BHPetrol to develop young go-karting talent with the AXLE BHPetrol Racing Team

Malaysian company BHPetrol has teamed up with AXLE Motorsport to develop young racing talents. The partnership has led to the establishment of the AXLE BHPetrol Racing Team which will see 3 young drivers compete in two go-kart championships including the Asian Karting Open Championship (AKOC) and the Yamaha SL Cup.

The karts will be piloted by 12 year old Daim Hishamuddin who is also 2009 Rotax Asian Champion, 11 year old James Pull who is a KKS Cadet Champion as well as 15 year old Tan Wei Ron. Wei Ron is a young rising star who will compete in the senior category.

Alex Yoong who is the founder of AXLE Motorsport revealed that the team aims to seal at least one championship under the Yamaha SL Cup and a couple of podium finishes in the AKOC series.

The team’s main focus is to make sure that such young and talented drivers have the correct foundation which will help them move up to bigger things in motorsport. As we all know the grass-roots motorsport scene in Malaysia has a lot to improve hence establishing teams such as this seems to be a good way to help lift the industry up.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• nighttrain on Apr 01, 2010 at 5:21 pm

if only I were born into money.. I’d ask my dad to buy the sickest go cart. BTW, who manufactures the fastest go cart and is it available in Malaysia?

• Chika.. on Apr 01, 2010 at 10:55 pm

A great start for the kids.. Kudos…

• great start for the rich kids people..we normal people even got more talent can't go further..too costly to start before get some sponsor..huhu

• AE86 (Member) on Apr 01, 2010 at 11:22 pm

o.O and 4 hot gals at the back… Paul do u have more photos on them?

Thx… lol..

• AlexTaylor on Apr 01, 2010 at 11:57 pm

well done…good job Malaysia for helping S’poreans like Daim and James to be a future race driver…a great team effort overall…

Way to go AlexYoong…

• Tiadaid on Apr 02, 2010 at 12:22 pm

Unfortunately, motorsport will remain a rich man’s sport. When will we here stories about a Malaysian F1 champion who crashed his go cart in the garage as his father was paying for it (like Nigel Mansell, who’s father was a normal working class man)?

• micheal shoemaker on Apr 06, 2010 at 5:45 pm

Hi there you can find telented no money drivers at mykart.Give them a chance bet you
    they can sayur bhpetrol team.