Chinese site claims Volvo and Geely purchase deal finalised?

There are no confirmed reports in the Western media yet, but Chinese website auto.sohu.com claims that Ford and Geely have already struck an agreement for the Swedish car company best known for their safety to be sold to the Chinese manufacturer. But it is the only news source that seems to be covering this story, so it either might only be a blown-up rumour or it might be so fresh that only the Chinese side want to talk about it at the moment.

Nevertheless even that news report is skeptical about how such a deal can pull through successfully. Geely’s market value is over 30 billion yuan, which is about 4.3 billion USD, and a Volvo buy would also require several billion USD, claims the site. They are saying Geely might take government loans and other financial assistance. And given Ford’s improving financial health, it will be less desperate to sell Volvo, which might raise the Swedish manufacturer’s price.

Elsewhere in media reports, people are still talking about another Chinese car company recently deciding to join the race to buy Volvo from Ford – Beijing Auto Industry Holdings. Beijing Auto currently has joint ventures in China with Mercedes-Benz and Hyundai. Other names mentioned before in the press said to be interested in Volvo include Renault, Chery, and Changan.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Lovely. We can have new XC90 at more affordable price, perhaps around Santa Fe.

• aliBaPa on Jun 18, 2009 at 9:25 am

GOOOOOOOD to know, volvo is a good buy.

but hummer……stupid deal.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jun 18, 2009 at 9:29 am

omg….its been years everyone waited for volvo to get exceptional quality, and now, we are going be to the olden days?

• CocoBear on Jun 18, 2009 at 11:27 am

No deal please. I hate communists. Geely has to be the worst brand name and I dun want to c some silly Chinese names on Volvo.

• tikus on Jun 18, 2009 at 5:25 pm

Hey ! Cina company is swaping the car industry man…in future all china brand.Protong where are you ? lot of nice company to lelong this day buy some mah.Lotus not enough!

• Tiadaid on Jun 18, 2009 at 6:41 pm

[quote comment="245328"]Hey ! Cina company is swaping the car industry man…in future all china brand.Protong where are you ? lot of nice company to lelong this day buy some mah.Lotus not enough![/quote]

U think M'sians will give ah? No way man! No chance in hell Proton can buy car companies like Volvo without idiot M'sians complaining!

• prolever on Jun 18, 2009 at 6:45 pm

[quote comment="245328"]Hey ! Cina company is swaping the car industry man…in future all china brand.Protong where are you ? lot of nice company to lelong this day buy some mah.Lotus not enough![/quote]

oi tikus, u think want 2 buy a campony is easy a…..proton allready invest their money 4 exora….. they have 2 wait 2 get the benefits…….yet….. u think buying a car manufucture is like buying a keropok ka……haiaaaaaa……. they net bilions 2 buy it………. go belajar business la…

• Wak Rempit on Jun 18, 2009 at 9:20 pm

[quote comment="245343"][quote comment="245328"]Hey ! Cina company is swaping the car industry man…in future all china brand.Protong where are you ? lot of nice company to lelong this day buy some mah.Lotus not enough![/quote]

oi tikus, u think want 2 buy a campony is easy a…..proton allready invest their money 4 exora….. they have 2 wait 2 get the benefits…….yet….. u think buying a car manufucture is like buying a keropok ka……haiaaaaaa……. they net bilions 2 buy it………. go belajar business la…[/quote]

Apology to Mr Prolever and others who type like above, please mind your language. I'm not trying to be smart but texty-talking is done, grow up man…

We are all adults here so we should set good example to our children in writing proper English or Bahasa Melayu if you prefer to. They are beautiful only when written and spoken correctly.

Going back to the current topic, it is a good deal… kudos to asian economy the table have turned. I expect more asian manufacturers to buy more of these so called western marque. They wouldn't look at us as 3rd world countries anymore.

My 2 cents and sorry again to Mr Prolever.

• Proton WRC on Jun 19, 2009 at 12:32 am

PROTON need to enter F1 la…

next time if have chance buy Ferrari company..LOL

sigh.. when it have chance to buy SAAB company from Sweden, which can also make jet fighter PROTON don't want to grab the chance..

• Proton WRC on Jun 19, 2009 at 12:43 am

Malaysian Kung Fu star Michelle Yeoh hubby is Jean Todt (FERRARI boss).. wait for Ferrari to bankcrupt then PROTON definitely buy Ferrari company..LOL

how about Opel company from Germany (this company also bankcrupt), one of the oldest German engineering since World War 2 founded on 1863 which more older than any Japanese car company.. the design of the car is also nice (but really suck marketing strategy).. the problem with this company is they not involve in motorsports (same problem with PROTON la).

PROTON need german marvelous engineering.. they have good engineering, if PROTON want to buy it, correct the management, involve in motorsports and do a very good advertisement war.

• Proton made in germa on Jun 19, 2009 at 12:46 am

Malaysian Kung Fu star Michelle Yeoh hubby is Jean Todt (FERRARI boss).. wait for Ferrari to bankcrupt then PROTON definitely buy Ferrari company..LOL..

how about Opel company from Germany (this company also bankcrupt), one of the oldest German engineering since World War 2 founded on 1863 which more older than any Japanese car company.. the design of the car is also nice (but really suck marketing strategy).. the problem with this company is they not involve in motorsports (same problem with PROTON la).

PROTON need german marvelous engineering.. they have good engineering, if PROTON want to buy it, correct the management, involve in motorsports and do a very good advertisement war.

• DannyArcher on Jun 19, 2009 at 2:11 am

Well, Agree with Wak Rempit. I believe most people hate to read these sms like texts, 2 as to, 4 as for, u as You, its so annonying and time consuming to 'decode' it. sorry, maybe my brain is slow.

• mystvearn on Jun 19, 2009 at 2:25 am

I'm not really sure Ford wants to sell Volvo. It is one of their good brands. I think better cut loose Holden first before volvo?

• Wak Rempit on Jun 19, 2009 at 3:26 am

mystvearn,

I thought Holden is a GM owned brand, maybe I'm wrong…

• Littlefire on Jun 19, 2009 at 5:13 am

Well… Think about 5-10 years later… Geely with 5 star EURONCAP… I think this will came true after all if they manage to buy over Volvo and utilize his safety technology…

Well for our local P1, i dont think 5-10 years will have that great success… The most i think is Turbo CPS engine or new waja…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jun 19, 2009 at 5:49 am

so fake

• Tiadaid on Jun 19, 2009 at 6:06 am

Littlefire said,

June 18, 2009 @ 9:13 pm

Well… Think about 5-10 years later… Geely with 5 star EURONCAP… I think this will came true after all if they manage to buy over Volvo and utilize his safety technology…

Well for our local P1, i dont think 5-10 years will have that great success… The most i think is Turbo CPS engine or new waja…

————————————————————

Like I've said, what would you have said if PROTON was the one who went and bought Volvo? Bashers can't be satisfied either way, Proton do this they will bash, Proton didn't do this will also get bashed. Get a bit of optimism will ya?!

• prolever on Jun 19, 2009 at 7:33 am

its ok wak. silly me.

• Littlefire on Jun 19, 2009 at 5:13 pm

Tiadaid,

Certainly, why not? As they are still using our People money to buy and not independent. In the end who untung? Those 'upper' hand ppl or us?

• tikus on Jun 19, 2009 at 5:33 pm

Prolever,you said go belajar business is said to proton. Buy and sell company like keropok.MV Agusta sell for 1 buck! Apa Kata! That keropok price!

• Tiadaid on Jun 19, 2009 at 8:06 pm

Littlefire said,

June 19, 2009 @ 9:13 am

Tiadaid,

Certainly, why not? As they are still using our People money to buy and not independent. In the end who untung? Those ‘upper’ hand ppl or us?

————————————————————

What you mean why not? Since as you said its OUR money, why the hell are you intent on seeing it fail? That's the problem with bashers, they say ah Proton use our money, but yet, instead of giving constructive opinions, they're waiting for it to fail. Dumb, simply dumb.

• Tee-Us on Jun 19, 2009 at 10:16 pm

@tikus

Well, MV Augusta was in a lot of debts, so add it to the one buck

• PROTON keropok lekor on Jun 20, 2009 at 3:03 pm

tikus wrote..

Prolever,you said go belajar business is said to proton. Buy and sell company like keropok.MV Agusta sell for 1 buck! Apa Kata! That keropok price

—-

MV Agusta have alot of debt.. if PROTON have many ideas know how to handle it, then it's ok.. but if PROTON have no idea to handle it better let it go.. even for free.

imagine you buy keropok recipe and then suddenly you realise not taste like your favourite keropok, if you have many ideas know how you to add to modify that keropok so that it can taste better than your favourite keropok, then its ok.. but if you don't know.. what you want to do?

• confucian69 on Jun 20, 2009 at 11:32 pm

What you want to do? What you want me to do?

You goreng keropok, I makan keropok. Even…

This keropok not your taste and not my taste. Because…

You jual keropok, I beli keropok. This is fairly business. Mean…

You go I go, You jump I jump. We are happy family.

• TheKHAI on Aug 11, 2009 at 6:24 pm

Guns & Roses : Chinese Democracy…

Habis jahanam la Volvo lepas ni… Dari Volvo jadi Vulva…