New 265 PS Volkswagen Scirocco R unveiled!

Volkswagen Scirocco R

Here’s the hottest version of the Volkswagen Scirocco so far, released just in time for the Scirocco race car’s Nurburgring 24 hour race entry.

This blue devil is the new Volkswagen Scirocco R, and it is powered by a boosted up version of the firm’s venerable 2.0 litre TSI engine, now producing 265 PS and 350Nm of torque, which is similiar to the motor found in the Audi TT-S and the Audi S3. This engine drives the front wheels only, through an XDS front differential lock.

Volkswagen Scirocco R

The Scirocco R gets its own bodykit which Volkswagen says is largely based on the Scirocco GT24 race car. The front bumper features large air intake openings which will provide adequate cooling for the boosted up engine, and the rear features a black diffuser and dual chrome tailpipes. The side profile is dominated by the 18 inch Talladega design alloy wheels.

As always, look after the jump for a full gallery!

[zenphotopress number=99 album=295]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• wanfumi on May 21, 2009 at 9:14 am

Nice car. Wow…….

• damanda on May 21, 2009 at 9:17 am

love the design..cute oso

• eezarm on May 21, 2009 at 9:23 am

hot hatch…

• i think they did a great job in the car's design. i don't think vw has a pretty aggressive outlook, until now. and the engine certainly is powerful with 265 hp man! woohoo! RM200k in malaysia?

• i want one in red!

cheers!

• koozold on May 21, 2009 at 9:37 am

this car is getting hotter and hotter!!

• proud2bemalaysian on May 21, 2009 at 9:40 am

its finger licking!!!!

• Calvin De La Rosa on May 21, 2009 at 9:41 am

Speechless… (but still want to say something)

This is soo true to VW adverts last time… 'Unpimp my ride!'

This car is perfect as it is! Maybe i'll change the rims, but that's a matter of taste!!

…and what's under the hood defo compliments the look!!!

• turboKEV on May 21, 2009 at 9:43 am

Gorgeous!! really wonder when will Scirocco coming to us!!! any idea anyone???

• Jessen on May 21, 2009 at 9:44 am

This car looks fierce…. !

• i think this is the best looking VW so far…

• Gajen on May 21, 2009 at 11:40 am

AWESOME MAN…..

• The rear looks like the old satria.

• stephenstreets on May 21, 2009 at 4:55 pm

Very cool!!

Better looking than the golf

• cyberkayu on May 21, 2009 at 5:54 pm

led fog lamp

nice

• 2fast on May 21, 2009 at 7:04 pm

VW, Please bring it to Malaysia :)

• kington on May 21, 2009 at 8:34 pm

The most beautiful and vulgar hot hatch ever produced.

This car HAS road presence. Not even a Hummer can match its aura.

• Gorgeous..!!

sexy baby!!

• superior on May 22, 2009 at 12:07 am

HAS THE VW SHOWROOM IN JOHOR CLOSED DOWN? ANY IDEA JOHOR PEOPLE?

• superior on May 22, 2009 at 12:09 am

IF VW DONT BRING IT,NAZA WILL HEHE, THEY BRING EVERYTHING.

• Finally scirocco beat Honda EG6, the super cool hothatch design

• damn, i just shit my pants. this looks so good……

• alamak on May 22, 2009 at 1:00 am

The mk6 gti and scirocco will be launching in malaysia this year!

• raybrig85 on May 22, 2009 at 1:36 am

[quote comment="240164"]Very cool!!

Better looking than the golf[/quote]

far better…wut i can say is..HOLYSHIT!!!!!!

• Calvin De La Rosa on May 22, 2009 at 3:27 am

This is the 20th times in 2 days i come to this post… cant get enuff of this piece of motoring art!

• that is one HOT ROC!!

been waiting 4 this 2 come out since VW said they were making it.. gotta be honest, was expecting 4WD actually.. but then wit the new RS Focus, i guess VW think they could work the same magic 4 this new Roc (lets juz hope they do).. gotta say, the newer more agressive look, really works!! it looks angrier, but at the cost of appearing too try hard or moronic..

love 2 see one in white!!

• aksMs on May 22, 2009 at 8:02 am

[quote comment="240107"]…….RM200k in malaysia?[/quote]

200k in malaysia? HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

In your dream pal. Not in a thousand years. Even the new MK6 will cost you more than that.

• Bodow on May 22, 2009 at 8:26 am

200K ? Hehe … at least 280K man …

• TonyZai on May 22, 2009 at 10:50 am

love it so much but i don't think it'll be in malaysia

• GuChia Lian on May 22, 2009 at 11:40 am

Such a pity, certainly it will not be here in Bolehland, even though can import, i think price will be more than what R32 is selling here 300k?

• mohdjiman on May 22, 2009 at 5:03 pm

Very nice car!!

• Scirocco coming to Malaysia this year together with the Golf MKVI…

• so super nice ! Pray i hit the toto fast !

• wowo wow… if only the price below rm150k… i trade in my satria…

• quak58 @ Aussie on May 23, 2009 at 5:29 pm

I would get one…..if it came down. Though I didn't say how I would get it. =)

• entau17 on May 24, 2009 at 12:47 am

Paul,

Dont think its the newer EA888 TSI, its still the older TFSI. Good enough for me! Too bad its only FWD. Even though its not 4motion, its heavier than the TTS!

• Calvin De La Rosa on May 24, 2009 at 12:58 am

[quote comment="240589"]wowo wow… if only the price below rm150k… i trade in my satria…[/quote]

less than RM150K? …wow, aren't you the cutest : )

• [quote comment="240589"]wowo wow… if only the price below rm150k… i trade in my satria…[/quote]

In other country = yes

In Malaysia = DREAMING

• [quote comment="240589"]wowo wow… if only the price below rm150k… i trade in my satria…[/quote]

In other country = YES

In Malaysia = DREAMING~~~

• Paul Tan on May 24, 2009 at 1:39 am

No it is the new EA888 TSI. They've completely replaced the old engine with the new EA888 even in the last few batches of Mk5 Golf GTI. EA888 doesn't necessarily mean it has to have the Valvelift feature that some Audi EA888 has.

• Muhammad Nazreen b on Nov 30, 2009 at 9:01 pm

kereta scricoco ni lawa do.

• Ahh!!!gonna kick and throw away my noob Myvi SE!Volkswagen Scirocco R is my dream sport car!I WANT ONE NOW!!!

• charlie crocker on Apr 10, 2010 at 9:51 pm

based on vw scirroco gt24, no resemblence whats so ever (wider arches and larger spoiler) and r32 engine bolted with a supercharger and off course 4 wheel drive with all that power which the R doesn’t have

sounds too much like the golf R in terms of spec

boring boring boring stop accepting what car companies are presenting and demand what you actually want which is the gt24 car

don’t go in halves

• Nastasha on Jun 04, 2011 at 6:24 pm

it’s actually here in malaysia.. selling at RM260k.
    nice.. really nice… but wud look even more superb wif the ABT kit…
    palpitations baby!

• AllHailProton on Sep 13, 2011 at 12:12 pm

If this model bring to Malaysia?What is the price??300k++??2.0 scirocco already 240k.