Proton GEN2 with CPS badging spotted!

Proton_GEN2_CPS_Spyshot_1.jpg

[ UPDATE: The facelifted Proton GEN2 with a new range of Campro IAFM and Campro CPS engines has been launched in Malaysia! Click for more details. ]

[ UPDATE: The facelifted Proton GEN2 with the Campro CPS engine has been unveiled at the 2007 Thailand Motor Expo. Click here for more details and specifications! ]

These black Proton GEN2s with trade plates were spotted on the North South Expressway on what is presumably a test run. Reader Chris managed to snap photos of the cars, and it appears that the badging on the rear of the car does not say the usual stylized Campro wording, but something else that looks like a three letter acronym.

One would immediately assume CPS as what many other people have reported, but if you look carefully it seems to say something like CNP or CMP or something, though it may just be an effect of a low resolution photo and a stylized CPS wording.

Proton CPS LogoUPDATE: I managed to get a higher resolution photo from Chris. A zoomed in view shows that the logo indeed says CPS, but the letter S seems to have some funky styling to it. I’ve traced it rather noob-ly with a white paintbrush… hmm, doesn’t look very good. Nevermind, let’s hope CPS performs better than it’s logo looks.

Check out the related posts below for more images of the new Proton GEN2 facelift, as well as the sedan version of the Proton GEN2.

Proton GEN2 Facelift Spotted
Proton GEN2 Facelift Rear
Proton GEN2 Sedan computer graphics
Proton GEN2 Sedan spotted!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• El Goodoo (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 10:00 am

Hi paul, it's actually CPS 1.6…. the letter "s" is a bit fancy… i have a picture of the lettering.. took it few months ago in tanjung malim… but dunno how to send to u…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 10:46 am

hopefully it looks like CPS 1.8T !

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 1:06 pm

1.8 ah. i wish they would supercharger it and pairs it with an advanced drivetrain system. somethings like the DSG gearbox.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 1:07 pm

with 8 speeds also

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 3:07 pm

Maybe its CNG – Compress Natural Gas. Paul if you have a lot of beans or dhall curry with your roti canai you'll also be able to build up some CNG.

• chanel (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 5:15 pm

PTAllTheBest said,

June 21, 2007 @ 5:07 am

with 8 speeds also

————————–

your expectation just too high, does Mitsubishi has 8speed gbox? how much would you willing to pay if it does equip with 8speed gbox…..90K……then again everybody will be bashing P1 again…..90k!!!!myself get Japan car better…..typical……hey dude not offence on u……just take ur post as example….

• sxe10r (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 6:09 pm

Paul wat is CPS ?? erm mercedes / bmw / honda only go for 7 speed … as i know proton only using maximum 4 speed auto only …

• mr. proton (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 6:26 pm

sxe10r said,

June 21, 2007 @ 10:09 am

Paul wat is CPS ?? erm mercedes / bmw / honda only go for 7 speed … as i know proton only using maximum 4 speed auto only …

——————

dude.. cps means Cam profiling switching system which means it comes with variable valve timing to give the engine its name.it also produces 127hp.. means most powerful engine in this class. my 2 dollars..

• mr. proton (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 6:28 pm

erk.. 8 speed transmission very impossible for local car.. wat a crap.. 5 speed auto would be nice…

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 6:55 pm

I would like to name it CAMPRO 1.6 CPS-i. Anyway, I hope the engine doesn't dissapoint us all. Hopefully the engine rev nicely.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 7:00 pm

I agree with you mr.proton. What is the bhp for Toyota's 1.6 VVT-i used by Toyota Corolla Altis currently? I can remember that much. Haha….

• arcana (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 7:35 pm

a disappointing 110ps…….1.6 engines should have been in the 120ps region now, but thats an old engine….honda and suzuki already have 120+ps 1.6 engines on their cars.

• thecrash (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 7:58 pm

According to proton tech, there will be current gen2 using CAMPRO with CPS and gen2 sedan CAMPRO without CPS. For BLM using CAMPRO 1.3. So proton will slowly reduce buying engine from mitsu.

There will be WAJA MC3 with new gearbox. So stay tuned….

• moha774 (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 7:58 pm

Manufacturer can tuned their car to give more power if they wanted it, but cannot do so in order to comply with strict emission control on certain market and also to give buyers good FC claim for marketing purposes….and also that is why now they dare to give you 3 years warranty on your car (provided you dont touch the stock engine)

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 8:55 pm

Actually the BHP for engine is not a real issue nowadays.. the most important is torque and the power band.. For person who want more FC, is better to get a more torque and quick at lower RPM engine.. That why if the torque is higher, the BHP will be less… The new P1 engine maybe high on BHP, but i wish to see the power band will be less then 6000rpm not until 7200rpm will get 127hp.. maximum torque should be great to obtain before 3000rpm and if this can be fulfill then the engine should be great to drive in city, hill climbing and also highway cruising.. Well hope they really improved the FC on the engine..

• arcana (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 9:08 pm

well yes….i'm not looking at BHP unless its a sports car or anything that goes fast…..for normal town driving, torque + power band and also + number of gears is my consideration……thats why i'm waiting for turbodiesel cars to be introduced here.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 9:39 pm

Anybody know whether the engine is build by cast iron block and alloy cylinder or all aluminium?

• sxe10r (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 10:10 pm

mr. proton said,

June 21, 2007 @ 10:26 am

cps means Cam profiling switching system which means it comes with variable valve timing to give the engine its name.it also produces 127hp.. means most powerful engine in this class. Damn ?? this call most powerful engine ??? only 127ps ?? dude now 2007 lo u still in ice age ah ?? japanese 1992 year have 1.6 mivec 170 ps tat one call wat ?? don't make ppl laugh la most powerful engine … diao ne la

• sxe10r (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 10:12 pm

The Unicons said,

June 21, 2007 @ 11:00 am

I agree with you mr.proton. What is the bhp for Toyota’s 1.6 VVT-i used by Toyota Corolla Altis currently? I can remember that much. Haha….

Friends try to think that 1.6 vvti is what year product de ??? u think P1 make it self engine ?? damn all copy paste don't too suprise wat P1 have do … my self also own a crap P1 ….. all mitsubishi technology …understand ?

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 10:29 pm

3 proton spyshots in one go? unbelaivable…

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 11:06 pm

sxe10r, I only want to know the BHP of Toyota engine as it is based on VVT. Campro CPS also based on VVT. Why you bashing like that? Proton build the engines with the help of Lotus.

You think other car makers build everything by their own? BMW also do get the transmission from ZF. Sound familiar? Cut and paste my friend, and I never bashed BMW. I like all car makers out there. Trust me.

If you say Proton cars still all Mitsubishi technologies, you are wrong. They still get the transmission system from Mitsubishi….yes. Now they are working with their subsidaries Lotus Engineering based on England.

No car manufacturers build everything by their ownself. It costs too much so get other companies to supply parts even cheaper such as the transmission system etc.

• arcana (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 11:16 pm

your 170 ps in 1992….thats stone age too, it makes no sense to compare a performance engine to a normal daily usage engine. alot of auto manufacturers can pump 200ps out of a 1.6 as well, but manufacturers have to adhere to strict regulations of emissions, fuel consumption, durability, cost and what not…..most of the 1.6 cars currently sold in the market are only giving 105-115ps not including turbo/supercharged…..

his claim of 127ps is best in the current class thats selling?

i guess that should put the claim as correct. anyone can verify?

• sxe10r (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 1:13 am

The Unicons said,

June 21, 2007 @ 3:06 pm

sxe10r, I only want to know the BHP of Toyota engine as it is based on VVT. Campro CPS also based on VVT. Why you bashing like that? Proton build the engines with the help of Lotus.

You think other car makers build everything by their own? BMW also do get the transmission from ZF. Sound familiar? Cut and paste my friend, and I never bashed BMW. I like all car makers out there. Trust me.

If you say Proton cars still all Mitsubishi technologies, you are wrong. They still get the transmission system from Mitsubishi….yes. Now they are working with their subsidaries Lotus Engineering based on England.

No car manufacturers build everything by their ownself. It costs too much so get other companies to supply parts even cheaper such as the transmission system etc.

I know now having lotus engineeting based on england … but anything changing ??? i didn't c it change very well after have Lotus helping … even more worst ….

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 4:48 am

Just want to let you know sxe10r. Not all car manufacturers develop every single parts of their car. You know how much it will costs them? If something fail, can not always blame one party. The company(ies) which supply the parts should be blame too because of their internal QC.

If the news is right, the world will end 2060. So, we still got plenty of time to see how far Proton can and will goes and all other industries and technologies go. Cheers….

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 5:07 am

Well u cannot blame the P1.. U must blame the G never control the emission of the car in our country.. Even the fuel quality is suxs in malaysia especially Diesel.. only Euro2… People in other country already got ULEV2,3 and even 4 engines running.. And diesel engine already on Euro4 standart just like the diesel.. In Germany diesel is mixed with biodiesel.. In Malaysia, we got so many oil palm but got mix in our diesel meh? The G earn most money from Petronas, that why they never care about the environment.. The more worst ur FC, the more happy the G coz u have to pump more fuel… I predict even fast the world will end, maybe before 2020 or 2030, thx to global warming.. So burn more fuel, drive the old caburatted old engine and drive the dirty diesel lorries n buses around.. The person who will be affected most is the one living near the seaside.. So now better invest ur money on hill side housing.. LOL! better live in Genting!

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 5:11 am

does this mean we get high low end torque now?

• BW (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 5:53 am

Hehe what is CPS stands for?

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 5:57 am

CAM PROFILE SHIFTING………………..

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 6:32 am

the CPS logo looks really funky lar… wanna be unique i may say..they dun wan the same old techno lettering..found on al ot of cars

• fliedlice (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 7:41 am

paul is right. the lettering is "CPS". I've seen the car. it has new door panels and they have finally added a glovebox.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 4:58 pm

Actually, CPS means Cam-Shaft Profile Switching Systems also known as Cam Profiling Switching. This engine(s) comes with Variable Valve Timing System that we can find in most of the cars today. The characteristic of the system same as the Toyota's VVT-i, Honda's i-VTEC etc.

Well, if Proton only put the badge CPS 1.6 or 1.6 CPS at the rear boot, I personally prefer to name it CAMPRO 1.6 CPS-i. Proton should maintain the CAMPRO.

• BW (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 6:05 pm

hmm… i wonder the CPS gen2 will have better interior quality

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 6:09 pm

I hope so, BW. Hopefully, Proton doesn't mess up its new models lineup. I want the power windows control back to Wira / Perdana / Satria age, located at the door panel. What do you think?

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 10:24 pm

they really make their homework……kudos….

• Jaybond (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 2:21 pm

200+ bhp from 1.6 L is quite achieavable, just look at most WRC Junior S1600 class cars. But nowadays, you gottta meet the stricter emission laws for prod. cars.

I think a 2 door Gen-2 with VVT-type engine should be a perfect combo for an entry level performance car. I think Proton should have come up first with a sedan 4 door Gen-2, before a 2 door fastback Gen-2!!

• Jaybond (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 2:25 pm

Good