Some details on the next generation 3-Series

BMW 3-Series

Here’s some details from Autocar UK on BMW’s next generation bread and butter – the replacement for the E90 BMW 3-Series set to be launched for the 2011 model year. No doubt some of this may be just conjecture on Autocar’s part, but here’s the list anyway:

• The 4-cylinder engine will finally be replaced by a turbocharged unit, but Autocar is suggesting 3-cylinder engines will be used. The idea of an inline-3 in a 3-series is a little bleh though, what’s wrong with just downsizing to a small 4-cylinder and then turbo-ing it? But there’s no doubt that mechanically the inline-3 engine will likely be competent.
  • Greater care for aerodynamics, such as the use of narrow and upright intakes in the front bumper to channel the air through the bumper and out of a slot in the wheel well that pushes and smoothens the airflow across the face of the wheel.
  • The chassis will have provisions for an integrated motor assist kind of system for the rear axle. Space also needs to be designed for batteries and control units related to hybrid systems.
  • The 8-speed auto will find its way into the whole BMW range, with the 7-speed twin clutch reserved for sports models only. Though there has been improvements of leaps and bounds to computer-clutched transmissions, a real auto will always be smoother than a twin clutch.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• HMM..

• xavier lert on Aug 07, 2009 at 5:37 pm

hope it can replace the long disappointed E90…..i donno wats wrong wit that car…looks ok…but we can see that not alot of E90 roaming our road….people will straight goto 5's or jus camry or E46 recond…

• stephenstreets on Aug 07, 2009 at 5:41 pm

Looks damn awesome!

Finally the 3 series starting to look like a true 3 series.Previous 3 series and engine was easily trumped by the Audi's s4 without even blinking(even the M3 looked feeble). The earlier 3 series started to look like some primma donna rich car rather than a true 3 series sports machine.

Good job Beemer , your finally going the right way.!!

• fucking big nooses..

• MBX Boy on Aug 07, 2009 at 6:34 pm

The sketched car looks really nice…

• Look like a work of Juliane Blasi, same lady designer who did the Z4 penned for this. Has the same styling as new Z4, graceful lines less flame surface.

• Gen2R3 on Aug 07, 2009 at 6:37 pm

The current BMW 325i Sport is good enough for me unless have loads of cash then go for M3 4-door Sedan laa.. I look at the 325i Sport package it seems to be cool'..

• viva9934 on Aug 07, 2009 at 6:41 pm

Go BMW…This future 3-Series damn good exterior look.. I want one!

• badboy on Aug 07, 2009 at 7:07 pm

3-cylinder engines? Remind me to Perodua cars. The engine may be competent but will the potential buyers buy it? In this class, perception is everything. An ultimate driving machine with 3-cylinder engine…. better buy merc la, got additional cylinder ma. more power what.

• normal_user on Aug 07, 2009 at 7:10 pm

Ooh Thank God they dont apply the 7-series grille design for the 3-series.

Yeah, the front design got some Z4 feel to it. Sharp looks. I loved it.

• kimi_ on Aug 07, 2009 at 7:45 pm

WOW,this looks good…the headlamp is nice and have the led strips like AUDI !!!

I always prefer the 3 series than C-classs….it is more sporty and looks cool

for

young executive like us than the conservative and for older people's c -class….

• the ooks remind me of current facelifted bmw 7 series….

• venven81 on Aug 07, 2009 at 9:34 pm

shall see how the actual new car will look

• gugugaga on Aug 07, 2009 at 10:03 pm

looks nice..n macho

• Automotive_Critics on Aug 07, 2009 at 10:58 pm

Dear Azlano, pls learn something.

• Cyful on Aug 08, 2009 at 12:05 am

1st comment!

• Alamak… should I cancel my E90 booking and wait for it?

• keluangman on Aug 08, 2009 at 12:53 am

NICE! Looking fwd to it, as the current E90 is a real dread to look upon! Thank god Bangle gone for good.

• Leseid Obrut on Aug 08, 2009 at 1:09 am

Niiice… *drools*

• myviRS on Aug 08, 2009 at 2:01 am

Interesting! Love the sketch design. Promising elegant and sporty blend of well-known 3-series popularity goes on..

• mystvearn on Aug 08, 2009 at 2:32 am

8-speed auto? So you are always in gear in high revs or out of gear in higher/lower revs

• Maverick on Aug 08, 2009 at 5:19 am

3 cylinders? AHAHA!!! pussies.. too little.. 8 gears? too much.. Paul is bang-on IMO, small BMWs are all about normal I4 engines, but by turbocharging the nuts out of it, making it into a screaming bat outta hell! and I3s are just gonna be useless.. and 8 gears? 6 is enough, 7 is more than enough, 8 is just plain stupid… might as well dump a CVT in it…

• albagmane on Aug 08, 2009 at 5:53 am

looks pretty mature from the picture…

• shooter on Aug 08, 2009 at 7:19 am

a turbo-ed triple, very interesting……should boost the handling dynamics. just hope no ones gonna compare with a Daihatsu/P2…..;-)

• ben8828 on Aug 08, 2009 at 7:26 am

Hmmm.. I think BMW just have to put

sDrive 325i (2000 Turbo)

sDrive 335i (3000 Turbo)

Now tat is all enough for the 3series.. because since some of us cant afford it and the one that can afford it will go for the 325 or 323 and only a tiny bit of ppl buy the 320i…

hehe. but that look great :D.. (even though cant tell if its a 5-er or 7-er.. haha)

• turboKEV on Aug 08, 2009 at 8:14 am

local market is getting more choices for cars, recent year, we see more Audi than b4.. let's hope we will have more n more brand n choices coming in~

• Clone on Aug 08, 2009 at 12:29 pm

well, its very uncertain, but from the drawing it would be nice I believe… who knows, right?

• Diablo on Aug 08, 2009 at 4:19 pm

3 cyls doesn't make sense. The engine will be harsher. Better to just stick to 4 cyl

• ….Nice car, even if it is only a sketch, like the detailing of the side "mini-skirts" at the wheel arches-but somehow it reminded me of mazda 6 the design sort of the transition between the old and current model

• 3cyn? maybe some rich nut crack in the future will dump it in myvi or even kancil. then we will see flying kancil…haha…

• newbie on Aug 10, 2009 at 5:43 am

3 cyls doesn’t make sense. The engine will be harsher. Better to just stick to 4 cylinder-Diablo

What?Harsher? This is not the stroke engine like in motorcycle! This is car engine.

• CatmaN on Aug 10, 2009 at 7:29 pm

3 cyl on a beemer..? i wonder how big are the piston size gonna be.

• CatmaN on Aug 10, 2009 at 7:32 pm

[email protected] said,

August 7, 2009 @ 10:01 am

fucking big nooses..

same goes to the driver/owner la…damn big nostrils (bangga punya psl..drive BMW maa…LOL)

• CatmaN on Aug 10, 2009 at 7:35 pm

[email protected] said,

August 7, 2009 @ 10:01 am

fucking big nooses..

same goes to the driver/owner…big nostrils (hidung kembang laa..drive BMW maa…LOL)

• bella italia on Aug 25, 2009 at 11:13 am

Bukan hidung jer kembang semua kembang…..Bodo World Motors(BMW)

Tp keta lembap bw idung berat sgt kot

• Please la BMW best engine is 6 cylinder ….3 sounds stupid for a BMW.