New FIA WRC cars to be based on S2000 specs

Satria Neo S2000

Not surprisingly since even Formula One has revised their specs to reduce costs, the FIA will be revising the specifications of the World Rally Car to specs based on the S2000 specifications called S2000+, which is essentially S2000 specs but with added kit such as a turbo, a quicker shifting mechanism paired with steering wheel paddle shifts, and an aero package that consists of a front spoiler and rear wing. However, no electronic upgrades are allowed.

5 time WRC champion Sebastien Loeb has expressed his displeasure and says he will quit the sport if the S2000 spec cars officially come into place instead of the current WRC car specs. According to Loeb, S2000 car specs will not be interesting to drive. He may return to circuit racing instead. But he is okay with S2000+ specs instead of S2000 specs if S2000+ can result in a similiar power output to the current WRC cars.

MEM could add the S2000+ upgrades to its S2000 Satria Neo. Could we see a Proton Satria Neo Super 2000+ WRC car in the future?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• the stik (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 3:38 pm

aahaahahaa hope so laaa…

• CFA28 (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 4:04 pm

paul perhaps some brief explaination on what is S2000 or S2000+ vs current WRC Cars, esp in terms of BHP/Torque, tyres, suspension, other electronics, etc?

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 5:00 pm

the stik said,
    December 16, 2008 @ 3:38 pm

aahaahahaa hope so laaa…

we are hoping… neo s2000 has the potential….

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 7:46 pm

this sucks. subaru sti will lose its meaning like that

• KuSesat (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 8:07 pm

Whatever it is, rally will no longer be the same. Suzuki had already withdrew from WRC in the cause of financial depress. I heard from rumours that Subaru will leave WRC. Fingers crossed……….

• derrickmoh (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 8:08 pm

I’m not too worried about the effect of S2000 cars on the WRC’s appeal. An S2000 will not cost more than 60,000 Euros (non-inclusive of rear wing and turbo add-on). Now compare that to the price of the current WR cars in use, which cost more than half a million Euros…big difference in price. Plus, the FIA aims to attract more manufacturers to the WRC, they’ve identified up to six potential newcomers. This in fact, would be a great opportunity for Peugeot and Skoda to make a return to rallying since they already have fully developed S2000 cars on the market. the Peugeot 207 S2000 is perhaps the strongest competitor in the S2000 scene, winning the IRC easily and defeating the more radical-looking Fiat Punto Abarth S2000. Power-wise, i don’t think fans should be disapointed since an average S2000 produces 280 hp max, with the turbo bolted on it will boost figures closer to the current performance.

• derrickmoh (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 8:10 pm

i feel so sad for Suzuki, they were having a productive first season and deserved to stay on longer…i was one of the few fans who supported them more than the other teams…

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 8:37 pm

satria neo already used as star in a bog car=aussie top gear, so got hope there

• derrickmoh (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 8:42 pm

Darn..Subaru just announced withdrawal from WRC. If anyone wants more info on current S2000 cars, visit www.s2000rally.com. Even the Satria Neo is listed there.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 9:28 pm

wat is s2000 spec technically anyway??

• KF (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 9:29 pm

“5 time WRC champion Sebastien Loeb has expressed his displeasure and says he will quit the sport if the S2000 spec cars officially come into place instead of the current WRC car specs. According to Loeb, S2000 car specs will not be interesting to drive. He may return to circuit racing instead.”

Well Mr. Loeb has nothing to prove since he is already a 5 five WRC Champion and the WRC Driver with the most wins in a single season.
    So if he decides not to compete in WRC with S2000 specs, there will be other more hungry young drivers out to win the WRC drivers title. No loss in my opinion as world champions come and go.

• derrickmoh (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 10:02 pm

S2000 cars are a new category of rally cars introduced to enable manufacturers and privateers alike to be involved in rallying. The cars are built from the ground up and based on existing production models, like what the current WR cars are. The difference is is cost (168, 000 Euros, not 60,000 like i mentioned earlier, sorry), no electronic driver aids (uh-oh..), a standardized transmission package (FIA approved) and MacPherson front and rear suspension. On the exterior, most S2000 cars are based on compact hatchbacks and superminis, e.g. our beloved Satria Neo. Overall, think of it as a cheaper alternative to a WR car.

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 10:05 pm

paul said :
    MEM could add the S2000+ upgrades to its S2000 Satria Neo. Could we see a Proton Satria Neo Super 2000+ WRC car in the future?
    —-

I wish it to be true too..
    Anyway paul, beside the yellow one Neo.. there’s the nice white and red neo s2000.. what more supprising is.. They are currently build #3rd neo s2000!..

Is that mean the car had many buyer now?

• red7 (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 11:59 pm

come on proton
    show your worth

• torquemonster (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 10:34 am

anyone know that subaru withdraws fomr 2009 wrc.. its a sad thing..
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/motoring/news/3793582/Subaru-also-withdraws-from-World-Rally-Championship.html

• abtm (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 11:18 am

how’s the series gonna survive with only 2 manufacturers…

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 12:33 pm

good…
    when many withdraws..
    we enter .. then we will get more highlights!

when economy of scale slowing,
    we must promote more than ever..

just like what mahathir did during 99 downtime.
    ok what?

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 1:32 pm

oh my god. subaru withdrew from wrc? then can close shop already. nobody will buy their cars anymore.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 2:22 pm

the world economic climate changes so must everything else. and motorsport is no exception.

the departure of suzuki, and maybe subaru, might open the door for other manufacturers… who knows, we might even see a china company in world rallying in future. the sport is really picking up in china also.

but good timing for the satria neo s2000.. with only a few manufacturers building these cars currently, it would make the neo a good prospect

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 6:48 pm

china and proton is wrc, then i better return to f1

• Fridz (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 7:34 pm

For me WRC is similar as F1.WRC on gravel n tarmac while F1 on track circuit.

im going to say this is bad news.but this will make proton as a manufacturer as for s2000.

so what is S2000+?…some value added S2000 ke ape?

• Ralliace (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 11:45 pm

Sorry guys! Proton is NOT manufacturing the S2000 models. A UK company (sorry, i can’t remember the name of this company) is developing the S2000 models using the Satria Neo. All Proton is contributing is the chassis and the body (that too not the wide body).

• Ralliace (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 11:50 pm

By the way, Proton has been in the WRC in the Production Class (Group N) driven by Karamjit Singh. He and Allen Oh were crowned world champion in 2003 for this class but many think that they won the overall championship.

Oh ya! Another point, the car they used was merely a Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 6 rebadged with a Proton logo.

So technically, Proton has been in the WRC.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 10:30 am

HONDA S2000?

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 10:54 am

sex is.. water. said,
    December 17, 2008 @ 1:32 pm
    oh my god. subaru withdrew from wrc? then can close shop already. nobody will buy their cars anymore.
    ___
    from this POV, i agree with you..
    They are such important in 4wd and powerfull car..
    without that exposure.. they maybe just nothing!. None the blue and gold car anymore. Maybe later..
    Subaru – bought by china maker – Ah Beng Motorsport is WRC champion. hahaha

+++
    Ralliace said,
    December 17, 2008 @ 11:45 pm
    Sorry guys! Proton is NOT manufacturing the S2000 models.

We already knew that lah.
    Mellor’s Racing those built it with full support from proton itself. Then they selling the car. Currently they built the 3rd Neo S2000 car.

+++

Come on tourism malaysia and Felda.
    Bring World Rally Championship to Malaysia!.

The downtime is the best time to promote! The cost (to promote) also cheap than before!

• intermilan (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 11:05 am

Mr. karamjit win the P-WRC in 2002. He also won the APAC rally too..
    He’s not in WRC per se. but this is small details. he make malaysia proud but malaysia ..sigh*

suzuki exit is okay (no offence to derrickmoh) coz they just starting and not really a powerhouse figure anyway, but subaru exit is like losing the romance of WRC. coz they had been in it for so long and only them sold production car that come near with the rally car they have. and the many followers that they have.

but believe there will be privateer team marching on with the Subaru badge (if time permit). hopefully… don’t mind to see subaru losing.. this help held the ego of scooby owners out there in check sikit…
    kalau subaru champion, nanti mesti banyak act ooo..

Suspect that Fuji Heavy Industries take this economic crisis as opportunity to finally… pull the plug on subaru win-less adventure in WRC.

‘Surprisingly’, its been 11 years since they last won the manufacturers title and 5 years since they last won the drivers title. losing at almost every rally for this many years to mere citroen, ford and peugeot is bad for their image me guess.

but subaru w/out WRC, the ‘image’ is not the same.. i guess they will follow Mitsubishi step in applying the ‘revoking-the-old-memories’ business & marketing strategy.

Fact is.. Mitsubishi Evo last won a WRC driver title in 1999 and manufacturer title in 1998. That’s 9 and 10 years ago !
    So long time already.. there were practically no broadband then. and the crazy of the town is Nokia 3210, Nokia ‘butterfly’ and France win the World Cup when the ‘real’ Ronaldo wilt under pressure! Yes… its that long….

But everyone still associate Evo with ultimate rally pedigree (since Tommi won the driver title in 4 straight year 1996-1999). Disappointedly, Mitsu only won the manufacturer title in 1 year i.e. 1998. And of course Evo is still in P-WRC.. but to be fair to the ‘image’ that Evo have, they should compete in WRC as a proper team. Hopefully subaru won’t play the same dog trick..

and yes.. love to see proton S2000 in WRC or at least in the IRC. P-WRC pun okay. better if the team is from or partly from proton themselves. only then can gauge were u really are in the competitive real world of rally. supplying chasis only? .. that is play play only. The old practice of re-badging a mitsu rally car and called it a proton is non-sense la.. kinda immoral huh?

• intermilan (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 3:43 pm

Proton S2000 first entry in rally in October 2008 at Rally Antibes, part of ERC and IRC calendar.

check this out:
    http://www.rallybuzz.com/bouffier-proton-day-1-antibes/
    http://www.rallybuzz.com/two-protons-monte-carlo/

http://www.rallybuzz.com/rally-antibes-2008-final-results/
    Nicolas Vouilloz eased to victory on the 2008 edition of the Antibes Rally. He finished 25.5s ahead of his Peugeot Total Sport team-mate Stephane Sarrazin on a rally that traversed some world famous stages, such as the Col de Turini and the Col de Bliene.

Polish driver Michal Solowow, driving a 207, took third overall ahead of Volkan Isik in a Punto. Bruyneel came home an excellent fifth in a Subaru WRX in front of Fontana’s 207.

Bryan Bouffier suffered engine problems in the new Proton throughout the rally and his event ended on the Col de Turini when the engine cried enough.

In the end it was Vouilloz’ rally as he recorded 13 fastest times out of 18 special stages to claim a dominant victory.

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 18, 2008 at 7:15 pm

in that race.. Bryan Bouffier get as top as 6th possition before the thing happen.. they might get top 3 if nothing happen.

engine broke / technical failure was normal in any car, any race.

• farid asraf on Apr 20, 2009 at 6:20 pm

fcuk to those people who is malaysian and drive malaysian car but acting like they owned a subaru..infact if we ask the people who seems like knows everything bout car go and build one wrc car will they succed??i dont think so..so pls shut up and look at the neo s2000 which u will b amazed..im driving a n/a gti and already smacked a few lancer malaysia(wira convert evo or gsr)..pls wake up and proud to b malaysian..

• sarbjit on Sep 17, 2009 at 6:25 am

farid asraf said, what is wrong with you, using 4 letter words?

So what if you got your GTi to beat some convert wiras. It nothing much but full fill you small ego.

Wake up to people like you who use foul language. As a matter we really don't care about people like you. since you are malay, the government surely will look after you. maybe you got the house and car cheaper because you are bumiputra. but alas, you folks not making the country go anywhere.

Karamjit SIngh rocks !!! If he was a malay, he would be in the WRC racing a proton but again sadly, he is not. Many wonderful talents who are malaysians go to waste..

• Dr. M on Sep 29, 2012 at 12:58 am

Proton should put money in WRC and IRC. This is a very good platform to show what Proton can offer. Proton shall focus in producing high performance cars yet pass world standard of crash safety. For a start, Proton can offer Neo in both supercharged and turbocharged versions. Also Gen.2 in both supercharged and turbocharged versions. It can begin with a target 200BHP, 250Nm with speed manual. Try to tied up also with Brembo, Alcon or AP Racing. Then move on to strong auto transmission of similar performance. Proton should target niche market and care less about markets for Saga, Exora and Preve. Simply because no matter which market segment, it is all about performance package. Proton cannot afford to be diversified. Few products but different performance package options!