More artist impressions of the new Proton Sedan

Chaku Proton Sedan

Reader Chaku has updated his new Proton Sedan artist’s impressions as some of you have requested variations of his previous impression with different bootlid spoilers. Well, here they are – complete with modified rear tail lights similar to the aftermarket LED tail lights available in the market. Look at all variations after the jump.

Chaku Proton Sedan

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 5:07 am

the blue one rocks!

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 5:29 am

The aftermarket tail lights make the car appear more upmarket compared to the original tail lights…seriously…the “crop circle” design looks silly… XP~

• angelo2689 (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 5:59 am

the green one looks silly~~~~~~(the spoiler)

• wanwnp (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 7:35 am

the red one is just enough for me..
    the green one is quite ok, but the spoiler kinda look “ah Beng’s”

anyway, great job.. how did chaku do these? adobe photoshop??

• azrai (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 7:36 am

Need For Speed Underground Malaysia 50th Edition

• nescartel (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 8:02 am

i doubt photoshop can do 3D manipulation.
    maybe he’s using Solidworks or AutoCAD. :p

• ganz (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 9:16 am

he should work at proton..

• moha774 (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 9:23 am

I like the red one…. although bigger Eg9 type spoiler would look better… anyway it looks better in red

• tigertie (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 9:38 am

Blue 1, with rearlight lighting treatment as the green, and the yellow spoiler. Mamamia.. that’ll be my choice.

• wuichi (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 9:50 am

proton should hire chaku

• pipzs (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 11:34 am

sweet… giving ideas how to work on the car.. the tail lamp.. ahh just nice… it’s a passion… together we go to proton showroom on 15th august.. if the interior is lookin good… sign up!!!! heard the interior will be better than the old gen2…

• pipzs (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 11:39 am

anyone know how much the cost to change the LED tail lamp?? looking forward to…

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 12:32 pm

Wah..shoud come with a 4WD drivetrain. Asthetically, very refreshing for a 5 year old design!!!! Nice!

• wanwnp (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 12:50 pm

#
    nescartel said,

July 30, 2007 @ 8:02 am

i doubt photoshop can do 3D manipulation.
    maybe he’s using Solidworks or AutoCAD. :p

i think adobe photoshop can do this..
    it’s just “overwrite” the 3D rendered image..

it’s not doing all over again.. ;P

• Max88 (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 1:12 pm

Proton new MPV (Lotus APX) ?

http://tinyurl.com/3axvl5

Certificate of registration granted 2nd August 2006

Renewal Due Date 30th June 2011

Product in respect of which design registered:
    ‘A vehicle ‘

Edition Pri. Class’n First Duplicate Second Duplicate Third Duplicate
    07 At Issue 12-08 01

Name(s) and Address(es) of Proprietor(s):
    ADP NUMBER: 00065132001

Perusahaan Otomobil Nasional Sdn. Bhd.
    Hicom Industrial Estate
    40000 Shah Alam
    Selangor Darul Ehsan
    MALAYSIA

Address for Service
    ADP NUMBER: 00000015002

W P Thompson & Co
    Kings Building
    South Church Side
    Hull
    HU1 1RR

** END OF REGISTER DETAILS **

• phylixng (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 1:27 pm

white 1 is great for me but not others. hahahhaha!!!green is really looks crapy.. sorry bout that but just telling the truth..keep it up chaku..u r telented

• quest (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 1:43 pm

Actually, non of the cars look great. It’s an extended Gen2 for crying out loud. How much impronement can they put into a failure model.

If anything, I thought they should’ve done something more with the Waja chasis and expand a new model from it.

The Gen2 is a failure, so they added in a few more mm to the wheelbases, think it’s gonna be any different. Sure, there’ll be some hype for the first 2 weeks, but when people see the car for what it’s worth, sales will drop, like the Gen2.

What they need is a complete quantumn leap of design and quality, granted I haven’t seen this model, but still feel apprehensive ever buying a Proton again.

• BigFish (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 2:02 pm

Chaku, Is that all your rendition the way I look on it have 4 exhaust pipes (1 chrome & 3 “black”)?

• bobdbilder (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 2:35 pm

Yes Virginia, Photoshop can do color replacement and work with layers. Sheesh!

Anybody who says Gen 2 design is ugly would prefer the new Camry or thinks Honda City is a great piece of art. Granted, the end product would have gaps between the wheels and the fenders. But it take minimal effort to mod it. Extending the wheelbase (and everything else being equal) and moving the center of gravity, makes more of a comfortable ride. See ‘fulcrum’.

What is needed is actually a quantum leap to increase Malaysian sense of aesthetics. Having more Gen 2s and more Euro style visible on the road would hopefully increase those values.

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 2:50 pm

u all still can c his creations at paultan forum…… ;)

• carcaz (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 3:00 pm

typical kedai ‘abang’ looks… hahaha

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 3:20 pm

still prefer the white one…….but Mr.Chaku, why all same bodykits, same wheels and same position angle?

• wong (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 3:45 pm

the green one looks like an amphibian of something,white really looks nice..with minimum bodykit…

• szw (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 4:07 pm

funny

• carcaz (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 4:23 pm

Those LED’s tailights really looks damn cool… but there’s an issue if those aftermarket lights meets the standards and requirement… what I see is that those lights r not using superflux LED (like the one on myvi’s) but normal type LED… Later on it will be like those LED third brake light which r on wira’s spoiler… after a few months it will start blinking and blown one by one…

• kasim (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 5:38 pm

hmm… cantik …

• albagmane (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 5:48 pm

woot… im amazed! btw, i wonder will there be LED lights for this coming soon gen-2 sedan…

• silv3r (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 8:09 pm

Max88,
    Proton new MPV (Lotus APX) ?
    :)

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 8:17 pm

Proton needs to take NFSU and put all their cars in it. See what looks best:P

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 8:55 pm

wheel looks meaty,
    chaku perhaps Volks Rays wheel might gives a lighter wheel appearence,

• mzfnd (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 9:11 pm

The white one with a ruby red proton emblem, ooo… sweet. Tell you what guys, this is the real wira replacement model whether you acknowledge it or not.

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 10:09 pm

those lights are aftermarket……same as paul’s post where he saw a gen2 fitted with this LED type rearlights. And its pricey too…

• mits27 (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 10:34 pm

The side looks like Acura TR…

• mits27 (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 10:35 pm

Sorry, it is TL…

• wanwnp (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 10:50 pm

should put evo 7 spoiler plus vortex generator also..

• wanwnp (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 10:52 pm

actually, what does vortex generator do??
    does it increase speed of the car??
    or more on stability issue?

• chaku/maru (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 11:42 pm

i just photoshopped the 3d image that circulates in the net..that’s y it’s the same angle.

the green one i purposely did it like that…for fun…bt the way, who gonna use that ridiculous rear wing like the green one.
    this images was done to see which rear spoiler will look go on the sedan…that’s why bodykits just the same.

and one more..there are only 1 exhaust la…the black one is diffuser la BigFish.

• chaku/maru (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 11:47 pm

the white one is my favourite. is i were to buy the car..im gonna go for the white style….

least favourite is the green one….i know it’s crappy…purposely did it looking silly.

side skirting is the R3 one…

• wanwnp (Member) on Jul 31, 2007 at 1:55 am

anyway, chaku did great job…
    two thumbs up!

• farghmee (Member) on Jul 31, 2007 at 9:09 am

vortex generator?

AFAIK vortex behind the wheel slows down the car as the circulating air (vortex) increases the drag coefficient (Cd) of a car, at high travelling speed.

Diffuser is introduced as to reduce the vortex effect.

Correct me if I’m wrong..Aiyya~subjek dynamics susah weh…CFD senang cket :p

• farghmee (Member) on Jul 31, 2007 at 9:19 am

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Turbulence

• wanwnp (Member) on Jul 31, 2007 at 11:27 am

owh… after a lil bit explanation from farghmee..
    i think i can imagine how this turbulence kacaw top speed..

yeah, i ride motosikal oso..
    when “cucuk” belakang lori, no need to go full throttle, just a bit only can travel at top speed…[say the lori travel @ 120km/h which is my ride top speed]

i wonder the turbulence sucks me towards the lori la..
    so, the lori moves forward, but the turbulence generated slows itself down..
    which is not good, serupa ada orang tarik dari belakang..

so, when added vortex gen. , angin akan terus bergerak lurus, and
    the turbulence effect is slightly decrease… haha, cannot cucuk anymore…

i wonder why no vortex gen place at sides?
    why only got under rear bumper and rear end punya bumbung?

maybe too ugly if put them at sides
    haha…

————————————

sorry all… i’m budak kampung only, mana la pandai sangat nak imagine this DYNAMICS SUBJECT

• Exec. Persona (Member) on Jul 31, 2007 at 12:02 pm

Nang kacak putih..

• farghmee (Member) on Jul 31, 2007 at 12:52 pm

yes wanwnp, u r rite.

xletak VR kt tepi mgkn sbb xcantek. hm~ may b bcoz vortex only exists at the end/rear of any moving object..
    FYI vortex occurs at high velocity only. so xpenting sgt kalu bw kete slow2 (

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Jul 31, 2007 at 2:47 pm

L OVE THE YELLOW WANT..ITS VERY LUSTY..HMM I THINK THAT PROTON

HOULD HIRE CHAKU PART OF THEIR TEAMS… THE GREEN ONE…ITS A

NIGHTMARE DUDE…

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Jul 31, 2007 at 2:48 pm

CORRECTIONS…

I LOVE THE YELLOW ONE..ITS VERY LUSTY..HMM I THINK THAT PROTON

SHOULD HIRE CHAKU PART OF THEIR TEAMS… THE GREEN ONE…ITS A

NIGHTMARE DUDE…

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jul 31, 2007 at 3:52 pm

subtle rear spoiler fit the best i think, (on red)

blue rear spoiler is aggresive enough,

both are nicely OEM,

(next ..estate version)

• kemal (Member) on Jul 31, 2007 at 5:07 pm

wah my heart beat again after looked at this 3d picture like before i own my gen2, but it history now coz the many..many problem occur luckily i can trade in my car before the insurance and roadtax mati for a year and here i want to say sorry to somebody had already buy my car…sorry

• azrai (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 7:30 am

I don’t think ‘vortex generator’ at Brother’s help in aerodynamic. It’s just the way they raked profit. Just look at the voltage stabilizer. If it is good, for sure the car manufacturer come out standardly with the package. Think about it. Automotive engineer do a lot of research, testing before come out with the consumer product.

• coolguru (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 7:49 am

Paul, it’s quite misleading while the first/top post remains to promote this coming launch.

I thought you’ve been too busy to update your blogs hence I just quickly close before everything is loaded and move to other websites as soon as I see the first/top post is the same since last week.

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 2:43 pm

wheres theo gone to? i would like to c his estate creation or maybe the blm.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 8:16 pm

VG , placed at diffuser doesnt sacrifice its downforce , but it reduce drag substantially, (even diffuser is more effective with VG)

with vortex generator nagetive pressure is beautifully formed only at or just behind the diffuser ,area where downforce in effect, then a low pressure air leave the car will quickly regain its pressure back, so low pressure is formed only where its needed for downforce with minimal drag,

without the VG its almost that the low pressure air is disperse wildly creating the unwanted turbulance in bigger area as the car leave, some amount of downforce created but the unnecessary undiciplined low pressure in larger area behind will create drag of course,

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 10:07 pm

in terms of design id rather go for the diffuser than VG …….vg looks a bit wierd.

• farghmee (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 8:51 am

just wanna know…

do P1 has sort of aerodynamic analysis using CFD? i’m kinda interested :)

*Computational Fluid Dynamic (CFD), a numerical method (calculation done by computer of course :p) used to analyze fluid motion.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 8:12 pm

http://www.nextcar.com.au/i.renault.clio.III.2006.renaultsport.2.0.16v.diffuser.06mar.jpg

• jackson91 (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 3:49 pm

heard that the boot has gas struts.

wonder if that will be a plus point for some ppl to buy the car.

• cnc (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 10:10 pm

i think the boot will be fitted with proton logo in the middle.

• v6turbo (Member) on Aug 06, 2007 at 12:25 pm

hi people out there..
    i do agree with what quest said about the proton’s quality..2 years of using Proton Saga (LSMT) is a nightmare for me…I sold that car already and i won’t buy any proton’s product for the future…enuff..!!

• Drift_guyz (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 11:52 pm

Chaku..nice artwork…..perh…we should set up design bizz 2gether…

• bluehyppo80 (Member) on Nov 09, 2007 at 6:00 pm

is the bodykit in the market yet? Where can I get the bodykit?Anyone help…

• langkuik (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 2:55 pm

yeahhh.. i like the blue one too ;)

• Tyler Strong on Jan 21, 2012 at 8:40 am

I think the original design looks clean and sleak. The green one looks like it would be in a japenese race, and the spoiler, like everyone is saying looks silly. To be honest I really love the “tail fin” on the bumper, makes it look much faster. :)

Overall- Good Jod.