Proton GEN2 Sedan Computer Graphics

proton_gen2_sedan_3.jpg

Reader Khairil sent in these photos of what appears to be computer-rendered images of a possible Proton GEN2 Sedan. Styling of the GEN2 Sedan is pretty much similiar to the GEN2 5-door hatch in our market right now, with a different rear end. A similiar arrangement to the Proton Wira Sedan and Proton Wira Aeroback.

I am glad there are no strange bling bling turbine wheels on the sedan, instead there are some nice traditional 5 thick spoke wheels. I am not sure about the triple-surface design of the bootlid though, but then again these might not even be official shots of the GEN2 Sedan, but serves well to spur our imagination on how it would look like.

The Proton GEN2 Sedan will most likely be cheaper than the Proton GEN2 5-Door Hatch on our market, following the trend set by the Wira Sedan and Aeroback where the Aeroback was more expensive than the Sedan.

Remember Theophilus Chin’s Proton Satria Neo Sedan photoshop?

More photos after the jump.

proton_gen2_sedan_2.jpg

proton_gen2_sedan_1.jpg

proton_gen2_sedan_4.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 3:00 am

Forget about the sedan if the "elongation" is limited to boot. What they need is bigger cabin space!

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 3:12 am

joe i think the rear passanger got a little batter head clearence

• DtG (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 3:21 am

It looks ok but kinda dated…

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 3:28 am

my main concern is 'engine' -need modern efficient engine.

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 3:47 am

I am not really sure about this design. Looks like a waja with different lights.

• sutheshkumar87 (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 3:54 am

i think its a well executed design although the setria neo bodystle variation looks better in some way.

the grille and the back end of the has some new touches, a hint for the facelifted gen-2?

kudos khairil!

• haroldz (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 3:55 am

of course sedan just make it longer at rear.

being local automaker, proton cant mod the engine to deliver better performance.

may their R3 division will sell 'sport' upgrade spare parts soon for GEN2.

• kevyeoh (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 4:40 am

oooo…not a bad design…i can dig this…

and the price better be reasonable…

• indigo (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 5:22 am

This car needs a lot of facelifting and trimming…still doesn't look like 2000's car. Anyway, the current waja rims look even better for gen.2 than the original gen.2 lima bola rims (saw one last time). Till now gen.2 still looks pretty weird on the body curve, maybe stealing the nissan fairlady/skyline kinda body curve then failed….so became depan tinggi belakang rendah..tak sama rata.

• indigo (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 5:27 am

One, more thing. this reminds me of Iranian Peugeot 206 which simply elongated the hatch to form sedan boot, look really weird especially the rear doors.We can ask the workshop sifu to mold and form that kinda design also, I'm sure they can fabricate something like that. Then it is called "kereta protong". Hahaha

• normal_user (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 5:54 am

The front design is 'lapuk' already. I dont think Proton should adopt the smallish headlights & inverted wau grille. The headlights should be expanded a bit (Neo's headlight is also too small). Then again, a full bodykit is needed to make it look steadier, and a new grille to give it a fresh look.

I remember a Brit who said that Gen2's rear light is overstyled.

Anyway, just my thoughts. Different people got different perception.

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 6:09 am

ok….but i like the design to be a lot diffferent!!….sigh!!!!

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 6:47 am

Looks good, though the increase in boot space won't be great. And right now I think consumers care more about leg space than boot space. Wasn't aware that Wira sedans are cheaper than the aerobacks; funny how you get more metal and boot space for less money.

• cratzelogy (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 7:11 am

looks alrite, but my main concern is this… with "the state-of-the-art facility" I am expecting something better by not using the existing Gen.2 parts like the front bumper, rear bumper design, all exterior lights… (i can go on and on about this). "Dare to be different" slogan sounds like "dare to stay the same" now.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 8:51 am

Damn i just saw an article in UK Their Waja or so call impian got traction control, ABS, 2 Airbags as standart. And they sell cheap… Why always in other land they sell better then our own ones.. Why not they made more better for us.. Look at Japanese market.. They are great examples to us… Their Half-cuts are more better then our P1 cars… Even this Gen2 sedan wont made me wanna buy it… I think cancel it better.. My father hit his head while testing to drive this thing and the first word coming out is Lame design and not for all, The mechanic in other hand say.. Kanasai engine, even a 4g91 1.5L DOHC EFI can outperformed this louzy engine..

• nizam80 (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 9:33 am

I've always liked the Gen 2, and one thing that kept me from buying it is the headroom for the rear passenger. What are they thinking when they design it??? C'mon, not all Malaysians are below 1.7 meters tall!!! Same goes for the NEO. Where have the sales figure for the NEO gone to??

After all, I agree the Gen 2 looks much better is sedan form. But most of all, headroom for the rear passenger cabin gotta improve. If not, then, it is still the same Gen 2 to me.

Sorry, out of topic, but i've heard that the upcoming Iswara Replacement will be equipped with the REAL Campro engine. Is this true??? Anybody???

• e-nabilll (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 9:33 am

someone said this photoshop job is made by some enthusiastic rather than official pics….bcos,the sedan is in very advanced stage n its got few mnth to be introduced…thse pics looks very preliminary…n looks too much like the hatchback n i dont think thy wil looks this similar….

• riderx (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 9:37 am

photoshop mung! lol..this a 3D rendered model la..not photoshop.. why ar all people think that such graphic could only do in PS? duh..

the final design is abit different..new bumper design..

• Celicazz (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 3:19 pm

this is the new 3d rendered of gen2 sedan, and i am hearing ppl asks why it shares similar parts with gen2 hatchback?

do you thnk proton is that stupid? to make the sedan different from it's hatch?

sharing parts means cost saving laa…

proton is now going down, and you are asking why gen2 sedan and gen2 shares so many parts? ridiculously stupid question…

• Celicazz (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 3:30 pm

indigo,

i am not that stupid to believe that the boot can be done by workshop sifu laa… if it is so easy to say, ask you workshop sifu to transform you myvi, savvy or kancil or peugeot to become a sedan laa…

and you are using the word mould and form?

dont you know that car body is made from sheet metal stampings?

give a reasonable comment would you?

dont give a stupid comment like this…

• Infinitt (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 4:54 pm

Not a bad design..i prefer Gen 2 hatchback than this sedan.

• waimak (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 6:16 pm

Design wise I would like to see sedan Gen2 with larger cabin space, slight difference on the rear light and front grill. It should also improve the reverse and side visibility by now.

Should this P1 able to 'sort of buy' the variable valve into their engine, it should push their credibility by a few notches.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 6:26 pm

stupid PROTON la..anyhow,anytime anyway…pity MSIAN..

• YKF80 (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 6:30 pm

These are photoshopped pics done by a forummer in lowyat.net.

He also did a IRM photoshopped pic using the Savvy as a base.

Recently also added a putra-isk neo (with extended rear) which looks like something the proton guys can use as input concept should they decide to do a coupe version.

Nice graphic work by the guy.

Anyway, you guys can check out the original pics here >>
    http://forum.lowyat.net/lofiversion/index.php/t42…

• waimak (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 6:33 pm

I heard from an engineer of a japanese co./ make that this model is coming out very soon. Is that true?

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 7:27 pm

GEN2 sedan, interesting shape but then with the same Engine performance as CAMPRO and Same Cabin space, I don't think it will attracting Buyers put a booking on it.

They should consider change the roof height or lower the rear seat to enlarge the cabin space and at the same time extend the wheel based about 50mm if possible. Comfortable seat and bigger cabin space will attract people buying.

• YKF80 (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 8:29 pm

Those are photoshopped pics done by a LYN forummer.

He also did a Savvy Sedan and a Neo coupe photoshopped.

Link to the original posts are here>> http://forum.lowyat.net/lofiversion/index.php/t42…

Btw, here's a thought:

Everynow and then we have ppl complaining abt cars, be it local or foreign.

At the same time, we got ppl doing photoshoppes/alternate designs of how the cars should be like to their taste.

Maybe it's time someone organised a competition to design and build a true Malaysian Car, from visual to technology (engine). Dun just copy what's available but really come up with a design that's viable.

If we can do something like that, and get it backed up by a major corporate player, there might be hope yet for a truly malaysian car.

Heck, maybe 1 of the TV stations can make it into a reality show, something along the lines of Myteam? and give the local motor players a run for their money. Should the car, engine, technology, prove to be viable and buildable, it might even be marketable. Priced it right and it could capture a substantial market share.

Of course, there's the huge cost factor involved in designing and producing a car. But that has not stopped enthusiasts from handbuilding cars before.

I'm sure there are Malaysians out there who have the flair/passion and technical knowhow to achieve it. What might be needed is to have someone organise it. Maybe Paul can initiate something.

Then maybe, just maybe, we can have something a majority of Malaysians can afford and approve of.

• theking (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 8:39 pm

G2 sedan will roll out in July 2007.

WIRA will phase out May 2007.

• 20v_ke35 (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 10:05 pm

…just replace the front and rear light with satria neo, than it will sell.

• Xoomie (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 10:08 pm

Hey Paul, why don't you post the Savvy Sedan that's also showedin the same website.
    http://forum.lowyat.net/lofiversion/index.php/t42…

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 10:28 pm

err my question…

Why do we need another Campro(without cam profiling)engine sedan in the market?

since the waja is already there, what rakyat need is a true pricing of what P1 worth…

20 years plus still struggle to stand alone in the market.

• nizam80 (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 10:51 pm

theking said,

"G2 sedan will roll out in July 2007.

WIRA will phase out May 2007."

theking, any real pics of the Gen 2 sedan?

• nuajon (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 1:46 am

when the target on the road? or after more lelong for iswara aeroback?? gen2 sedan look like sentra….nissan.

• jazz1011 (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 7:33 am

I don't think I can make myself to blend in to the design.

But then again, it's still a computer-rendered image. Let's wait for the real thing, shall we.

I'm perhaps the more conventional type. I'd still go for the Waja if I had to choose.

Cheers!

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 8:13 am

Proton please… changed your old taste please……..

• mits27 (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 8:28 am

It looks like old Dodge neo in US???

• nizam80 (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 8:36 am

sell this car for bout RM45K – 50K and i'll probably buy it. If not, forget it.

• gigganet (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 10:06 am

after so many years, people are still waiting for a decent car from proton. Just give us a car design & quality comparable to a vios and price it like a vios (without the taxes) which is about 50k and people will be lining up to buy… simple! Like that also cannot do!

• waimak (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 11:10 pm

mits27,

Yeah, it does have a similar look to Dodge Neo US from behind..

• amal850720 (Member) on Mar 08, 2007 at 7:19 pm

nice attempt to modify the looks. gen2 really has the looks. but it'd be better if the engines are modified too. well, perhaps proton could add more variants to their line-up. more displacement (2000cc or so) maybe.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 11:41 pm

Nice, should have a Gen2 sedan….

2 THUMBS UP !!!!!!

• nizam73 (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 8:07 am

who said proton going down right now? just used ur brain for thinking, That is political issued, how proton can sponsored Le-tour d langkawi, BAM and another. Gen2 sedan become new interior design and new spec engine. Hopefully most powerfull engine torque. I love Proton cars and i need malaysian become champion in automotive industries… Malaysia Boleh.. Proton Boleh…. Just thinking about PROTON GOING DOWN…. no fact….

• gogocar (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 1:17 am

Some info from a friend that this car really good on quality improvement under new mangement control. Alots of improvement from previous model and attractive looks from exterior and interior. Big luggage space.That is what I looking for. With around Myvi price….I think this car wil have big impac in the market. Is good for Proton lovers, can upgrade the car or alternative car for Waja drivers to switch to this new model.Can’t wait to get this new 1.6 Sedan car. I’m proud with Proton =)

• adrian yap (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 1:58 pm

most probably can put extra 2 luagge or extra place 4 12 inch speaker

• nbl (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 3:23 pm

loking good..look like Nissan Sentra..but the facelift must have>changing to Neo..for more better

• kasim (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 5:40 pm

bumper tuh klu tukar bg nampak racing skit.. perhh.. cun beb

• amin3d on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:21 am

please send download 3d model of gen-2

pleasepleasepleasepleaseplease

• pouria on Mar 18, 2011 at 5:01 pm

i love GEN2