Honda Malaysia updates the Honda Civic 2.0S

Honda Malaysia Sdn Bhd has updated the 2.0S version of it’s 8th generation 2006 Honda Civic, a move that I see as an effort to further differentiate the 1.8S and 2.0S models. I’ve heard that many people are dissatisfied that the two versions look similiar externally, even sharing the same sporty chrome dual exhaust tips.

The only difference is the 1.8S is missing the red 2.0 litre badge at the rear, and the 2.0S has a different alloy wheel design, however the size and tyres are the same – 16 inch sized wheels wrapped with Eagle NCT5 tyres.

With this update, the Honda Civic 2.0S now has 17 inch alloy wheels and come with performance tyres – Michelin Pilot Preceda. The new enhanced Civic goes for RM128,800. There is also a new exclusive 2.0S color option – Sparkle Gray Pearl.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 8:32 am

wheel for type r

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 11:14 am

rim design reminds me of the ford lynx RS's

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 12:48 pm

eh, price same meh? i tot b4 this used to be rm124,800?

• Paul Tan on Apr 17, 2007 at 1:59 pm

oops, let me recheck that

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 2:40 pm

Price has gone up.

• J (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 3:36 pm

With RM4000 extra, I can "update the Civic 2.0S" by myself la :)

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 4:38 pm

ya true la… 4k xtra is pretty hefty for wheels update…. maybe 2k would've been acceptable… plus i knw alot wont keep d standard rims anyway!

• pheonix_comet (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 4:39 pm

i though theres a change in the engine…..

they have buried the vtec extreme performance we can find in type R

last time a b16a can give 175hp

now 1.5 vtec only 110hp

is it that they try to control not let people to speed?

if so, future kids will miss the sound of the changing vtec.

cause now all car came with Automatic transmission.

• superman (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 5:07 pm

The New wheels are exactly the same design as the EP series Type-R

• AmSouth (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 5:18 pm

It is so ridiculous for Honda to charge additional RM4 k for a stu**d 17” wheel. Is it because their brand is so establish, that’s why they can charge us more? …..

• mits27 (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 6:32 pm

Is that 4k increase only for 17 inch wheel? Not worth it…

• hondadriver (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 6:43 pm

you guys also forget, the pilot precedas alone cost over RM2000 for 4 pieces.

and usually, good quality 17" rims cost RM3000 and above.

if you think buying RM1500-2000 rims in klang is quality, you havent seen good rims yet. why do you think people pay upwards of RM3000 to as high as RM12,000 for rims? you cant substitute quality that gives your lightness with strength.

• ab (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 6:44 pm

don't know about this new civic 2.0, but from the test drives i've read about the previous model, what it really needs are optional sport suspension

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 10:34 pm

no comment……..

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 11:59 pm

Well if it's external looks they are trying to change, this is a very half-hearted attempt. I think that the least they should do is a bumper revision, add a small spoiler etc etc.

• ys (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 2:31 am

agree… RM4k for a sport rim is way too much..

Honda should do more than this to impress Malaysian.

Bad move honda.

• mondez (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 2:41 am

Hi, just wondering if anybody knows what's the PCD for this Civic? Is it 5 x 114.3 or 5 x 100 ??

Thanks !!

• shama (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 2:41 am

ya… those extra wheels and tyres will cost more. but the previous 16" rim and the NCT tyres should worth some value….. too much la…. may be Honda is trying to lure ppl to buy its 1.8 instead… the upward revision price with 17" wheel is pure excuse…..

• transformer (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 4:58 am

can only afford one after 2020…

• offroader manix (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 6:40 am

LOL….Japs in M'sia getting STUPID maybe too much nasi lemak.

Later sure got option whether want or don't want the tyre package if cannot sell…

HM must know not all people fancy 17" rims…….especially those can afford a 128K car.

Also forces people to think other cars cause it's not cheap at all…..

• thow (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 7:51 am

nice tyre……

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 8:22 am

Well If you can buy a 120K car what is 4k more right…

• offroader manix (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 9:38 am

yeap you have a point….but some may prefer the new package….but some don't

• infinity (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 9:43 am

it might worth tat much, but do we really need it?

rims are among the 1st thing change once the delivery of the car..

yup, should add spoiler or things like tat…

• ed0r (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 11:37 pm

I think Honda overlooked one thing. I suppose the honeycomb grill should better replace that t shape and that huge size H in the middle, for that 2.0S version.

• mishima (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 1:03 pm

Hi Guys,

I’ve been wondering if Honda CIVIC 1.8 would be facelifted anytime soon (maybe updating the interior) etc stuff like that?

Anyone has news about it? Would be nice if there’s amendments on that as the latest Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 rox in terms of both interior and exterior.

• prometheus (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 7:59 pm

ab said,
    April 17, 2007 @ 10:44 am

don’t know about this new civic 2.0, but from the test drives i’ve read about the previous model, what it really needs are optional sport suspension

I just booked a 2.o civic last week.. i asked if there were any optional items and the sales assistant said don’t have.. sure ah? got optional sports suspension?

• prometheus (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 8:02 pm

ab said,
    April 17, 2007 @ 10:44 am

don’t know about this new civic 2.0, but from the test drives i’ve read about the previous model, what it really needs are optional sport suspension

Is there an optional sports suspension? I enquired when i booked my 2.0 civic about any possible upgrades but was told the weren’t any.

• Doopee on Jun 27, 2009 at 11:35 pm

a bit late to comment, but the update came with an air-cond filter element costing up to RM200 that is fitted underneath the glove box. The first version has just the box, missing the filter element.

• jeorjiaa (Member) on Nov 21, 2009 at 6:48 am

paul which one is better lancer gt vs civic 2.0?

• Road Thunder on Oct 15, 2010 at 8:15 am

Dear jeorjiaa, with the launch of the Proton Inspira, I think your question has been answered.

• Kent Chin on Apr 21, 2010 at 1:32 am

overall,is it worth to buy tis car???

• ruxer on Aug 07, 2011 at 4:01 pm

nice car maa…