Volkswagen Scirocco GT24 Concept

Volkswagen has unveiled a “road-going” concept version of the race-prepared Volkswagen Scirocco entering in the Nurburging 24-hour race this weekend. The concept Scirocco is called the Volkswagen Scirocco GT24 Concept, and is powered by a 300 horsepower version of Volkswagen’s 2.0 litre TFSI engine.

All 300 horses are sent to the Scirocco GT24’s front wheels via a 6-speed twin clutch gearbox with uprated clutches, revised gear ratios, and a lightened flywheel. The GT24 also has an LSD differential lock. Overall weight has dropped to 1120kg, down 178kg from the production Scirocco.

The new Volkswagen Scirocco GT24 is 227mm longer and 61mm wider than the standard road-going Scirocco. Ride height is also 75mm lower thanks to lowered adjustable race dampers. Brakes are large 362mm discs with 6-piston calipers, peeking out from behind large 18 inch lightweight racing wheels.

On the interior, the driver and front passenger sits snug in lightweight Recaro bucket seats equipped with five-point racing harnesses. The interior also has a rollcage, a unique flat-bottomed steering wheel, an electronic display, and a fire extinguisher. Looks like despite this being a “road-going” version, its still pretty much ready for the track.

Two more images after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• whodz (Member) on May 23, 2008 at 3:25 am

It has no VW genes. More to Peugeot’s, especially from its rear similarly to Peugeot 207RC. Overall, great hp produced from 2.0 TFSI, a side to side opponent to Subaru.

• abtm (Member) on May 23, 2008 at 7:26 am

its’s not gonna win the race, but what a car, the Scirocco. Heared from fifth gear it costs Golf GTi money too

• azrai (Member) on May 23, 2008 at 7:37 am

Wow, sport design VW. Not just like kitted Golf into GTi.

• KY (Member) on May 23, 2008 at 8:16 am

oooo very nice.

• Auto_crat (Member) on May 23, 2008 at 8:40 am

Veeeery sinister looking car.

• bolo (Member) on May 23, 2008 at 10:10 am

Putting 300hp to the front wheels, then you ask them to do most of the braking and then they must also steer the car???

• LHQ (Member) on May 23, 2008 at 11:17 am

It’s better then the previous one, in terms of looks.

• aries_shadowheart (Member) on May 23, 2008 at 12:41 pm

bolo said,
    May 23, 2008 @ 10:10 am

Putting 300hp to the front wheels, then you ask them to do most of the braking and then they must also steer the car???

putting 300hp is nothing now for modern FF race car you now. mostly FF race car can handle up to 400++ hp or more. IMHO this car look great. and it not peugeot. BTW VW has touring and endurance racing history with polo, lupo, golf, scirocco and much more

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on May 23, 2008 at 1:03 pm

bolo said,

——-

It is not likely you shall brake and accelerate at the same time. :p

300hp may sound like lot. But considering it probably has some trick front limited slip differential, ultra sticky track slicks and traction control its not exactly eyebrow raising. Besides, they do teach you in race school how to manage your throttle inputs during a corner…even a 300hp RWDer will have trouble keeping itself on the track if you use its throttle at the wrong time on the corner

BTCC guys run that much power and more on their touring cars. Its not what you have, its how you use it.

• Poxxue2 (Member) on May 23, 2008 at 2:10 pm

Theophilus…wat do u think of the Scirocco design, I mean tis GT24, I still think it looks similar to the production one…jz slap on the body and spoiler…so Theo..do ur S….t!!…

• mitlanevo (Member) on May 23, 2008 at 3:54 pm

its rare to have such a nice track-based racing machine…..

• mystvearn (Member) on May 23, 2008 at 9:49 pm

The concept has been going on for some time right? Very rare VW to get it out late

• csv (Member) on May 23, 2008 at 11:35 pm

oooh, V-DUB! representing Deutshland!

this baby here looks like its ready to tear the track apart instead from the road.

not a fan of the interior….too racey, i likey creature comforts.

and driving this here on our kind of roads?

the car will probably have it’s bumper smacked off by potholes and illegal humps.

• happymeal (Member) on May 23, 2008 at 11:48 pm

too racey??

err… its a racing car leh… floor hinged pedals, brake balance adjuster, extended steering column… non-existent dash…hell..this looks much racier than andy priaulx’s Bee-Em!!!

• chap_de_x (Member) on May 24, 2008 at 12:19 am

inside its a racing machine…outside feel not going into serious racing so much la…nowdays trend do not put big scoop eh…supose if at the front the air dam is fitted with couple of fin will make it good for racing…evenmore reduce its drag….at the back is cool… with the fierce spoiler…

• Alifz (Member) on May 24, 2008 at 12:42 pm

bolo said,

—————————————————————-

I saw TopGear recently about Golf GTi concept putting Audi R8 engine, and the cornering sucks…Jeremy was cursing like hell cause the powers on rear wheel GTi cannot be handled by the body, only pro Sting can manage to race it on track..

For me it’s good for the power to be put on front wheel, cause the body is not desiged to be rear wheel drive..

• bobdbilder (Member) on May 25, 2008 at 8:34 am

Left foot braking would be out of the question? That is, we all assume that there wouldn’t be any traction control system on this race machine from a manufacturer of fine sports cars.

In Practical Performance Car Issue #47, a british motorsports company X Sport, has plugged an Audi 1.8T engine into a Golf Mk 2. It produces 225bhp and can go up to 300 lb/ft with tweaking the boost. Stoppers are Brembo 4 pots. Its headed for the BTCC.

They had the control down to having really rigid fully seam welded chassis and a roll cage that’s tied to all suspension points. Now if anybody knows (remembers?) a Mk 2, they would realise that that is impressive.

• bobdbilder (Member) on May 25, 2008 at 10:31 pm

Check out the ADAC 24H coverage website dudes, its chasing 997 GT3s! Now that is really something! If Carlos Sainz didn’t run that yellow flag he would be the lead Scirocco.