Artist’s impression of new Proton Sedan bodykit

Modified_Proton_New_Sedan.jpg

Usually the fan art of modified cars only surface AFTER a car is launched, but thanks to nearly a month’s teaser period that Proton has given us with the upcoming new Proton Sedan, some have started modifying the look of whatever they have available.

Blog reader and forumer Chaku (aka Maru) has whipped up this nice artist’s impression of the new Proton Sedan with a bodykit based on the 3D renderings posted here back in March this year. He has added a small bootlid spoiler, subtle side skirts and a front lip, but the rear bumper gets a new diffuser-like design.

Of course, no sporty look is complete without larger sports alloy wheels and a reduced wheel arch gap. What do you think? The LED brake lamps available as a third party aftermarket accessory would complement this design well.

I think the new Proton Sedan like all modern Protons have tremendous potential for aesthetics enhancement.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• agnesia (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 3:18 am

good looking… especially the rear bumper diffuser and the closed-gap wheel arch

• geminas (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 3:25 am

looks freakin cool!!!!

• azrai (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 7:02 am

Ah Beng’s Persona. Do you notice this sedan getting clearer in the TV commercial?

• Paul Tan on Jul 27, 2007 at 7:39 am

yes, twin spoke rims can be seen now

• frossonice (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 8:01 am

if the rear door spots a hoffmeister kink, people surely think it is a bimmer on their first look. quite cool.

• wanwnp (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 8:05 am

hv not seen yet the clearer tv commercial..
    were the rims look great or not?
    or still got the “bulat-bulat” design?

• J (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 8:08 am

wow… the doors side look like BMW 3 series.

This one will sell fast :)

Nice work !

• legacy88 (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 8:26 am

Look decent, Nice!

• gunblade (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 8:29 am

Please stop giving artist impression.

Although it is look the same or maybe same as the original but it will just destroy the fun to wait for the annoucement.

If spyshots, it is better.

• ASIMOtypeR (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 8:45 am

overall ok..
    for me i dont like head and tail light
    i got 2 pics new sedan.. how to post here?

• rexis (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 8:46 am

But seriously i really hope the rear light is not exactly like gen2, not sure how others feel, but i feel that if it goes this way this is just like a gen2 potong.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 9:31 am

rexis,

yeah.. agreed.. they should at least do something diff with the rear rear light…

• Francis KethoN (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 9:31 am

Hey Paul. mind you ask this CHAKU mod this drawing of the spoiler to 2008 Honda Civic MUGEN Si Sedan’s spoiler (your previous topic) ?

It would be nice for such a long boot with Evo’s spoiler style.
    Im a photoshop maniac too but just a freshie though.. I mod the Skyline GT300 from what i took it by my camera while driving :D Came out in sucks quality…HAHA..doofus me!

• Aril (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 10:14 am

This is what we call a sporty nice car

• szw (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 10:16 am

nicely done…

• BigFish (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 10:16 am

Rear light “triangular” shape is popular by Mercs car, but now the market trend is back to “rectangular”. Hope this Sedan not merely put in “buttock” only to please customer!

• Dogster (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 10:25 am

Yes True, Why cant those designers in proton just change the design of the light? A 5 year old boy could do better….

• xg9 (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 10:35 am

gotta have the led… damn nice! and the black projector headlight as well..

• avanza (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 1:00 pm

anyone knows if the new model will have a cps engine?

• acbc (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 1:09 pm

If it turns out like this, I may just buy one as daily driven car. But, tail lights must be LEDs and front will be HIDs, two of the best lighting technologies in the world.

• gtmaniac (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 1:37 pm

Smart & simple. The twin spokes rims really match to the overall theme, though i personally thinks it will looks even bigger in other colour, like gold or champange..

As for the rear spoiler, I would go for the ‘duck-tail’ type.. ala EG9.

• chaku/maru (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 2:42 pm

im struggling with the rear spoiler. dunno which design fit best. but im staying away from humunguos sized spoiler.

• moha774 (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 2:52 pm

Agreed with gtmaniac, try fit EG9 style spoiler… anyway keep up the good work..

• moha774 (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 2:55 pm

Oh … one other thing… how would it looks like with Gen2 MME edition front bumper…hehe.. wicked

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 3:37 pm

Nice, clean and cool!!!! What else? YEAH!!!!!

• GoodC@rs (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 3:50 pm

THat A Nice car man! it seems like proton has done a great job this time

• danoneism (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 4:36 pm

sick ride baby…ahahahaha

• ariff (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 4:43 pm

good design..
    hope it is good as it is seen larr..

• accordmania (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 4:57 pm

hope the engine and all parts work well especially servise center, live to their promise on proton’s latest ads.

• Xoomie (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 5:06 pm

Hope this… hope that… its hopeless…

• intermilan (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 5:06 pm

the ‘ufo-missing-crops ‘ rear light (or any bling-bling parts) must go.
    a simple design will do a lot better as ufo design look ‘cheap’ and out of place in conventional sedan. look at vios.. its sell..

the front headlamp also seems too small compared with overall car dimension. feel not so ‘integrated’, besides nowaday most new car got larger-than-life headlamp. larger-than-life headlamp look ‘bold’ and ‘sharp’ but still within the sphere of ‘conventional’ feel that acceptable to sedan. just look at civic, accord, 407 (to name a few) headlamp design for example.

unfortunately, these two seems like staying – parts sharing = cost saving and change of headlamp will result in change in many body parts design and dimension (to fit the new headlamp).

what a shame… as the borderline between being good design and GREAT design (by proton standard…) look like is within sight. (Most people, minus potong staunch supporter are praising this car even when it is not officially out yet…. when is the last time that happened? or when does that ever happened? )

now… where is 4-doors / 5-doors satria neo?

many people are asking for this when neo was launched. Were you listening? Drop the mindset that satria is limited to 2-doors h/b. Give what people want. That is the only path for your salvation.

last but not least, value this phrase, proton… if you can’t convince them, confuse them.. (with abundant of choices, good choices).

btw, the BLM design look like crap, unfinished, aged / misguided design. do something about it, ok?

• nmh (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 6:25 pm

Please someone design Bodykit with rear diffuser for G2

• chanel (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 6:42 pm

the Gen 2 wing mirror is a bit failure….the visibility angle is poor compared to Waja…..how come & it is really funny….they able to design Waja (1st product) with wide angle side mirror but failed it with their 2nd product…..which is Gen 2. Therotically it should able to improve or retain the same viewing angle.

Hope this new sedan doesn’t carry the Gen 2 wing mirror gen…..the mirror just viewing angle just so poor….

btw…the computer graphic design looks pretty cool…..

• 280kmh (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 7:46 pm

Nice body kit design, but i personally prefer the current gen2 with bodykits. Look more ‘garang’..

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 8:14 pm

gen2 already nice for modders, so no suprise this too is one will be a success too

• 1178696 (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 1:15 am

i really do hope this latest model will do proton good and elevent them to another level of competition, as in the long run if they profit our whole country and all its people in it will benefit too.

• nizam80 (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 1:40 am

A potential successor to the Wira. This car looks aggressive with full body kit. I’m sure the R3 division will come out with their own R3 designed bodykits a few months after the launch of this stunning sedan!

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 5:31 pm

hmm..look like proton want to makes profit with this model…but..they still copy from the old gen.2…the front grill is totally same but ‘serabut’ chrome lines remind me to the honda city..(thats what my mum use now)..the rear design..still the same…sigh..but maybe there is a huge different for interior?? anyone have the ideas how interior look like..or still copy from the same design..(no glovebox..rectanglish air-cond vent..sucky creamy colour..n..tiny radio controller???)

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 9:02 pm

its nice a may say, simple yet good…..nice job chaku! ;)

• transformer (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 9:25 pm

look decent enough!

but those crop-circle light definately had to go!

same as to Waja dog-bone light!

• lopaque (Member) on Jul 29, 2007 at 1:59 am

real look on new proton sedan here http://img502.imageshack.us/img502/638/sedanta3hq7.jpg

• kazai (Member) on Jul 29, 2007 at 5:25 am

nice looking car.but i didnt agree proton still the same tail light as gen2…

• wanwnp (Member) on Jul 29, 2007 at 9:21 am

#
    zack_keyme988 said,

July 29, 2007 @ 8:42 am

IF U ALL SEE CLEARLY..THE INTERIOR DESIGN IS STILL USING THE SAME PLATFORM..(DOUBLE LAYER DESGN)..HMM..SEEMS LIKE PROTON DESIGNER NEED TO DO MORE EFFORTS HERE…LACK OF IDEAS…

——————————————————————-

i think proton people are not stupid as u think..
    if there are stupid, they cant work for proton..

u said they lack ideas..
    i think they hv a lot of ideas..but dont have time to make them into reality…

if they change everything, maybe this model will not come out this august..
    MAYBE NEXT TWO YEARS..see? how many years proton hv not introduce new its new models till that time?
    i think that time, p2 also has many new models and p1 still have a lot of lambakan kereta…

in my opinion, proton must act quickly and i think the interior in less priority than “size of car, look (exterior), handling and also safety (they put airbag as standard)”…

i’m not so intelligent to speak about proton, but i’m also not stupid to realize that proton is now doing everything they can to survive..

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Jul 29, 2007 at 10:53 am

from information that i have..the length of this car is longer than WAJA…NISSAN LATIO.. TOYOTA COROLLA ALTIS AND CHEVROLET OPTRA…hmm..sounds like very comfortable and convenience..but the width…no change…if the interior come with the black scheme colour with striking silver..THATS COOL..IS THIS NEW SEDAN COME WITH CPS ENGINE??….

• wanwnp (Member) on Jul 29, 2007 at 12:28 pm

zack_keyme988 said,

July 29, 2007 @ 10:53 am

.IS THIS NEW SEDAN COME WITH CPS ENGINE??….
    ———————————————

as discussed before, “NO CPS”

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Jul 29, 2007 at 12:34 pm

so..it just come with the old campro engine?? hurm…how that be??some said that this car will be name ‘persona’…??is it kinda name of wira that been exported 2 uk 12years ago??

• fairozee (Member) on Jul 29, 2007 at 3:05 pm

Yup.. harga kereta Proton yg paling mahal tidak sepatutnya melebihi RM50k supaya org yang bergaji sederhana mampu membelinya! Plus, dengan harga yang lebih rendah rakyat tidak akan terpaksa membayar hutang kereta hingga ke7-9 tahun. Adalah tidak munasabah kita perlu membayar sedemikian lama hanya untuk sebuah kereta.

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Jul 29, 2007 at 5:31 pm

ANOTHER SPYSHOT OF GEN.2 SEDAN…

http://img369.imageshack.us/img369/5987/picture003om0yy5.jpg

http://img486.imageshack.us/img486/3286/gen2sedanfn0.jpg

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Jul 29, 2007 at 5:41 pm

BILE PULAK MODEL PROTON BLM NAK KLUAR??ATAUPUN DIEORG LAUNCH SEKALI?? :):):):):):):):):):):):):):):)

• zam (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 8:54 pm

Apa2 pun kini saya ucap tahniah kpd Proton, anda syarikat yg berdiri sendiri. Bukan ambil ‘BARANG’ orang,lekatkan nama sendiri dan jual. Saya mempunyai Wira 1.6 dan masih ‘GAH’ hingga sekarang. Teringin hendak memiliki PERSONA yg menarik. Tutup mulut org M’sia yg suka mencacai barangan sendiri. Rakan saya yg membeli kereta keluaran Korea menghadapi berbagai masalah tp tak berani nak cerita takut malu kerana terlalu mengagungkan barangan dari luar.TAHNIAH, MALAYSIA BOLEH.

• Claudia on Sep 08, 2012 at 9:46 pm

Whats up are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m
    trying to get started and create my own. Do
    you require any html coding knowledge to make your own blog?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

• Offshore Company on Jan 05, 2013 at 7:04 pm

As ever, so insightful and definitely helpful blog post on Artist?s impression of new Proton Sedan bodykit.
    Appreciate it!!