Crash Test Results Display

If you’ve noticed, vehicle safety seems to be dominating the topic of my blog posts for a while now. Car manufacturers and consumers are becoming increasingly safety-conscious, taking into account crash test results when purchasing a car.

Beginning 2007 in the USA, car buyers will be able to find out crash test results of their intended purchase much easier than before.

A regulation will take effect in 2007 requiring all cars sold in the US to display the results of 3 government crash tests on a sticker which will be displayed on the car’s window. These tests cover frontal crash impact, side impact and rollover resistance.

The date where the law will take effect is September 2006, but Honda has already started putting the sticker on their new 2006 models.

Crash test methodology have also been revised with some institutes that perform crash tests. For example, frontal and side crash tests have also incorporated the effects of a vehicle with a higher bumper crashing into the vehicle. Such revisions are expected as there are alot of SUVs on the road these days.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• gegaoff on Oct 11, 2005 at 4:49 am

i'm not familiar with the car's things… but really, a safety, and environment concern's car is future trends…

hopefully the hybrid system, EBS, ABS, what ever S it have, which will fulfill the future trends, will bring in to malaysia.

yes, somehow we may not effort at the beginning, but is still have to be start, else we will keep staying in a same place, right?

cheers!!

• E-Nabill on Oct 11, 2005 at 5:11 am

ABS,Airbags,EBS ,noting can subtitute a good strong solid body shell,and a good strong n well made interior that wont collapse upon a collision…hopefully the government here make cars come with airags and ABS as standard….

• phillys on Oct 11, 2005 at 5:30 am

In my opinion, such an action would not be very wise. As cars get better in terms of safety, things can go both ways. It may be very good for the driver and the passengers in the car but think about this: there are many reckless drivers who really don't car much with the way they drive or they dont realise their mistakes while driving. They would take the "safety features" of the car for granted and drive recklessly thinking they would be safe due to the safety features in their cars.

It really irks me whenever I see drivers who drive recklessly on the road putting the life of others in danger. Most of these drivers are lady drivers who drives huge SUVs or MPVs or APVs or whatever else -PVs there are. No offence to all of you ladies here cause I have to admit that I have seen some pretty good lady drivers before but not all.

The car manufacturers should make cars with advance safety features for the people OUTSIDE and less for the driver. This would cause the driver to drive with great care and the safety of other road users would not be jeopardised. Why should the innocent people die because of the stupidity of such reckless drivers? As for the passengers' safety, it's really up to them. If they know that this guy is a dangerous driver, they probably shouldn't ride with him.

Feel free to debate with me on this.

• zongtwi on Oct 11, 2005 at 6:30 am

Phillys, there are safety ratings for pedestrian survivability introduced already. The Federal and European requirements for pedestrian safety are very clear. The safety mechanisms include having a certain amount of clearence between the engine and the bonnet, so that in impact the bonnet would have enough room to bend and buckle. The frontal nose needs to be at a certain height, so that on impact, the car would miss the knee joints, and hit the thigh bones, which are stronger. So this would minimise the risk of losing the lower limbs altogether. These are among the steps taken. Some mechanically operated safety features (like airbags for pedestrians) are also being researched into.

But first and foremost, the car manufactures need to think about their customers, before any random stranger. This is what sell cars. You can't blame them for that. That's why the safety features for the people inside are more advanced.

At the end of the day, the people who drive recklessly are the ones to blame. Every single one of them should be shot on sight. The gov't should have snipers and sharp shooters everywhere. Almost everyday you can see modded up Kancils and Wiras (more than the chassis of the car can withstand) and doing 130 or 140 on highways that think they are in frickin movie or something. Driving without considering other road users. If they want to drive like a freakin maniac, then they should go to a racing track. Do they actually think that people are impressed with their skills (lack of)?

Btw, just wanna say Selamat Berpuasa to all muslim readers.

• michael lee on Oct 11, 2005 at 6:34 am

There is no excuse for reckless driving … no debate on this. People who want to do this should try to find an island all by themselves. Now try to look at things from a different perspective … the strength of a car is meant to protect the poor careful person who may be FORCED into an accident beyond his or her control … whether it is reckless drivers, weather conditions, dog running across the road, oil on the road, etc. etc. etc. these people should not be denied the safety that a stronger vehicle can offer them, just because of a few maniacs.

Yes, I also have seen large SUV's and the like, being driven by ladies – but I must be lucky I guess – most of them look as though they are hanging onto the steering wheel in order to look over the dashboard – more likely, that they will accidentally run over me completely unintentionally – so I keep a fair distance – survival instinct in a small car !

• aksMs on Oct 11, 2005 at 7:22 am

Well, 1st of all, our law and regulation for cars does not constitute airbags n ABS as standard equipment/part of the car. Therefore, it's up to the manufacturer to provide these safety features, or not. I've heard sometimes back, that the big G wants to revise the transportation act. But until now, as usual, more talk than action.

I agree with phillys about ladies driver. I've seen many incidents too and almost got caught up in one or two. They were so reckless. If…I said if, I kiss their CRV's butt, Sportage…oklah. But, what if, it's an X5? or an A-class? Aiyoh… The thing is, some of these lady drivers drives new cars with so many state-of the-art driver's aid and but still, it doesn't do much when their level of awareness to the surrounding are so low.

But it's not just for the car manufacturer's responsibilities. It has to start from the root. From the education that any driver recieved before they learn to drive. Our kids watch and learn from the way we drive, be it on daily journey to and back from school. We do realize the manners of so many parents when they are queing to pick up or drop their child. That's just one simple example.

The government should revise the current act in line with the development that we have achieved. Constitute any regulation regarding road safety, be it the vehicles, drivers or pedestals as a law. And for heaven sake, act on it! And impose higher fines for traffic offenders. Not by giving these stubborn offenders discounts!

• Great Wall Of China on Oct 11, 2005 at 7:23 am

whatever safety measure is introduced..

our Malaysian driving attitude won't help much….

• pojot on Oct 11, 2005 at 7:35 am

guys,

i have a brilliant idea,

why not separate the highway into two lanes (divided with steel border) going the same direction. so people from kl going to jb can choose wether to take the slower lane (with speed limit 70-90kmh) or the fast lane (with speed limit 220kmh?). this way the bmws and ferraris can drive easily without being slowed down by the slower cars. the wannabe f1 racer can also go nuts!

meanwhile us the lame and safety first driver can rest our mind that our journey will be biar lambat asal selamat. if people deliberately choose slower lane but drive above the speed limit, fine them rm10,000. likewise, people who choose fast lane but drive slow, fine them rm10,000 also!

problem solved!we should start a petition or something and hand it to samy vellu.lets do it paul!

• aksMs on Oct 11, 2005 at 7:57 am

10K? R u nuts?? Hehehe….

Easier said than done. Just how do you think the big G would fund the upgrade works? More lanes? Higher toll rate?

I'd say it is better if the govenrment spend the money tightening the screws in the driver's head (and some politician's head) than having to waste more money to go through another hassle acquiring some more of the rakyat's land to add a couple more lanes on the highway just to accomodate those minority SPEEDY GONZALES!

• Handsfree on Oct 11, 2005 at 8:24 am

hi guys…i fully support some of the ideas….

to me.. is not the car,,is the driver…

if the driver.. is reckless diver n like to speed n talk on phone while at high speed.. worst.. using manual gear box…

habis lah.. 2 hands.. to do so many things… 10 airbags also no use…

• E-Nabill on Oct 11, 2005 at 8:37 am

agree , lady drivers are horrible,thy really drive without brains , no signals no noting….thy jus dont understand driving….this is not sexism btw,its the mother of all truth,it doesnt mean we guys are angles on the road either stimes,bt lady drivers…oh man…!

• MutantTomato on Oct 11, 2005 at 11:25 am

pojot: Bro, your "Autobahn" sort of idea is interesting but will never ever work here. Quite simply put, a Ferrari, Porsche, Lamborghini, McLaren, etc are cars that are built for speed. They have been designed with a chassis, body, suspension, braking power, etc that is suitable for high speed. Now, you take a Kancil, which is slightly more roadworthy than one of those American type lawnmowers and put in some super power turbine/ engine/ NOS/ etc. Sure, the car will fly, literally and not. But that don't make it roadworthy now do it? :)

I remember in Sunway there was this one Ah Beng idiot who modded his Kancil. He put in a Mira Turbo engine, but changed the turbine to a bigger one. Everything else was STOCK STANDARD mind you! The bloody car was so powerful, he couldn't take off from a stop in 1st gear. The car would just fishtail everywhere. He had to start with either 2nd or 3rd gear.

Now HE is what I call:

1. A waste of sperm.

2. A poster boy for a pro-abortion campaign.

• Any safety gadgets for our car is much welcomed. Govt should be strict about it and make it standard for national car. But, whatever mumbo jumbo gadget in the car is useless if the driver himself is bloody stupid, drive like wanna go to hell.

Then the solution is RTD should change their driving academy methods. The exixting education we receive at the driving school was not enough. It just simple parking, hill brake, drive leisurely at 45km/h only, signalling- it sure not enough. Once I chat with an old taxi driver- white hair and he ask me when you should apply your brake if you're moving at 80km/h and suddenly a cow crossing the lanes at 100m in front of you. Brake hard, apply your handbrake.

Well this kind of situation happen and driving school should teach us how to react on different situatation-braking techniques, manuever, slalom. Of course Lotus Elise, Subaru, Jags, BMW,Mercs owner got this additional training. But the majority of Malaysian like me who drive Wira, just lack on this knowledge and training.

Perhaps an advance course.

• Jared on Oct 11, 2005 at 4:34 pm

Shah,

Pretty much agree with what u said except for the handbrake part. As far as I know, Handbrake is used mainly for parking and not much else.

If your car has disk brakes for all four wheels, chances are you will lock your rear wheels when you apply the handbrake during hard braking and your car will most likely skid. It will of course achieve the goal of not hitting the cows because it will hit the lamp post before that…especially when it’s wet… hahaha just kidding.

But honestly, when you step on the brake all four wheels will “slowly” lock but together with handbrake your rear wheels will almost immediately lock. Locking is not equal to stopping… I thinks the best braking technique is to step on the brake a few times emulating the effect of ABS.

And if your car has ABS, applying the handbrake during hard braking will render your ABS useless.

• biothing on Oct 11, 2005 at 4:41 pm

It is not just about sppend and power, but also control of it. CONTROL is so important,. like with when having SEX la. (not trying to deviate here, but it is true).

Anyway, I agree that it is the DRIVER's problem, when it comes to carsh (perhaps almost 99%). We can drive the stupidest car, like Proton Juara, or the slowest car like anyy old banger, but still get into a crash if we drive like a MAD MAX, even better if everyone drives like a MAD MAX gone beserk.

brrrr…

And hybrid car FUEL CONSUMPTION gets better at higher speed!!

• pojot on Oct 11, 2005 at 5:54 pm

i don't see any cost issues to do this man, just add another lane on existing 3-lanes while for the mean time, limit the the two lanes to single lane. i think plus can afford to do this. rakyat would even agree to sell their land as this is about national safety. plus already has the buffer zone along the highway, where they can add future lane.

imho the benefits outweight the costs, the gov could done a study first before making any decision. these modded kancils and wiras can only cilok left and right because the other cars maintain the same average speed…easy. people even forced to brake to accomodate these nuts when they cilok inside. so actually other people "help" these nuts to feel proud of themselves. people with suv should just rammed them from behind. many times on the plus highway, an incoming bmw highlight me from behind and i happily switch to the slower lane. its tickle my bone when sometimes these kancils and wiras highlighted me and too slow to potong me quickly enough when i switched lane. of course i increase the speed a little bit just to annoy them!

they will think twice to potong a bmw or subaru as (1) these cars average speed is faster, they'll be takut to cilok in and out (2) if they did potong these bmws, they will only be potong back..easily. thats the hurtful truth, no matter how they modded the engine, their car cannot match these bmws engine. unless they change the chassis to carbon fibre..well thats another story. if they can afford that, they wouldn't be bought kancil at the first place right?

guys, i am serious. this will improve safety and decrease death toll especially during the festive season. the rm10,000 is to teach offenders..if they declare their driving speed, the must adhere to it. yes the faster lane would be extra dangerous but imagine if these kancils and wiras hit the bmws….i believe the bmws would minimize the impact damage but the kancil sure hancur punya!padan muka!sure mati…everyone happy!

• michael lee on Oct 11, 2005 at 7:32 pm

Looks like many of us are interested in vehicle safety, and some have linked it to the person behind the steering wheel as well … one question … many years ago, if I can still remember, a Mr. Harvey Yap used to conduct courses for Defensive Driving … wonder whether there are still such courses available. (?)

… and as for you guys having a good time taking a dig at female drivers, I am still waiting for one of them to hit back … nyuk, nyuk, nyuk!

• fulat2k on Oct 11, 2005 at 9:39 pm

michael lee: I've also been looking for a defensive driving course around Klang Valley but am unable to find one.

Anyone with any pointers?

• Pentan Sakua..... on Oct 11, 2005 at 9:55 pm

The Gomen keep teeling us to drive safely, slowly, but they also should know, that the quality of cars also contribute to the death or injuries of the cars drivers + occupant. Why don't they make mandatory installation for all card in Malaysia to have Airbag, ABC, ASC & etc….

Why keep blaming the drivers? If flimsy car like POTONG or Kancil accident at 20km also can mampus…..

• Michael Chua on Oct 11, 2005 at 11:12 pm

Isn't it amazing F1 drivers can crash their cars at 300km/h and walk away from the crash?

• michael lee on Oct 11, 2005 at 11:16 pm

We are moving away from the topic but hopefully Paul will see that it still has to do with safety. The course at that time included :-

Highway Code, rules and regulations.

Checking your car – especially tires and brakes, shock absorbers, etc.

Braking in the dry, and in the wet.

Controlling a skid – in the dry and in the wet.

Highway driving – staying out of trouble.

Quite a few of the instructors were from the Malaysian Motor Sports Club (MMSC)

at that time – this goes back to the Batu Tiga racing circuit days !!!

Hopefully somebody will know of some recent ones.

• Wei Ping on Oct 12, 2005 at 4:14 am

Why until today, we still cant find any crach test results for HONDA CITY????? Anyone?