Proton GEN2 Facelift Rear

GEN2 Facelift Rear

[ UPDATE: The facelifted Proton GEN2 with the Campro CPS engine has been unveiled at the 2007 Thailand Motor Expo. Click here for more details and specifications! ]

Here’s a rear shot of the new facelifted Proton GEN2 that has been going around town on test routes. We previously saw the changes to the front of the GEN2, but these photos by Matt Chin using his handy cameraphone show us the new rear spoiler which is of a 3-mount design. The badging on the left side of the bootlid is also curiously taped over – could it have the long awaited CPS 1.6 words underneath it?

Proton GEN2 Facelift Spotted!
New Proton Sedan Spotted!
Proton GEN2 Sedan Computer Graphics
Proton Satria Neo Sedan Artist’s Impression

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• infinity (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 11:27 am

if suddenly proton release its BLM, the gen2 sedan and also the new cps + vim campro..i wont be surprised tat proton market share will go up…

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 1:30 pm

Should have changed the exhaust pipe

• mits27 (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 2:02 pm

How come it is still using that old ugly tail light, the tail light reminds me of star trek. I hope they changed the interior because the current gen2 interior is really bad…

• encik98 (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 4:41 pm

yes – i have never liked the new 'crop circles' tail lights…was REALLY hoping they would switch to LEDs.

• KelvC (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 4:44 pm

Proton better get this FL Gen2 right from the start. No need to rush it out to compete with the Viva since they have already seized their potential customers with the "Merdeka" sales. From this spy pic here, could anyone tell whether the rear headroom has been increased?

If the existance of CPS is indeed true in the new Campros therefore I'm wondering whether it is possible to add CPS function to existing existing Campro users? Plausible? CPS anyone?

• haroldz (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 5:21 pm

they wanna to release both Gen.2 sedan n facelift at d same time?

i think they will release in in august…

merdeka 50th edition/ limited edition

another business strategy disaster……….

• tokmoh (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 6:13 pm

@kelvC

I doubt so. Seldom any FL changes the dimension of the original car, so that means tall ppl will still suffer at the back :( .

Release both Gen2 saloon n FL fastback sounds interesting. Just make it like when they released the Neo where all the ranges from the basic 1.3 M to the H-line 1.6 A.

• albagmane (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 7:12 pm

arrggh… juz forget bout proton… they only know how to facelift cars… and wats more they can do? making losses??? lets juz keep our focus on the coming soon perodua viva is better le…

• kody (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 7:31 pm

wahlaueh…

albagmane, P1 not only facelift cars but most of the time the facelift make the products look worst than before or just too marginally changes.

This car can't attract me at all… poor P1 making poor cars & strugging to survive…hahaa…

• bmpower (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 8:57 pm

Erm.. nothing change at all..

just ahbeng spoiler that u can get below RM100.

but if the engine.. that's a good move.

rear side of gen2 look empty..

the bumper should be redesign for a better look.

• tokmoh (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 9:17 pm

I dun tink the recent Savvy n Waja FL makes those 2 cars worse, many would agree that the new Savvy FL's interior feels less cheapo, n they throw away the beak at the back. Mayb the VW grille makes the Waja uglier, bt the interior feels better definitely.

Proton oni noes how to fl? Hoho, n wat would that make Perodua? They oni noe how to make money wit no passion, no flair, they're like white goods.

• gtmaniac (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 9:43 pm

Well, if the campro engine is really going to work/functional now, they should put 'REAL CAMPRO' or 'CAMPRO – NOW WORKING!' to differentiate with the old 'so-called' campro badge..

• aizat84 (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 9:43 pm

Whateva .. people want to say .. i feel proud that p1 ..

Still i cant wait for this model~! If the interior differ that current model .. i definitely will buy it~!

• e-nabilll (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 9:50 pm

CPS Comes only in a 1.6cc form izzit? bcos usually the capacity is writen below the gen2 wordings…

• KelvC (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 9:52 pm

gtmaniac, that took the cake!

'CAMPRO – NOW WORKING!’ ..'CAMPRO SEKARANG BOLEH DIPAKAI!!!'

• BettaSplendens (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 10:04 pm

no matter wat, Gen2 is still jus Gen2, won attract me at all even put in Ferrari engine…jus my personal view ;)

P1 boleeeeeeeh!

• schdmitz (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 10:12 pm

another buang duit rakyat product!!!last time i saw some one posted a wira stationwagon pic in the net and said there will be a wira wagon. But where the hell is that model?????still laying on the proton factory????i heard also waja wagon but where is it?????ask volk to do the worklah,.,,,,,please!!!!

• avanza (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 10:45 pm

I don't see any changes except for the spoiler. LAME!

• mitlanevo (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 10:55 pm

Crap…. Boring……

• acwa238 (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 10:56 pm

Is that license plate from Indonesia?

• kei9 (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 11:08 pm

still the same rear design except the spoilers……….but those lights are ughleeee! they should redesign it………

• mr. proton (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 11:45 pm

as usual a typical malaysian like u all only bash..bash…bash.. like a f…k basher… wait la till it goes out.

• infinity (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 11:51 pm

yup…if u 12 bash, bash intelligently…dun make urself sound stupid…it's a facelift, u wont expect much from the exterior..coz it's still the same chasis and body shell…on the other hand,it's the interior tat most of us are eager to know about…gen2 is "famous" for its plastic feel interior..if this facelifted model overcome this interior problem, and together with its CPS+VIM CamPro…it would be great…

• Bbingbong (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 12:28 am

from their word , already show that they r stupid..

• BettaSplendens (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 1:16 am

P1 sure will surive for a veli long time as long as got "pandai" abang-adik supporter like u guys…good luck to all malaysian.

P1 betul betul boleeeeeh!

• bmpower (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 2:02 am

bashers, how did you all claimed proton still using Govt money?

they're starving now.. just the CEO still though in heart.

Already no Govt funding on Proton lah.. open your eyes widely..

In my personal of view, they doing so much good step lately. Dont be blind by your odd emotion.

The tax? it's other side of govt. You think proton died you can get better and cheap car? Gooo dreaming as well in thousand year to go.. ;)

• kei9 (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 2:09 am

no comment……………………….

• cosmohybrid (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 2:29 am

no matter whatever face lift or with the cps features, believe me, this gen2 version would not take off like what they are hoping for… everytime when proton unveil a face lift version of their car, they always emphasize on performance… with this mindset they are only targeting that certain group of people that goes…'wah!! cantiklah, enjin cps ini performance macam vtech oh, mest kuat lari punya'… with this type of market how can they expect to go futher?? for christ sake!, first of all the gen2 is not a performance oriented car, its a family car… they should sell the car emphasizing more on safety like putting airbags, abs and ebd as standard components in the car…

• BettaSplendens (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 2:58 am

cosmohybrid said,

May 2, 2007 @ 6:29 pm

"they should sell the car emphasizing more on safety like putting airbags, abs and ebd as standard components in the car…"

dun think they hav such highly social responsibility toward its buyers…all their mind is concern wiv how to continue make profit wiv its low standard product as long as posible.

as i said b4, different ppl hav different mentality…

"Boleh tahn sudah, jangan cakap banyak" is definately not my type and dun get me worng,i do respect ur own living philosophy.

ppl never dream for cheap cars here…wat ppl dun wan ar these lousy yet expensive national car tat never make any honest malaysian driver proud of…

be frank, it doesnt bother me no matter how many facelifted version go for gen2

Stop being ignorant and be open minded dude :)

• doc (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 4:22 am

Is this the best that they can do? Can we all be actually proud of this national car and buy it? Would you trust this car to bring your family along? In a P1 car? A big con and most of us don't see it coming…..

• ab (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 4:42 am

looks the same, cps= chicken + pasta + steak

• kei9 (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 5:12 am

still no comment…haih =(

• chenyl (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 5:35 am

our lovely P1 sure got a lot of comment on P1

• bugbear (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 6:06 am

cool! here comes the new campro!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 6:18 am

BettaSplendens said,

May 2, 2007 @ 6:58 pm

cosmohybrid said,

“they should sell the car emphasizing more on safety like putting airbags, abs and ebd as standard components in the car…”

dun think they hav such highly social responsibility toward its buyers…all their mind is concern wiv how to continue make profit wiv its low standard product as long as posible.

——————————

Indeed what you said is totally TRUTH, log on the link below: –

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Wednesday/…

As reported by NST dated 2nd May 07, another 3 young lady life "flying" when the stone age Iswara milo tin on the wheel ramp into road divider at Federal Highway and the turned turtle. Don't tell me this young lady will drive anything above 110 KM/H (above limit 90 KM/H) at Federal Highway. You see our motorist life so cheap on the road for using unsafe caburetor car that become not only mangle scrap metal, but the life can be likely save if they use the car with safety feature like ABS, aribag, EBD, etc.

STOP THE BUYING! STOP THE SUCKING! AND STOP THE KILLING!

• mits27 (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 6:35 am

Change that tail light lah! Feel like I watching star trek…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 6:42 am

Log on below: –

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Wednesday/…

Is this another accident that claimed live that belong to P1 car. Look at the front portion, it shall belong to Wira model, pathetic and unsafe car!

• rushmode (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 6:51 am

hopefully better engine = good!

p1 might as well change the cheap ugly teh tarik color interior while they at it..

• eezarm (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 7:34 am

only a minor FL to its exterior.

if it comes with twin exhaust, it'll look so cool…

still waiting for the interior photos…

• joe203 (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 7:36 am

just need to improve the interior. then half of the criticisms will die down.

• Illuminate (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 7:46 am

-" bmpower said,

May 2, 2007 @ 6:02 pm

bashers, how did you all claimed proton still using Govt money?

they’re starving now.. just the CEO still though in heart.

Already no Govt funding on Proton lah.. open your eyes widely..

In my personal of view, they doing so much good step lately. Dont be blind by your odd emotion.

The tax? it’s other side of govt. You think proton died you can get better and cheap car? Gooo dreaming as well in thousand year to go.. ;) -"

Nope, no one claimed that Proton is still using Govt. money or is Govt. funded. Ever heard of tariffs or trade protection? – That 'thing' is why we have to fork out 140k for a Honda Accord, or a few hundred thousand more for a BMW.

If Proton never existed, there wouldn't be any reason for this so-called 'protection', and cars wouldn't be so expensive in the first place.

Of course, that is in an ideal world where time can be reversed.. So no point thinking about it. Better start focusing on getting more money so you have more options instead.

ANYWAYS, on the car – I've never liked the Gen2 for its design, not the quality issues, although I heard it has some issues, but I usually don't believe in them unless myself or a friend experienced it. Well, the looks put me off in the first place, now it did again. Why are those taillights still there?

I've also always disliked it's very high 'backside', to be honest, I think that the Putra's rear was a proper and nice one. IMHO.

Enough about 'bashing' then, because clearly, it is IMO. Not what I assume people to think about it.

Cheers, Illuminate.

• kazai (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 7:59 am

cosmohybrid said,

…first of all the gen2 is not a performance oriented car, its a family car… they should sell the car emphasizing more on safety like putting airbags, abs and ebd as standard components in the car…

If u got money then u buy h-line la.got airbag what.at least now proton giving us choices whether we want to buy it with the cheaper price.

• nizam80 (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 8:34 am

Proton already are beginning to equipped ABS and Dual Airbags in their product line-up. Go check out the new Waja. Price still the same, but now got Airbags and ABS.

Savvy – Hi-Line version already available (Very soon, Airbags. ABS will be standard)

This Gen2 CPS – I can assure u Airbags, ABS standard. But, who cares. People still bash, yet still using Wiras.

• nizam80 (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 8:36 am

I apologize if my above comments offended anybody.

• ganz (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 4:33 pm

better exhaust tail pipe required… mine and the rest already rusty and broken within a year..

that all..

• joeyzizul78 (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 4:40 pm

Good Job Proton! at least they can build their own car……not just cloning…..cloning….cloning….cloning….cloning….cloning….cloning….and cloning forever!!! They build car with Pride!!!!

• tokmoh (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 5:19 pm

Aiyo, how shallow can u guys be? Proton nvr focus on airbag n ABS? Do you guys know the current Waja FL is the FIRST local car to hv twin airbag n ABS as std?

Tone down a little bit n use more brain than emotion. Perodua nvr offered ABS n twin airbag to ALL myvis, so why nt bash that pretend-to-be-full-of-passion junk? Waja FL is a proof that Proton is doin something abt encouraging safety as std, nt as optional extra. Of course, they're still nt able to offer that to all models they hv, bt hey, did Perodua ever bothered? Did they hv the heart n soul to save as many lives as possible by installing it as std to their kancil, kelisa, kenari etc?

• tokmoh (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 5:29 pm

I forgot one thing, it'll be interesting to see whether the new Viva will hv twin airbag n ABS as std. Before that, I consider Perodua being least responsible for safety.

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 5:33 pm

Actually it lies with the JPJ, they should enforce ABS, ABAG, Emission control, Crash safety, Plastic regulation, Aluminium regulation etc…………..

Depa yang malas ni……….maybe they are shortage of staff in their technical dept………..

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 5:41 pm

About time Proton got their act together and installed the engine that was meant to be in the car in the first place.

I've always liked how the Gen2 looked. I did entertain the idea of buying a Gen2 but decided that buying a used and modified Satria is a better deal (since not having to service a loan was probably the best thing)

However, Proton as a brand does not inspire confidence.

It speaks a lot about a company that isn't doing well despite all the protectionism (and when other "local" manufacturers are doing well, as in Perodua, Naza.. granted these are mostly only "assemblers"). The rakyat has spoken. Build better cars for cheaper or die.

I do not believe most of us bash proton for the sake of bashing them. We have genuine reason to not like proton very much. Most of us have first hand experience of being stung.

There is nothing wrong with badge engineering (or cloning, however joeyzizul78 puts it)…. if Cloning can bring you a better car at cheaper price, I dare you to complain.

Pride will kill you eventually. Maybe you can but the rest of the Nation cannot "afford" pride.

Rumours of scrapping policies, pettitions for loan quotas, unfavourable taxation, trade barriers, substandard products all for what? All for "Pride"?

I can say this to the most loyal of Proton supporters. If Toyota sells the VIOS at the same price as a WIRA, or a Corolla 1.6 as much as a WAJA, would you still buy the WIRA and WAJA based on "Pride" towards your national car? If you would pass on the VIOS, then I rest my case and commend you.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 5:51 pm

hameed koyakuti said,

May 3, 2007 @ 9:33 am

Actually it lies with the JPJ, they should enforce ABS, ABAG, Emission control, Crash safety, Plastic regulation, Aluminium regulation etc…………..

—————–

Thats right. A government arm should mandate these sorts of things. But however, that said, Cars are such an expensive item already, consumers will want to save as much even if it may risk thier own lives.

Mandatory airbags, ABS, etc, may or may not inflate your new car prices, but how many times have you been at the tyre shop and having people come in asking for used tyres? Or to those that don't belt down, or have children standing in the front seat, etc?

Slash prices by half and maybe, just maybe, people may afford certain safety "luxuries".

• ganz (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 7:13 pm

4G63T… if Vios or City price is par with Waja.. definitely i go to either both/// what i'm looking is ..

it not about patriotism.. it about my money…

my patriotism should be repay with something.. not to end up with frequent visit to SC… feel like lab-rat..

• nizam80 (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 7:26 pm

tokmoh said,

"I forgot one thing, it’ll be interesting to see whether the new Viva will hv twin airbag n ABS as std."

I believe the new Viva would not have airbags and ABS in its 660cc and 850cc model lineup.

ganz said,

"4G63T… if Vios or City price is par with Waja.. definitely i go to either both/// what i’m looking is .. "

It depends on individual taste and on how a person feels about quality and value for money. Ok, this is my personal opinion. If VIOS and CITY priced on par with WAJA, i'll go for WAJA. But if WAJA priced on par with GOLF 1.6, i go for GOLF. Believe it or not? Believe it.

• mr. proton (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 7:27 pm

to all bashers… when u all will stop barking…barking…. why not just shut up ur shit mouth n buy the foreign cars… dont buy if u dislike.. people like u all is nothing.. we the most malaysians still proud of proton.. im sure almost all of u doesnt hav proton cars.. u jus know to bash sian malam.. pity on u all….

• volvolover (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 8:43 pm

mr. proton:

not most malaysia is proud of proton, it's the reverse, you are dillusioned, are you on medication my friend? If proton is damn good, why they try to ask the local bank to approve the quota for bank loans for proton, if everyone is loving it, why they buy foreign makes and proton edar is making losses. Wake up, no one wants a proton in this protected market. Proton will bankcrupt in a year in an open market.

• mr. proton (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 8:48 pm

u damn wrong volvo… if u said malaysian hates proton. why there are sstill buyer for proton cars. u can check with datuk aishah aam. the answer is simple… we the not kaya one like u just afford to buy national car. but we' d rather buy an own design not the cut n paste job from perodua. volvo.. jus waity n c after the launch og gen2 sedan proton market share will arise again..

• volvolover (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 8:51 pm

who gives a damn abt datuk aishah, she belongs to proton, she works for proton, she is part of the cronnies,people buy proton because proton is still protected, 10% car tax on local cars and 75% on locally assembled foreign cars. Put the same tax for foreign and local cars and then we see who buy what. People buy it because it is "cheap" but it is not cheap, so proton is way overpriced but yet cheap because of the protection.

• volvolover (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 8:53 pm

Datuk Aishah asked for car scrapping, she wants to scrap your proton car. I own a proton and I hate it, but the stupid tax is amazing and I will keep driving my junk proton until it break into a million piecies.

• mr. proton (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 8:56 pm

wat ever volvo.. u hate proton u sell ur junk car.. let the proton's owner to drive their lovely proton on daily use… go n buy vios or city… why not u involve politics n be the mp. then u can change the tax act for automotive..

• volvolover (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 8:57 pm

I won't sell my car and buy a new one and let govt tax me again? I am not as silly as you :p

• volvolover (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 8:58 pm

Just don't talk to me, you are on ecstacy and highly delusional, any more proton haters who drive proton please respond to this delusional guy?

• mr. proton (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 9:08 pm

i said dun drive proton if u hate it.. it could be endanger u bcos u drive s'thing that u hate.. u the stupid…

• volvolover (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 9:10 pm

tell that to the govt and not me, bye!!

• Infinitt (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 10:10 pm

Thumb up to Proton.

• mr. proton (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 10:18 pm

u damn rite infiniti.. nt jom kuar minum..haha

• volvolover (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 11:02 pm

now we have two dellusioned people here, two deluisionnist going out for a drink!! Classic!!

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 11:07 pm

lol..this Mr. Proton guy..

Is he serious or he's just trolling? lol.

Right….. yes I drive an old Proton and I happen to like mine very much thank you. And no, I wont buy a NEW Proton, because I don't wish to contribute anymore to the government and its bloated GLCs than I already have. Same applies to any NEW car. Currently shopping for a 850 T5 and retire my Satria for track duties only.

Its good for proton to FINALLY come to some senses and start making better cars. However, after years of screwing the Rakyat up, most feel some retribution is in order. Proton as a problem is just the tip of the iceberg, there is a way larger problem under it. Proton is just the scape goat, and rightly so to take the fall. Many select people got very rich because of Proton, at the expense of the rakyat.

I still remember a time when you can buy a Honda civic for 23k, a Corolla for 22k and a Proton Saga for 18k. That wasn;t exactly too long ago. So the currency crashed a bit, but again, really? How exactly did car prices quadruple in the last 20 years, especially for a locally made Proton, which other than licensing costs, is it justified to price a Wira 1.5A at 55k even 10 years ago?

• mr. proton (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 11:09 pm

VOLVOLOVER..U JUS STICK WITH UR STUPID COMMENTS…. SO POOR.. BCOZ I ADMIRE VOLVOCARS. N U ALREADY DESTROY THE GOOD NAME OF VOLVO.. WAT A POOR GUY…. ISK..ISK

• Paul Tan on May 03, 2007 at 11:09 pm

stop throwing personal attacks at each other please. lets keep it nice.

• mr. proton (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 11:14 pm

At last our taiko arises… mr paul.. it looks like avery post about proton will have so many bashers. wat a pity… mr.paul. pls respond to my request

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 11:18 pm

10 years ago, was even BEFORE the currency crashed. It was already THAT bad. Back then a Sentra cost 68k, and that was considered a "good deal".

I remember selling the 13 year old civic for 19k……. lost only 4k to depreciation after 13 years

• tokmoh (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 11:39 pm

Can I just say bashing Proton will nt help anything? You may think "If we boycott Proton, it will definitely bankrupt, sooner or later it definitely will, so let's constantly bash it n more n more ppl will do anything to avoid buying Proton, even buying junky Korean craps!!" In your sweet dream.

No matter what, as long as we hv Barang Naik ruling up there, Proton is an immortal organization. It will nvr die no matter how many times you try to kill it. Like it or nt, if BN rulez this country, then Proton = immortal. Else, Proton might die if the 'other' party takes over in the next GE.

And since "the ppl hv confidence in Barang Naik" and "democracy is very much alive in this country", don't even mention of the possibility of Proton to ever die. That is a fact, and if you're nt happy with it, "KELUAR DARI MALAYSIA!!".

You may now go ahead and accuse me a Barang Naik supporter, or a Proton dealer, or anything to do with Proton.

• khimfoh (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 11:55 pm

It could be a 1.6 Campro CPS by the looks of it. Seeing is one thing, testing the 1.6CAMPRO fitted with CPS is another. Hope Proton gets it right this time with the CAMPRO.

Would like to see more enhancements to be done on the GEN2 besides the facelift. Better driving position and better interior build quality. Otherwise the Gen2 exterior design is quite good in my opinion.

• kei9 (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 12:42 am

who ever that is offended…..dont be

• infinity (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 12:53 am

whoa…mr proton…cool down man…though i support proton, but u are a little bit over man…u r a hardcore proton supporter…cool down and respect others, ok?jz like wat paul said…

• Infinitt (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 1:16 am

I shown my thumb up to Proton ( Per. Otomobil Nas. Bhd ) n not for u mr. proton hehe.. anyway best of luck 4 u against all the bashers.

• infinity (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 1:20 am

good 1, infinitt…i almost laugh my head off….hahahhahaha

• nizam80 (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 1:34 am

Ok ok, if this car launches in August, lets take a test drive together shall we. Lets see how Proton's CPS fares against Toyota's VVTi and also Honda's i-VTEC.

• nizam80 (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 1:38 am

When it launches, hope Paul will consider doing a comparo between these 3 engines:

1.4 CPS (if Proton is really going to release a 1.4 version….)

1.5 VVTi

1.5 VTEC

• tec96248 (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 1:44 am

nothing special about the car based on photos. hopefully can find out about the car engine specifications.

hopefully this time has glovebox. bought myvi instead of gen2 because the dashboard don't hv glovebox and not so ergonomic.

most important, reliability.

• KelvC (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 1:49 am

agreed with Paul and others:

Keep the discussion unemotional and objective. Also, keep to the thread's topic. Some of the comments has veered of course.

• nizam80 (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 4:45 am

The current Campro has a max. of 110hp. So this CPS will have more horses, rite?

• proton GL (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 6:06 am

yeah,

CPS allow more top end for more hp.

VIM shift the torque at lower and mid range,

good drivability, ligter effort of the right foot, contribute to some fuel saving.

solid look and feel,

nicely deigned interior, ( but material and fixtures ….hope they really serious , need to put it as soon..

well ..people will likely go for vios or city or kia, kualiti bagus, bentuk cantik dan lawa, canggih, wife like it, colour lawa, rim berkilat, kerusi baldu sungguh lembut, bau kereta ni best. enjen canggih, jimat minyak, oto.lampu berlian, free gift canggih, enjin tahan, teknoloji jepun memang tahan, dash board lawa, lembut, dalam cerah cream, v tek memang canggih

proton CANT DENY public preferences and likes, but for proton being CHEAPER than copetitor is the way.

and mantain it cheaper even in open market afta, i think thats the way to get it rolling. ….CHEAPER

just my humble opinion,

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 6:09 am

mr. proton

"u hate proton u sell ur junk car.. let the proton’s owner to drive their lovely proton on daily use…"

ya la… to those people hates proton.. sell it off la. like me.. sold my stupid proton and get a myvi… im now a less pressured driver… i have one more stupid wira to sell… then will replace it with viva hopefully… cause perodua is RELIABLE!!!! sigh…. no worry of open my door for paying toll… felt stupid doing that all the time.

• the man (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 6:38 am

proton losing their 'piece of cake' in malaysia automotive industries because of their reluctant to change and adapt to bussiness environment…people are talking global, but proton still talking local….plus all the political influence etc.

and Proton is a heavy industries…it will never close. There will be another BIG co. like VW will take it over…. same like VW take on skoda. Hopefully our G will approve the bid for VW. Just curios to see what will happen to AUto industries….

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 9:51 am

Waa! So many people bash proton ah.

But me too like to bash proton. not only in net but in front of my friends too.

• mr. proton (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 5:26 pm

bashers….. jus wait n c dis time perodua is going to be kick by proton from the the top chart. if u stil bash proton u all jus wasting ur time. its better for u to bash the jap cars. cant u see the interior of vios so horrible with panel meter at the center. fugly…. jus go home n sleep la u all..

• bobtahar (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 5:28 pm

I dont know why most of you probably a Malaysian complaining on the head roof clearence. I got a friend who is 5'4" complaining on it also. Are you guys standing in the cars or what???

We Malaysian not that tall… hardly to see 6 feet tall people here… I should complain also on our Busses head roof clearence… its not that damn high!

• amad_a (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 5:34 pm

proton GL said,

proton CANT DENY public preferences and likes, but for proton being CHEAPER than copetitor is the way.

and mantain it cheaper even in open market afta, i think thats the way to get it rolling. ….CHEAPER

——————————————————————

I second that!!

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 5:59 pm

mr. proton

"jus wait n c dis time perodua is going to be kick by proton from the the top chart."

we all have waited enough… now is time to bash proton till proton improve.. u ok ka? we the basher r in fact try to help by bashing it… so proton can start moving really really fast…

• the man (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 6:09 pm

I believe proton will kick p2 from the top chart by using 20 years old upgraded iswara merdeka edition. selling with the price of kancil 660…of course if consider space/luggage room for 5 . Iswara will win. but ever think about someone who just bought the iswara a few months back before the Merdeka campaign . they lose the money with a stroke of a pen…but the case will only to iswara ..not for wira/gen.2/waja/neo and sawy…sawy will only be under myvi, wira gen.2 waja and neo will totally under toyota…soon

• blunt (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 7:02 pm

really x mengerti..

if Proton sell cheap….u all response…what happened to used car dealer lah, fellow yg beli before offer…lose money with a stroke of pen lah..

BUT..bila harga mahal plak, merungut plak…kat oversea jual murah, tempat sendiri jual mahal…jual murah salah, jual mahal lagi salah!!!

BEFORE this..apa lah proton, campro yg tak pro lah…apa..dah nak keluar real cps..kenapa x dak cvvt lah..tiptroniclah..etc..etc..

• nizam80 (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 7:05 pm

the man said,

May 4, 2007 @ 10:09 am

"…sawy will only be under myvi, wira gen.2 waja and neo will totally under toyota…soon"

Can u please elaborate more on this? I don't get u.

• KelvC (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 7:36 pm

Like it or not, believe it or not, supporters, bashers and neutrals, ever since the spy pic of the front section Gen2 first surfaced and together with the rear pic…a total of 235 (142+93) comments has been accumulated (not including this one) since April 30, 2007 at 5:46 pm. So what does this means to all of us? Read other supercar threads (http://paultan.org/archives/2007/04/24/around-the-lap-in-a-lamborghini-murcielago-lp640/ with 12 comments…least I’m labeled selective with my choice, I chose the most recent beautifully and passionately designed continental supercar unless you call the Chery A6CC Concept a beautifully and passionately designed supercar (58comments)…of course there is the Galant Fortis, with 33comments, but it’s not a supercar. So why a supercar? Because I like a supercar but it's super sexy!?!?

• the man (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 5:26 am

nizam80 said

“…sawy will only be under myvi, wira gen.2 waja and neo will totally under toyota…soon”

Can u please elaborate more on this? I don’t get u.

————————————————————

what I mean is..

sawy sales will never topple myvi sales.. (unless proton plan Hari Raya promotion same like merdeka promotion..sawy RM 20999)….and all others types of proton will be selling less than toyota …especially IF (big if) UMW wanted to bring 1.3l toyota vios (belta) to our shore and price it 59k….just make a poll, sms on TV3 Buletin utama…59k waja and 59k vios…which one do you( rakyat jelata) prefer ?….heh…

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 5:39 am

"just make a poll, sms on TV3 Buletin utama…59k waja and 59k vios…which one do you( rakyat jelata) prefer "

Stupiley Believe it Or Not – Waja will come 1st – don believe ? – believe it

Proton is our national car

Proton is our Pride

Proton is our Saviour

Proton have Improve!!!!

Proton have fixed the power window!!!!!!!

Proton using CPS!!!! – cool man…

Proton cannot DIE!!!!! Inmortal!!

Proton have increased sales Oversea!!!!

Proton own LOTUS..

Proton make taxi for others

Proton have speed…

Proton is build tough

Proton is certified TUV

Proton is still young

Proton needs protections..

Proton.. can say = "u wait n c… i dare u"

Proton have ABS,EBD and AirBag

Proton got 3 star rating…

SO? y proton still losing money ???? echo….

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 2:15 pm

NoToLowQuality said,

SO? y proton still losing money ???? echo….

—————-

As simple as produce crap low quality, unsafe yet relatively high price on stone age and/or facelift existing models that more than normal shelf life of the car (i.e. 5 years). No new model(s) that truely meet market expectation!

• BettaSplendens (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 3:15 am

Be it Hatchback or Sedan, Campro or Campur, CPS or CPU, it jus could not make it & won hav any impact to the car market.

Gen 2 Sedan wiv Campro CPS? wats the big deal??

P1 boooooooooleeeeeeeeh :D

• mr. proton (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 10:58 pm

betta splendens..

u da f…king idiot… only know how to bark nad bash all the time. go to hell….