Honda Stream RSZ Facelift now in Malaysia

honda-stream-rsz-fl-1

Honda has brought in the new facelifted version of the Honda Stream RSZ. Of course being facelifted there are changes with the vehicle’s looks.

The front end has a new honeycomb design with a chrome bar going through the middle of it, similiar to the Accord Modulo grille. The bumper design is also new, and there are side skirts for the side profile. Thankfully 17 inch alloys have been provided as when the Stream first came out, the alloys were rather small compared to the rest of the car’s sporty demeanor which looked a little odd.

honda-stream-rsz-fl-2

On the rear, the bumper now has a diffuser insert design, and there is a tailgate spoiler. The tailgate has a black garnish around the individual rear lamps. The wing mirrors now have turn signals.

Personally I feel the best change in the facelift is the addition of VSA stability control to the Stream, which is a definite plus point in raising the safety level of the Stream. A typical Stream driver who only carries full loads of 7 people during the weekends may not be used to the different vehicle dynamics and VSA may be able to catch him out of a tight spot, touch wood. Other than VSA, suspension settings have also been improved for better comfort.

honda-stream-rsz-fl-3

On the interior you get a leather gear knob, and a leather steering wheel, both of which come with leather stitching. The rest of the interior is done up with black and red upholstery. The instrumentation panel, speedometer, air conditioning controls, and cupholders have red illumination instead of the ‘standard’ Stream’s blue illumination. The styling seems extremely skewed to a certain type of young 30s buyer who has to get an MPV but still wants to stay true to his ‘sporty’ heart. You know, the kind that probably wishes the turbocharged grey import Toyota Caldina GT4 comes with 7 seats instead of 5.

But performance will not match its sporty looks. Under the hood is the R18 engine similiar to the one used in the Civic 1.8 making 140 PS and 174 Nm of torque, mated to Honda’s dual-overdrive 5-speed automatic transmission.

Look after the jump for hi-res photos of the new Stream facelift.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=602]
[zenphotopress number=99 album=603]
[zenphotopress number=99 album=604]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Littlefire on Nov 08, 2009 at 7:54 am

Yup, the best thing for this face-lift is the VSA which can be found in Civic & Accord.

VSA is very important, go and read the research details and why a lot of country now are setting it's limit that minimum requirement for cars is ABS+Air-bags+VSA.. While our G still haven have any standard safety measurement for our local cars?!? Did they care about our lives?

• What does RSZ means?

• Hi Paul Tan,

Like to check whether this Stream is fully imported from Japan? I heard rumour that it is no longer make in Asean, whereby Wish is still being produced in Thailand.

• Adnan on Nov 08, 2009 at 9:06 am

still no rear air-cond vents?

• Gajen on Nov 08, 2009 at 9:27 am

wish is way better….cant wait for the new wish

• chanel on Nov 08, 2009 at 9:31 am

our gov not even thinking to put down min safety requirement with at least dual air bag for all type of cars, dare to think so advance to propose 15yrs cars scrap policy…..BN never really have its "weighing scale" calibrated…..only calibrate its pics….

• celicazz on Nov 08, 2009 at 1:29 pm

wonders why those p1 and p2 bashers doesnt start the 'only bumper change can call new. haa?' kind of words here yet… oh, i forgot, it's a Honda…

• peYno on Nov 08, 2009 at 3:18 pm

Adnan said,

November 8, 2009 @ 1:06 am

still no rear air-cond vents

===========

stream , wish all considered import car or JDM car.. so no need rear air cond ma..

but i dont understand.. the wagon so called malaysia car. build car malaysian first.. but got no rear air cond…

• old man on Nov 08, 2009 at 5:30 pm

Celicazz, you have total miss the point. It's not about Honda, its about a better built car.

If proton can build a better car, who will spend time to critisize them? Just simple as that. You see people bash AirAsia after it improve from a no one dare to ride till it performance better than MAS now? It is a very simple philosophy.

Maybe the term "better built" in different people's term is different, where safety, quality, is not what you looking at.

• Wow nice..love to have one. Safety features include VSA..way better looking than the new Wish

• P1 supporter salute Honda but not T

• cbu japan!

• jopop on Nov 08, 2009 at 6:05 pm

i watch kind of sort review refer as h.stream rsz not really sweat in performance, the handling really disappoint,power acceptable,exterior is the only way to standout.By the way facelift in japan orediiiii been a while.

• jopop on Nov 08, 2009 at 6:08 pm

old man said,

November 8, 2009 @ 9:30 am

Celicazz, you have total miss the point. It’s not about Honda, its about a better built car.

If proton can build a better car, who will spend time to critisize them? Just simple as that. You see people bash AirAsia after it improve from a no one dare to ride till it performance better than MAS now? It is a very simple philosophy.

Maybe the term “better built” in different people’s term is different, where safety, quality, is not what you looking at.

haha ,well comment u make reasonable point now .

• SY0H (Member) on Nov 08, 2009 at 6:12 pm

NICE!

Congratulation to Honda!

When comparing the great Honda with the puny P1;

Its like comparing another advance alien race from another planet with the "orang utan race" at the jungle!

Please Honda! We need your support! Get us more of your good quality cars! Not some power window infested product that has been cheating us for the past 25 years (and they say its normal). Hah!

• Georgie on Nov 08, 2009 at 6:31 pm

The black rear headlamps is kinda ugly, but i love the center console. Overall nice styling. Shame about the price though. And why doesn't this car come in manual transmission?

• SavvyTron on Nov 08, 2009 at 6:33 pm

Whats different between RSZ and RST ???

• Kevin on Nov 08, 2009 at 6:35 pm

Good. Especially the rear design, keep it up! Better than the old one.

• SavvyTron on Nov 08, 2009 at 6:42 pm

too theres no intelligent highway cruise control..

• _xXx_ on Nov 08, 2009 at 6:54 pm

Exora is nicer, cheaper and far better than this rsz. Perodua's D46T though not out yet but I believe it's also way way better than this rxz, ooops rsz.

…on behalf of p1/2 supporters….hehehe

• unknown on Nov 08, 2009 at 7:24 pm

you know why p1 and p2 doesnt really put safety features on their car

cause if they add this feature

sure the price increase

you know la malaysian naik sikit je dah tak nak beli

macam tu tak laku lah

ye lah orang malaysia nak beli kereta harga 30 ribu

tapi nak feature macam harga 100 ribu

angan2 mat jenin

• nighttrain on Nov 08, 2009 at 8:39 pm

i really, really wish Toyota Caldina GT4 comes with 7 seats… that's why my wife is against it. yeah, I'm whipped.

• _xXx_ on Nov 08, 2009 at 9:43 pm

caldina engine is too old la. Timing belted, fyi…

• Littlefire on Nov 08, 2009 at 9:49 pm

unknown

If the G set that all car need ABS + Air-bag, i foresee that competition will bring price down! Nowadays, ABS + Air-bag are so cheap compare to 10 years back! If the technology is nothing of use, why all the big manufacturer implement? If we want to exceed in International market, should we have all these safety feature?

You mind getting ur family kill for just few thousand save on ur car? I might think that ur family is just too cheap to be save by some safety gadget? Bila kena baru tau… Malaysian attitude..

I have seen a lot of my friend involve in accident with their unsafely car, after that they rather put more money in better safety car.. Even some of my friend rather buy a full spec Viva compare to Saga as they have ABS. Yup, u might say that Viva is milo tin, how about Saga? ABS have proven to help stop the vehicle in critical situation, if Saga don't have ABS do you think they might stop it with bigger weight?

Psychics + statistic shown that having extra safety gadjet help save more lives. You still want Malaysia to be the most highest accident + death around the world?

• Tiadaid on Nov 08, 2009 at 10:07 pm

SY0H said,

November 8, 2009 @ 10:12 am

NICE!

Congratulation to Honda!

Its like comparing another advance alien race from another planet with the “orang utan race” at the jungle!

Please Honda! We need your support! Get us more of your good quality cars! Not some power window infested product that has been cheating us for the past 25 years (and they say its normal). Hah!

———————

I'm giving up on Honda. My City is nothing but trouble, including power window problems… Maybe Ford for my next car.

• xdgfXZDgf on Nov 08, 2009 at 10:21 pm

i agree..honda interiors,while look great design wise…but quality wise all nasty hard rattling plastics…i hate it….refer to latest accord….really bad dashboard and door trim

• fairozee on Nov 08, 2009 at 10:59 pm

If only I could afford this…. sigh…

• Tiadaid said,

November 8, 2009 @ 2:07 pm

SY0H said,

November 8, 2009 @ 10:12 am

NICE!

Congratulation to Honda!

Its like comparing another advance alien race from another planet with the “orang utan race” at the jungle!

———————

I’m giving up on Honda. My City is nothing but trouble, including power window problems… Maybe Ford for my next car.

—————————————————————

U also got prob…my city wiper motor kaput after only 6 mths….have to wait 1 week for replacemt ..when it rains have to stop under bridge like motorbike???…stupid honda!..

• those got probs are mostly ckd models (city,civic,crv).

• muharifz on Nov 09, 2009 at 12:16 am

dzat & tiadaid….sad to hear bout u guy's city
    City is assembled in Malaysia…and my CRV is assembled in Malaysia. First year of ownership, therea are so many minor2 things which shouldn't come from a reputable manufacturer.
    I don't blame Honda. I blame the people who work with Honda Manufacturing Plant in Melaka for not putting up to the standard as professed by their big bosses in JAPAN. LACK OF QUALITY CONTROL. Kerja curi ayam. Anything assembled in Malaysia, don't expect anything much.

• anyone tried the 3rd row seats?can an adult fit in for long distance travel?

• initial R on Nov 09, 2009 at 1:07 am

dzat said,

November 8, 2009 @ 3:48 pm

—————————————————————-

same case when u used Honda EX5 on raining days…. :)

• celicazz on Nov 09, 2009 at 2:16 am

Littlefire said,

November 8, 2009 @ 1:49 pm

unknown

If the G set that all car need ABS + Air-bag, i foresee that competition will bring price down! Nowadays, ABS + Air-bag are so cheap compare to 10 years back! If the technology is nothing of use, why all the big manufacturer implement? If we want to exceed in International market, should we have all these safety feature?

You mind getting ur family kill for just few thousand save on ur car? I might think that ur family is just too cheap to be save by some safety gadget? Bila kena baru tau… Malaysian attitude..

I have seen a lot of my friend involve in accident with their unsafely car, after that they rather put more money in better safety car.. Even some of my friend rather buy a full spec Viva compare to Saga as they have ABS. Yup, u might say that Viva is milo tin, how about Saga? ABS have proven to help stop the vehicle in critical situation, if Saga don’t have ABS do you think they might stop it with bigger weight?

Psychics + statistic shown that having extra safety gadjet help save more lives. You still want Malaysia to be the most highest accident + death around the world?

if u have the abs/airbag, but having to lose reinforcement here and there as what their brochure 'tell' (read – lie) you, it is useless after you crash…

avoiding crash is better. good handling, and EBD are some of passive and active features that shud be looked after.

malaysia is not implementing any euro ncap, jncap or Ancap (aussie) rules, and u bet, they (japs manufacturer) will downgrade the reinforcement usage so that can save cost…

those things are not visible, becos it is inside of the car, u have to buy one, and disassemble them in order to know it, or you can just look at police parking bays, where all crashed cars they have… look at their so called 'safety cell', is it there?

better go and look for it, dont be surprise if they arent there…

• Honda Civic Type R on Nov 09, 2009 at 2:26 am

Wow, this is such a sporty ride that I am gonna trade in my Type R for this Stream. This is a real 7-seater with sporty looks while my Type R is a bang-in-the-seat saloon but it becomes annoying after a while. With time, I'm sure than P2 Azlan can be enhanced to look like this Stream :)

Ps : That's why P2 lovers would say anyway, I guess ;p Exora? That's an underpowered MPV, too bad.

• Littlefire on Nov 09, 2009 at 2:44 am

Yup, that why this show that the G never care about peoples life on the roads… Still a lot of ppl support them… Funny…

• mufasa on Nov 09, 2009 at 3:28 am

all story back to G aa? i tot it should be stream rsz story…

paul.. can you write story about roti canai… i bet it will back to G story too

• How much this car?

• squawk on Nov 09, 2009 at 3:52 am

I may bash P1, P2 & P3 but I also bash T & H. They give substandard products in this market. Plasticky dash, lower/missing specs (compared even to 3rd world market like Thailand) and lousy tires i.e. cheap. Example – you pay RM170k for Accord but get lousy & noisy NCT5.

And you guys should find out how many months bonus staff of T & H gets (it's well above 2). That shows how much profit they make from Malaysians who worship them so much they place deposits without even seeing the car, its quality and specs.

• overloaded on Nov 09, 2009 at 3:57 am

celicazz said,

November

malaysia is not implementing any euro ncap, jncap or Ancap (aussie) rules,

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

No use implement higher safety std cos Malaysians

don't even bother to wear seat belts.!!

Esp those with family & kids….still see them jumping around

and worst still sitting on their parent's lap in front/driver seat!!!

old man said,

You see people bash AirAsia after it improve from a no one dare to ride till it performance better than MAS now?

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Think again old man,what kinda improvements…have u flown air asia ?

Seats still cannot recline / u hv2 pay for food/blanket/headphones/

still using steps.

• eposuer on Nov 09, 2009 at 4:42 am

mufasa said,

November 8, 2009 @ 7:28 pm

all story back to G aa? i tot it should be stream rsz story…

paul.. can you write story about roti canai… i bet it will back to G story too..

———————————————————————————

totally agreed with musafa…

hey Paul..u could write a story about teh tarik as well…and subsequently it will become a P1/P2/G story…

• Tezza on Nov 09, 2009 at 5:25 am

Im suggest that looking it in reality would definetely ways better than the one in picture..

• Got any BCM?

• ABS without ESC will make the car spinning

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 09, 2009 at 6:29 am

nice car

• Rrrrr on Nov 09, 2009 at 7:25 am

Want car with Safety feature konon…when Gov announce NAP on old car for puspakom check..all blame Gov bla bla.. till their pull back the policy.. So now many old car without good maintenence on the road.. what safety?? for others. Malaysian people still thinking like 3rd class world..

• timber on Nov 09, 2009 at 2:11 pm

after all, malaysians is being robbed from getting the good things from a car.

(sorry out of topic)

• azrai on Nov 09, 2009 at 4:07 pm

Went for a test drive of Stream and getting a free black big Honda's umbrella. The Stream drives like a car. I think the RSZ is more for Ah Bengs with three kids actually.

• kodok on Nov 09, 2009 at 5:28 pm

peYno said,

November 8, 2009 @ 7:18 am

Adnan said,

November 8, 2009 @ 1:06 am

still no rear air-cond vents

===========

stream , wish all considered import car or JDM car.. so no need rear air cond ma..

but i dont understand.. the wagon so called malaysia car. build car malaysian first.. but got no rear air cond…

———————————————————–

u do know that it is rebadge from passo sette rite??..passo sette come from m'sia arrr??..wakakakaka

• oishi on Nov 09, 2009 at 6:10 pm

azrai said,

November 9, 2009 @ 8:07 am

Went for a test drive of Stream and getting a free black big Honda’s umbrella. The Stream drives like a car. I think the RSZ is more for Ah Bengs with three kids actually.

AhBeng ?

Beats driving an Exora and thinkin its CPS is the Ultimate Driving Machine.

• 4G63tDSM on Nov 09, 2009 at 6:24 pm

overloaded said,

November 8, 2009 @ 7:57 pm

celicazz said,

November

malaysia is not implementing any euro ncap, jncap or Ancap (aussie) rules,

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

No use implement higher safety std cos Malaysians

don’t even bother to wear seat belts.!!

Esp those with family & kids….still see them jumping around

and worst still sitting on their parent’s lap in front/driver seat!!!

old man said,

You see people bash AirAsia after it improve from a no one dare to ride till it performance better than MAS now?

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Think again old man,what kinda improvements…have u flown air asia ?

Seats still cannot recline / u hv2 pay for food/blanket/headphones/

still using steps.

Just because some idiot of a parent doesn't care about the safety of their kids, the rest of us that do should not be denied the safety we need. Malaysia is going nowhere if we always compare to the whims and fancies of the lowest common denominator. Your comment is a good example of which.

It makes little sense to the rest of us that do care about safety, that we have to pay hugh premiums (6 airbags? go buy a BMW or Mercedes..I mean WTF) where in most developed countries come as standard or at little premium (even compacts and entry level cars come with 4 airbags as options). I would PAY more as an option to get an extra 2 side airbags if the option is available. What about things that aren't possible options, like proper crash tests/requirements?

I do know that even on a Honda Accord, we have had reinforcement bumper bars REMOVED to save cost. Honda gets away with it as there are no mandates. (Our Accord is the North America version and trust me, I know a North American Accord)

And as for air asia, Do you know how cheap air asia is? And No, I dont' use air asia, since my travel routes are usually long haul to Europe and North America. Air Canada and the rest of the US domestics wont have free food anyway.

And yes, CKD honda's are terrible in build quality.

• it look much better than my RSZ just bought 5 months ago from HM

• R0NaLD0 on Nov 09, 2009 at 7:06 pm

sam said,

it look much better than my RSZ just bought 5 months ago from HM

I bet u will say wtf !!…. new facelift car come with new feature(VSA) + new design(bumper) +leather stuff (interior) ….

Im stuck with the standard one for 7 years…. or sell it?

• Husky on Nov 09, 2009 at 8:05 pm

Hmmm … seems like this one got no sun roof ?

• muharifz said,

November 8, 2009 @ 4:16 pm

dzat & tiadaid….sad to hear bout u guy’s city

City is assembled in Malaysia…and my CRV is assembled in Malaysia. First year of ownership, therea are so many minor2 things which shouldn’t come from a reputable manufacturer.

I don’t blame Honda. I blame the people who work with Honda Manufacturing Plant in Melaka for not putting up to the standard as professed by their big bosses in JAPAN. LACK OF QUALITY CONTROL. Kerja curi ayam. Anything assembled in Malaysia, don’t expect anything much.

—————————————————————-

Yr RM150k CRV also got prob….very2 not acceptable….no matters where its built…again..stupid Honda…

• paparazi (Member) on Nov 09, 2009 at 8:36 pm

yes muharifz! you're right!

• jayce on Nov 09, 2009 at 10:44 pm

u mean RSZ is for Ah Bengs with three kids actually.
    so what car u drive???

• jamesy on Nov 10, 2009 at 2:22 am

haiz… P1 and complain, P2 also complain, Toyota also complain and now Honda also complain…heheheheh…

I think it's normal for any car manufacturer's car to have issue, they are mass producing it aren't they? Anything that is mass produce will have its defects..

The most important thing is, if Honda Malaysia is able to rectify it for you if you are still under their warranty.. My experience with P1 is that they will just tell you "biasa lah, kereta murah mah" :D

• madimat on Nov 10, 2009 at 9:24 pm

I saw a new City with water in rear brake light. Now somebody said got power window problem also. And suddenly every blame will then fall back to P1. When people drive like monkeys and died crashing their cars down the drain, the fault will fall back to either P1 or the G.

You guys are really funny.

• nice sporty mpv from Honda..the power of dreams..

• No one on Nov 15, 2009 at 7:51 pm

owning a T.Wish, H.Civic..i would say dat definitely my T.Wish have better finishing, better ride quality and way better durability.. But den, if you're the type who like to drive car is a more 'special' way, rushing time, wanted to have fun driving your car around, H batch suits you more.. Hands up for H engines/ride and handling/power!

• TheTitan on Nov 24, 2009 at 8:53 pm

i'm still confuse to decide among wish and the stream,but i believe the roomy among these machine are the same as big than Nissan Livina. But the price of these too high actually.

If i want to buy i'm rather buy recond than the new one. don't spend a lot and waste money to buy new car,if so i better buy a new house then make rental and get montly income…

better make money from now on maa.. be save! don't waste!

• TheTitan on Nov 24, 2009 at 9:05 pm

i'm still confuse to decide among these Honda stream and Toyota wish mpv's

but i'm believe these two machine have the same roomy.

The question is about fuel consumption and power of torq.The wish have 4 speed and 5 speed by Stream, of course the 5 speed SOHC is more powerful and FC better but Wish use DOHC is good also.

Anybody who was test both can tell me which better?plz i really need to know before i make decesion to buy.

or email to me [email protected]

• David on Dec 18, 2009 at 7:09 am

Attention to Car Buyer

I agree Honda car is good in terms of look. Other than that, a car buyer must also pay close attention to service and warranty policy. I had shock of my life when I was told Honda cars must be serviced every 3 months or else the 3 years warranty will be void no matter you are using mineral or synthetic oil. Meaning to say, you have got to send your car for service every 3 months even though your car has traveled a short distance since the previous service.

For those who already bought a new Honda car, make sure that you get all the 3 free services promised done within 6 months no matter what your car mileage is or else it will be void.

Recently, I sent my car for the 3rd free service and was denied the privilege. My car at that time was only 8 months old, mileage at 10 100. The problem is that, I was unaware of this policy when I got the car. The sales person did not highlight this policy when delivering the car. To make things worse, it is not mentioned clearly in the service booklet. I called up to the Customer Relationship Department (CRD) but to no avail. They strictly hold on to their policy. They are not helpful at all. No leniency practiced. Customer is not given priority.

As I also own a Toyota, I can say that Toyota is way much better in the area of customer service. Customers are treated with care and concern. For Toyota, customers do not have to follow the service schedule strictly as long as they send their cars for service after the recommended distance. (10 000 Km for full synthetic oil and 5000 Km for mineral oil)

In summary, Toyota cars are cheaper to maintain even though Honda may claim that their charges per car service is lower. My next car would definitely be a TOYOTA, for sure. I regretted buying a Honda indeed. Think twice before buying a Honda!

Sincerely,

Malaysian

• Rear air cond is not needed since Honda Stream RSZ front air cond was designed to flow like a wave to the back of the car. The 6th and 7th seater would not feel any hotter than the front or mid role. Am proud to be one of these owner :)

• Hi,
    I’m looking for real world city driving fuel economy figures for the 2008-2009 RSZ 1.8 and 2.0 models. After driving the 1.8 I was disappointed in the fuel economy (9km/l) so wondering if the 2.0 is better.
    Thanks