Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

2006 Honda Civic Euro

Here it is, the 2006 Honda Civic. It kind of reminds me of the Scion TC which is Toyota’s marque targetted at young buyers. The base model will come with a new 1.8 SOHC i-VTEC motor which will replace the aging 1.7 SOHC VTEC currently found in base model Civics here.

The new i-VTEC SOHC motor will make 140PS@6300rpm of power and 174Nm@4300rpm of torque. Looking at the performance stats, it’s pretty much a lazy engine unlike the venerable B-series.

Lazy engines which do not rev high and have massive torque at low RPMs are good for city driving fuel economy, a factor which is taken into consideration by alot of buyers these days because of the rocketing oil prices. During highway cruising the engine is said to be have the economy of a 1.5 liter engine.

The side profile looks extremely sleek and very modern. When Honda unveiled the Euro Civic concept and said it would be the base for the next Civic, they were not kidding!

The car follows Honda’s new flat rectangular headlamp and integrated grille scheme, unlike it’s previous triangular curvy headlamps like the one in the Civic EK. This new look is in Malaysia in the form of the Accord and the Oddysey.

Hidden rear door handles like the Alfa 147. Looks better this way :) Notice the strange ‘dual’ rear windscreen design? I wonder whatever for. Kills the whole smooth flow of the design.

I think the back looks good but I do find the way the design of the number plate holder a bit strange. I think they made it too deep, making the back of the car lose the smooth lines everywhere else on the car. Check out those twin triangular tailpipes! You also can have a closer look at the two different windscreens here. Looks like the rear view visibility is killed.

Nice driver oriented interior with a single huge RPM meter in the middle of the meter panel, flanked by water temp and fuel gauge meters. I assume the digital number above is the speedometer.

These images seem to be the Civic Si hatchback version. Honda also has sedan and coupe versions of the Civic. You can check out spyshots at The Car Connection and Temple of VTEC.

British auto show Fifth Gear has reviewed the 2006 Honda Civic hatchback.

40 Comments »

1. Galvin said,

July 26, 2005 @ 3:27 am

Yay…now ah bengs have got a new Civic to modify!! I’m really waiting to see how they can ever spoil such a good looking car. :)

2. Mack Zulkifli said,

July 26, 2005 @ 8:00 am

I am buying this … and modding it to the max.

3. eAthena-Xeir4s said,

July 26, 2005 @ 8:17 am

Yay , nice new model .

Good from Honda , as expected.

4. bumboy said,

July 26, 2005 @ 8:30 am

it has that hunchback CITY look… and that bling bling nose is so.. shiny!

5. haji said,

July 26, 2005 @ 8:47 am

Wonder about the evolution of Ciivic’s. Since 1970’s. I own the civic 1979 version. The sillohuette and front face look like those new accord. Well done asimo. The power of dream.

6. IJustKnow said,

July 26, 2005 @ 9:09 am

Cantik tu memang cantik..tapi kalau Gen 2 U all kata claustrophobic lah..sempit lah…

7. Sharfox said,

July 26, 2005 @ 9:30 am

Kinda weird looking car. My personal view - UGLY but as time goes by I think I can accept the look. Same for Honda CITY and Accord. I can accept Accord but dunno why I still feel that CITY is still UGLY.

8. neurra said,

July 26, 2005 @ 9:38 am

woaha.. this is super sleek. nuff said

9. peter pan said,

July 26, 2005 @ 9:56 am

Damm good…especially the butt….looks like a 18 year old chick!!!!!!!

10. edw said,

July 26, 2005 @ 9:58 am

Hai Paul…

this civic look great…

pls pls look for Honda latest CRV… I say a picture in a Taiwan magazine lately, the new CRV look like Toyota Harrier.

hope you can find some info and picture on it.

11. December said,

July 26, 2005 @ 9:59 am

man, this car is kinky, feel like spanking the rear, i think its simply superb, nothing to complain about…honda is getting hornier ;)

12. Verne said,

July 26, 2005 @ 10:23 am

Looks like the new Mitsu Colt, only better. What is it with MPV-ish shapes? What happened to the sleek, sexy cars manufacturers once built?

13. kody said,

July 26, 2005 @ 10:36 am

the front looks greats but the back seen like… a bit GEN 2 look…

14. eCUN said,

July 26, 2005 @ 11:24 am

Can buy meh? If no more AP under declare… the price is like buying a bungalow U know…

15. Wingz said,

July 26, 2005 @ 12:12 pm

when open for sale ?

16. kody said,

July 26, 2005 @ 2:22 pm

this is a 3doors hatch-back… i don’t think it can create so much heat when come to Malaysia. If it becomes 5doors then…ok… will in consideration… The interior really futuristic… damn beautiful…. wow….

17. Paul said,

July 26, 2005 @ 3:05 pm

Verne: supposedly this kinda shapes is good for pedestrians.

18. NIL said,

July 26, 2005 @ 3:29 pm

it looks funny.VERY UGLY!!!!!!!!!what was honda thinking?

19. belacans said,

July 26, 2005 @ 3:48 pm

woooo… a the civic is gonna make a comeback as the pimps’ preferred car! :P

20. William said,

July 26, 2005 @ 4:35 pm

a bit potong stim … the more i look at it the more i dun fancy it …

you guys said it best … city is just plain u g l y !

21. woosh said,

July 26, 2005 @ 5:22 pm

this is the euro 5-door hatch. i dont think it will be available here. we will probably get the 5-door sedan.

22. cyder300 said,

July 26, 2005 @ 9:16 pm

Yep, very radical, very much for young buyers…….overall embarks a totally new design philosophy from Honda. Like some readers here observed it looks a little like the Gen2 and a also the Mazda Lantis hatchback in the general shape….but much better. Looks a little tight for backseat room and a rather shallow and short boot design.

23. AlexC said,

July 27, 2005 @ 7:58 am

erm, last update that i got when they unveil this was a concept car, but most probably gonna be much like this… paul, can you confirm if this is production or prototype look??? coz usually production would have a much tone down from the prototype…

24. Paul said,

July 27, 2005 @ 8:28 am

AlexC: this is a production car. there have been spyshots of it testing already.

25. michaelooi said,

July 27, 2005 @ 8:59 pm

it’s rear door reminds me of Alfa Romeo…

26. KiLLersHik said,

July 27, 2005 @ 9:31 pm

very uniquely nice…well done

27. tommy said,

July 27, 2005 @ 11:31 pm

Gen 2 got better looking front.

Its too modern looking…kind of ugly at least better looking than the city! and damned expensive.

28. Bill said,

August 23, 2005 @ 3:39 am

I heard that it will NOT be available in the US ( the 5-door 2006)– which is VERY disapointing. I really WANT to be a Honda fan again…but the one car that I really want from them…they are not letting me have. I hope that somebody talks to them and lets them know that there are LOTS of people over here who would buy the 5-door civic and that we are feeling like they are punishing us and teasing us by showing us something that we can’t have… I saw the pictures and loved this thing and was very excited about buying … but now, its hard to be excited about it at all.

Hope Honda changes their minds and brings it over… I would be a big fan– but till then, its all bittersweet.

BM

29. Ton said,

October 5, 2005 @ 1:56 pm

not that nice VERY UGLY

30. EC said,

November 22, 2005 @ 6:30 pm

like the meter panel, reminded me of the new Oddysey..

31. nazham said,

November 25, 2005 @ 12:16 pm

mr. paul,

that civic means for euro market. it the one exhibited in franfurt recently. asia version slightly different. more beauty but less aerodynamic cos asian go for look first…. technical and driving quality just a secondry matter!

sorry.. just to tell the truth!

32. ApplebinOrange said,

December 1, 2005 @ 12:53 pm

Pretty cool car man. i dont think this is malaysian version, but anyway i am buying one

33. 2006 Honda Civic Sedan and Coupe » said,

January 25, 2006 @ 1:06 am

[...] Here are shots of the Sedan and Coupe version of the 2006 Honda Civic which I’ve covered previously. [...]

34. Honda Civic Euro Video » said,

January 29, 2006 @ 6:06 pm

[...] This is Honda’s promotional footage for the Honda Civic Euro hatchback, which is of course available in Europe only unless you import one in. It has a different two-tiered dashboard design than the USDM and JDM Civics that we’ll be getting, and did I forget to mention it’s a hatchback? The USDM Civic is only available in sedan and coupe form. [...]

35. Honda Civic Type R at Geneva 2006 » said,

February 9, 2006 @ 5:19 pm

[...] In the meanwhile, check out this excellent ad Honda has for the European market Civic hatchback. As with all Honda ads, it’s good. Remember the i-CTDi diesel ad and the Honda Accord ad? [...]

36. 2006 Honda Civic Euro Hatchback Fifth Gear Review » said,

April 11, 2006 @ 9:41 am

[...] Fifth Gear, a British automotive show reviews the 2006 Honda Civic hatchback. The European Honda Civic only comes in hatchback form, and also has a 2.2 liter i-CTDi turbodiesel version in the model range. So far most reviews have said the 2.2 i-CTDi manual Honda Civic is the best choice from the line-up. Looks like the European market really really likes diesel, and Honda’s new powerplant is a winner. Video is after the jump. [...]

37. MNUK said,

April 25, 2006 @ 1:24 am

Quote: Notice the strange ‘dual’ rear windscreen design? I wonder whatever for. Kills the whole smooth flow of the design.

Read in Top Gear megazine that this eliminates the need for a rear windscreen wiper. Notice that there isn’t one (duh)…Cool huh?

38. Akazamabamaboo said,

July 13, 2006 @ 10:51 am

Spaceship…I prefer the sedan version that we have in Malaysia…

39. Kia ED exclusively for Europe said,

August 2, 2006 @ 1:31 pm

[...] Kia has unveiled it’s Kia ED, a future C-segment car for the European market. The ED is just a codename for now which stands for European Design as it’s targetted at the European market. The hatchback has a relatively long wheelbase, which will allow it to offer top notch interior space. The C-segment in Europe means small family car, and it’s competitors will be cars like the Ford Focus and the Honda Civic hatch. As a comparison, the Civic has a wheelbase of while the Kia ED is alot longer at 2650mm. [...]

40. B1u3Be@m said,

March 13, 2008 @ 12:56 am

I kinda prefer the one we have in Malaysia…..the ugliest is the American spec….it looks so boring and dull…

RSS feed for comments on this post

previous post: Mahaleel Out Of A Job
next post: Mahaleel Did Not Agree To New Contract

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Don't have an account?

If you do not have an account on paultan.org, please click here to register. Note that first time commenters will have to be approved before your comment appears.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

What are you waiting for? Register now!