5 by Peugeot concept car for Geneva previewed!

This is the 5 by Peugeot concept car that previews the upcoming 508 sedan. The concept will make its debut at the Geneva Motor Show which is just around the corner. Under that pretty good looking thing is an all wheel drive HYbrid 4 powertrain which means it has a 163hp 2.0 litre DHi FAP diesel engine and a 37hp electric motor.

The former is mounted on the front axle while the latter sits at the back. The powertrain is able to output 200hp collectively and its fuel consumption is figured at 74.3 miles to the gallon. The system also releases 99 grams of CO2 emissions per kilometer. More information will be released soon meanwhile continue reading to view an image gallery.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=842]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• meane on Feb 16, 2010 at 10:16 pm

1st..?

• aLthaLus on Feb 16, 2010 at 10:31 pm

wow, great design… peugeot is definitely heading to the right direction

• Littlefire on Feb 16, 2010 at 10:38 pm

Diesel hybrid should be the future, as diesel have proven to run more miles compare to Petrol engine… But still, in Malaysia our diesel standard is so louzy that a lot of manufacturer cant sell their latest diesel engine here, or it is purposely done it by our G to prevent competitors from coming in? Hmm…

• Sir AA (Member) on Feb 16, 2010 at 10:41 pm

WOW!

nice car..

• guanerrr on Feb 16, 2010 at 11:15 pm

I heard that the 508 and 408 will be merged to be one model. I don't know which one will be eliminated.

• klguy on Feb 16, 2010 at 11:22 pm

the flowery head light looks awkward. very girlish

• good to see new breed from peugeot!

• beautiful design.. hope all those lines will make it to the production car… I believe the platform is the same as Citroen C5…

• Spazzy on Feb 16, 2010 at 11:31 pm

Do you know how expensive it would be to refine diesel to euro 3 standards? Removing sulphur from fuel isn't a cheap process. I'm not saying we shouldn't, eventually, but we only just changed to Euro 2.

Manufacturers can sell their higher end diesel engines here, just without the filter (since it gets clogged up too fast).

Diesel hybrids, I feel, would be sort of pointless. The electric motor comes in at the low end to improve acceleration, but the diesel engine has so much torque at the low end that it doesn't need assistance. But that's just my opinion.

• long live the new 508!

• the new lion king!

• kelah (Member) on Feb 16, 2010 at 11:31 pm

front=old honda accord

rear=vauxhall insignia

• cetakrompak on Feb 16, 2010 at 11:40 pm

this car has panamera design.

• Rassan on Feb 16, 2010 at 11:50 pm

Good European car price if Naza assemble this car locally! French always comes up unique design…

• WilsonLy on Feb 16, 2010 at 11:59 pm

great looking car indeed! good job peugeot

• Tungkai on Feb 17, 2010 at 12:01 am

Walau eh…I want one…..

• Paul Tan on Feb 17, 2010 at 12:25 am

Looks quite Citroenish.

• sri hartamas on Feb 17, 2010 at 12:26 am

Peugeot should have called it the 506. the last model they had was the 505.

• Soliddd. The future is coming soon

• The front nose is like a proper honda crz design

• the 408 is a separate model range. it will complement the 508. peugeot will not kill off either one.the 408 (and its 308 hatchback sibling) is peugeot's c-segment competitor while the 508 is in the d-segment. 408 will only be sold in countries where the sales is stronger for a sedan. 508 will be sold everywhere.

• endre on Feb 17, 2010 at 1:27 am

oh… wow.. beauty.

• Kevin Lee on Feb 17, 2010 at 2:28 am

looks very audi r8ish , paul, without the horizontal bar of course

• Gila Cantik

• opaque on Feb 17, 2010 at 4:33 am

before we blame G for inferior fuel, why dun we look at the lorries and buses that are using it. factory and old school buses and also rural public buses.it will cost a bomb to replace it. and also when the proposal to scrap old cars, everyone oppose it. if we want to have higher grade fuel, we should ban cars more than 10 years and have yearly inspection for cars more than 10 yrs. and also setup another inspection company that arent corrupt as puspakom. just my thought

• Nice, I'm changing my car and my nick to P508!

• takeo1070 on Feb 17, 2010 at 5:39 am

bring it on…..naza….for sure i'll get rid off my civic….

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 17, 2010 at 6:43 am

one word. wow.

• Geometry on Feb 17, 2010 at 7:40 am

Citroen, Peugeot, Renault.. they're all siblings. And this is the grey sheep of the family, in a good way.

• stanleyivan on Feb 17, 2010 at 8:10 am

the shape front headlamps is a copy from the new volvo s60 dont you all agree?

• mu_77 on Feb 17, 2010 at 8:22 am

nice nice love the curves and styling..

• damn… i'm going to hold on the purchase of 308THP..

• used non national ca on Feb 17, 2010 at 6:32 pm

French beauty….

Ooh La La….

Gorgeous….

• the rims looks veeerryyyyyyy difficult to clean

• intermilan on Feb 17, 2010 at 7:34 pm

concept car .. concept car…

just a concept car.

i prefer to wait for the actual fruit of their 'new design language'.

So far, couldn't quite grasp the essence and aspirations of this 'new design language'.

Didn't quite swallow wholeheartedly the new design language (that they revealed recently) as it is rather 'too Aston' for me (what happened to Gallic flair?).

Almost all UK reviewers everywhere love it and all.. says Peugeot is finally going 'back' to the right direction.. By copy cat 'british' aston martin ?? Emm?

Can't think of something more original and be French at that?

Pity Peugeot for surrendering to the pressure.

Having said that, some applications of the 'wide-mouth grille' do looks horrendous. But not all. Past reviews tend to be hyper critical when it came to Peugeot et al.

• just a concept car? do you know even know what does a “concept” leaves behind?

and this is according to?

based on?

you?

speaking of design, are you a design director/chief in the automotive industry?

senior designer perhaps?

• farghmee on Feb 17, 2010 at 7:48 pm

fuyyo~ mmg cantik lampu tu.

cm solitaire(?) cut diamond!

• roadrunner on Feb 17, 2010 at 8:48 pm

nice head lamp!!

• laburit on Feb 17, 2010 at 8:53 pm

my dream car…..

• NiceCar (Member) on Feb 17, 2010 at 10:34 pm

hahaha… agree that the rim is hard to get it clean.

Is cute the little lion in the center of the rim.

• LordSatan on Feb 18, 2010 at 12:00 am

very sexy… love the design!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 18, 2010 at 12:14 am

reminds me of J.Lo

• lowprofile on Feb 18, 2010 at 12:57 am

JD,

concept car rims are normally difficult to clean. production model will have much easier to clean rims due to simpler design as well as a simpler headlamp/tail lamp design. can confirm that the rear lights will be vertical as what you see though.

• Damn, beautiful headlamps there.

Just like Audi with their LED headlamps.

Another revolutionary design.

• pulge on Feb 18, 2010 at 2:34 am

At long last, a handsome looking Pug!

• c14man on Feb 18, 2010 at 3:25 am

hopefully Naza will be able to build it locally, as it is now the hub for ASEAN.

with proper pricing like they did to the 407, it can definitely sell well.

definitely looking forward to it!!

• niuhje on Feb 18, 2010 at 8:40 pm

aiyo-yo… die punye 'mata' ada penyakit ke?? wats wit d LED overload??

• Alitstar on Mar 10, 2010 at 5:27 am

Holy smoke! Now this is a car worth killing for! Looks awesom, from tip to toe.

• Alitstar on Mar 10, 2010 at 5:37 am

These LED is going to take over big time, get used to it. Should be good as it has infinite life span.

Back to the 5, damn it looks good. Like the former Honda Accord H/lamps, Audi A4 face, BMW 5 Series touch here and there plus…bloody hell!, Camry alloy wheels?

Good images Paul, thanks.

• kim8mis on Mar 13, 2010 at 6:43 am

When is this expected to be produced??