posting more articles about X50, just combine all of them and conclude it into 1 article. This is way more organized and cleaner. Also, I hope brother john does not come here and get mad with my opinion

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 50
    • not so john on Oct 01, 2020 at 7:27 pm

It’s not wrong for mutiple articles if it attracts viewers. Not every year we have fascinating car launch from our own car brands. If i’m not mistaken, PT did the same before Myvi’s official launch. Furthermore, this article is about the new technology that is not common to Malaysian’s knowledge. Thanks PT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 10
      • Is time we export some X50s back to japan, since we have too many HRVs here. although HRV is the better car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
      • AliAhKauRamasamy on Oct 01, 2020 at 9:05 pm

Q: What do you think of the car?

A: The ADAS is greatly impressive. We really love it.

• Fascia on Oct 01, 2020 at 10:51 pm

Fascinating? According to whom?

• According to the amount of traffic generated in this site and viewers on the PT Youtube channel. Well, obviously some salesmen from rival brands would hate to admit that.

• Penang State Ops on Oct 01, 2020 at 11:19 pm

So sad that such technology is new to Malaysians, for other countries this technology isn’t exactly new. Anyways this isn’t even a Malaysian car, technically a rebadged. It is extremely shameful how subpar Proton is.

I propose the government get rid of these taxes and let me bury quality cars at a reasonable price. Who is the government to tell me that I cannot buy the car of my liking? I understand taxes but there is a difference between reasonable and excessive taxes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
        • Anonymous on Oct 02, 2020 at 11:23 am

It’s new because Malaysian wants things cheap from their “national” brand. Well no more. If you want high tech, pay for them.

• Optimus on Oct 02, 2020 at 10:24 am

Correct bro. So many X50 artikels, but when X50 got tayar pancit. X50 lady drive dunno how to change tayar pancit for X50. Better to write artikel & video on “Dummy’s guide to change Tayar pancit for X50”. Is more manfaat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • Troll Slayer on Oct 02, 2020 at 7:35 pm

Better write an article on ‘How not to mix BM and English in a comment to make it sound like a kid wrote it’. Better suited for guys like you.

• So why didn’t I see you complain about the tons of articles during launch of Aruz? I even recalled you repeatedly commenting in each and every one of them. So now the shoe is on the other foot, you think to come and complain? Ridiculous.

Instead you go ahead and further make complaints about other people that may complain about your complaints?! You are a Grade A hypocrite is not downright an @$$hole. If you don’t like it here you are free to stop coming and commenting in Paul Tan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • Vader on Oct 01, 2020 at 9:35 pm

*Heavy breathing* The buthurt is strong with this one. You have much potential

• Copy Paste on Oct 01, 2020 at 9:42 pm

Copy paste: “You can stop coming into Proton news articles you know.”

• Michael Chong on Oct 02, 2020 at 7:54 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 384
      • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 02, 2020 at 9:08 am

You can believe what you want to believe bro.

We did a similar approach during major Perodua launches in the past too.

As for the 5 Perodua variants you should not buy article, we didn’t kill it. Here’s a link if you’re interested: paultan.org/2020/09/14/five-perodua-models-you-should-not-buy-heres-why

And the Proton version of that article will be published later today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
        • Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 02, 2020 at 10:26 am

Well done Friz! But we reckoned there is none Honda models we should not buy, really.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
          • Why not PT Team published “five honda models you should not buy.” article? I think PT Team should do that soon.

• Roti john on Oct 02, 2020 at 2:55 pm

Excellent news Hafriz! I’m looking forward to read the Proton version of the 5 variants you should not buy. After days of waiting with bated breath, we all can finally read the Game-Changing article together with john and friends too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
        • Red Karma on Oct 02, 2020 at 11:08 am

Great work… Keep it up bro Hafriz.

• Gerenti you he will then come in with his multitudes of dupes, singing praises of PT and copy pasta his boring act of whacking Proton. Seen enough of him to know.

• Sick & Tired on Oct 02, 2020 at 12:41 pm

Kunta oh Kunta. How many times has PT writers gotta sound you for your fake news and accusations? Bertaubatlah bro. If you don’t like how Paul Tan runs his website, you are to come out with your own automotive website free from any Proton news except those you wish to hentam.

• Troll Slayer on Oct 02, 2020 at 7:32 pm

I don’t think you know what objective journalism means, so please stop embarrassing yourself. You can change to whatever dupes you have, but you still can’t cover the stench you are emitting. People give you the moniker ‘resident troll’ for good reasons.

• Kassim B Khairul on Oct 02, 2020 at 9:15 pm

Mohd Sidek bin Pahman on Sep 25, 2020 at 4:57 pm
        Japanese cars are sold ‘in 230 countries’

Christy Wong on Sep 23, 2020 at 7:48 am
        At least VVTI Toyota engine is sold ‘in over 200 countries’.

Mee Hailam on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:26 pm
        And yet, Hyundai sells 8 million cars globally ‘in over 200 countries’.

Dato JH Ramli bin Hj Thanby Chik on Sep 04, 2020 at 3:00 pm
        Malaysians know one thing, Japanese cars are sold ‘in over 200 countries’.

Michael Chong on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:57 pm
        There is a reason why Toyota VVTI technology is sold ‘in over 200 countries’.

YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 16, 2019 at 7:39 am
        This car uses a Toyota/Daihatsu engine that is recognised and won awards ‘in over 200 countries’.

Last-last we know who is the real troll here.

• Dredd on Oct 03, 2020 at 2:02 pm

YB Adham Baba sez got 500 countries’. so 200 countries konpom wrong..

• Darren on Oct 02, 2020 at 8:36 am

Agree with john. Someone here needs more vaseline.

• Lolwhut? on Oct 02, 2020 at 8:44 am

You dont like it, you know where the door is….

• Bolster on Oct 01, 2020 at 8:28 pm

Well, as overall, feel that it was extremely very disappointed as realized that I don’t know why these honda SA have spent whole day for talking fake feedbacks and always badmouthing to P1. Even, Honda SA always like to talk feedback about proton spare parts problem. Really, the future blog is going to be very unhealthy if honda SA aka proton bashers continuing attacking proton. Especially, honda SA also attempting for attacking other brands, the same goes to Honda City RS AD. Well, I think it is time for Paultan to get rid proton haters aka honda SA here. Enough is enough and hopefully we don’t want to see honda SA coming here to talk fake giving fake info to ensure future blogs will be more peace and having more freedom from Honda SA.

• Ibnu Bakrin on Oct 01, 2020 at 10:28 pm

Too long waiting, still no outcome ka Proton?
    Dey Perodua, as usual do your copycat mission.. ask Toyota to rebadge the Corolla Cross become… Cozza?

• Gerald on Oct 02, 2020 at 12:18 am

Should have it in X70 it being the flagship model of Proton now

• Gerald on Oct 02, 2020 at 12:18 am

Should have it in X70 it being the flagship model of Proton now. Hope gets upgraded to X70 soon.

• I don’t think they can incorporate the ADAS 2 system into X70 as this is already an outgoing model and precedented by the Alcantara.
      Just my oppinion…

Hope they bring in the Geely Alcantara as a replacement x70 or even as X90.

• So when are the PT editorial team gonna make videos and articles about the X50 door handles, floormats, side mirrors, fuel cap, door lock, radiator cap, headrest, seat belt buckle, lugnuts, tyre valve cover etc?

If PT staff wants to be salesmen, go all the way lah. Nobody will accuse you guys of trying too hard…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • Sick & Tired on Oct 02, 2020 at 12:44 pm

I heard the Vaseline making company has ran out of stock ever since the flurry of X50 news came out.

• Troll Slayer on Oct 02, 2020 at 7:27 pm

Funny, you were quiet when PT wrote same articles detailing the Myvi and Honda City. The only desperate salesmen we can see here are those trying to stem public interest in the X50. Yeah, I am directly saying you are a desperate salesman for a rival brand

• Yeah yeah yeah, surrrre. When you tak suka PT kena bambu just label dissenting comments as rival salesmen, dupes, etc. How original.

Here is an idea: defend them objectively. Count the number of other model launches and compare with X50.

• EDITOR on Oct 03, 2020 at 1:26 am

A simple search can show you how many related articles are related to your favourite car of choice, go ahead, don’t be lazy and expects to be spoonfed.

• Troll Slayer on Oct 03, 2020 at 3:34 am

Oh, the hypocritical never learns. Wasn’t it you who labelled PT as trying to be a Proton salesman with all these X50 articles just because you dislike Proton? I should praise how original of you too to only able to look at the blame on others but never on yourself.

Need I remind you that PT did the same detail articles regarding other hotly-anticipated models like the Aruz, Myvi, Axia and the recently-launched City? You clearly have no idea what ‘objectiveness’ means judging from your comments.

• How come you only comment on tiger logo articles but go missing when I bambu the other carmakers like P2, Honda, Nissan, Toyota, Merc, BMW, etc?

Congrats on exposing yourself as a geely-paid troll. Come I clap for you.

• John 2020 on Oct 05, 2020 at 9:15 am

Why PT editorial team dedicated many specific articles for X50? 1) The X50 features more advance specs than the Perodua Bezza, Aruz etc, to educate the mass public, not all of them wellinformed abt the technical parts, safety etc especially female 2) To answer many sceptical questions from Paultan.org and Paultan Youtube audiences, readers and critics such as APS, R&H, 3Cyclinders vibration, Lvl2 Autonomous. Left2right conversion issues. You should go back and read the comments highlighted by them – input critics actions create reactions from PT. PT followers are not just here bro, many more prefer to watch the videos and comments on their Youtube site too.
          Why lately so emotional bro? PT’s team spending the whole day in sunny hot sepang track to shoot still images and gather multiple video angles. Then rushing back to the studio to put a lot of efforts to edit, render, post production audio/video & writing a reports. We should just support appreciate them more. By looking thru the feedbacks in Youtube, many seems supportive and thanking them in return. Countless praises thrown at them : ‘good efforts guys’ ‘thank you for clarification’ ‘ ok i understood this now’ Appreciate it, guys’
          #NotTrue, u hav received many greenvotes on your critical comment on Bezza in the past. Many also ok & chill when received zero votes or redvotes.
          Unless your initial plan all along to achieve the highest popular redvotes like kunta, the ‘attention seeker”s troll.
          so just relax & chill

• Exxelyx on Oct 02, 2020 at 6:55 am

So proton fan boy will claim this system is taken from volvo pilot assist…

• Darren on Oct 02, 2020 at 8:43 am

So in real world, ACC will only work if idiotic Malaysians don’t cilok2 into the gap in front.

• Looks like the paid troll brigade is equally busy condemning PT team’s efforts to bring more information about the X50. Well, it can’t be helped since this car will be causing a lot of sleepless nights to the other brands.