2006 Honda Civic Euro

Here it is, the 2006 Honda Civic. It kind of reminds me of the Scion TC which is Toyota’s marque targetted at young buyers. The base model will come with a new 1.8 SOHC i-VTEC motor which will replace the aging 1.7 SOHC VTEC currently found in base model Civics here.

The new i-VTEC SOHC motor will make 140PS@6300rpm of power and 174Nm@4300rpm of torque. Looking at the performance stats, it’s pretty much a lazy engine unlike the venerable B-series.

Lazy engines which do not rev high and have massive torque at low RPMs are good for city driving fuel economy, a factor which is taken into consideration by alot of buyers these days because of the rocketing oil prices. During highway cruising the engine is said to be have the economy of a 1.5 litre engine.

The side profile looks extremely sleek and very modern. When Honda unveiled the Euro Civic concept and said it would be the base for the next Civic, they were not kidding!

The car follows Honda’s new flat rectangular headlamp and integrated grille scheme, unlike it’s previous triangular curvy headlamps like the one in the Civic EK. This new look is in Malaysia in the form of the Accord and the Oddysey.

Hidden rear door handles like the Alfa 147. Looks better this way :) Notice the strange ‘dual’ rear windscreen design? I wonder whatever for. Kills the whole smooth flow of the design.

I think the back looks good but I do find the way the design of the number plate holder a bit strange. I think they made it too deep, making the back of the car lose the smooth lines everywhere else on the car. Check out those twin triangular tailpipes! You also can have a closer look at the two different windscreens here. Looks like the rear view visibility is killed.

Nice driver oriented interior with a single huge RPM meter in the middle of the meter panel, flanked by water temp and fuel gauge meters. I assume the digital number above is the speedometer.

These images seem to be the Civic Si hatchback version. Honda also has sedan and coupe versions of the Civic. You can check out spyshots at The Car Connection and Temple of VTEC.

British auto show Fifth Gear has reviewed the 2006 Honda Civic hatchback.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Galvin on Jul 26, 2005 at 11:27 am

Yay…now ah bengs have got a new Civic to modify!! I'm really waiting to see how they can ever spoil such a good looking car. :)

• Mack Zulkifli on Jul 26, 2005 at 4:00 pm

I am buying this … and modding it to the max.

• eAthena-Xeir4s on Jul 26, 2005 at 4:17 pm

Yay , nice new model .

Good from Honda , as expected.

• bumboy on Jul 26, 2005 at 4:30 pm

it has that hunchback CITY look… and that bling bling nose is so.. shiny!

• Wonder about the evolution of Ciivic's. Since 1970's. I own the civic 1979 version. The sillohuette and front face look like those new accord. Well done asimo. The power of dream.

• IJustKnow on Jul 26, 2005 at 5:09 pm

Cantik tu memang cantik..tapi kalau Gen 2 U all kata claustrophobic lah..sempit lah…

• Sharfox on Jul 26, 2005 at 5:30 pm

Kinda weird looking car. My personal view – UGLY but as time goes by I think I can accept the look. Same for Honda CITY and Accord. I can accept Accord but dunno why I still feel that CITY is still UGLY.

• neurra on Jul 26, 2005 at 5:38 pm

woaha.. this is super sleek. nuff said

• peter pan on Jul 26, 2005 at 5:56 pm

Damm good…especially the butt….looks like a 18 year old chick!!!!!!!

• Hai Paul…

this civic look great…

pls pls look for Honda latest CRV… I say a picture in a Taiwan magazine lately, the new CRV look like Toyota Harrier.

hope you can find some info and picture on it.

• December on Jul 26, 2005 at 5:59 pm

man, this car is kinky, feel like spanking the rear, i think its simply superb, nothing to complain about…honda is getting hornier ;)

• Verne on Jul 26, 2005 at 6:23 pm

Looks like the new Mitsu Colt, only better. What is it with MPV-ish shapes? What happened to the sleek, sexy cars manufacturers once built?

• the front looks greats but the back seen like… a bit GEN 2 look…

• Can buy meh? If no more AP under declare… the price is like buying a bungalow U know…

• Wingz on Jul 26, 2005 at 8:12 pm

when open for sale ?

• this is a 3doors hatch-back… i don't think it can create so much heat when come to Malaysia. If it becomes 5doors then…ok… will in consideration… The interior really futuristic… damn beautiful…. wow….

• Verne: supposedly this kinda shapes is good for pedestrians.

• it looks funny.VERY UGLY!!!!!!!!!what was honda thinking?

• belacans on Jul 26, 2005 at 11:48 pm

woooo… a the civic is gonna make a comeback as the pimps' preferred car! :P

• William on Jul 27, 2005 at 12:35 am

a bit potong stim … the more i look at it the more i dun fancy it …

you guys said it best … city is just plain u g l y !

• woosh on Jul 27, 2005 at 1:22 am

this is the euro 5-door hatch. i dont think it will be available here. we will probably get the 5-door sedan.

• cyder300 on Jul 27, 2005 at 5:16 am

Yep, very radical, very much for young buyers…….overall embarks a totally new design philosophy from Honda. Like some readers here observed it looks a little like the Gen2 and a also the Mazda Lantis hatchback in the general shape….but much better. Looks a little tight for backseat room and a rather shallow and short boot design.

• AlexC on Jul 27, 2005 at 3:58 pm

erm, last update that i got when they unveil this was a concept car, but most probably gonna be much like this… paul, can you confirm if this is production or prototype look??? coz usually production would have a much tone down from the prototype…

• AlexC: this is a production car. there have been spyshots of it testing already.

• michaelooi on Jul 28, 2005 at 4:59 am

it's rear door reminds me of Alfa Romeo…

• KiLLersHik on Jul 28, 2005 at 5:31 am

very uniquely nice…well done

• tommy on Jul 28, 2005 at 7:31 am

Gen 2 got better looking front.

Its too modern looking…kind of ugly at least better looking than the city! and damned expensive.

• I heard that it will NOT be available in the US ( the 5-door 2006)– which is VERY disapointing. I really WANT to be a Honda fan again…but the one car that I really want from them…they are not letting me have. I hope that somebody talks to them and lets them know that there are LOTS of people over here who would buy the 5-door civic and that we are feeling like they are punishing us and teasing us by showing us something that we can't have… I saw the pictures and loved this thing and was very excited about buying … but now, its hard to be excited about it at all.

Hope Honda changes their minds and brings it over… I would be a big fan– but till then, its all bittersweet.

BM

• not that nice VERY UGLY

• like the meter panel, reminded me of the new Oddysey..

• nazham on Nov 25, 2005 at 8:16 pm

mr. paul,

that civic means for euro market. it the one exhibited in franfurt recently. asia version slightly different. more beauty but less aerodynamic cos asian go for look first…. technical and driving quality just a secondry matter!

sorry.. just to tell the truth!

• ApplebinOrange on Dec 01, 2005 at 8:53 pm

Pretty cool car man. i dont think this is malaysian version, but anyway i am buying one

• MNUK (Member) on Apr 25, 2006 at 9:24 am

Quote: Notice the strange ‘dual’ rear windscreen design? I wonder whatever for. Kills the whole smooth flow of the design.

Read in Top Gear megazine that this eliminates the need for a rear windscreen wiper. Notice that there isn't one (duh)…Cool huh?

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 6:51 pm

Spaceship…I prefer the sedan version that we have in Malaysia…

• B1u3Be@m (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 12:56 am

I kinda prefer the one we have in Malaysia…..the ugliest is the American spec….it looks so boring and dull…

• Vin Brussels on Jun 03, 2009 at 6:42 pm

Have it and i enjoy every second driving it!

• Hi Vin, I’m planning to get this car. Are the parts easily available in Malaysia? Thanks.